boulia?
chooks
Reply By: Member - RobnJane(VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 12:14
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 12:14
G'day Chooks,
Can't recall any specific spots between the two, but we spent a night at
Bedourie in the
camp immediately accross the road from the general store/servo at the northern end of town.
Camping there was free, ok with the dog, and great to get a hot shower with the
shop over the road.
Rob.
Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 15:56
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 15:56
I think
Bedourie is the town with the amazing 'Olympic' swimming pool and hot spas - just get a key from the friendly foks at the pub.
There is
camping on the town common too - costs a few dollars and you can use the near new facilities at
the pool.
Just a thought
Happy days
George
Follow Up By: Rossc0 - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:04
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:04
Also the common is grass not like the dustbowl at the roadhouse, which was not free when we were there in August.
Ross & Belinda
Reply By: sfletch - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:52
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:52
Buy one of those
Camp Australia books,worth the money,i have travel and camped alot of
places and didnt realise what i had missed until buying and looking through the book.
Reply By: Bob Y. - Qld - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:51
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:51
Chooks,
Plenty of
camp sites along that road, just depends what you like.
Sandhills north of
Bedourie, then open country through
Marion Downs, with some shady creeks, and back into sandy, white gum country not far from
Boulia.Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Some of this country is in severe drought, so will look pretty ordinary. Just watch out for marthaguy if you
camp near any creeks.
Hooroo,
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:35
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:35
Ok Bob I'll bite...what is a "marthaguy"? Been out that way a few times and never heard of it. Or am I missing something here (like maybe my sense of humour or something ?)
Follow Up By: Bob Y. - Qld - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 07:42
Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 07:42
G'day Footy,
Yeah, probably was fishing for a bite. LOL
Marthaguy or Bogan flea is a burr that grows over much of this country, but mainly on black soil areas. I think. The burr is a small ball about 1/4" or less in diameter that breaks up in many, many little burrs. Deadly on any fluffy items like towels, socks or tracky dacks.
Hooroo,
bob.
Reply By: Member - Mal and Di (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 21:51
Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 21:51
Came through that way in the last two weeks and stopped at the
park south of
Boulia. $20 and good facilities. Did the
Boulia Experience which is first class and a must see. Country south of there and toward
Haddon Corner is a treat with fat cattle and plenty of roo's. We stopped again on a
creek nearly down to the border on way to Cordillo Station. Excellent
camp spot on
water at the second
creek in going west toward Cordillo. Will post the coordinates later. If any one stops there can they look for my Sony video Cam? BUGGER.
M.
Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 09:50
Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 09:50
Came through there last August,
Bedourie camp ground free not much shelter/shade but good showers.
Boulia a nice friendly town, good commercial
camp ground not far away and across the road is
free camping, I suppose it depends on what you would like most at the time.
If you need Internet access the Shire Library is the place.
Min Min experience is worth a chuckle and
well worth while.
Reply By: chookcharmer - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 13:21
Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 13:21
Thank you everyone for all this great information. We drove from the Isa to
Bedourie September last year but struck a dust storm not long after Isa which went with us all the way to
Bedourie so didn't get to see much at all on the trip. Was like driving through thick fog all the way. slow and scary.
Best to all
Chooks