Trying to stay Carbon Neutral. What have you done so far?

OK, so Climate Change has been around for some time. Global Warming I am a tad sceptical about. Now there are catchphrases like ‘doing Carbon Trading’ and ‘being Carbon Neutral’ and dire warnings by Governments that the cost of everything will go up by leaps and bounds in the not too distant future. A pretty gloomy picture is painted.

Every time I get my electricity bill there is a little graph telling me just how many tons of carbon I have released into the atmosphere due my inconsiderate use of electricity. Maybe I need Harry Potters magic wand to change all of that!

We live in a 108 year old stone house.

So what to do?

Over the past few years we have:
Planted 48 trees on our half acre house block
Installed Solar Hot Water
Installed Rain Water tanks to the tune of 20,000lts
Plumbed the rainwater into the house
Filled the ceiling with Pink Batts
Hung heavy curtains over all the windows to keep either cool or warm air in.
Hung curtains in the hallways for the same purpose.
Changed all of the light bulbs to the new Super Glo Energy Saver Globes
Changed to a dual flush toilet cistern
Only use Green Bags for shopping
Recycle all the recyclables

Thinking of installing solar power but the cost is still a bit high.

Still have the dinosaur technology diesel 4x4 and a normal petrol runabout.

Will the 52 trees on our block make us Carbon Neutral in a few years time?

I wonder where it all going to go.

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:43
So lets see if I have this right. The Govt want to whack the price of everything up AND get us to PAY to do things ourselves so that we can be carbon neutral ?

Come in spinner :))))
AnswerID: 328919

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:23

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:23
You are dead right footy,,spot on........
BTW is parliment house gone green????????????? nope.
Do as i say..not what i do..
FollowupID: 596227

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:06

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:06
Yeah it's green.....doesn't it have grass on the roof??
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 596239

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:51

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:51
What sort? That might explain a lot ....
FollowupID: 596272

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:56

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:56
And if they were fair dinkum, they'd have a couple of sheep or roos living on the roof to keep the grass mown, instead of using a fossil fueled motor mower. But, oh no, not only do they use motor mowers, there is a huge number of those bloody blower/vac machines used to herd-up all the falling leaves that Canberra is famous for. Why don't they p!zz-off all those machines and employ people to push a broom to get the leaves where they want them (work for the dole scheme if nobody wants to volunteer for such menial work).
FollowupID: 596445

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy Springsure- Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 08:02

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 08:02
Yeah but Roachie if they employed people on the work for the dole, there would be more trees cut down to make paper for all the paperwork and red tape..LOL
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 596480

Reply By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:50

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:50
We got solar panels, but mainly to shaft the electricity bill and because:

1. Qld introduced a system to pay you $0.44c for each kW you weren't using (ie something like the dual meter deducts the electricty the house uses from what it generates first then ticks over to the mains so they know my net mains input).
2. A local green group got 150 people and got a bulk discount on purchase (Sharp panels) and installation costs.

My net cost of a 1kW system in stalled with Latronics inverter? $1,050.00 out of actual pocket.

I couldn't say no.

We used about 6.5kw a day before the system was installed, so if that doesn't change and it generates, so far on average, 3-4kw a day, I'll be in front in a less than a few years. And of course the 3-4kw of power generated is usually when no-one is home so that attracts the $0.44c payment.

However, still waiting for my first electrical bill ...

At worst I could take down the panels and sell them in Trader!!! Though the gov might want it's $8k back ...
AnswerID: 328920

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:13

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:13
Porl

We also have installed a 1kw solar grid connect system, I think.

Yet to get the first bill and the frustration of dealing with both energex and AGL re connections etc have been diabolical. Ours was installed in March but it took many months to get sense from anyone. The system plugs out the power everyday but I am not sure who has the benefit. I am still on the one for one deal for every unit produced rather than the 44c deal which only applies to instantaneous readings when generation exceeds usage.

I am waiting to see the first bill with any sort of credit to work out the maths. Suspect 44c is not so good if generation hardly ever exceeds usage.

To answer Willem we have had solar water for about 30+ years now and has been a real power saver.

