Hard Ride

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:03
ThreadID: 62344 Views:4915 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
Recently we took the family and rode the Simpson dessert on our trail bikes which will go down as one of our best family memories as everyone played a part and extended themselves.
But I had one more mission in the year I turned 60 and this was to ride the Vic/Sa border track before it closes till autumn.

We had already proved our bikes and systems and the border track was to be a relatively easy 1 day task after the 4 solid days in the Simpson.

Our camp site was at Coburn Pines, a quiet out of the way place, off Firebreak track 10km east of the vic/sa border.

I had mapped out a 120km return loop from camp which went south down the border thru the one way section and the big hills then looping around and up Centre track back to camp via Scorpian springs and Firebreak track.
This loop was just within the range of our 4 bikes, (DRZ400,KLX450,Wr450,TTR230).

The day before, on the drive into camp we had to travel Firebreak track pulling our bike trailer and the warm conditions had made the sand soft, with 24 psi in the tyres the GU Patrol had simply bogged down even with both difflocks engaged and we had to go to 16psi on the tyres to make it to camp.

Aren't mobile phones great - there is a shortcut and we text our friends who were a couple of hours behind us and advised them of the easy way in - pity that they didn't watch there GPS and ended up at a farmhouse, but thats another story
that they will have to live down.

On the morning of the bike ride we all loaded up. The sun was shining and off we headed. Soon the soft sand on Firebreak track was slowing us down, but being fresh and fit it was ok, but by the time we got to the start of the
actual border track I needed to catch my breath. Everyone else seemed ok.
My bike was heavier than the others but was equipped with a steering stabilizer to assist in the sand.

Heading down the border track was fairly easy and the 4 riders were really enjoying the ride.
Soon it started to drizzle.

The riding was getting harder, it requires a lot of phyiscal effort in the sand as you are constantly adjusting your steering and body position to try and keep the front wheel in the ruts made by cars. After a couple of hours we were at the big hills. There were no wheel marks from cars on the inside harder
tracks over the hills and it was sheer delight to just apply the power and pull the bikes up and over the toughest hills.

Feeling pretty pleased with ourselves we rested after the big efforts and then turned towards Centre track and the drizzle which had now become rain.
This track is quite easy, but the sand sections were getting mushy and the occasional flat clay sections had started to turn ice slippery.
At least I wasn't the first to fall, but soon I was lagging behind and wasn't sure were the others were, despite the use of UHF radios.
The next 20km became a lone battle for me to stay upright and moving , with real exhaustion setting in, rain and cold and slippery tracks it was much harder going than the Simpson ever was.
I had already had two falls when I encounted an easy sand hill and just couldn't keep the bike straight. I bounced off the embankment and this time just lay there for a while winded. It was a huge effort to extract the Suzuki DRZ400 alone.
I knew it was heavier than my mates enduro bikes, but it had never felt this heavy.
Its was here I think that I also lost my spare fuel container, and the hand grip had seperated from the handlebars.

Several kms ahead my friends were waiting at Scorpian springs where we had a short rest and discussed the situation.
They were averaging about 50 whilst I was sitting around 35 kmh.
We were only 20 km from camp and pretty wet, but hard riding keeps you warm and, not wanting to hold the others up I said I was ok and we pressed on.
I was riding a lot slower now and completely exhausted by the time we reached the end of our loop section and were back at Firebreak track only 10km from camp. At this stop I had really had enough and just couldn't go on and convinced
my relucant friends to push on to camp, while they seemed in better condition than me, one had already misjuded it and hit Mallee stump and had a rapidly swelling foot injury and needed some pain killers.

They wouldn't leave me at first, but as it was a straight run, and we were now back into mobile phone coverage I convinced them to go on the understanding that if I wasn't at camp within 1 hour of them they would come looking.
I also assured them that I would not deviate from this one straight track.

They headed for home and I sat down and ate a large cherry ripe bar and drank a liter of water over the next 1/2 hour.

I received a text message that they arrived in camp as I headed off however another rider had hit a tree hard, and had wrenched their shoulder and arm.

Whilst some have a hard time admitting it was obvious that tiredness was contributing to making mistakes.

The rain stopped and the sun came out.

The rest had helped, but after riding only 2 km I was down again as the tiredness came back, I could see the fall coming but just couldn't prevent it.
My steering stabilizer appeared to have gone soft from the constant pounding and this wasn't helping.
The sand was so soft underneath - you can look at the wheel ruts made by cars and judge the difficulty for bikes.
If the tyre mark is flat and fully there its easy but when the sand is soft it flows back into wheel track and is hard to ride, or drive.
In this case it had flowed back in and had some wet slush over the top as well.

It took an hour to struggle the remaining 6km back to camp, sometimes only 2 or 3 hundred meters at a time.
I was in direct UHF radio contact with camp by now so they didn't need to come back and eventually I rode, completely stuffed, into camp, very glad that this challenge was over.

