prado 95 series better off road than 120??

Submitted: Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 21:30
ThreadID: 62135 Views:24075 Replies:8 FollowUps:14
looking at all my options with 2ndhand prados i am leaning towrds v6 95series .Ground clearance is a big one for me ,120 seems a bit low?? interested in any comments about grande in 95 someone told me suspension was no good off road? seem to get alot more for your money with this model any feedback would be appreciated

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:41

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:41
95series was good offroad - 245mm clearance was standard. If you add the 265/75R16 tyres and the usual suspension lift, then you're set. Front diff wasn't as strong as the 120 series.
AnswerID: 327724

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:24

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:24
Dan and Leah
If you are serious about the off road abilities, have you thought about a diesel? When we head away to real remote locations, you can always obtain diesel, but not the same with petrol. Also many places in remote areas in South Australia, Western Australia and the Northern Territory you can only get Opal unleaded.

Just a thought.

AnswerID: 327750

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:37

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:37
Not a chance Dan

The 120 is at the lower end of 4wd vehicle stability as it is , and it has significantly wider track than the 90's.

There is little you can do about this as raising it makes the problem worse.

They are to much of a rollover risk for me.

The petrol v6 (auto) you are thinking about uses only marginally less fuel than the earlier manual petrol patrols and is well down on space, 4wd capability, stability and suspension articulation.
Indeed its hard to make out a case for them.

AnswerID: 327751

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:51

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:51
Robin
You don't like them do you. You jump in on this band wagon every time they are mentioned. I am not aware of anyone on this forum who has struck the problems you repeatedly refer to. I've done 160k's in mine - with a 2" lift and the taller tyres. Never had a problem. It goes anywhere any of the other vehicles in our club go, and quite often handles the rough stuff better than most.
Dan & Leah, mine is a 2000 model Grande and I love it!!!

tessa
FollowupID: 595071

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:20

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:20
Hi Tessa

I like them and also have said that they are second on my list of replacement cars (120 D4D that is).

However saftey of those that come in my car is an overiding consideration and its the facts that count.

They are quite simply more rollover prone - and unfortunately all the other good features don't make up for this issue.

Further than that I have actively looked for an engineering solution but the cars basic construction makes this hard.

FollowupID: 595075

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:30

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:30
4wd rollovers are mostly the fault of the driver and the way the vehicle is set up rather than the vehicle itself.

The 95series is a taller vehicle than most, so if you're silly enough to load a heavy roofrack then you'll increase the rollover risk. Same deal as with troopies. If you keep the weight down low (easily done because of the standard 159l fuel), then from my experience its not an issue. Very easy to get it wrong though.
FollowupID: 595082

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:47

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:47
Are your roll over comments based on documented fact, or merely personal opinion?
FollowupID: 595084

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:49

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:49
Hi Shaker

Not quite sure who you are asking the question of - but if its me then this issue has been gone thru a number of times - and I think last time , only a few weeks lago, someone else came up reprts showing 4wds roll from angles of about 39-48 degrees (Patrol was best at 48) .

I agree with Phil in that if we know and understand an issue we can take preventative action and not ignore it.

The sort of things I looked at that can make a difference is say carrying 50 lt of water inboard of the wheels , and putting good wheel spacers on, and toughening up the underside so that it take a few scrapes so you don't have to raise it etc etc

FollowupID: 595093

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:50

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:50
Just how can a wider track contribute to a higher risk of rollover. If anything it should make it more stable.

I agree, it's the user's that fault, not the equipment.
FollowupID: 595094

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:03

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:03
Hi Shaker,
Which bit don't you agree with?
FollowupID: 595142

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:22

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:22
I didn't disagree with anything, it was just a simple question.

& to Robin, aren't wheel spacers illegal?
FollowupID: 595168

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:35

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:35
They are illegal and I have two sets.

I have included a link below in a reply which shows why.