FollowupID: 596288

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:36

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:36
Hey Alan

I am super skeptical of the implementatioin of the scheme, I am taking readings and plan to urge the "local power" group to litigate the issue if it comes to it. The "second" meter is showing zilch on its digital meter, so I rang Energex to ask why I could not read my usage like the old meter and they said, to my utter disbelief, "as it is dual meter the second meter is only readable by the energy consultant taking the reading to determine the bill". I will admit now I am a lawyer by trade, though in-house at the moment and haven't been able to sue anyone for 15yrs, but my hairs are up cause I do smell something very suspicious ...
FollowupID: 596299

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:04

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:04
Porl

I haven't changed to the meter that just shows difference. My second meter shows evrything generated not just excess. It currently shows about 250kwh but I am yet to see a bill to see what credit I get.

Can't understand power setup. The company has no vested interest in me having smaller bills so I see a conflict of interest. The govt should be distribute the power so a reduction means less expense to taxpayers.

I can just imagine AGL reporting a great year because revenues dropped by 40% due to solar. (I think not)

I'll let you know what my next power bill looks like.

FollowupID: 596321

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:56
Just don't buy a new car.

reckon there is about 15 to 20 tonnes of CO2 in the manufacturing and delivery of a new car.

A car produces about 2.5kg of CO2 per litre used, so that is about 60,000km at 10l/100k. If the new car is 10% more effecient, that is about 600,000k to break even point for a new car replacing an old car.
So good one you running an old car. :o)

Same argument for new houses, anything new.

So is the government, when bringing in a carbon tax, going to tax imports for at least the cost of transport from offshore?

Always wondered to when solar panels are going to break even on the CO2 cost of production and delivery. :o)

Now if we lived two families to a house, we could halve polution?

Come on, share the shower, or only shower every 2nd day. :o0

AnswerID: 328921

Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:56

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 16:56
Australia ..... A country this size with a population the same as the city of New York.

In reality .... I would think we are all ready carbon neutral in comparison with the rest of the world ... no matter what spin the pollies and do gooders put on the situation.

Doesnt mean we shouldnt do those simple and productive things that you have done though Willem ... as that certainly improves our situation.

As an opinion .... I believe all new houses should be fitted with solar and water tanks ... someone should be making solar roof panels which could replace areas of tile / tin, thus reducing costs.

What can we do though that is of benefit ... when the govt cuts down trees in school yards ( coz a little kiddy might play in them ) and replace them with arty farty, expensive play equipment and shade cloth .. ??????

AnswerID: 328922

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:46

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:46
Depends where you live. Solar would be next to usless most of the year where I live. But wind could be an option. Always wondered what happened to Solar Panels in Large Hailstorms, solar roof tiles would cop a hiding. The Repair and replacing of them, would have you planting another 100 trees ;-). Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 596225

Follow Up By: Member - Alan H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:19

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:19
Tony B

Solar hot water works even in Tasmania. Anywhere in QLD certainly benefits. We have had solar hot water for 30+ years no problems no hassle and a greatly reduced power bill. It also has survived several hailstorms over this period.

Solar power relies on light not heat in fact heat makes the panels less efficient. Our solar panels pump out some power regardless of cloud cover but of course are at maximum in clear sunshine.

Hoping use of solar will offset impending higher power prices in the future

FollowupID: 596291

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:05

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:05
Solar hot water and gas top up is coming here and will drop our power bill with the hot water no end, but will have some gas in that much of the year. With the Victorian rebates from the government at the moment, some units can be installed with the cost of installation covered in the rebate too.

Electrical solar is too expensive to do much so far. I can't even keep the Karavan charged and fridge powered here on 160w of panels.

100 trees doesn't do much to correct your useage of carbon fuels. 100,000, well that is different. That needs lots of acres and to stay there as a forest.
FollowupID: 596322

Reply By: Notso - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:08

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:08
My second car's an Echo
AnswerID: 328925

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:40

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:40
mine too, ie second car an echo, and i ride my bicycle to work, the wife, if she needs to drive, totes the bubs around in the echo.

Drove to Canberra from Brisbane in PULP, couldn't - on the speed limit all the way, get under 5.7L/100km, on the way back we put in standard ULP, 5.7L/100km. At speeds of 100 - 110km/hr am glad I didn't buy the prius at another $20k.

