Aerodynamics make a difference

Submitted: Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:08
ThreadID: 62436 Views:3252 Replies:8 FollowUps:25
I had an opportunity to drive to Copley in the Flinders Ranges today to collect a car for a friend.

On the way back home over the 310km, the '98 Magna used 4 litres less petrol that the '03 Xtrail. SWMBO was driving her Xtrail while I had control of the Magna. We were both driving with cruise control on and sitting on the speed limit of 110

Magna 2.6 Petrol Auto
Xtrail 2.5 Petrol Auto

'Twas a glorious day for a drive along the ranges. The Acacia and Wattle trees are all in flower and lend a splash of colour to the otherwise very dry and drab looking countryside.

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:24

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:24
And I reckon my old 2.6l astron engined pajero would have returned about 12l/100 at that speed. Basically the same engine as the magna.

Maybe the magna has a softer cruise control (doesn't go to full throttle so easily), or was the magna following and getting a tow?

Reckon you are going to get all the ifs and buts on this one :o)
And you thought it was a simple post, right?
AnswerID: 329247

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:32

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:32
Yes....yer right... just a simple post...hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 596583

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:30

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:30
What difference in body weight? Who was following who? Aircon on? Windows open? Some more variables to be considered....
AnswerID: 329250

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:38

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:38
G'day Royce

Dunno 'bout body weight but I would presume the Magna is heavier. More Magna metal than the plastic coated Xtrail.

Magna in front Xtrail 500metres at rear
Both aircon on
Windows closed

What else would you consider? Scientifically that is..........lol

FollowupID: 596584

Follow Up By: Louie the fly (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:34

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:34
Geez mate, you get around.

Is the Xtrail AWD? If so, this could account for heavier fuel consumption. My 5.7L Adventra uses about 2L/100KM more fuel than a rear drive 5.7L Commodore wagon of the same model.
FollowupID: 596603

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:21
Louie

Push button AWD. It was running in 2WD
FollowupID: 596620

Reply By: Garbutt - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:58

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 18:58
More importantly, what did you have for lunch at the Copley Bakery. Are the pasties as good as ever, I will be there next Tuesday week and need this info.

AnswerID: 329255

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:43

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:43
My wife sampled one a few weeks ago, she approved. My boys had sausage rolls and I had a pie. All recommended!
FollowupID: 596606

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:17

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:17
Hmmmmm

Last time I went in there I had to write a cheque. Couldn't carry all that much money around. While it is good stuff I prefer home cooking and we take that on the road instead
FollowupID: 596618

Reply By: Member - John - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:03

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:03
OT, I hope yopu had one of Australia's best pasties while in Copely?

AnswerID: 329258

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:58

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 19:58
If you have had one of Oz's best you must have been to DUNEDOO bakery then, for one of their pies, sausage rolls or pasties...none better anywhere in this great land, and that's fair dinkum, mate.!!!!!
FollowupID: 596608

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:03

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:03
try the bake house on the highway @ Waikerie(SA).mmmmmmm
FollowupID: 596609

Follow Up By: Member - Fred G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:11

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:11
Too far Mark, Dunedoo is only 250 k's up the road, and worth the drive, especially when on our way to Coonabarabran. Only 40 k's extra, but worth it. I shall try Waikerie next time down there LOL.
FollowupID: 596613

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:16

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:16
FRED

yep,the bakery is on the way into town coming from the airport side.i used to call in for breaky most mornings on the way to Berri to load.
FollowupID: 596616

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:21

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:21
I go past the Waikerie Bakery most work days, don't bother. Best pasties in the Riverland are from Barmera Bakery in the main street.
FollowupID: 596621

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:38

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:38
Nice to make a call at Stone Hut bakery too, thugh I have sworn myself off a lot of pasrtry these days
FollowupID: 596642

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39
Am sure bareires would ruin your aerodynamics too Garbutt. I am improving mine again :-)))
FollowupID: 596643

Follow Up By: Member - John - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:07

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:07
test

FollowupID: 596654

Follow Up By: Kroozer - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 00:33

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 00:33
The BEST PIE in Australia is made at the Wyndham Bakery, in Wyndham WA. By far, the best meat pie ever made. They even sell them in Broome and Kununurra. Nothing comes close to it. If travelling through do yourself a favour and pull in and grab some treats.
FollowupID: 596678

Reply By: Robnicko - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:01

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:01
Willem,
My wife's Mazda6 6spd manual uses 7.6l/100k on the highway.................my 80 series slurps that when I jiggle the keys at it.

Rob
AnswerID: 329266

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:22

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:22
Roof racks ruin economy, which takes your example even further for the aerodynamics
AnswerID: 329273

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:38

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:38
LOL don't get him started on roofracks and fuel economy again :)))

FollowupID: 596625

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:43

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 20:43
Who mentioned roofracks? SOB!

FollowupID: 596628

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:07
WILLEM

not fond of roof racks eh?

go on ........tell us why :-)
FollowupID: 596633

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:33

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:33
No
FollowupID: 596640

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:34

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:34
..........so thats definate then? :-(
FollowupID: 596641

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39
Gramps seems to remember things I have forgotten about.

Due to my numerous trips away each year across a variety of terrain I have had issues with lots of in-ons and add-ons. Apart from breaking a roofrack a couple of years ago I can't think of the issue Gramps wishes to regurgitate.

Do a search.....lol
FollowupID: 596644

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:46
Hahahahahahahahaha it's too long ago. Do a search :)))

FollowupID: 596647

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:52

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:52
I tend to agree they are a pain, but sometimes they are good to get smelly thinks away from you.

Dirty tyres, leaking jerry cans. Bro knows I had diesel over the roof before crossing the SD. Dust got into all sorts of seal places with it too. Blew it out last week around the rear door seal. Had to insert an air gun and inflate but have multigrips on the seal to divert the air out particular vents.

I have a laugh at all the swags I see up top on a roof rack. I know they are light but they increase the drag no end. It was bad enough with a wheel and the jerries. Tarp, annex floor and yabbie nets were nothing.

They can be a pain to get on and off too.
FollowupID: 596650

Reply By: Member - Rodney B- Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:09

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:09
Heading off on Wednesday for a week in the Hatta and Sunset NP and I forgot how much crap we have to take (have been using the CT for the last year )(leaving the CT at home alone) and now have to pack it into the 80 series. Thank god for the.
Aerodynamics yeah right 2 x jerrys, 20 litres of extra water, gas bottle, 2nd spare, camp oven, tent, and table looks like a pantek from front on.
AnswerID: 329328

Follow Up By: Member - Rodney B- Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:11

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:11
Oops, should have read thank God for the roofrack.
FollowupID: 596699

Reply By: Peter 2 - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:14
Willem
The Magna would have been more heavily loaded (by the weight of the driver) than the Xtrail too!
Give my regards to Judith.
AnswerID: 329697

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:27

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 18:27
Hmmmm...I will have to keep that one in the depths of Misdemeanor Black Book and wreak retribution when the time is right.

Will pass on the wishes.

FollowupID: 597136