O/T Whats it coming to ?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:00
ThreadID: 62250 Views:3559 Replies:15 FollowUps:20
as many of you know I'm in the prison service, a great jod and I'm proud to say I help keep australia's finest where they should be, behind bars, just pulled in to the servo filled up the 4by and as I was getting in a skinhead done a burn up looked at me thinking I was a cop (the uniform is easily mistaken for one) stuck his finger up and shouted "you f####in' piece of s##t", then his mates started to do likewise, is it me or is it true, not only do they have no respect for the law but even scarier,no fear either,imagine those cops that have to put up with this crap, what the hell's going on here, are we a lawless society now ???
one very baffled Dave......................

Reply By: revhead307 - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:13

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:13
Hi Dave,

I'm a crowd controller/security officer in WA. Work in pubs, clubs and hospitals for a little over 2 years now. I also get to see some of societies finest (some before they come and see you).

Yep, there is a growing number that are getting more and more brazen. Its amazing how many think they own the world and they can do what they like with no repercussions, and no regard for anyone else. And blatant disrespect of all authority.

I feel sorry for the cops, as they are the ones we call. (when they turn up that is)

At 28 Im having a hard time coming to grips with the 'generation' gap of people only 10 years my junior. A lot can change in 10 years.

Jeff

AnswerID: 328297

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:17

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:17
Hi guys,
I blame things like you tube type sites, yanks and the non smacking activists.
My 2c
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 328298

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:27

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:27
hey tour boy be careful, I was never smacked, ever, I am now 42, never been in a fight (though I reckon I can), never started one, have held a job for 16yrs now. Am happily married with 2 kids.

My only other brother is leiutenant colonel in the army, has served in East Timor (second plane to land), Bosnia, Kosovo, Iraq, Afghanistan.

Neither of us have ever been arrested or been in jail.

I don't think we quite fit into your stereotype.
FollowupID: 595566

Follow Up By: ob - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:44

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:44
Porl
IMHO you are representative of the majority that respect other peoples rites, their are however a nasty minority that understand only one method of correction.

Cheers ob
FollowupID: 595567

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:30

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:30
Guys,
I'm not saying that I condone physical punishment, merely that the non smacking brigade have got alot of people scared to do any form of disclipine and no discipline leads to no respect for others and their property.
Schools are another problem for example when one of my sister inlaws was still in primary school, she came home one day and yelled at everyone that no one can do anything to her as she can have us arrested. This is what the school had told her and she had never been smacked or physically disciplined in her life. She is now 22, married with 2 kids and is a biarch and her 3 sisters can't stand her.
I can't stand people who don't respect others right to quiet enjoyment of our worderful country.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 595574

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:39

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:39
ok Dave, grumpiness retracted.
FollowupID: 595584

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:53

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:53
Dave, your are right about that,. Can I also add, the generation that are in their 30's and have teenage kids are the ones that have NFI what their responsibilities are to be a parent. A few months ago I had a 12 year old near us, stand only 20 feet away from me out side my gate, and give me an ear full. He stood there as bold as brass.
And that was one of the things he kept repeating, "You can't touch me"
So I told him "In six years sunshine your Ar%$ is mine"
He didn't comprehend that.

The world is a changing, I just hope I give my kids the right values and tools in life, so they cant get through it.

Hmm
FollowupID: 595587

Follow Up By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:06

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:06
Tour boy,
Why blame the YANKS? If the same thing that happened in front of Dave was to happen in the States they would probably have had a few 45 rounds directed at them--maybe we need a bit more of that to make the idiots wake up!
FollowupID: 595601

Reply By: Member - Jack - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:21
Hi Dave:
Sorry you had to put up with that, but sadly, we are progressing to a lawless society. Put it down to the "bleeding hearts" and a system that says we get justice, but in fact only get law and precedent.

Around our area many residents are concerned about the young guys riding motorbikes. The don't overly concern me, but when challenged, usually give a heap of lip to many of the older folk around here. In fact, we have three neighbours who have been charged with assault in the last two years when they have given these young punks a clip over the ear. Two found guilty, and one case pending. None of the neighbours have any previous convictions. But never any action against the kids.

Last school holidays, a group of these kids went on the rampage, and smashed windows of a couple of houses under constrction, and trashed the inside of one that was finished. No action... they're juveniles!!!

And I can still remember (and should thank) the policeman who gave me a clip over the ear many years ago when I was doing "wheelies" late at night in the main street where I lived.

