Digital SLR Cameras

We are looking at replacing our ageing Fuji Fine Pix Camera with a better quality SLR Digital Camera. What advice is out there?

Reply By: swampy66 - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:33

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:33
Choice magazine reviewed SLR cameas last month.
I think you can buy individual reports online.

They tested over 80 cameras

have fun
swampy

AnswerID: 328723

Reply By: Member - Col G (WA) - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:35

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:35
Check out dpreview.com. I use a Nikon but Canon is good too so are a few others, it boils down to personal preference, there is a similar thing between Nikon and Canon as there is between Toyota and Nissan.

What is probably more important is the person standing behind the camera than the equipment.

Have fun choosing then get out there and take photos.

AnswerID: 328724

Follow Up By: chisel - Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:38

Monday, Oct 06, 2008 at 23:38
dpreview.com is excellent.
dcresource.com is also very good.
FollowupID: 596039

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 01:34

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 01:34
yep if you habnt visited www.dpreview.com how can you know what you are buying?
FollowupID: 596044

Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 03:04

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 03:04
I have just upgraded my Camera, and of course same as Vehicles its horses for courses. After mths of research, I went for a Sony DSLR A200, its features were better than any other Camera under $1200 and even better than some $2000 kits, with twin lens kits I believe you can get this unit for under $900

Rated better on review sites listed above than most others in most uses, again as I said horses for courses Sony DSLR A 350 is dearer but rates lower and extra functions, didnt suit me anyway..

Happy shopping...
AnswerID: 328733

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:08

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:08
Nice Photo Blaze, Was that taken with the new camera. It looks like the camera man new what he was doing.
FollowupID: 596057

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:31

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:31
Just proves its a pretty good Camera in those low light conditions and with a very very inexperienced person looking through viewfinder.
FollowupID: 596060

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 08:12

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 08:12
If you are going to buy a Canon , think about buying a body only on Ebay, because in Aust they are offering two fairly low grade lenses as a combo to try to get business . Then do some thinking about your needs and buy one good lens off Ebay .

I am on my third Canon and have found them easy to use .
AnswerID: 328741

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:20

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:20
Im afraid I must disagree strongly against doing this as if anything goes wrong with the camera no one here will honour the warranty.

All (or most) cameras are warrantied in the COUNTRY OF PURCHASE or ORIGIN ONLY.

So if you buy one from Hong Kong you have to send it back to the seller for repair.

When I was researching my Nikon I rang Nikon Australia who confirmed this.

Lenses are different All Nikon lens have a worldwide warranty.

I did buy one off Ebay but from an Australian Nikon approved seller and got my lens fom a USA approved Nikon seller.

I found the Cannon too smal for my hands and so bought a Nikon D 200

Best advice is read dpreview then go into a shop and actaully try the camera for feel, position of controls etc Then put a long lens on it and see what it feels like.

I should have waited and got the new D300 I think however too late now.
Also have the GPS module for mine so that I know where I was lost when I took the pic
FollowupID: 596067

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:16

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:16
Olympus provide a world-wide warranty, I have their E500 camera and am very pleased with it.

http://www.olympusamerica.com/cpg_section/world_warranty_home.asp

FollowupID: 596070

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:08

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:08
My Panasonic has a WW warranty
however the reliability of cameras really is pretty darn good unless you drop them which isnt covered anyway (my panny hasnt missed a beat in 2 years and i wouldnt expect it to)
and would be worth taking some risk on considering the savings to be had.
beware though you need to pick your sellers on Ebay
DP review forums can help there. Ebay is a dream come true for shonks and ripoff merchents
FollowupID: 596073

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:21

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:21
I have had three Canon EOS with no problems - all bought overseas . I think the savings outweigh the risk and usually , any problems occur outside the warranty period with 99% of things I own!
FollowupID: 596075

Reply By: joff1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:13

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:13
I have had a Nikon D70 for 3 years. It is a very good piece of kit and allows you to evolve from point and shoot photography to other more complex methods that produce some really good shots.

As has been said, the lenses are the real investment. Don't buy cheap because it will invariably be garbage. Take my Tamron 28 - 300 zoom. Garbage. My Nikor 18 - 70 is ok though.

AnswerID: 328747

Reply By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:33

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 09:33
I've been doing some research on this subject too. Here's what I am leaning towards:

I am looking for a camera body with one good zoom lens rather than get two cheap lenses for the price of one deals you get with some package deals. I've narrowed down my choice to two cameras

NIKON D90 (12.3 megapixels) with a 18 to 105mm VR lens
Pentax K20D (14.6 megapixels) with an 18 to 250mm Pentax lens.

