Submitted: Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 20:58
Stephen M (NSW)
Neighbour just had his Nissan Navara serviced. Had the
wheels rotated in the service, picked up was driving back along the freeway and bang. Front left hand wheel went flying past him, the disc hit the tar and part of the underbody, managed to get from the fast lane to the breakdown lane (between two semi's) and pulled up, all this happening at 110klm. He said very very scary. Rang Nissan, they towed it back to the dealership. Nissan said how do you know some one didnt try and undo the alloy wheel, he said because I just picked it up from you, they said we didnt rotate tyres, he said
well here it is on the bill for wheel rotation ??? They were going to drop him at the station, he said I dont think so. You better find me a loan car very quickly or else, needless to say they supplied him with a vehicle to drive around in till he gets his back. Thats dealership service for you. Regards Steve M
Reply By: Raf - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:11
Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 21:11
Same occurs on the Toyota side.
A friend of
mine just picked up a brand spankin new Prado and had the tow pack and bull bar fitted at the dealer.
When he took the vehicle home he saw movement in the bull bar and then while towing the trailer, heard all noise coming from the rear.
After a quick inspection. Nuts and bolts loose of missing. They tried to tell him it was the way the bullbar is fitted as it was an airbag model.
He returned it and left it with them for a week and when he got it back, nothing done. After some choice words he ended up with the Sales Managers personal Hilux ute. Satisfaction later than expected but what a hassle.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:43
Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:43
Sounds like your friend is fairly patient!!!!!!
Others might have said a little more!
At least he's alright.
Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:54
Thursday, Oct 02, 2008 at 22:54
Yes I reckon Hairy, He just sort of shrugged his shoulders when he told me, I was gobsmacked that he was so calm. I would have gone off the deep end big time. Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Mick (RSA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 01:25
Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 01:25
Same thing here in s africa. Took my ford
ranger to the stealers for a service. Charged me for rotating the
wheels (did not ask for this). On the road picked up a vibration, and when I stopped, 5 studs had sheared. Only one (loose) nut left holding the wheel.
HOWEVER, the 2 other
wheels' nuts were torqued up to 250nm. WAY overtight.
Moral of the story is NEVER to trust anyone with things that could be life & limb serious.
Follow Up By: Member - DickyBeach - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:06
Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 03:06
2-3 years ago I took my
Kimberley Kamper to a local service station (proper garage, not a petrol station) for a Rego slip, and a couple of hundred Ks later found that 5 of the 6 wheel studs on one wheel had sheared off.
He'd used a Hammer Gun to tighten the nuts.
The Moral, as Mick just said, is check these sorts of things yourself.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 09:01
Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 09:01
Learnt my lesson too.
Got caught once having to change a tyre on the side of the road and couldn't get the nuts undone. Way overtightened. Luckily I had a bit of pipe to apply extra leverage.
Now I always check the wheel nuts by putting the tyre wrench on them when it comes back from the mechanic or with new tyres.
Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:17
Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 12:17
Hence servicing it yourself, the old saying if you want it done properley, do it yourself or find a local diesel mechanic you can trust. I wouldn't give dealerships my sons tonka truck to work on.
cheers,
Lance
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:17
Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:17
G day Lance
I do most of my own servicing, but I do get a "trusted" mechanic to do the major
services, or at any time I am about to nick off somewhere, I can drop it in and get him to "go over it ".
Best way to be, every one is a winner there .
Reply By: gqjoke - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:01
Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:01
Nissan actually put out a warning to mechanics to double check all left hand side wheel nuts? I now use a torque wrench after losing a couple...
Reply By: Mick^M - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:04
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:04
Very interesting.Who was the servicing dealer??????????
Reply By: Member - Zig (WA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:30
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:30
Left the Bob Jane, in a town I use to live in, with 4 new tyres. When I got home (45 minutes away on a country road) 6 wheel nuts were missing.....
Told the owner when I met him at the club and he shouted me a few beers and said sorry.
One of his boys stuffed up.
Went back again next time I neede tyres. No problem that time.