FollowupID: 595172

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:48

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:48
I had a 120 with lovell and bilstein lift and it went everywhere the big trucks went in our club.
The interior space is a huge let down.
The dust inside was absolutely dreadful as well as the fuel economy was dreadfull and thats why I got rid of it and went back to the 80 series.
As for cruising comfort it was great, smooth and quiet. It did suffer from understeer but that is a sign of going to quick. You soon learn to live with it. Watch the dash doesn't rattle out of the 95 series.
Try my site here for Prado info It may be of some useful info.
Scott
AnswerID: 327752

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:56

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:56
Scott
Got to agree about the dash on the 95. The guys at Maitland Toyota overcame the problem in mine by adding an extra bracket to each side of the dash and problem solved!! Never had a dust problem and I'm happy with the fuel consumption.

tessa
FollowupID: 595073

Reply By: pradowolf - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:13

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:13
Guys,

most of this is the Holden vs Ford issue.

I have a 2002 Prado and it took me twice accross the Simpson and up and down this fantastic country as well as every year to numerous places in the Vic high country.

Add some extra suspension aids to it and a Loacker or two and bingo , show me someone that can do a better job.

In any case , i can assure you i can roll ANY vehicle , in the high country or the Simpson.
Why dont you guys watch the accident investigation shows on TV , it is almost ALWAYS the DRIVER that caused the accident , hardly ever the vehicle.

Go for the Prado or the cruiser but just drive sensibly.
AnswerID: 327777

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:22

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 13:22
Hi Dan and Leah,

I had a 95TD for 6 years and 180,000k. The only repair was a front diff bearing plus usual servicing. I put OME suspension on as I had B/bar,winch duel batteries etc. I currently have a 08 120 D4D with OME suspension fitted as well as bar winch and duel batteries fitted + other extras. It is a much better car both on and offroad than the 90. We have just returned from 3 weeks to the centre with no problems.

If you can come up with the money go with the 120.

Kevin
AnswerID: 327778

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:30

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:30
We have a grande 95 series (a per pic) We have now taken off road a few times and did some fairly resonable hard stuff last weekend. Now its not up there will the patrols/cruisers in standard form (IFS compared to solid front end) lets you down straight away but depends on what your needs are (lockers if needed). Personally if you are going for the 95 series I would look at the diesel. Alot more economical compared to the petrol. The 120 series petrol even having heaps more power they are actually more economical then the 95 petrol. My mate just come back from been away in his and averaged 11 per 100 running aircon and had 6 people on board. The 95's do have alot more clearance standard than the 120 but nothing a lift wont fix. Depends on your $$$ situation. You can pick up a 95 series Grande quit cheap and probably by a guess 95% never been off road. We have fitted OME suspension, bullbar, BFG's A/T tyres,cargo barrier and have fitted LPG, only issue with LPG is it can limit your touring range depending on where you intend going with it but halves your running cost. The rear air is great for kids up the back or your family pet/s. The series two gives you traction control and climate air, split fold rear seats, button on the dash for centre diff lock. The grande in the 95 series does not have rear air bag suspension like some people say that they DO HAVE, they dont, the 120 grande has them. I know Robin above has issues with the 95's with rollovers. Yes they are taller then a patrol, and narrower BUT as has been said, driver error would be the most reasons for this. I have seen patrols,cruisers on there side as well, obviously you can put on more of an angle then prado but most people wouldnt push them to that limit (vehicle probably more capable then the driver in most cases). I dont know who told you suspension in the grande is no good off road obviously dont know what there talking about. The only difference was the springs were set a bit softer to give you that plush/floaty ride which I hate but nothing a lift and new shocks/struts wont fix and airbags if you intend carrying a lot of weight. Welcome to have a look at mine if you live local. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 327820

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:37

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:37
Hi Guys

I am noticing that several people seem to be going down the line of blaming the driver not the vehicle for rollovers.