The Canon 450D and the 40D while both excellent cameras don't have the lens that suits my needs so they are out. I won't buy on ebay.

Be aware that technology is changing and CCD sensor technology is older than CMOS. Nikon is moving from CCD in their D200 and D80 models to CMOS in their D90 and D300 models, while Canon are now mostly using CMOS sensors as are Pentax in their K20D.

I don't want to be changing lenses too often as the possibility of dust getting onto the sensor will become a problem so one good, Vibration Resistant lens will have to do me. Its also fiddly carrying and changing lenses while on tour in Europe for instance.

My next step is to go out and buy the damn thing.
Look at Digital Camera Warehouse http://www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au

Their prices are quite good. There are of course many other sellers so look around. Ebay were a couple of hundred $ cheaper when I last looked but I won't deal through PayPay on this sort of item.

Happy hunting

Toolman
AnswerID: 328750

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:17

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:17
I just got a Nikon D90 with the 18-200 zoom. It is a step up from the smaller zooms in quality ( and price) but it is a great full range lens.

The D90 is great. Same sensor as the more expensive D300 ( though only 12 bit), is low noise and the only DSLR under $5000 to do movies. It does HD or You tube quality and you can take photos at the same time.

Very very happy.
FollowupID: 596066

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:27

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:27
Just make sure you get a genuine MANUFACTURERS warranty not just a sellers warranty when you buy at discount places.

When I was looking there was both on offer at different sellers so just be careful.
If they arent maunfacturer approved distributors they wont be able to give a factory warranty.
FollowupID: 596068

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:15

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 16:15
I would also go the Nikon D90 with the 18-200 DX lens, as the main lens.
FollowupID: 596376

Follow Up By: PajeroTD - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 03:55

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 03:55
I changed my mind, if you don't mind spending some money, go the D300 or D700 body with the Nikkor 14-28mm F/2.8 AF-S, a Nikkor 28-70mm? F/2.8 AF-S and a 70-200 F/2.8 AF-S VR
FollowupID: 596471

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 06:25

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 06:25
That little change fo mind just cost approx $1500 though ;-)
FollowupID: 596475

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:54

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 10:54
The "quality" of the camera lens is very important, some cameras use interchangeable lens anyway and you should use the best quality lens available and they are not cheap, some are dearer than a new (cheap) camera.

I won't nominate the 'best quality' lens here because I don't have the relevant information at hand to back it up, but I'm sure some one will offer up the same advice.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 328753

Reply By: Zapper - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:02

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 11:02
I just bought a Nikon D60 with twin lens kit, its my 1st SLR, paid $1100 with a bag and 4g card, they are advertised for only $849 but that is not with VR lenses
AnswerID: 328754

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:03

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:03
I have Pentax and definitely will recommend it. While Canon and Nikon far bigger players, they far more expensive, Canon in particular. Entry-level Canon DSLR just cannot stand against similarly priced competition and one need to climb up in their steep ladder to get decent piece of equipment. Also for the same money Pentax offer far better lenses, primes in particular. Not saying that Canon or Nikon have not got good lenses – quite on the contrary they have much better variety to choose from, but their asking price much higher. Also Pentax offer dist and moisture sealed body and such feature only can be found in Canon and Nikon in their up-market units. Last but not least – Pentas does in-body image stabilization and believe me it does work. Canon and Nikon do only in-lens one. There was massive debates what is better, general consensus that in-lens has small edge, but one pay huge premium for privilege. Also such thing like fast image stabilized prime does not exists in Canon and Nikon catalogs, while with Pentas any lens mounted to body became stabilized.

Good luck in your search.

Serg
AnswerID: 328763

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:35

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:35
Serg,
Which particular model of Pentax to do have?

The points you raise in your relpy are all very good and the same points that attracted me to the Pentax K20D after I'd virtually settled on the Nikon D90.

Toolman
FollowupID: 596086

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:22

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:22
Toolman

Actually I have 2 of them – DS and K10D. I do not believe that you can get new K10D anymore, but K20D has all goodies from K10D plus some tweaks. Most noticeable among them is new CMOS 14MP sensor (I personally believe that even 10 too much, though clean high-ISO from CMOS sensor most welcome), life view (IMHO useless gimmick) and in my opinion indispensable fine auto-focus tuning for 20 lenses; plus some smaller les important tweaks. Not saying that Big Two have not got such features, but for argument say dust sealing and fine-tuning of auto-focus can be found only on up-market bodies twice and more expensive.