I take the bubs camping in the lux. we all make compromises.
FollowupID: 596301

Reply By: Member No 1- Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:12

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:12
i reckon you've done more than a lot of us including me.
the aircon only heats to 18 instead of 20. cools to 27 instead of 24
garden doesnt get as much water these days due to water restrictions and with limited back yard small trees have either carked it or are dieing negating any benefit we had there.
kids still leave the lights on and have lengthy showers...yelling at them hasnt worked (just increases my blood pressure) so i am think of putting in a shower timer to stop the hot water ......for the lights mmmm thought of putting in press button timers but swmbo doesnt like the look
have now got late model diesels which should help reduce our output? as we have downgraded one of the cars to a smaller one
gearing up to put the fridges and freezers on solar as these are always switched on. try to switch off TV etc etc at GPO so they are not in standby mode
renewable energy is going to keep energy costs skyrocketing and at a premium and natural gas is to follow i reckon.... keep wonder that if a they built a nuke power station would it keep some elect costs down ...waste heat and excess power at low consumption times could be used to run desal plant and ensuring that nuke reactor is always working at peak which they like i believe.
house is fully insulated, toilets dual flush low energy lamps etc etc

Dont have anywhere to put a decent size rainwater tank/s with out it/they being an eyesore in our garden...cost of putting in an 90000l underground is costly as is a bore, but we may have to do that

me to... i also wonder where it will end...but dont think i will be alive to see where it does..and will need to keep educating (drumming it in to) the kids i guess. (cos they thick at times, but thats kids)
dont think i will ever get to being carbon nuteral especially with the kids at home
AnswerID: 328927

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:24

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:24
Its a load of crap, its a way of Govts taxing the air that you breathe!! They knew it could be done, they just couldn't work out till now how to go about it!! But just in case i'm wrong, i have decided to not take up smoking ever again!! I gave it up in 1990!! Michael
AnswerID: 328929

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:26

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:26
michael

i think ya got it in 1 mate!!

FollowupID: 596222

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:32

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:32
Maybe your smokes will be cheaper in the long run....lol
FollowupID: 596223

Reply By: palmy - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 17:52
Going 'green' is just the next money spinner that's all. Water restrictions on households is a joke - heck on average 20% of water use is residential, the rest is business/industry etc. So what's the point??

Don't get me wrong, these's no point in wasting water/electricity etc. I've planted 150 odd trees on our 5 acres and reckon I could fit another 1000 in easy but will I get a rebate for doing it? I don't think so... :) I've also got an 80,000lt rain water tank but because I have mains water running past my block I still have to pay a connection fee so I might as well use it on the garden...!

The only real way to help is to reduce the world's population to about 2-3 billion, that'll help more than only having a 3 minute shower... :)
AnswerID: 328932

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:55

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:55
That's absolute cr@p about the percentages of water allocated. The majority (>60% in most major urban areas) of water is residential use, with <20% used by commercial premises. It should be noted that around 10-15% of water use can be accounted for in the "non-revenue" areas eg. water leakage, theft, metering issues, etc

The reality is that residential water restrictions and education DO WORK, Brisbane being a classic case in point.

It is disappointing to see that you are charged (and subsequently feel a need to use) for a water connection that you dont need. Sounds like you are self-sufficient to some degree and should be rewarded/encouraged.

FollowupID: 596258

Follow Up By: palmy - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 14:06

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 14:06
Sorry to upset you there Andrew, it's just what I've heard from multiple sources and even from different states.
FollowupID: 596364

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 15:42

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 15:42
Nah, it doesnt upset me Palmy, just correcting an incorrect assumption that many make. :-)

FollowupID: 596374

Follow Up By: NeilT - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 01:17

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 01:17
Andrew,

Palmy's figures are totally backed up by this report:

http://www.water.gov.au/WaterUse/Waterusedbytheeconomy/index.aspx?Menu=Level1_4_2

Admittedly the figures are for 2005 - I couldn't quickly put my finger on more recent ones- but I can't imagine it's changed much.

By far the major industrial water usage is in agriculture with in some states around 10 times residential usage.

