Trip west.

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:49
ThreadID: 62143 Views:3130 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
Just thought I post the details of our first Major trip away and hope for any feedback or suggested stops/POI’s.

Over six or so weeks are going West and back. We planning on leaving from my parents place in Western Victoria early on November 8th and making our way to somewhere around Murray Bridge/Tailem Bend for the first night. Then next move onto Port Augusta and spend a night or two there, moving on and up to Coober Pedy for a couple of night/s. After that Kulgera for a night before Kings Canyon for a night/s then back to the rock for a couple more nights.
After the rock we head west down the Great Central Rd with a few stops along the way especially the Giles Weather Station. We keep going down to Esperance where we are going to spend a few days before making our way around the south west for the next few weeks stopping at various places including, the Fitzgerald River National Park, Albany, Denmark, Augusta, Margaret River and other places in between.
Then up to Perth where hopefully we can get a couple of nights on Rottnest ( the company I work for have a contract with the Rottnest Island Authority). After that we head back east and apart from a few POI’s stopping only when we need to across the Nullarbor to Port Augusta from there we head to Kangaroo Island where we have use of a Holiday House for a couple of days.
From KI we head home and plan to be there for Xmas but we may stay somewhere longer and already have had an offer to spend some nights at Nelson with friends.
So If anyone has some spots they would like to suggest as stops or POI’s I welcome to all suggestions.

Gavan

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 12:18

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 12:18
Don't forget to call in and have a good look around Woomera !!

AnswerID: 327776

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 07:59

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 07:59
Hi SM,
Thanks for the tip I hadn't thought of Woomera.

Gavan.
FollowupID: 595214

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:46

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 15:46
Some of the not to miss places on my list after Albany are William Bay just out of Denmark. Tree top walk half way to Walpole. opposite side of the road to the west exit to Tree top Walk is a road to Conspicuous Cliffs and Peaceful Bay.
Between Walpole and Manjimup is a great camp area at Shannon in among the Karri trees. Northcliffe and Pemberton are good diversions. You can cut through to Nannup and to Augusta. All that area should be good that time of the year.

You may even find us camp hosting at Shannon by then.

Neil
AnswerID: 327801

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:08

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:08
Hi Neil,
Thanks for the ideas. I have cousins that lived in Albany for 15+yrs and they have recommended some spots around Albany, including some of the ones you have suggested. The tree top walk is on the list a camping amongst the tall trees sounds spot on. I have a book on camp-sites in the South west.

Gavan
FollowupID: 595217

Reply By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:20

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 18:20
definately do the tree top walk and check out the huge karri trees!Image Could Not Be Found

Fitzjerald Inlet camp ground is my pick in the NP. It's a 45km track to get out there, but the remote feeling and the beaut beach is worth it! Make sure you let the ranger know your heading out there and when you leave!Image Could Not Be Found

and before ya hit Margaret River, spend a couple of days in Warren NP at Drafteys Camp. You can get your park pass on the way in. It's right on the river and a drive through the dunes gets you on to a nice stretch of beach. When the sea breeze comes in in the arvo, just retire back to the serenity of the forest! don't forget ya cannoe and ya fishin rods!Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

a lunch time feed washed down with a cold pint at Settlers Tavern in Margies an't a bad thing either!

enjoy ya trip!!!

Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

AnswerID: 327816

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:37

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:37
Hi ev,
Some great looking spots there. For sure the fishing rods are coming and I am taking my Kayak so I will be always looking for a spot to wet a line.

Thanks for the tips
Gavan
FollowupID: 595221

Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:02

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 20:02
I personally would trade off at least 1 night in Pt. Augusta for an extra night on Kangaroo Island. In fact I wouldn't stop in Pt. Augusta at all, unless a fuel stop is needed.
2 days is not enough for Kangaroo Island....it's quite a large island, and there's plenty to see down there. I reckon you need at least a week to do it justice, especially after forking out the exorbitant ferry fares.

Glenn
AnswerID: 327837

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:45

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:45
Hi Glenn,
You not wrong about the ferry prices to KI. We do hope to squeeze more time in there, I was being a bit cautious with my time estimates. As for Pt Augusta our length of stay is going to be dictated to by one factor and that is the Kingfish at the power station outlet. I will be calling ahead and find out if they are around if so we stay and have a crack at them if not we pass thru, and try again on the way home.

Gavan
FollowupID: 595223

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:35

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 16:35
G'day Gavan
I don't like your chances with the Kingfish....I reckon they would be all over by November. They are more of a winter proposition up there....they head up to the top of the gulf for the warm water from the power station outlet, then they bugger off when the gulf waters warm up in spring.
The smaller 'rats' are about year round, but these are escapees from the Kingfish farms, so their numbers depend on the number of 'accidental' releases from the farms.
Good luck anyway....don't forget to report back to let us know how you got on.

Glenn
FollowupID: 595284

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:33

Tuesday, Sep 30, 2008 at 23:33
Hi Gavan

I agree that Pt Augusta is for re-fuelling only. With so much to see in such a short time, don't waste your time staying at 'the gutter'.

To see Kings Canyon, you need to do the walk - preferably the ridge top walk if the weather isn't too hot by November. Start out really early in the morning o you are climbing the steep part before it gets hot. There is a shorter ground level walk, but the ridge top is exceptional. It it a fairly long walk, so allow two or three hours.

While Uluru is worth seeing, Kata Tjuta is bigger and better. The Valley of the Winds Walk is again quite long and worth doing. You can only camp at Yulara for seeing both the rocks, although with a good early start you could do the walk at Kata Tjuta then continue on to camp at Docker River (the water supply had been vandalised so the toilets and showers don't work, but you could still 'bush camp' in this nice location) if you get a good run.

Stay at Warakurna Road house so you can get to the weather station by 8.30 am. The roadhouse campsite is quite good (better that at Yulara).

When you get to Esperance, head east. The beaches and Cape Le Grande NP are beautiful.

The Karri forests around Pemberton and Northcliffe (and Shannon River) are glorious.

By now it will be nearly Christmas, and you still have to get back to KI!

Beware of Rottnest when TEE students finish school. I don't know if it still is a popular place for year 12 'schoolies', but it used to be a major place for them to flock to and celebrate.

Have a wonderful trip.

AnswerID: 327888

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:54

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:54
MH,
Thanks for the advice regarding the walks etc, that allows us to tweak our itinerary better. Also it sounds like we need to add Shannon to our stop list. As for Rottnest I am waiting to hear back from work colleagues but if there is going to be a bunch of yahooing teenagers out there then we might just day trip it and spend more time on KI.

Thanks again
Gavan
FollowupID: 595224

Reply By: aka - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:20

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 08:20
At Pemberton do the tram trip and climb the millennium tree go to Kalbarri and see the bird sancturay at Agusta see where the oceans meet
AnswerID: 327904

Follow Up By: nosh - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 09:03

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 09:03
Aka,
Yeah the point where the oceans meet was one of the things we are going to see.

Thanks for the other tips.
Gavan
FollowupID: 595225

Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:25

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 10:25
I think Rottnest is a bit overated for the prices they charge.
I would just do a day trip and save the moeny for something else with more value.
Spending a day or 2 around Kalgoorlie is always good value
AnswerID: 327922

Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:56

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 15:56
Drop into the Eyre Bird Observatory
AnswerID: 327961