Fuel debate

Submitted: Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:15
ThreadID: 62137 Views:2360 Replies:4 FollowUps:6
Ok now on my last trip to NSW I put some E10 fuel in by mistake (well I was not looking at what I picked up) and I was interested to note that I got approximately 50k more from a tank.

I did it in Bris on purpose and it also showed about 40k city driving. While I'm not sure if my vehicle will take this fuel (must read book) my observations to date indicate this is the way to go.

Now to be honest to do it properly I would have to have a set amount in a measured container and see how far I go on both fuels, I'm just running till the fuel light comes on and stays on (rough method).

Has anyone found they are getting better fuel economy with E10?

Reply By: Member - Stuart W (NSW) - Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:40

Monday, Sep 29, 2008 at 22:40
I only own one petrol vehicle and that is an old(1993) 1000cc Bmw motorbike which runs on anything,even metho for a short distance. The beemer loves E10 and due to the higher octane goes faster.Can't comment on fuel economy but the extra efficiency would have to lead to better mileage
AnswerID: 327723

Follow Up By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 05:44

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 05:44
There are a few fuel consumption spreadsheets on Members file swaps

Pedro
FollowupID: 595051

Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 07:54

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 07:54
When they first started selling it I ran an extended test with the Paj. The main thing I found was it was VERY inconsistent. Id get good mileage and good running one one tank, crap mileage and ran like a hairy goat on the next.
If it had been consistently good it would be about 5% more efficient. However the crap tanks meant overall it was on par or slightly below normal ULP.
I then switched to running PULP for a while and found that it is consistently better for both economy and power. The extra economy means it is slightly more economical than ULP, and the car runs heaps better.

Have since switched to LPG and am laughing all the way to the bank ;-))
AnswerID: 327742

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:11

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:11
That probably explains why ive heard both good and bad about the mix...ive also heard it doesnt mix too well, and if left unstirred in a tank, will seperate out...and im thinking that may be the reason you get good and bad from what you buy...
FollowupID: 595060

Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:16

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:16
In my case it never sat long enough to seperate. The testing was done on my normal commuting run over a period of about 3 months.
FollowupID: 595063

Follow Up By: Member - Tessa (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:43

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 08:43
NRMA ran some tests and found that the E10 is slightly less efficient than the standard unleaded. They concluded that the 3c/l saving was about the amount of efficiency lost - so there is no saving. I've only used it once - towing the van my impression was that there was a marked reduction in power. Had to run higher revs to maintain the same speed. When travelling in western NSW some of the servo's only have E10 as their standard fuel and you have to be careful if, like me, you don't want to put it in your tank.

tessa
FollowupID: 595070

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:57

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 10:57
it is more acase of how long the fuel sits in the servo tank before you take some...if you get 90/10, all good, but if you get 70/30...maybe not so good...keep it in mind this is all unconfirmed, just theory
FollowupID: 595086

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:12

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:12
Hi Brian

Can't really do a test that way as cars ecu has to learn the new fuel.

Only real way is to record 3 tanks full and compare you previous 3 tanks full with different fuel , leaving out the changeover tank.

In addition to what Tessa said about NRMA, federal government tests have come to the same conclusion (no benefit).

The only cars that could potentially benefit are those with higher compression ratios anyway.
AnswerID: 327754

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:33

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:33
I know the way I did the test was not even close to giving any real idea. It was just what I observed and wondering if others had any more detail on the matter.

Personally I'm not interested in using the stuff, as there in NOT as far as I'm concerned enough benefits and I'm not convinced using the stuff will not do damage to my engine.

Was really a tread to see what's others are using and what they have found.

FollowupID: 595219

Reply By: old mate - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:27

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 09:27
I don't kmow about other states but the independent servos in Brisbane selling E10 are 95 ULP E10 (Liberty, Freedom etc.)

Bp and Shell sell 91ULP E10. Some BP's now, you don't get a choice when buying ULP, its E10, Shell, you get a choice whether you buy E10 or not.

NSW I believe is trying to mandate E5 in all fuels and QLD has looked at it.

Personally, I wouldn't touch the stuff. I've run E10 in a 92 Falcon and didn't know any better then but the E10 trashed my fuel system, corroded out the fuel pump etc.

All vehicles though built 2006 onwards shouldn't be a problem.

Nissan says my 03 Pathy will run on it but they won't gaurantee that there won't be any problems. 04 onwards they give it the ok.

I'll be giving the sugary stuff a miss. 3 cents more for normal stuff - cheap insurance.

AnswerID: 327756