FollowupID: 596464

Reply By: Mudripper - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:42

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:42
Don't know if global warming is an issue here in Tas! Seems like the opposite. IMHO, I think global warming/climate change has become completely political and it's just another one of those BS scare campaigns. Sure, we are to look after the environment, it's our obligation, but within reasonable measures.

Hope I haven't struck a nerve by saying this!

AnswerID: 328939

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:55

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:55
Nope, mate. Actually you have applied the balm to the wound – now I DO know that not everyone blinded with official propaganda :-))))

Serg
FollowupID: 596424

Reply By: VH-GU4 - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:45

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 18:45
I brought a 50cc Scooter to use round town instead of the 4WD, plus save money on fuel.
AnswerID: 328941

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:05

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:05
Hey, Bro, you cancelled all your desert trips too?
AnswerID: 328948

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:55

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 20:55
Hi John, I tried the showering with a friend bit to reduce my imprint. My new friend threatened to call the cops LOL
Might have had something to do with the fact that she had never seen me before do you rekkon ? :)))))))
FollowupID: 596274

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 23:03

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 23:03
I thought about the towing by the 4.2 Nissan versus the computer controlled Toyota and decided on the basis of fuel.
- The Karavan against a bigger bit of kit.
- drive a smaller car for much of my time too - 1800cc and reasonably aerodynamic - not too good in the back seat behind me of course. Falcon ute is better at times for goods carrying
- Solar panels instead of the generator for the Karavan
- Solar hot water ordered to dump electricity by dirty Victorian power stations. I haven't looked for friends to shower with Jim, I reckon you would get in trouble if you were doing that. LOL
- more insulation in the ceiling of the house
- House water comes off the roof
- looking to heat recovery or solar for the dairy

My Bro has probably got the ch'ts with me now but he tows a lighter kit than I do and keeps his speed down. Best not to be pressured for speed
FollowupID: 596305

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 00:07

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 00:07
John, someone has suggested that we get rid of all those polluting cows and sheep in Australia and learn to eat roos.
I guess it was probably Harold...again.
Say "milk and cheese" Harold.
Even if Australia could meet its intended emissions reduction, we will have little effect on the total garbage that goes into our atmosphere, compared to China, India and the US etc. However we'll be able to flog new technologies to the rest of the world. (much of which the development will have been paid for by the taxpayer, courtesy of carbon taxes).
We'll also be able to lecture them about how it's done.......oh hang on a minute, we already do that.

I know it's easy to be a sceptic on such matters. Do I have an alternative ? Apart from grabbing the US and China etc. by the scruff of the neck ...sadly, no....but what happened to the solar rebate Mr Garrett eh ? Now that's a great way to show how much the Govt is willing to help us reduce our carbon footprint. Like any Govt mob, its a matter of the taxpayers will pay...and pay...and pay. Just how much can a Koala bear??
As I said,
Come in spinner
FollowupID: 596311

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:13

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:13
I have seen the surveys on those prepared to eat kangaroos instead. Not so good for the green thinkers.

China may end up with the carbon taxes in the coal before they take delivery. They may rule the world before that though. I am expecting China and India will thumb their noses at the world for a while. The Russian permafrost areas could be the food bowl of the future as Australia wastes :-(((((
FollowupID: 596323

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:09

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 19:09
Here's good news: George W. Bush says that he is committed to fighting global warming. Yeah, well, he nipped that in the bud, didn't he? ... President Bush says he's really going to buckle down now and fight global warming. As a matter of fact, he announced today he's sending 20,000 troops to the sun"
AnswerID: 328950

Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 21:30

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 21:30
Climate change has been around since the planet was first formed and is an inevitable fact of life. What I find arrogant is that the scientific community seriously thinks that we humans can affect it in a major way. One good volcanic eruption can do it in 5 days - can we match that?

The buzz word two years ago was global warming but trying to find this phrase in a publication is now becoming quite hard. I wonder why? The 'climate change' buzzword is what's going around now and I ask myself - what's happened to 'global warming'? (I won't go into that.)