But who knows, you may end up having these skinheads in your charge. What comes 'round, goes 'round. Good luck.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 328300

Reply By: jomahk - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:26

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:26
Hi Dave,I used to be one of what you are. One day whilst in a servo filling up a female at the next bowser asked me what the badge stood for, I told her iI was a wildlife manager. Not all that far from the truth whern you think of it.
AnswerID: 328302

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:39

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:39
LOL good one jomac, find it hard to believe these guys were in thier 30's, but as said,what goes around..........
and I've a great memory for faces.........
AnswerID: 328307

Reply By: Des Lexic - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:54

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 18:54
Dave, I used to work with commuity corrections years ago and eventually got sick of these fwits who think the world owes them an existence. Just remember the pleasure that you can get from your job, The coppers only get to put them there, but you get to keep them there under your rules. (to a degree anyway)
Although the last time I visited a prison a couple of months ago,(work related, thats my story anyway) without the uniform, it would have been hard to tell the crims and the custodians apart LOL
AnswerID: 328311

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:52

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:52
Des I had no idea you were in the dept, just goes to show aye ? and yes your spot on ,love my job mate, and I'd never give it up, the commeradery, the sense of humour, the professionalism, as you know is unique, its the only job where anything can happen, literally !!! LOL
onya mate,

FollowupID: 595575

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:23

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:23
Dave I'm not there anymore. I still work in Public Service despite what my critics may say but doing a job that gives me lots of freedom. I project manage building projects on behalf of all govt departments in our area now.
FollowupID: 595579

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 00:03

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 00:03
That is Des's story for all his 'secret' work and he is sticking to it!

Years ago my Uncle was involved in pulling down all the crooked b#@tards involved in the CJC.. He couldn't talk about what he was doing, it was all 'secret work'. He started in the army, then the police force, then a barrister (doing all this while also teaching about it) and now he is a Magistrate.. Nice to know someone in the family made it!
FollowupID: 595613

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:37

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:37
Hmmmm Uncle is a magistrate. Not hard to work out who is the blacksheep in that family LOLOLOLOL
FollowupID: 595647

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 23:14

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 23:14
hehe! nahhh I'm too nice to be the black sheep!
FollowupID: 595715

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:07

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:07
Hi Dave,
This sort of behavior makes my blood boil.
I'm no hard man, far from it, But twenty odd years ago, if some one said that to me, I would grab the piece of crap by the throat, until it Sh%$ itself.
Apparently your not allowed to do this anymore :((
I blame those blood sucking leeches, some people call them Solicitors.
They will find the smalestl crack somewhere to justify the clients actions.
It's always somebody else's fault.
As an old retired Copper next door says this little beauty :))
They are Sh%$, They live in Sh%$, They attract Sh%$ and they'll Die in Sh%$.
I believe the Happy Clappers should spend some time with these retarded pieces of crap, Just to open their eyes up, if that's possible.
Mate, sorry to hear you had that thrown at you.
Hope you've got the weekend off and you find some great trails to travel.

AnswerID: 328315

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:53

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:53
Hahahaha ..... Mate! Dont hold back!
Your never too old to stop choking the those who deserve it!

Ive just had Willem over for a couple of beers and am in too good of a mood to comment much, but I agree with ya.

FollowupID: 595576

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:28

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:28
Same with school teachers now Jon, even if a fight breaks out in the school grounds, the teachers are not allowed to touch the kids, they have to stand there and say "Johnny now you know thats wrong please stop fighting" what a f@@kn joke. My school days was, you got grabbed by the scruff of the neck by the teacher, dragged by the ear to the principals office and got six of the best then if I was the cause of it by being a mouth my old man would say good you deserved it then said if it happened again he would do better then the headmaster, Never did. Then all the do gooders come along and we are starting to get a heap of as@ whole kids who do what they like and when they like and know nobody can touch them. Like the two deadbeat drugos who belted that 80 + year old man because he wouldnt lend then 50c, both walked from the courts yesterday with there smirky druggged up faces full of scabs from the ice or what ever crap they find to take. If it was my father or grandfather they would have needed a light stuck up there ar@e as well so they could see what they were doing cause that is where there head would have been. Low life scum with no respect for anybody.

""I blame those blood sucking leeches, some people call them Solicitors"" Very true John.