My 3 riding friends had just made it back, with one now saying it was the hardest ride they had done.
Al were onto their reserve tanks while my slower bike had used less fuel and was still on the main tank after the tricky 120km ride.

With 2 injured and unable to ride my friends had to leave for home the next day.

I had found it hard to have had to stop when the others kept going.
But I was just fully stuffed and after a days rest, during which we made an emergency dash into town to get some instant cappicino's my wife hadn't packed, I was able to head off on a shorter solo ride to explore some tracks I had never seen before.

Sometimes you just can't get enough of being out there!

Reply By: Member - Warfer (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:12

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 12:12
Gee Robin you hav fun for an Ol Fart lol....Good on you mate !

They say your only as old as the women you feel !

Cheers Mate
AnswerID: 328757

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:35

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:35
I have access to an amateur physcologist (the wife) , she has diagnosed me as being in denial about making 60.
FollowupID: 596082

Reply By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:33

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:33
I'm still undecided as to whether you're brave or mad :-)

AnswerID: 328764

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:47

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 13:47
You will have to drop into the Hampton park coffee shop one lunchtime and pursue the matter Jim.
FollowupID: 596078

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:07

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:07
Would love to.

What's the address and when are you there?

FollowupID: 596080

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:33

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:33
That would be good if it works out Jim.

Hampton Park is small centre on Hallam road south of pound road Melway 96F8
Its about same distance from both of us I think.
Usually there most days from just after 12 to 12:30.

It has a small Coles supermarket inside an arcade and coffee shop is immediately next to Coles.
FollowupID: 596094

Reply By: Moose - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:22

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 14:22
G'day Robin
Excellent tale.

Isn't getting older a bugger? - just can't keep up with the younger set. But you showed "old man cunning" by not pushing beyond your limits and taking it easier.

Sounds like at least one of the others should have adopted your attitude to take it easier and they may have made in unscathed.

I realise you insisted they leave you at the 10km from home mark but I think one should have stayed back with you. 2x2 would have been a lot safer me thinks.

Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 328773

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 19:26

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 19:26
Can be a tricky call Moose, I remember leaving someone alone at night in the HC once after there bikes big-end went, and I went to get help overnight (got a serious earbashing from his hysterical wife at the time) but I can't recall ever having left myself behind before - I guess one can always postulate something may go wrong - the way I felt it could have been a damm heart attack.

For me though at the time I knew I had both communications back to camp and also a secondary means of comms via the phone so I felt I was adequately covered.
FollowupID: 596121

Reply By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:38

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:38
Always love reading about your escapades.

Sounds like an adventure, and something you will definitely remember.

Jeff
AnswerID: 328789

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:41

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:41
Hi Jeff

Now if I had a 307 in that bike I wouldn't needed a rest - well maybe my arms would have.

The main reason I write this stuff up is cause I have a bad memory and this way I get something to review before the next trip.
FollowupID: 596135

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:58

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 16:58
Robin,
A great tale mate!
Good for you for havin' a go and realizing your dreams, as hard as they seem to be!

AnswerID: 328790

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:38

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:38
Hi Brian

Your windows really look protected in that picture.
FollowupID: 596133

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:03

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:03
Our mechanic suggested it..... it's an old foam mattress cut up and "race-taped" on. Worked a treat for us, no busted windows!

FollowupID: 596179

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:41

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:41
G'day Robin, after riding around the farm one day a few months back on a KTM600 that Rock Crawler had borrowed from a friend, I am jutst happy as to ride quads these days. Even with those, I know I can break collar bones when you hit a cow. Something Member Mad Cowz has avoided so far, lucky him! His Mum did it earlier than I did and flipped a trike.

I learnt about wheel ruts years ago mate, triffic for bike wheels :-(((
AnswerID: 328798

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:45

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:45
Meant to say, I enjoyed your read
FollowupID: 596108

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:02

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:02
Hi John

Cows can be solid , the kids have killed two Kangaroo's up our way now as they jump out in front of the bikes - only answer seems to be to slow down , but that message is hard to get thru alright.
FollowupID: 596178

Reply By: toyocrusa - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49
This link was posted on the site a few weeks ago and I was absolutely enthralled reading it. As an old enduro rider I can sympathise with you on just how physical Motor Bike riding can be. Congratulations on completing the ride sensibly.Bob.
http://www.advrider.com/forums/showthread.php?t=379786
AnswerID: 328799

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:16

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:16
Hi Toyo

Its good to be an old enduro rider , that report was a great read , bit to far for you and I though unless we take up some serious
training.
FollowupID: 596182

Reply By: MP - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 17:49
A great read thanks Robin. Myself and my 2 boys, and my mate and his lad have been mucking around in the distict for the last few days. There are some fantastic tracks North and South of Murrayville in Big Desert and Murray-Sunset. We came across a group of bikes on the Milmed Rock Track and heard of another bloke that came to grief on Saturday, stick through the calf just above his boot I believe. We learn't the hard way you need a bit more time in places, our 2 hour Saturday afternoon cruise ended up taking 5 hours and ended up in the dark dodging grasshoppers. We'll be back ASAP to explore some more.