However, those clever and greedy politicians have found a wonderful new tax, all based around those carbon emissions which supposedly cause climate change. It works this way. Let's tell the pubic that carbon emissions are bad for the atmosphere and introduce a scheme where companies are taxed for carbon emissions which cause those nasty greenhouse gases - shame/boo - (which they will then, of course, pass on to their customers). This is called a carbon trading scheme. Oh my God, what a wonderful idea. I can trade my carbon emissions with the Govt and still carry on as normal though slightly less out of pocket. It's just like going to confession. The Govt will absolve me of all my carbon emission transgressions. (Bless me Prime Minister for I have sinned...)

Just consider this. Carbon dioxide is heavier than air (meaning it sinks rather than rises). If our production of CO2 has increased (a fact) then how does it get into our upper atmosphere to create a 'greenhouse gas'?
AnswerID: 328985

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:19

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:19
Since when did CO2 go to the upper atmosphere to "create a greenshouse gas"?

It only needs to be in the "atmosphere" to be considered a greenhouse gas AFAIK.

Heavier than Air? If you use that reasoning, we wouldnt be breathing much O2 at all.

We should start a campaign to "bring back global warming" :-)

FollowupID: 596292

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:02

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:02
FYI gentlemen. AFAIK for as long as observation going on (150-200 years), concentration of carbon dioxide in atmosphere has not changed a bit. Look like Mother Nature perfectly new want to do with it.

Serg
FollowupID: 596428

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:08

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:08
Serg,

That's not what http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greenhouse_gas says....

FollowupID: 596431

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:30

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:30
Andrew,

Those thought what I have put in my replay I have read in more scientific book then wikipedia. There are a lot of speculations about matter and there is no firm consensus about it. I am chemical engineer by education and believe me that carbon dioxide is smallest harm that came from pipe of coal electro stations. Yet it is most debatable. Also it is estimated that in Australia we generate twice as much carbon dioxide by burning grass comparing to all other human activities. In direct human activities electricity generation accounts for 60-70% of CO2 while all transport for about 8%. Thus globally (as whole Australia) cars responsible for less then 3% of pollution, yet they WILL BE attacked first. While cutting grass burning twice will make the same effect as completely stopping using fossil fuel and this must be primary target if we fair dinkum. Second highest target must be stopping coal burning and start to use nuclear. Fail to see though how government can collect money from unburned grass…….

Serg
FollowupID: 596439

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:39

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:39
Thanks for that Serg.

I'm not disagreeing with you at all (i don't know the figures), it's just what i saw.

FollowupID: 596440

Reply By: Holden4th - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:44

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:44
We don't breathe O2 but a combination of about 70% nitrogen, 21% oxygen and other gases which go to make up our atmosphere.

The use of the word greenhouse effect (creating global warming) suggests to the populace that there is an umbrella of gases in our upper atmosphere that affects the way solar radiation interacts with this system. The basic idea is that large concentrations of trapped gases in our upper atmosphere restrict the planets ability to reflectthe heat from the sun. CO2, according to Al Gore and friends is the main contributor to this and should be dealt with.

The scientific facts don't concur. The concentration of CO2 in our upper atmosphere is that small that it can't possibly re-reflect heat back down onto the planet but the media still blames this gas (which has its biggest concentration at the lowest levels).

The biggest 'greenhouse gas' is actually water vapour which does have the ability to both form in the upper atmosphere and reflect heat back down. The chemical formula for water is, of course, H2O - I don't see the symbol for carbon - 'C' - in there anywhere.

If you want to see a real greenhouse effect, just wait until a couple of the worlds larger volcanoes have massive eruptions at about the same time. It will make man's efforts to affect the planet with his technology seem totally insignificant.
AnswerID: 328995

Reply By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:45

Wednesday, Oct 08, 2008 at 22:45
Nothing, other than trying compact fluorescent globes, only to find that they are hopeless.

Ask the soothsayers of doom why the Murray River dried up to a series of biillabongs between Swan Hill & the river mouth in 1913,
or even better still, what caused the Ice Age?
AnswerID: 328996

Reply By: Rod, Sydney - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:40

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 08:40
Willem

Congratulations on the way you have set up your house - I'm sure it gives you a lot of pleasure to have done the projects and live with the results.

I was raised on a farm in WA and the way we are being recommended to live now is very similar to an older farm environment - just go back to the simpler way of doing things such as good water for drinking and poorer water for everything else.