Serg
FollowupID: 596092

Follow Up By: Member - Toolman (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:54

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:54
Thanks Serg,
Actually, Pentax has been around for a long time time too and is a very reputable brand. I remember back in 1975 I had my heart set on getting a Pentax SLR on my honeymoon (Nikon was too expensive) but the duty free shop only dealt in Nikon and Canon so I ended up with the Nikon. Not that I'm complaining mind you as my old Nikon still takes an absolutely superb photograph but 35mm camera's are not longer as practical as the digital SLR's.

What I like about the Pentax K20D is the value for money ($A1680). For the same price as a Nikon D90 with a 18 to 105 mm VR lens, the pentax K20D offers
- 18 to 250mm Pentax zoom lens. I hope it is a Pentax lens and not a re-badged Sigma lens.
- 14.6 megapixels CMOS sensor which has to better than 12.3 (not that with normal size photos that matters.)
- It has 75 watertight seals which means you can theoretically take photos in the rain without concern. (not that I would though).

Against that the Nikon reputation for quality and my nostalgic leaning towards Nikon. The D90 is a great sounding camera with a great lens. Decisions decisions!!

I'm sure no-one could tell the difference in quality between most DSLR cameras taking photos of the same subject under the saem conditions,when all is said and done.

Toolman
FollowupID: 596110

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 18:31

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 18:31
AFAIK Pentax never re-badge any lenses. Mate, I am die hard Pentaxian, but if you have enough *COMPATIBLE* lenses from Nikon perhaps it will be better solution for you? As stated many times (and I fully agree on this) camera does not matter. All brands offer cameras that far exceed ability of average amateur anyway.

Serg
FollowupID: 596114

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:19

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:19
I have a K10D.

For the K10D/K20D to be weatherproof you really need a D* lens. The 18-250 is Pentax branded but you can buy the identical item as another brand (Tokina/Tamron/Vivitar.. can't remember which one)

I have many Ais Nikkors, but didn't want to spend the required $$$ to get a D200 (at the time) to enable me to use them somewhat normaly. Dnn series Nikons (D40/60/70/80 & now 90) don't meter very well with them apparently.

I think anybody who wants to buy a dSLR should go into a shop and handle them. Make sure they put a battery and card in so you can take some snaps around the shop and play with it properly.

Nige.
FollowupID: 596159

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:34

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:34
My only bit of advice is to learn as much about photography as you can as most people have cameras that are way beyond their photographic skill levels.

I'm sure I have mentioned this on the forum before but award winning photographs have in the past and still will be taken by very cheap cameras.

A good photographer with a crap camera will always outperform the photographer with no understanding of light, perspective, composition, exposure etc, but with a $10k camera. One can still take junk with the $8000, Nikon D3.

I'm not advising you NOT to buy what you're heart desires, but if you want photos to match the camera's quality you will need to do some learning (if you haven't already).

AnswerID: 328775

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:59

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:59
>My only bit of advice is to learn as much about photography as you can as
>most people have cameras that are way beyond their photographic skill levels.

Very well said Mark.

There is a big danger of getting into a "numbers game" when buying a camera but we should keep in mind that today's $1000 DSLR is a much more capable camera than professionals were using a few years ago.

It's the photographer who makes the picture, not the camera.

FollowupID: 596090

Reply By: troopyman - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:28

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 15:28
Its not the camera that is the expensive part . Its the other lenses that you want to buy . Canon has the best lenses . Get something like a 70mm - 300mm telephoto usm and a speedlite flash .
AnswerID: 328778

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:31

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:31
>>>>Canon has the best lenses .

IMHO utterly rubbish statement. Each and every manufacture has great (expensive) and cheap (dodgy) lenses. Canon, for example, supplies most dodgy lens among entry-level DSLR as “kit lens” to make price more attractive. And true gems from Canon cost an arm and a leg and a home mortgage. Like with BMW or Mercedes – one pay for badge, not for quality.

YMMV.
Serg
FollowupID: 596093

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 19:28

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 19:28
The glass lens is possibly the most important part of the digital camera

The German company Leica does make cameras, but they also make the lens for many of their oppositions upmarket cameras too, simply because of the high quality of their lens, ask any camera store for their opinion on high-end quality digital camera lens and the name Leica glass will be heard as a benefit.