Do not kid yourself, if you want real Australian based information go to this link and download the full investigation into police vehicle rollovers near the top of the page.

It specifically identifies the obvious i.e. high centre of gravity is the prime risk factor.

This shows how some vehicles are much more prone to rollovers than others and that specific action like adding ballast and lowering to police divisional vans has dramtically reduced the rollover risk.

You can either believe that the engineering changes made a difference or that overnight all the drivers of a specific vehicle somehow just got better.

Toyota were at the cusp of a hiding to nowhere, understood the issue, and lowered the Prado and increased its track width.

33% of people only ever get to have 1 rollover, so do not be under any illusions.

http://www.monash.edu.au/muarc/reports/muarc184.html

AnswerID: 327849

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 21:37

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 21:37
Hi Robin, Im not saying that you are incorrect in your views in regards to a vehicle roll over. Anybody with basic knowledge would know that lower to the ground and the wider the better. I can tell the difference from when we had our commodore to the prado when coming through the bends where I live and believe me there are heaps of them (as Stefan would know). If pushed I can feel the body roll with the prado, even the wife will grab hold of the jesus bar if Im really pushing it but it seems that you target the 95 series prados over any other of the narrower vehicles eg pajero,hilux,triton, even the little Jimny. I have seen heaps of 95 series prados, pajero's etc loaded up including roof racks and manage to go off road etc and back home again with out rolling. In my opinion and Im sure you will disagree with me but driver control, experience still has a major issue when driving any vehicle that has a higher centre of gravity. I drum it into my wife when she is driving the prado and especially at higher speeds eg 110, if a dog runs out in front of you hit the brakes (ABS) and keep going straight hit the dog if need be (hopefully not). If a car changes lanes towards you hit the horn and brakes but keep it straight side swipe them if need be. I know most peoples natural reaction is to swerve to avoid but I drum it into her DONT. Swerve in virtually any vehicle with a high centre of gravity at high speeds and chances are you will roll it. I know off road there is obviously a higher chance if doing higher speeds on dirt roads ect but once again slow it down, use high 4 if need be thats what its for to give better control to avoid rear end tail out and end up rolling, or drop off into the ruts etc end of the day slow down. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 595195

Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:54

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:54
Yes, but ANY vehicle will only rollover when a driver is behind the wheel. It won't roll over by itself - the driver has to put it in that situation. How can a driver not be blamed, albeit accidental?

FollowupID: 595209

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 12:03

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 12:03
Hi Stephen

Thats a well thought out reply, its not really that I disagree so much as that there are several senarios that cover these events and we have concentrated on the major cause, not the minor ones.

For example, while it is clear that better driver reponses can work in some circumstances, what the statisics show is that in the majority of scenarios a rollover occurs from what they call an unexpected "Tip" event.
(95% as per the link below)
http://www.safercar.gov/portal/site/safercar/menuitem.13dd5c887c7e1358fefe0a2f35a67789/?vgnextoid=5278e66aeee35110VgnVCM1000002fd17898RCRD#static

Its sort of hitting a gutter/drain which starts the process, and the problem is that the reactions required to correct are beyond any drivers ability.

There are so many of these events (10,000 dead in USA last year) that a massive correlation occurs with 1 overwhelming factor, the (SSF) static stabilty factor, basically centre of gravity, and not drivers.

The monash study is a local confirmation of this.

FollowupID: 595250

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:15

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:15
Gday Robin,

There is no doubt that centre of gravity is the major factor in the high rate of 4wd rollovers compared to cars.

Can I direct you to another Monash article which looks in a bit more detail:
http://www.monash.edu.au/muarc/reports/Other/RACV%204WD%20crash%20involvement%20patterns.pdf

Page 21 of this article looks at "Factors leading to increased risk of rollover". Have a read, and the driver-related factors of young age and speed have a lot to do with 4wd rollovers.

I find this a very interesting article that also dispels many of the myths about 4wd safety.

FollowupID: 595354