A little extra range tip
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:28
We just finished loading the car - for our next trip to the Victorian western desserts and this trip will be a test to see if we can achieve a 1500km range in the petrol GU.
This takes a lot of fuel and we thought we could use a few extra liters.
The way to get this was to jack up the rear driver side wheel to put the car on an angle.
This causes the fuel to run more into the expansion chamber and allows a bit more in.
As a test we fully filled the car in the driveway, then jacked it up and put the rest in , in our case we put in about 6 liters as determined by weighing a jerry before and after.
Normally not a good idea , but with care and if the car is to be run straight away this can gives us that little margin which have called apon in the past.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 20:26
Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 20:26
Robin!!! I had no idea you were so dodgy.....
Last time I looked, there were petrol stations at Horsham :-))
I remember a mate doing the same with a HJ Holden at
Lyndhurst before we headed up the Strezlecki. 50k up the track there was petrol spewing out the charcoal canister - purely from expansion as the petrol was cold underground and warmed up in the Holden. We drained a bit off and kept going to
Innamincka.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:09
Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 21:09
Thats the advantage of a petrol guzzler Phil.
50km up the track , and theres plenty of room for expansion in the
tank.
Actually its a two fold test , I filled with fuel in Melb at $1.40 and I bet its a $1.60 + in
Pinnaroo tomorrow.
But if only I had the excellant range of a 120 D4D I wouldn't need to be trying to carry 300lt would I ?
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:27
Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 22:27
Robin how many litres in total do you have to get your expected 1500km of range? Is this a test for a future remote trip over that distance?
Cheers Craig...............
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:43
Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:43
Hi Crackles
Yes bit of a test to see if I can safetly manage the fuel needed, and also of a little mirco-controller circuit I designed that re-defines the oxy sensor to a bit leaner.
Just got back from a some sensational
sand dune ridge top tracks NW victoria and due to injury we only did 1322k in 23 driving hours for roughly 212lt so it looks like the 264lt I carried would make over 1600km.
Mind you, it was mostly touring with light trailer with cruise control at 95kmh.
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:27
Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 13:27
G'day Robin
I'm impressed - you've got a bowser at home! (based on your statement "we fully filled the car in the driveway").
You must a large auxillary
tank to get 1500 kms out of a big petrol motor (and travel light).
Have a safe trip.
Cheers from the Moose
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:48
Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:48
Hi Moose
I'm not so clever - the 264 lts I took include 4 jerries , and thats why I weigh the fuel so that when cramming in every last drop from a jerry in the driveway , I can get an accurate indication .
Thanks , trip went better than expected - I used a trick to reset A/F ratio to about 16 in the patrol and this seems to have keep the consumption down to 16-17 pulling the bike trailer.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 20:35
Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 20:35
Robin, aside from the extra range you can get I though it good for any servo owner to have a slope across the driveway away from the pump, so they could sell more fuel. I know it is also easier to fill a
tank if you have a better slope on some fillers too. Our ute is like that. The extra 4-5% can add margins.
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:30
Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:30
Never thought of the business angle John
Don't tell anybody else - or we might have to re-evaluate the roll over angles of sopme of these 4wds before they are allowed to enter petrol stations.