The bit that frustrates me about the Government and its hangers-on is that they think they will be able to influence the rest of the world by taking a leadership position on carbon trading. What self-centred bull! I'll be very disappointed if any money is spent on anything in Australia other than water sustainability. I don't care about Australia's carbon problems when considering our position in the world.

Cheers, Rod
Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 329023

Reply By: Pete Jackman (SA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 09:46

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 09:46
Given that methane is supposed to be 20 times worse than CO2 I have given up eating baked beans.

Pete
AnswerID: 329032

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:04

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:04
LOL! This is good one!
FollowupID: 596429

Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:33

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:33
Willem

As i live in the country Instead of having two bonfires a year of fallen trees, i bought a petrol powered mulcher and now mulch/chip branches up to 60mm and use these on the gardens

Dont know if it is a saving as the mulcher produces green house gas, and the mulch breaking down still eventaully relesaes carbon.

But i dont send huge plumes of smoke upwards.

AnswerID: 329109

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:46

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 19:46
I reckon some on here could hold their breath and that would even some things out!!!!!!!!! ( I won't mention any names of course.. K, DL,.......oopppssss!)
AnswerID: 329112

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:39
Wonder if washing the cars in the rain this arvo (useing only rain water) counts? Call me crazy I don't care.

I also got rid of one of my gas guzzling carbon producing ...... oopppss forgot you bought that wonderful car off me Jo LOL!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 596419

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:47

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:47
Cex is purring and a darn comfy ride now!!!
she got an oil change yesterday, Oh God that she needed!, she has sheepskins on her seats, air con regased and the darkest illegal tint on her windows.. Is ok, if I get pulled up about it I'll just say it must've been the previous owner, was on there when I bought the car!!!!! hahahaahahahaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 596420

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:41

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 20:41
Willem,

The best things what you can make to reduce your personal “carbon release” is you stop buying anything made in China. ABSOLUTELY no jokes here. Our stupid government nightmaring (??? Is there such word?) and making us pay more and more for everything, but at very same time Chinese government declares that “at this stage China’s priority is economical growth”. Thus they give a s_h_i_t on all matter what you concern about. And when you buying ANYTHING made in China you DIRECTLY contribute to carbon dioxide pollution, regardless how many trees you have planted.

Sweet dreams
Serg

PS even if you stop using electricity altogether no-one notice it – it is a drop in the ocean comparing to industrial consumption - think of manufacturing of aluminum. Only government support of nuclear electricity plants can make changes. But it looks like we have to wait for new election – current numskulls pro-green idiots see nuclear power as “not an option”
AnswerID: 329124

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:15

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:15
More people cycling to work would fix some of their carbon footprint :-)

FollowupID: 596436

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:50

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:50
Mate, you are forgetting that

1.If they use main arteries they WILL slow down all traffic cause more extra pollution then savings.

2.They indeed need extra shower after riding. Not only increase green gas effects by heating water, but also wasting water itself – surely our most valuable commodity.

3.They need to wash their bikewear. Again water, gas for heating and in additional extra pollution of our land by detergents.

4.They not only exhale extra carbon dioxide (remember, energy cannot come from nowhere), but also (pardon me) fart1ng more; and it been pointed out that methane doing more harm that carbon dioxide.

5.As been pointed out main pollution happens not when you drive car, but at stage of manufacturing. It is very much per kilo. If you riders did not have any cars, I would appreciate their effort. But considering that 99.9% of them do have cars indeed, purchasing bike only can be considered as unnecessarily extra pollution. Though bike production happens in China, so our government does not care because they cannot tax Chinese for that.

If bike riders so fair dinkim, than they should stay at home and lay in bed conserving as much energy as possible; then they will consume less food and will fart1ng less – that means direct contribution to greenhouse fighting and reducing their carbon footprint.

Happy riding.
Serg
FollowupID: 596443

Follow Up By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:51

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 21:51
Sorry to be a bit sarcastic :-))))
FollowupID: 596444

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:06

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:06
Strewth Willie,
I'm nowhere near as lateral-thinking as you are mate!!! The only measure I've been able to come up thus far is to fart into a bottle and connect it to my BBQ. Only trouble is my cooking is now even chittier-tasting than it was before!!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 329145