Pyrenees trip this weekend 2/3 Aug

Submitted: Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 13:04
ThreadID: 6224 Views:2080 Replies:9 FollowUps:29
For those arriving Saturday morning meet at Avoca in the middle of town next to the info centre at 9.30am. approx 37 05.465 143 28.414 aus66

Those arriving later Saturday will have to pick us up in the hills on UHF CH15
or later in in day at the Waterfalls picnic area

We will be camping at waterfalls picnic area approx 37 05.999 143 21.921 aus66
Those arriving sunday can pick us up there Sunday morn.
The camping area can be reached from Avoca via Vinoca Rd.

Download the map
here

For those camping. Please bring appropriate clothing and bedding for the conditions which could be extremely cold overnight.

Please register your intentions so we know who to expect and when.

Any suggestions welcome

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 13:31

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 13:31
Im Registering my intention....

Im there :)~

Might work out with Luke to tag along with him, or meet part way.

Try this too
http://www.nowwhereroute.com/travelmate/mapmaker/directionspage.asp?type=Geelong_VIC_Avoca_VIC&TMDistOnly=0

Just change Geelong to your suburb to get klms to Avoca.

For those without a GPS MAPS of Avoca

This is also a handy URL

Lookin forward to it.
AnswerID: 26153

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 22:58

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 22:58
Great sites Truckster,

I am sure that I am not the only one who appreciates the assistance you offer.

I would love to join you all on a weekend trip. Unfortunately this weekend I am getting new tyres for the rig, so hopefully next time.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 17900

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:21

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:21
Get tires fitted early AM, and come along!!!!!

You can even come for sunday
FollowupID: 17901

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:44

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:44
The tyres are being fitted @ 8.00am @ Woori Yallock (cheapest Tyrepower in Melbourne). Not sure how long it will take so I will miss this trip, but will certainly keep an eye out for the next one.

Cheers and thanks anyway.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 17920

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 10:16

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 10:16
Did you try The Tire Factory??

They were cheapest by far when I did mine, I also bull$hitted to them I got a better price elsewhere would they match it, and they beat it! Saved me $20 per tire :)
FollowupID: 17922

Follow Up By: Member - Glenn(VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 10:20

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 10:20
I am getting Kelly MSR tyres for $185 from Tyrepower Woori Yallock, $25 a tyre cheaper than Tyrepower Knox. I did search around (a very exhaustive process) and these guys gave me the best deal.Just Do It!

FollowupID: 17923

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 14:11

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 14:11
Sorry guys the Toon brigade wont be there as the Corinna is stuck in hospital with the new bubs due any tick of the clock , have a good weekend though wish i was there.1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 26159

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 14:29

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 14:29
Good luck bloke...
FollowupID: 17785

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:48

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:48
Gee wizz Toonfish, you've had nine months to plans this and ya still get it wrong :))

Good Luck, hope things go well for you.Hooroo
FollowupID: 17794

Follow Up By: Luke - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:09

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:09
Good luck and best wishes to the Toon Brigade :-)
FollowupID: 17805

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 19:48

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 19:48
Next time toonie, with the additionSo many places to go!
So much work to do :0(
FollowupID: 17984

Reply By: Member - Russell - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:03

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:03
Ray,
I haven't consulted she who must be considered yet, but my plan was to get out somewhere this weekend to test out the new tyres, diff lock etc. It would also be good to meet some people from the exploroz group. So if you don't mind, I'll tag along. Unless I get back to you again, count me in for the Saturday - meet you at the info centre. I'm assuming that you have maps of the area - I haven't been up that way before. Thanks.Russell S
Prado RV6
AnswerID: 26164

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:32

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:32
P.S. Tried downloading the map from your post but it wouldn't, or if it did, it wouldn't print...... Grr.Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 17786

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:42

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 15:42
Join the group and you can access it.
FollowupID: 17788

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:43

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 16:43
Don't have to join the group...it is public accessHooroo
FollowupID: 17793

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:45

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:45
Did you manage to get the map Russell?Hooroo
FollowupID: 17903

