B F Goodrich All Terrain T/A tyre concerns

Submitted: Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:11
ThreadID: 62252 Views:5283 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
Just noticed lots of small cracks at the base of most of the tread bars on my B F Goodrich All Terrain T/A tyres. They are approx 2 years old, and approx 50% worn and done approx 40,000 km. I'm running a 2003 Nissan Patrol Tray Back ute and only use these tyres when I go bush with the camper. I've been very happy with them so far as I've never even had a puncture with them and done some hard country with them too. I'm now worried about taking them bush again in case they fail. Anyone else had this problem ? Is it normal or are my tyres from a bad batch ?

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:18

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:18
Dont say that.

I have 4 sitting in the shed ready to go on my Croozer.
Runs off to check
AnswerID: 328321

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:40

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:40
Yeah they have been doing that for years (radial cracks along the sidewalls)
I've never had a problem with either muds or at's that have cracked early in their life and I usually get 100,000km plus out of my muddies.
Stop be purchasing again ...not likely.
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 328328

Reply By: TheMajor - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:46

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:46
G'day Old Mal
I had the same brand of BF Goodrich on my Nissan Patrol. Did 100,000kms with the first lot and sold the car with the 2nd lot of BF Goodrich with another 150,000kms and still had plenty of tread to go with the 2nd lot and no trouble whatsoever. Did a lot of that was in the rough stuff and I live in a rural area on one of the roughest roads that I know of, for some of that mileage I towed a 2 ton caravan. I am one of the lucky ones that I never even had one puncture with these two batches of tyres. I have a 200 Cruiser now and I am thinking of changing them over to BF Goodrich as well.
Regards mate
The Major
AnswerID: 328329

Reply By: TheMajor - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:49

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 19:49
Oops, sorry mate, I menat 50,000kms with second lot, 150,000kms total both sets of tyres
The Major
AnswerID: 328330

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:19

Friday, Oct 03, 2008 at 23:19
Yep, I had one do that. It was a pre-KO version tho.
Unfortunately, it was one I picked up s/h, but unused in the Quokka at a good price. Was unable to claim off BFG. Sits in the shed as a possible spare now.
Gerry
AnswerID: 328367

Follow Up By: Old Mal - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 01:04

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 01:04
Hi Gerry,

What do you mean by "pre-KO version" ?

Old Mal (and getting older !)
FollowupID: 595616

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:08

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 10:08
Hi, Old Mal,
Geez you newbies know nothing!
Around the year 2000, the words 'KO' appeared on the sidewalls signifying some enhancement or upgrade. Also there was a ridge on the sidewall meant to protect the rim from damage.
So this tyre was old when I bought it, unused, in about 2002, hence 'pre-KO'.
Didn't get much help from BFG when I queried the fault, but since I hadn't bought it from them, I didn't really have any claim. So it languishes in the back shed as a possible emerg spare.

I still like the BFG ATs (the KOs, anyway), and have had up to 90K out of a set, so still keep buying them.
Gerry
FollowupID: 595638

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 17:54

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 17:54
Gerry!! The tread pattern also extended down the sidewall a little further and they angled that part of the tread from straight on the KO's , Ive had up to 120,000ks from 265x75x16.BFG's,normally around 110,000ks,, For around $260 ea, you cant beat them.. Michael.
FollowupID: 595682

Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:10

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:10
Bummer! why didn't someone tell me this?
Does this mean I've been short-changed with only 90K?
Perhaps the old 4.2 GU has too much raw power which reduces the life of the tyres....
FollowupID: 595708

Reply By: ats11279 - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 08:26

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 08:26
Old Mal,

I had similar cracks open up in a set of BFG All terrains about 3 years ago, except the chords started to come out through the cracks. I was given a replacement set under warranty.
AnswerID: 328385

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:33

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:33
Had to change one the other day that let go. While inspecting the tyre it had quite a few cracks. Had a look at the date on the inside and it was 6 years old. Shrugged the shoulders and thought oh well new set coming up.
AnswerID: 328592