Patience Well Blog is up.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 22:43
ThreadID: 62310 Views:2745 Replies:8 FollowUps:11

I've had a fair bit of interest in the well since the anouncement in the paper and on here.

A lot of people have been asking for the location and I have decided to make them public along with the story, right here on Exploroz.

The Blog is HERE

If anyone has any questions I will try and answer them.

Please be respectful of the sites if you choose to visit.

Enjoy.

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 23:52

Sunday, Oct 05, 2008 at 23:52
good read Alan

I have made a note for next years trip. ;-)

AnswerID: 328600

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:41

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:41
No worries Richard,

You can be in charge of maintaining the parking area if you like...

FollowupID: 595928

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 00:00

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 00:00
Good read Alan, lots of detail. Again congrats on a job well done.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 328601

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:44
Thanks again Phil

FollowupID: 596013

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 08:07

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 08:07
Alan,

Congratulations on your patience and persistence. It must have been a satisfying feeling to at last find what you had spent so long searching for. Thank you for taking me with you to a place I will most likely never see myself.

Viv
AnswerID: 328614

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:18
Hear hear!

As you know I have done similar - but not as exhaustive or remote work with Stuart - so I too 'dips me lid'.

Thanks also for having the guts to publish - I imagine you weighed that decision a few times before proceeding?

FollowupID: 596008

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:50

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:50
Thanks Viv,

Yes - pretty satisfying, though I feel a little rudderless still at the moment.

I have been reading your trip reports with interest.

Rick,

Thanks. It did weigh on my mind for a while. It's amazing who has contacted my for details, mostly by phone. But in the end - what's the use of exploring if you can't tell anyone.

FollowupID: 596014

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 08:39

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 08:39
Alan,

That is a great story; good to see adventure is alive and well !!

AnswerID: 328617

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:51

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:51
Thanks Landy - there will always be some adventure to have I think.

FollowupID: 596015

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 09:45

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 09:45
Alan,

congratulations mate, what a buzz for you. Have not read it yet but will get to today I hope.

i dips me lid to you.

Jeremy.
AnswerID: 328622

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:42

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 14:42
Thanks Jeremy,

I know you have had a bit of an interest over the years.

I hope you make it out there one day..

FollowupID: 595929

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:03

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 16:03
Excellent read Alan. Enjoyed reading the newspaper article but your Blog adds a great deal more detail and personality to the adventure.

Where next?

AnswerID: 328665

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:54

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:54
Glad you liked it Duncan.

Where next? Good question. I have always wanted to do a complete desert crossing. I don't think it will be next year. Probably 2010 and I know there will be a few Exploroz people out on big trips.

FollowupID: 596017

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:10

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:10
You any ideas which desert you have in mind? Also you looking for a few extras to join you and to follow your wheel tracks?

FollowupID: 596021

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:56

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:56
The Great Sandy Desert sounds enticing.

I couldn't see myself going alone if I could help it. I don't mind normally but it would be a tough trip, and a problem shared...

FollowupID: 596035

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:14

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 20:14
I had been looking forward to it, and you didn't disappoint me at all. From the quad bike expedition web pages, through to this one, I have been envious . :))
"All" it took was a lot of hard work, a bit of luck and some lateral thinking over a long time by the looks LOL
I'm also aware of the expeditions that have searched, including a few with a lot greater fanfare and apparent resources.
I'd like to say that I'll visit the site, but I suspect that if all your admirers did, it would have very undesirable effects. I'd hate you to return and find the Patience Well Motel selling souvenirs :))

Once again congratulations and thank you.
AnswerID: 328699

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:58

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:58
Thanks Footy,

That kind of stuff really excites me.
We are bloody lucky to live here.

And I think the Patience Well Motel may be some way away yet, but you never know :))

FollowupID: 596019

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (SA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:50

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 21:50
Hi Alan
Like the other replies above, well done and you must still be on cloud nine. We will be up that way next August and would like to make it a must see.

Once again congratulations

Best Regards

PS keep up the confluence visits.
Who has been here

AnswerID: 328714

Follow Up By: equinox - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:01

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 22:01
Thanks mate.

Slowley coming down from the clouds. I can see better on the ground.

I still have one confluence to log from the trip, and that will be it until next time.

FollowupID: 596020