Nissan Rear Storage

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 18:59
ThreadID: 62190 Views:2206 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
Hi all just thought I would post some pics of my Storage I have been looking on here for a while for ideas there were a few and i noticed a few were looking for ideas as well, So I thought I would post some pics to let others maybe get some ideas I went to a few big 4x4 retailers and they wanted something like $2000 for a setup so bugger that i built my own .I have a Nissan Patrol and with the rear back seats out just measured front to back the floor base 100cmx112cm sides and middle seperaters 35cmx100cm x 3 I have no draws as this suits me like it is I cut the seperaters on a bit of an angle for the back of the seats just screwed them on the base then the lid is 95cmx135cm it overhangs a bit on the sides but this is good for me as i can slide a few things down there throw on some carpet and alumiinuim for the edges and your done hope this helps. Have a great day guys.BradImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Reply By: Dan26aus (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:46

Wednesday, Oct 01, 2008 at 19:46
Hi Brad, couldn't have been better timing mate as i was just thinking today of doing the same to mine. Looks tops i reckon, & now i don't have to do a search for photo's (haha). I just got back from holidaying at byfield 3 days ago, thinking " What next on the wish list" & when i got a price yesterday,,, i too shall have a go at making my own......

Well Done!!!
Dan
AnswerID: 327999

Follow Up By: Member - Brad B (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:12

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:12
Thanks Dan yea its not so hard if i can do it anyone can mate, its my very first try and i am very proud of it, lol , i didnt think it would turn out as good as it did, hope it all go`s well for you.hope to see some pics when finished.
FollowupID: 595467

Reply By: Dolphin38 - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 16:05

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 16:05
Brad,

Nice job. I was just asking the other day on the forum if anyone knew of storage systems for a Santa Fe. Suggestions including asking such manufacturers as Black Widow, but I could see that costs would be quite high going for a purpose built/non standard installation.

Home built looks like the way to go.

How is the unit attached to the car or does it just sit in there??

Guy
AnswerID: 328143

Follow Up By: Member - Brad B (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:01

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:01
Hey Guy yea mate it just sits there i put a couple of bits of 12mill bits of offcut under the back of the box as it is a bit lower it seems than the front anyhow with the weight i got toolboxes etc it weighs it down , anyway the back seats will stop it flying in the front, it is the way to go i priced one for $2000 and all i wanted was to store my tools and that out of the way from view it works for me, its great im all loaded and ready to go, hope it works out for you , hope to see some pics when finished, good luck.
FollowupID: 595465

Reply By: Kroozer - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:34

Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 18:34
Top Stuff, looks excellent. Nothing better then doing it yourself especially when it comes out so good. Well Done

PS- Where do you buy the aluminium cornering? I dont have a bunnings store were i live but will be visiting one shortly, surely they would stock it.
AnswerID: 328159