AnswerID: 328800

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:44
Sounds like you had fun to Mark , I'm getting to like the area more as I find it less distressing to bounce on the sand than our normal high country tracks.
FollowupID: 596136

Follow Up By: MP - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:58

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 20:58
We used to take our bikes to a private block between Geranium and Tintinara. 1500 acres, 10km boundary track with around 100kms of tracks inside. Because you were the only ones on the place and you rode in groups you generally knew who was where. All the tracks would be similar to the ones you describe with a couple of unconquerable monsters. Hard riding but the sand is generally soft when you land. The local boys know how to ride it, gee they're good to watch.
FollowupID: 596139

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:08

Tuesday, Oct 07, 2008 at 23:08
Hi Robin,

A great read and well done. I used to do a bit of Enduro racing nearly 20 years ago now and it certainly bought back the memories. I nearly forgot just how tiring riding can actually be.

AnswerID: 328857

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:07

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:07
Hi Captain

Good to have those memories, I felt I should have stopped 20 years ago last week.

I can just get a bike inside my Patrol with passenger seat removed and front wheel removed from the bike - been looking at those 200's - do you reckon you could squeeze one inside it with seats etc removed - I know they are wider than Patrol but not sure about headroom?
FollowupID: 596181

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 10:09

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 10:09
Hi Robin,

While I haven't run a tape measure over the 200, I reckon there is more headroom than my old GU. I have a 40L Engels with Twozone on the floor of the rear and in the GU I could only just open the top lid inside the vehicle. In the 200, I can easily open the top lid and remove larger items from it - shows there is more headroom at the rear at least. Main thing is, it is definitely no smaller than a GU in any dimension.

I know you like the power of your 4.8GU, but take the 200 diesel for a drive and you just may be a diesel convert - especially the 80-120 km/hr overtaking range with a trailer. Another thing too is its offroad ability, I thought I would be taking a step down from my GU, but to my surprise it has more offroad ability (suspension travel) than the GU - now that really surprised me - but the KDSS (option on the GXL diesel) really does make a difference. Check out the pic showing a stock 200 against some other (modified) makes. The amount of front travel for an IFS is amazing - compare it to the GU and 100 live axle below.
I have now lifted my 200 with an ARB suspension kit, maintains the wheel travel while fixing the clearance issues.

FollowupID: 596194

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 11:07

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 11:07
Thanks for that Captain, from the bits you have posted its
seems you have made a pretty good choice.

I'm very open to any factually based arguements and would ditch
the 4800 real fast if a better set of options for my requirements
comes along. Interior size is becoming an issue and I need a bit bigger inside for sleeping occasionally and will be taking a tape measure to our big 4wd show in a couple of weeks - I would love to know if 100 series might have more room than a 200 as while your V8 is great I'm kinda partial to the petrol V8's as well.

Gotta tell you its hard though - I haven't posted yet about the other half of our recent trip in which we found a sandhill taller, steeper and harder than Big-Red.
It was a hell of a feeling quietly powering up it in high range then the wife and I pulling out cans of coke, sitting on the edge of the drop and watching our 3 mates in turbo diesels milling around below for 1/2 an hour trying all sorts of combo's to try and join us. (no 200's)
FollowupID: 596197

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 11:52

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 11:52
Hi Robin,

My brother has a petrol 4.7 V8 Lexus (2002 - 4sp auto) and I was surprised just how much quicker all round the 200 diesel was. We went for a sand run up the dunes and there is one particular hill that I went straight up (22psi) and he had to drop pressures down to 18psi (both of us have 33" -285 wide tyres). The torque of the diesel (650Nm) plus the 6 sp auto means you simply have power on tap at all times. But the rumour is the 2009/10 200 series might have the new 5.7 V8 petrol - needs something to compete with the diesel!!!

The 200 has something like 200mm longer cabin area. Take a close look on just how short the bonnet is - the A pillar now lines up virtually with the back of the front wheel arch. While the vehicle overall length is only slightly longer, the cabin area has been extended and this is why only "V" engines fit into the engine bay (Saudi Arabia gets the V6 4L Prado petrol engine).

Also, the 200 has virtually a flat floor when you fold the 2nd & 3rd row seats up, can easily sleep on it. But I have removed the 3rd row seats and have a draw system now, so negates that possibility for me. Compared to the GU, you could just about have a 4th row of seats if you made the legroom the same ;) But even so, I loved my GU and was sad to see it go - many good memories in it.

Look forward to reading the rest of your trip, makes me want to dust off my old riding gear and get hold of an Enduro bike. Last weekend I went for a spin on a mates quad bike, first time in many years and hanging the back end out with the throttle on full song bought a tear to the eye (and not just because I didn't have goggles on!).

FollowupID: 596203

Reply By: JohnF56 - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:08

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 08:08
I enjoyed reading your story Robin.
Reminded me of a movie I'd seen recently called "Wild Hogs".
Now those 4 guys had a hard ride. LOL
AnswerID: 328877