Why Cars go BANG

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:11
ThreadID: 62419 Views:3432 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
On the way home from the factory tonight and stopped at the local shopping centre.

Park the Ute, and wander over to the Bottle Shop. Along the way I hear a young girl say to her mother "There's green stuff coming out of the car" as she is peering under the front bumper.

Mother: "Get in the car

Daughter: "Should green stuff be running out of the car?"

Mother: "Get in the car, we'll have a look when we get home"

Me: "Would you like me to have a look?"

Mother (with the look of the Demon): "NO, we're OK".

Some people have no idea, and you simply can't help them.

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:22

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:22
yea probabally partly true but dont forget a females first instinct is to get home away from trouble easpecially with a kid. especially with some strange man lurking around out the front of the bottl-o

For a bloke that situation is a bit of an inconvenience
a women with kid automatically sees it as life threatening - get the hell home no matter what
AnswerID: 329150

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:37

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:37
Hi Jim, must admit I agree with Davoe, I have even said to my wife, if either car break down, use the mobile, ring me first then NRMA till I get there, lock the doors, don't accept help from anyone. Keep the window up, or down an inch enough to answer anybody that may be offering assistance. Probably 99.9% of people are genuine and just offering what assistance they can, then there's that .one of a % that's the worry. Daytime not as frightening for a female but nightime and possibly little lighting can be terrifying for them and especially if they have a child with them. Unfortunately these days its not worth taking the risk. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 596452

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:50

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:50
Understand your point chaps but this was a packed shopping centre car park with people everywhere.

Anyway my main point was not that she gave me the Tijuana, rather that how could someone be so stupid as to drive a car with fluid, of any sort, pouring out of it? She had made the decision to drive it home before I offered to look.

FollowupID: 596494

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:27

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:27
Hi Jim, took me a while to get my wife to understand that some thing that is possibly minor could turn into big $$ if you ignore it on the family cars, if something doesn't look or sound write it generaly isn't. We had a Series 2 V8 statesman and I got home from work one day to find nice pink fluid everywhere on the garage floor, was up towards the front so knew it was either a leaking power steering pump or possible cooler hose from the transmission, but was leaning more towards power steering pump. Rang the wife who was on her way home from work to ask her was here any strange noises from the steering and was the auto ok. Well as the stato had a great stereo and wife being young she couldn't hear the phone ringing, all I could hear 15 mins later coming up the street was the V8 burble, groaning, high pitch squeal, and a nice thumping sound coming from in the car. When she drove in I said hows the power steer ?? I thought it was a bit heavy yesterday driving home, bout the same today.Needless to say I wasn't impressed that what was a $5 seal turned into a new power steering pump. Also told her she wouldn't have heard any sirens if she had to. Ah we were all young once. She is excellent now if she hears anything or feels anything that doesn't seem write she tells me straight away or rings me. So far hasn't been to often. Must be the Toyota's LOL. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 596542

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 16:36

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 16:36
like I said women hate being stuck anywhere even a shopping mall especially with a kid
likely she didnt want you to look at it in case you said it was stuffed.
she lprobabally didnt care about the consequnces just as long as she got home
to a female their just a vehicle getting homes what matters
FollowupID: 596554

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:07

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:07
Stephen: I think you're seriously paranoid.

I have travelled this world widely and assure you Australia is one of the safest countries in the world. Please don't encourage a siege mentality.

FollowupID: 596564

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:43

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:43
Jim!, You haven't met my Son inlaw, Worse with cars than any women i know...lol.

FollowupID: 596573

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:21

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:21
Mike, Ill be write, that's probably what a lot of woman have said that have walked home from work in the dark or been mugged at the railway stations, or attacked walking home from work and dragged into a lane way. Just as easy for them to force them in the car and drive off. Why risk it when my wife has a mobile phone handy or the help just a phone call away ringing the NRMA. Paranoid ?? No, just cautious when it comes to my wife and the low life scum that roam looking for prey. Steve
FollowupID: 596580

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:28

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:28
Don't worry Jim, it'll stop leaking after a while. :-)

AnswerID: 329154

Follow Up By: cheetah - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:35

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:35
FollowupID: 596451

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC)(MURRAY) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:38

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:38
May be that she had seen the Arnold movie "PREDATOR" and was afraid of you Jim............
Murray

FollowupID: 596488

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:52

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 09:52
That's a bit harsh Murray.

I'll have you know I've got "Movie Star" looks. People are forever confusing me with Boris Karlof LOL.