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:15

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:15
Yes, thanks Ray, but not in any easy way. I must be thick. When I downloaded it to the screen, I could see it all, but when I asked it to print, I was going to only get the bottom LH corner. Wondered if I could drag over the portion I wanted to print, but it wouldn't let me. Then I thought - wonder if I save it as a .jpg file and open it in Photoshop? Did that, and could then crop to fit an A4 page with the main map area. Will bring it to work and blow it up on the photocopier. You'd think it'd be easier, and perhaps it is..... Anyhow, problem solved....Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 17917

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:04

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 18:04
i have to work sat morning but ill either catch you in the hills or at the picnic area later.
ps are there any wifes and children goingnew job coming so no fraser this time:-((
AnswerID: 26174

Follow Up By: Luke - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:10

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:10
No kids at our house, but looks like Hayley will be coming (unless she pikes at the last minute due to a cold forecast :-)
FollowupID: 17806

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:02

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:02
We haven't decided, but wife and two boys may well come along.Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 17816

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:07

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:07
yea mine are coming as long as its dry...
FollowupID: 17818

Follow Up By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 19:28

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 19:28
Diamond,

My wife and two boys 16 & 14 will be comng with me, meeting at Avoca Sat'dy

BonzSo many places to go!
FollowupID: 17878

Reply By: Luke - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:11

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 19:11
We'll be there Saturday morning :-)

...look forward to seeing you all there!
AnswerID: 26180

Reply By: GoRodeoGo - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 20:36

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 20:36
Ray,
At this stage (!), still ok for Saturday. I haven't got the UHF CB fired up yet. Are you taking your 70cm radio?

-Stuart
AnswerID: 26189

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 20:51

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 20:51
I have a UHF hand held you could borrow if you're stuck.....Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 17813

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:18

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:18
You can buy a hand held UHF NEW for $70 at Dick Smiths...
And they are VERY worthy when you get your in car one later.
FollowupID: 17820

Follow Up By: GoRodeoGo - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:19

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:19
Thanks for the offer Russell, I should be ok though. I've got a few days to get my old one going or replaced!

-Stuart
FollowupID: 17822

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:30

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:30
Ok Stu, I'll see you at Avoca. Bring the Tractor video if possible.

I'll have 2m 70cm and uhf cb on board. The Icom installed in the vehicle is falling apart so I may have to use the handheld myself. Anyway, we'll sort something out

Hooroo
FollowupID: 17823

Follow Up By: GoRodeoGo - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:35

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:35
No worries Ray,
I'll take Truckster's advice and make a trip to Dick Smith tomorrow.

FollowupID: 17825

Follow Up By: diamond (bendigo) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:37

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 21:37
dick smith were doing 2 for $100 the other week may still be on special.
new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
FollowupID: 17826

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 22:06

Monday, Jul 28, 2003 at 22:06
Your other option is
http://www.prestigecom.net.au/

they have around the best prices, and also overnight freight from perth for $8!

Cant beat their service, many many have used them.
FollowupID: 17828

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 00:05

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 00:05
dick smith have the uniden base uhf handheld model 1/2 watt for 2 for $99 til the 30 th but they are hard to get i have tried 3 times in 2 weeks no raincheck as yet.
have fun1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
AnswerID: 26216

Follow Up By: Member - Russell - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:19

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 09:19
I think GME make a 1 watt for about $120. If I was getting another one, I'd pay the extra I think and get twice the power. The 1/2 watt ones are fine in most close work, but I reckon the 1 watt would be quite a bit better.Russell S
Prado RV6
FollowupID: 17918

Reply By: Member - Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 19:31

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 19:31
Ray,

I'm in as well as my wonderful wife and two boys 16 & 14 (its easier to number them these days), Hope to be at Avoca Saturday morning all rugged up for a big weekend.

CyaSo many places to go!
AnswerID: 26276

Follow Up By: Ray M (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:44

Tuesday, Jul 29, 2003 at 23:44
Ok Bonz. Long range forecast look reasonable so we might be lucky.
See you at Avoca
Hooroo
FollowupID: 17902

Reply By: diamond (bendigo) - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 22:29
change of plan.
got sat off so meet you there sat morning.new job coming so no fraser this time:-((
AnswerID: 26397

Follow Up By: Luke - Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 23:56

Wednesday, Jul 30, 2003 at 23:56
Well done Diamond - see you then :-)
FollowupID: 18020

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 31, 2003 at 21:37

Thursday, Jul 31, 2003 at 21:37
sweet.
FollowupID: 18091