How could these people defend scum and is payed for by us. Anita Cobby murderers should have been hung by their nuts given a few rounds (with a 22), just enough for them to be in extreme pain then hang them upside down from the closest pole, cover in honey or the like for the ants and bees. What a world we are starting to live in. God help our kids in 30 years time. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 595590

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:18

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:18
Thanks hairs, I guess I'm needing a bit of assurance it's not me, just find it hard to believe someone can hate you so much and know nothing of you,but your right I'm not allowed to get involved in any way,anyway just makes me more determined I'm doing the right thing, it'll never put me off my jod thats for sure,
regards,and thanks,
AnswerID: 328320

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:51

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 20:51
I'm sorry you had to go through that, but as you say it's not a nice place out there....or in there LOL
Please don't think that you're alone. Most of the general community are law abiding citizens who would also be horrified. For every sc*mbag, there are 100 genuinely nice peaceful and friendly citizens who would rarely see a policeman, and wouldn't know what your place of employment looked like from the inside.
The rest probably belong there .
AnswerID: 328339

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:31

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:31
Well said Footloose. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 595591

Reply By: qubert - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:03

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:03
soak it up while you can boys.................. i am afraid its not going to get much bettter. sorry
AnswerID: 328340

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:30

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:30
G'day Dave

I noticed in one of your replies you mention they were about 30...well just think how much worse its going to get......Yesterday the missus took me around to a fella's place to pick up a car that we had just bought, she pulls up on the side of the road and this girl, (must have been a whole seven yrs old )riding a push bike on the wrong side of the road, politely says to my missus "watch what ya doing ya stupid f$#&ing bitch!", but that was nothing , she proceeds on down the road telling some other woman that was walking with another young kid " ya f$#%ing stupid slut!", thats not the lot though, she also kindly told her she had "lice on her c%$t".....i kid you not , this is exactly what she said, my missus and i were gobsmacked!!...When i told the fella that i bought the car from , he said "mate , thats nothing you want to hear her when she really gets going"....I hate to think what this feral lil bleep is going to be like as she gets older, wonder what the hell her parents are like???....

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 328345

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:58

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 21:58
Borgy, sounds a good SA education there to learn so young :-((( So many boguns there?
FollowupID: 595599

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:13

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:13
G'day John

I wasn't going to mention the area where it happened , but what the heck...it was one of the poorer suburbs of northern Adelaide, known as Daveron Park, and i will also add , not that it should really make any difference, the girl was of aboriginal appearance....

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 595602

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 09:21

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 09:21
Borgy by the time she is 18 she will have had 3 or 4 lots of baby bonus too!!!
FollowupID: 595631

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 12:11

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 12:11
And fathers day will get confusing
FollowupID: 595649

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:08

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:08
Borgy, good to hear from you mate, geez it's a depressing picture aye ? as you say theyv'e yet to grow up, is it any wonder they end up where they do ? hope the Mrs didn't take it too hard, theres nothing worse than taking lip from a kid and not being able to do jack chit about it thats for sure, no mate today could have gone seriously wrong had I been a few seconds earlier I would've been face to face with the moron and who knows where it might've ended, as I say you have to feel for the cops no matter what you think of them they just cant win, who would be one aye ?
best wishes and good to hear from you,
AnswerID: 328352

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:48

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 22:48
Gday Dave,
I get to know a lot of cops through a mate.
Im sure the new ones I meets first thought is.."what the f#@K are you doing here"
But Im sure they leave with the thoughts of "we're all on the same side"
We are still the majority!!!!!
Same goes with screws mate, without you's we would be buggered!!!

Keep doing you job for our sake!!!

Hairy
AnswerID: 328361

Follow Up By: Dave Thomson - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:53

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:53
Thanks Hairy, yes its true if you knew how much goes into keeping them in there you wouldn't believe it, but thanks for the vote of confidence mate rest assured if one ever gets out its not through incompetence, not in our sector anyway,
best regards,
FollowupID: 595642

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:16

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:16
Gday Dave,
Ive got about half a dozen mates who work at the Alice Springs jail.
I do understand......I hear all the horror stories.

FollowupID: 595644

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:03

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:03
My son once worked for a company that were building and repairing stuff inside Goulburn where the bad buggars are.
He rekkoned it was great, because by the time he got through security on the way in and out, he only had to do a couple of hours actual work. Well, those thoughts only lasted until they told him who was inside. He rekkoned he could never do your job. Ever.
AFAIK he's never even looked like setting foot outside the Law, and now he's really pleased about that :)))))
AnswerID: 328364

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 07:44

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 07:44

Whats that saying,

You Live By The Sword, You Die By The Sword.

Daza
AnswerID: 328381