Nissan Patrol Fuel Economy
Submitted: Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:25
Name Not Found
A friend of mind has a 2000 Nissan Patrol GU 4.2 Turbo Diesel Ute. His fuel consumption is 6 kilometres per litre or 16.6 litres per hundred klms. He would like to know if anyone out there is achieving better economy and if so HOW?
Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:34
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:34
I am driving LC80 TD and definitely will say that 16.6 l/100km is WAY too much. Even under harshest conditions (city driving, errr.., staying on city streets for hours with AC on) I do not exceed 14 l/100km. As usual – check injectors, high-pressure pump etc.
Though I have feeling that you just trolling :-))))))))))))
Serg
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:46
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:46
Serg you are probably on the money here.
Regards Bob
Reply By: ajd - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:36
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 17:36
Who are you?
Reply By: qubert - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:24
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 18:24
thats normal consumption
Reply By: Matt191 - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:56
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 20:56
My 1990 model 4wd 4.2TD gets 12.0L/100km around town.
Reply By: Member - Barney Rubble - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 21:26
Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 21:26
Yep thats normal depending on traffic conditions
a 3 inch exhaust will help a little
also tyre size makes a big diffrence
ya gotta remember these engines were designed for a small truck
But who cares i love
mine Cheers barney
Reply By: Member - Matt & Julie (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 06:41
Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 06:41
I have a 93 GQ 4.2 non turbo and towing a camper I get 6 to 6.5ltr and my baby only comes out of the garage twice a year for her exercise
Easter and August each year
Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:17
Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:17
I am getting slightly beter economy of 16.3 lt/100km but this includes all driving, lot of 4wding , towing etc, all logged over 150,000km.
Mines a manual 4800 petrol GU though
drive at speed limit mostly, keep tyre pressures up , run slightly narrower but taller tyes mostly.
Reply By: Mick15 - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 19:13
Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 19:13
well in a 93 gq td42 i get around 8k/litre and down to 9k/litre on the highway, my mate has a gu ute td42ti and he gets 9k/litre pretty much everywhere.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 05:31
Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 05:31
My 2001 4.2TD GU gives me 7.2 km/lt.....That's considered reasonably heavy..
But It has 285/75/16 Cooper ST's on it.... they were on when I rescued it from the humiliation of being in a Toyota car lot.. I thought at the time "she" would be grateful and start delivering better consumption, especially when the first thing I did, was to put a 3" exhaust, and a bigger dump pipe on "her"..
But alas, things did not improve..
In the next 2-3 weeks I will be putting 265/70/16 tyres on "her", and I am assured by heaps of people, that it will make the difference I am expecting. A mate out the road, was getting 9 km/lt, before he put his on gas, now he gets 10... or so he says, and I have no reason to doubt him..
Hope he is right !