Link to: Leica glass lens

Mainey . . .
FollowupID: 596122

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:48

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:48
Leica and Zeiss stays quite apart from other lens-makers – they do not do cheap SLR lenses and AFAIK Zeiss does not do any zooms and Leica does only few of them. Although pity that they now branding their lenses with Panasonic and Sony correspondently (well, money always matter). Thus if anyone start to argue that Leica or Zeiss lenses THE BEST I may understand them. But I am getting quite skeptical when people saying that Canon that is mainly electronic, not optic company doing the best lenses.

Serg
FollowupID: 596137

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 04:03

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 04:03
why would they not have their lenses in "panasonic" cameras?

most of their camera range are rebadged panasonics at twice the price
FollowupID: 596473

Reply By: HappyCamper - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:22

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:22
G'day Cookie & Di

My choice is Canon! Just recently I bought another body on eBay from a Sydney seller with fully Canon warranty, new in the box and a great price, if you are interested I can email his userID to you? No affiliation other than being a satisfied customer.

Canon has just released the 50D but if you want to save a few $$$'s there is absolutely 'nothing' wrong with the 30D or 40D, both will give fantastic results...half of the great photos are a good lens. There are many, many compatible lenses so you could always be assured of finding one to suit your needs and it doesn't have to be a genuine Canon lens. While these are in the higher price range, I've bought mine as pre-loved on eBay and had absolutely no problems at all. Some people need to have the latest and greatest and always upgrading...so I buy their cast offs and save heaps!! LOL One such lens is over 20 yrs old, cost about a sixth of it's original price and looks and shoots like a brand new one. It's one of my favourite lenses.

Don't be tricked into buying a high megapixel count body, this is necessary in low end cameras but on DSLR's is not the be all and end all.

Hope this helps?
Bronwyn ;-)

AnswerID: 328788

Reply By: oiler1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:01

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:01
A few have already said this but a great camera doesn't make a good photographer. A camera is just a box with a hole in it and a way of recording the image.

Don't worry about what camera you get, just get one and start taking photos. I do a lot of photography and when I look at photos in exhibitions etc, knowone cares what camera it was taken on.

I mainly use Nikons because I have lenses I can take from one to the next but I could just as easily use any name brand. I also buy in Australia from a reputable dealer as backup is important.

Remember, cameras don't take photos, people do.
AnswerID: 328792

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:43

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:43
Saying to a photographer, "...that is a great photograph. What type of camera do you have?..." is akin to asking a chef who has just cooked a gourmet meal, what type of oven he uses....... :-)

FollowupID: 596107

Follow Up By: oiler1 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49
Well said...I wish I had thought of that analogy.
FollowupID: 596109

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 22:05

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 22:05
Good points.
We have 2 Panasonics, a 4yo FZ20 and a 2yo FZ50. Both have done hard work and both are excellent, and each has their advantages. The best things about them are the Leica lenses, 12x optical zoom and image stabilisation. We have been consistently very pleased with the quality of our photos.

Also the price, much cheaper than SLR and without the need for additional lenses or changing lenses.
Both were bought on Ebay without any hassles.
Both get excellent reviews in dpreview.

Val.

FollowupID: 596148

Reply By: wendys - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:54

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:54
Very happy with the Pentax K20D. Bought it Dec 2006 - think probably through ebay (was a present for me) - because it came from USA, before was available here. I know the warranty was valid here, though have not had to use it. Was some sort of special offer because it came with 2 lenses. My only issue is that it is just a bit bulky to take on the long walks we do, so I rely on the Pentax Optio for those. Am very happy with photo quality from both cameras - clarity and colour. Husband loves the fast bracket shots on the big one - great for bird photos.
AnswerID: 328801

Reply By: roblin - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 00:25

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 00:25
Went through this process about 5 moths ago. Bought a Canon 40D from an Aus seller but at a price competitive with many O/S. Came with the 17-85mm IS USM lens. Then bought a 70-300 IS USM lens from a Hong Kong outlet (delivered to Aus saved me $150+ over local outlets).

For online sales in Aus check out www.etech-direct (where I got mine with a full warranty but also paid for an extended 3rd party warranty.

Also try www.camerasdirect.com.au (cheaper than www.digitalcamerawarehouse.com.au)

I used the Choice reviews when making up my mind. A report well paid for. I also updated my video camera at the same time and used Choice as well.

As has been said, the lenses are very important. Good lenses will make all the difference IF the camera is used properly. I am still learning how to use mine.

Rob
AnswerID: 328864

Reply By: Derek 48 - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 07:26

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 07:26
I have the Pentax K20D with 18-200 Sigma lens .One lens does all.

Great Camera .Brought from Paxton's in Sydney and got a free camera course with it.

Derek

AnswerID: 328875