FollowupID: 596495

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:33

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 14:33
Yep the leak will stop and the steam will start, not to bad i guess until you get to the hot coolant smell!!! Thats normally trouble!! Michael
FollowupID: 596533

Reply By: cheetah - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:40

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 22:40
Jim,

Yep had similar happen. Im the biggest mongrel creep in the world for just wanting to help. I think Davoe is spot on. Incidentally, not sure what your gas is doing but was in Exmouth a few days ago and they only wanted 108.0 a litre. I near fell over backwards.

cheers cheetah
AnswerID: 329156

Follow Up By: awill4x4 - Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 23:58

Thursday, Oct 09, 2008 at 23:58
58.5 cents/litre in Cranbourne VIC then 4 cents off with shopper docket. ;-)
Regards Andrew.
FollowupID: 596458

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 03:57

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 03:57
86 cpl kalgoorlie a few days ago
FollowupID: 596472

Reply By: brushmarx - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:01

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 12:01
I believe it.
Two years ago my bosses wife had a new Jaguar.
At a shopping centre, she had a pool of green water under the car, but decided to go home, a trip of 7 km, for the hubbie to look at it.
The car computer talked to her and said pull over, or engine damage may occur, and kept up the warnings for most of the trip, until it broke down.
The Jag mechanic it was taken to asked her if the car advised her to stop, and she said "no bloody car tells me what to do".
They were quoted $30 000 for repairs, but bodgied it up for $2500, and traded on a new Merc.
Makes you wonder.
AnswerID: 329207

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:19

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:19
I was on the receiving end of that exercise last year.

Hadn't driven the paj all week.
Got in it to do a couple of K to the shops, didn't make it before the temp guage got into the red.
Stopped, let it cool down, popped the radiator cap, no water visible, but still some in the radiator.
Limped back home carefully.
Took 3 litres.
Kept an eye on it for a week and it was using water.
Nothing obvious like hoses etc.
Kept an eye on it for a bit longer, in the end to the mechanics. Yes, split head.
Asked around at home, since wife and son had been driving it, seen any water under the car when stopped, how has the temp gauge been behaving?
They were honest enough to admit they don't look at the temp gauge too much, if at all.
Surprised because the wife normally picks up the smell of a hot motor before I do.
Few thousand $s later, back on the road.

Put in a low water alarm now. SWMBO doesn't dare complain about the extra beep on start up.

Got to add a PS, had installed an EGT about 6 months before. SWMBO said that the EGT was fine all of the time, since she is under strict instructions not to let it go above 700. She asked how the engine overheated if the EGT didn't go too high. Live and learn.
AnswerID: 329224

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:36

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:36
Hi John, wifes car doesnt even have a temp guage. It has two lights, one green, one red (and very small might I say). The green will stay on untill motor has warmed up (generally about 2 to 3 minutes then light will go off). Im hoping the red never comes on as this is when your in trouble and havnt read anywhere in the books that says it has an audible alarm to go with it. Has taken me a while to get the wife to watch all the guages on the other cars/4wds we have had. Now she says there is nothing to watch except the speedo LOL. Bloody stupid idea I reckon by Toyota. I like to see a guage so that if there is any movement upwards of the temp guage you can shut it down before any damage and check it out like yourself. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 596543

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:41

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:41
Should have also said sudden downward movement as well as this can happen if you lose all the coolant via a split hose, and there is no coolant passing over the sensor. Maybe newer cars are smarter these days ?? Not sure with the wifes car if this ever did happen, wonder what light will come on ?? porbably neither Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 596545

Follow Up By: The Landy - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:49

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 15:49
Good point..we put low coolant level alarms rather than guage as no coolant over the gauge will most likely see temperature drop initially.
FollowupID: 596549

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 16:57

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 16:57
About 5 years ago a female friend of mine who lived close to a small country town in Victoria checked the oil on her car (it had a known oil leak) only to discover there was no sign, at all, of oil on the dipstick. She then drove the 10km into town in order to buy some oil, which was the last trip that car made.

Same lady, different car - a 40C+ day, she was about to leave my home and decided she needed to top up the oil on her car, good move, I thought and gave her the new 5lt can of oil I had in my garage. Most impressed was I - she's finally learning to take care of a vehicle I thought. Ten minutes later she returned; "What did you do with the oil can?", I asked; "Put it into the recycle bin" she said. "You put all 5lt into the car...?!" I asked; "Yes?" she said.
It's not a lot of fun crawling under a car in full 40C sun to drain 4.5lt of oil!.

This lady is not stupid - not by a long, long way but... women and cars...? I give up!

AnswerID: 329236

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:21

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 17:21
My mate's father's mate had one of those V8 front engined water cooled Porsche's.

He's driving along one day and this light comes on.

It says "Check Coolant"

So he turns the air conditioner on, that'll fix her!

He never would fess up to what that cost him.

What's even funnier is the guy is actually a tradesman himself, you'd expect one to know a bit about mechanical things!

AnswerID: 329240

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 23:00

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 23:00
Actually if a engine is overheating puting the heater on helps provided their is water in the system.
FollowupID: 596670

Reply By: Member - Madfisher - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 23:03

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 23:03
This is one of the reasons I refuse to buy a little old ladies car, or a young ladies car, or any ladies car for that matter.
AnswerID: 329300

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:55

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:55
Gday Jim,
You should have hid your ugly mug around the corner and she might not have been in such a hurry to get out of there.
AnswerID: 329307

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 07:46

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 07:46
The car had green stuff coming out ! but when Dad got home and found out about it, he had brown stuff coming out of him I bet!

Giffo
AnswerID: 329313