OT. Daylight savings

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:22
ThreadID: 62286 Views:2444 Replies:8 FollowUps:16
Hi all.

Just a reminder daylight savings starts 2am tomorrow time for the curtain to start fading lol.

For all information on all states

http://www.alldownunder.com/oz-k/date/australian-daylight-savings.htm

Cheers Pat

Reply By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:54

Saturday, Oct 04, 2008 at 22:54
Daylight savings?????
and where do ya keep all this daylight that you're (allegedly) saving?? .. in a box under the bed perhaps?? bring it out on a rainy day??

Call me slow, but I've never been able to figure out why some people think they need to mess with the clock just so they can get out of bed an hour earlier...............

bit like cheatin' at patience, really.. I mean, who do ya think you're tryin' to kid???

;-))))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 328465

Follow Up By: RosscoH - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:51

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:51
Have to agree Ed,, Daylight saving is for people that are not smart enough to learn how to change the alarm on a clock, they stopped reading the instructions after they read the part how to change the time. Anyway won'i effect me, I get up in the dark and go to bed in the dark so the time doesn't really matter.
FollowupID: 595722

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 13:47

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 13:47
How does that help the time that you finish work?
FollowupID: 595756

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:52

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 08:52
Not in Queensland it doesnt.................
AnswerID: 328487

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 10:47

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 10:47
Here we go again !
Hello ! Knock, knock Qld Govt !
Bloody daylight saving gives us hell, here on the Tweed Coast. We need our own time zone down here.
Every year the QLD govt ignores thousands of people who live with one foot either side of the border.
Something to do with feeding the chooks I think.
AnswerID: 328510

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:21
Hey Footy

I totally agree,living just a few ks from the Border is a Pain in the
Arse with Two Time Zones, People Border Hopping every day to
go to work ect is Insane, either every State or not at all.

Daza
FollowupID: 595737

Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:12

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:12
THERE IS NO SUCH THING AS DAYLIGHT SAVING. It is a big con.
Here in W.A. we have had quite a few referendums on this con and at each referendum this con (l refuse to call it DLS) has been knocked back but the state government keep trying it on. I believe that it could be pressure from businesses in the east.
What is wrong for those who want IT to get our of bed an hour earlier and leave us sane people alone.
A country with a line of latitude like Australia does not need this con but it may work in countries further north or south.
Why not do like the Chinese and just have one time zone for the whole of the country.
AnswerID: 328514

Follow Up By: equinox - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:21

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 11:21
"Why not do like the Chinese and just have one time zone for the whole of the country."

Good idea, as long as it's WST... :))

FollowupID: 595736

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 12:44

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 12:44
Why is it a con?

FollowupID: 595748

Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 16:06

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 16:06
OK John,
It is a con because:-
1. West Australia have voted consistently in referenda not to introduce "Daylight Saving".
2. The State government allowed a disgraced former Minister, (Dorazio) and a recently deposed Leader of the Opposition (Birney) to introduce a private members bill to bring on DLS. The introduction was, IMO, an act of Barstardry to make both the Govt and the Opposition look stupid (An act of revenge, if you like).
3. Most of WA already has automatic daylight saving.
In case you are not aware of the fact, the meridian that WA takes it's time from is about 2km west of Ravensthorpe,about 100km west of Kalgoorlie and from memory fairly close to Broome.
So......most of the more densely populated area are already experiencing some degree of daylight saving.
4. Why should the majority be inconvenienced just because apair of dropkick pollies decide to abuse the system.

Disco.
(In case it's not obvious, I detest DLS, it's a pain in the ar**.)
FollowupID: 595777

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 16:33

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 16:33
Disco just because WA may have political issues associated with the possible introduction of DLS does not mean the benefits associated with DLS itself are a con.

FollowupID: 595781

Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 18:19

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 18:19
John,
If a Government imposing something (Daylight Saving) against the express wishes of the people of WA isn't a con job, what is ?????.

Disco.
FollowupID: 595789

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:35

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 19:35
Disco read my reply again.
The political issues in WA involving the inception of DLS in that state MAY or MAY NOT be a con, I don't know and I can't comment on that particular point as I don't live in WA and don't know who's who in WA politics.
In your opinion the political issues involving DLS in WA are a con then who am I to comment to the contrary.

Ray made the comment in his post that DLS is a con and I ask again how turning your clock forward by one hour is a con??
Victoria has had Daylight Savings for as long as I can remember and can see nothing wrong with it or nothing than can be construed as a con job in that simple act.

FollowupID: 595808

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:28

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:28
ray maaaate if they had a reforendom here in WA on tvs, electricity and cars then we wouldnt have them either
just coz it was knocked back in a reforendom doesnt say much
FollowupID: 595869

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:46

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:46
John,

IMHO this DLS is useless gimmick that makes more confusions and frustrations rather then anything good. Why do we need to wind our clock back in autumn? I hate winter times because you drive to work while there is a day already, but came back at dark and cannot do anything outside. If I would be in charge, I would wind clock even one more hour forward and leave it like this all year around. We still need to use our headlights during winter, thus I would prefer use them in the morning. And besides I newer understood what they actually save.

Serg
FollowupID: 595887

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 20:47

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 20:47
This old chestnut will never die.

It's like a Ford/GMH or Toyota/Nissan battle.

Hence, it will never die, nor will it be won or lost.

National law will ever only fix it, one way or the other.

AnswerID: 328577

Reply By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:55

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:55
I just can't for the WA referendum so we can vote it out for the forth time.
AnswerID: 328593

Follow Up By: oz doc - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:17

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 10:17
Hi Sweeney - I heard that we are not having another referendum this time. Apparently the new WA govt has decided just to ditch the daylight saving after this third trial period is through. What have you heard?doc.
FollowupID: 595884

Follow Up By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:21

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:21
I haven't heard that, I still thought that they were going have the referendum still. It would be good if they did.
FollowupID: 596025

Reply By: Member - Dogman (WA) - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 23:28

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 23:28
Sweeney, I'm with you lets vote it out for the fourth and hopefully the final time.
AnswerID: 328597

Reply By: Dolphin38 - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:21

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:21
I'm for keeping it in WA.... vote YES....

So what are your "reasons" Dogman and Sweeney for not wanting it? Surely not as lame as the curtains fade or an extra hour of sunlight isn't good for you?
AnswerID: 328609

Follow Up By: Dolphin38 - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:35

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 02:35
Another thing.........

It's bad enough that WA is labled the Wait Awhile state and that we here in WA live in a 'backward' state because people are resistant to change and progress (eg., 7 day trading, touring concerts of whatever genre skip Perth, and the list goes on), but to also vote against DLS (time adjustment) is plain ingnorance, stubbornness and sticking ones head in the sand.
FollowupID: 595870

Follow Up By: disco driver - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 11:43

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 11:43
Dolphin,
In regard to your FollowUp, if you don't like it go somewhere else.

If someone disagrees with you that DOES NOT make them ignorant, stubborn and backward.

If Daylight Saving is so bloody great, show ME what I benefit from it.

To help you, here's some background:-

I'm retired, on an old age pension and live in a small country town (<2500 pop) on the S coast of WA. I cannot do many activities due to an ongoing medical problem .

In the words of Pauline Hanson.............."Please explain.

Disco.
FollowupID: 595891

Follow Up By: Member - Sweeney (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:30

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:30
I hear conflicting reports about the benefits of seven day trading (some bad from eastern staters), so are we backwards if we don't have it.
I agree with Disco, how does daylight saving benefit us. It had more negatives than positives while growing up in the Kimberleys.
FollowupID: 596028