Port Douglas/ Daintree

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:24
ThreadID: 62268 Views:2843 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
I'm finally doing the decent thing and marrying my best mate of 16 yrs ...Ren!
Sneeking off to the Daintree with a couple of friends to tie the knot! We will only be thier for a week after the wedding and would like some feedback on the best value, most adventurous, stuff we can do! Balloon rides and chopper flights are all well and good, but come at a hefty price. We just spent 3 weeks in Indo snorkling and diving so the barrier reef isn't a prioity. Other than a bit of trekking in the Daintree, does anyone have any ideas on what to tackle and at the same time steer clear of the tourist rabble!

Evan
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:28

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 11:28
Did the sky rail the other day. Really good and great value for money. We did it return but if you have two cars you can just go one way. Go to Mosman george, free, very pretty, some short walks and the chance for a VERY cold dip!
Have fun
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 328400

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:36

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:36
Giday mate, did Ren say yes ????

And what does Lee reckon ????

Dont know nuttin bout that side of the island but have a great time.

Love Paula but my best mate has 4 wheels....hehehe.

Cheers....Lionel & Paula.
AnswerID: 328416

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:40

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:40
hey Lionel,

Ren said yes 4 yrs ago, but Lee came along and things kinda got a bit side tracked.

Lee gets to go on a plane again and that's all he cares about!!!!

Will have to catch up after chrissy, maybe Warren River!!

adios

FollowupID: 595662

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:44

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:44
Evan.

If you are well setup, you could do the Daintree/Creb Track loop.
Lots of info here about the Creb track. The weather will be your main concern.

All the very best for the future.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 328418

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:46

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:46
Wim,

I wish !!! but we are flying over. Staying in Daintree eco lodge, but was restling with the idea of hiring a cruiser/patrol from Cairns airport to give us a bit more of an option of places to see off the beaten track. ( they'll only be day trips)
All depends when the rain starts dumping and what will be accessable!

FollowupID: 595664

Reply By: Member - Kevin R (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:56

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 15:56
Try white water rafting the Tully River. Its a full day out and even better fun if there has been a bit of rain. Maybe hire a car and do a trip around the tablelands. Some great waterfall and walks. A trip up to Cooktown is well worthwhile.

Kevin
AnswerID: 328422

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:52

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:52
Kev,

I'm saving Cooktown for our cape trip, some short tableland missions sound like the go, Mossman Gorge looks like a nice spot as Kevin replied ,so I think I'll be hiring a fourby from Hert's in Cairns!

cheers,

FollowupID: 595668

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:57

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 16:57
sorry, that was Lyndon who recommended Mossman Gorge!

FollowupID: 595672

Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:07

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 19:07
Even,

16 years, not a lot of time on which to make such a momentous decision.

I really think you should stop and give this some real consideration.

Ian.
AnswerID: 328447

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 20:44

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 20:44
For fear of being physically abuse, I can not take your advice!

I just have to take the plunge and hope I have made the right decision! Time to consider is up!!!!

FollowupID: 595699

Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 09:55

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 09:55
Evan,

Good on ya!

We went on skyrail, then came down on the railway from Kuranda. Rooooolly good value. Skyrail is like being in a silent helicopter, with heaps to see.

Also had breakfast with the birds one morning, bit of a different experience, and not as "dangerous" as it might sound. Just check for floaters in your orange juice, or cereal.

that's all we had time for as were working the rest of the week.

Have fun,

Hooroo,

AnswerID: 328499

Reply By: Member - Damien L (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 15:34

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 15:34
G'day Evan, If your hiring a 4b, do the Bloomfield Track to Lyns Den then Back. It will depend on rain if you try the CREB track. It is damp at the moment we have had rain for a couple of days now, so it will depnd on when you are coming up here.
Also ther is also a reef fishing trip you can do from Port Doglas in a day.
Damien
Love the bush

AnswerID: 328538

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:20

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:20
Damien,

we are there 1st week in Nov so I'm not holding my breath for any favourable track conditions.
We are staying at the Daintree eco resort so we will be doing day trips from there!
Can the Bloomfield to Lyns Den and back be done in a day?

Already planed the fishing charter, we both love to wet a line so that was a no brainer.

Thanx for the tips!

Evan

FollowupID: 595840

Reply By: young_codger - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 17:35

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 17:35
It's all good north of Port Douglas. Spend some time in the Daintree rainforest - Cape Trbulation is an awesome spot and the Jungle Bar at PKs is a great place to have a beer and a game of pool.

Hire a 4wd (a Patrol from Budget is the best bet) and do the Bloomfield and CREB tracks. If it's been raining then the CREB track will probably be too hard to do the lot, but you can drive out to Roaring Meg Falls on the drier northern side - I did this last year (in a Patrol from Budget). The turnoff is past hard to find, but I think it's about 3-5km past Bloomfield on the left - just before a small concrete creek crossing.

The Bloomfield falls are probably just as nice as Roaring Meg Falls and to get to them you take a left once you've crossed the Bloomfield River crossing - they're only about 1km down the road.

Cooktown is really nice and peaceful and is away from all the tourism of Cairns and Port Douglas. If you can spend a day or two up there, but don't try catching mud crabs up the river!!

FNQ is an awesome part of Oz, I'm sure you'll have a ball!!

AnswerID: 328547

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:24

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 21:24
Jungle bar ! mmmmm

sounds like my soughta drinking establishment! We'll check it out!

Bloomfeild track sounds like the go from responses and doing some research!

We will definatly get some quality time in the Daintree as we will be perched in our treetop villa for a week!

thanks for the tips!

Evan

FollowupID: 595841