O.T Gearbox oils

Submitted: Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:35
ThreadID: 62441 Views:2131 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
G'day everyone

Littleborgy and myself have just bought ourselfs a VG Commodore ute, we have had to replace the 5sp T5 gearbox in it , and i have tried looking on the net but cant seem to find anything, trying to find out what type of oil it needs and also how much....If anyone can help me out here i would muchly appreciate it....

Cheers....Borgy

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:39
a 2wd Borgy.........mate , wot are ya doin'?
AnswerID: 329285

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:45
Got it for bugger all from a mates son, its a nice clean ute but needed a g/box, should be able to make a few dollars to go towards the next trip.....

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 596646

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:49

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 21:49
yeah but those $'s aint goin' into the 4by :-((
FollowupID: 596648

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:09
I suppose they are in a roundabout way mate...lol....as in diesel
And also the more dollars i got , the longer i stay away.. :-))

Cheers....Borgy
FollowupID: 596656

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:02

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:02
I reckon if you go into the Castrol website, and follow the bouncing ball through the models, you will find the right oil. 1.9 litres capacity.
They recommend VMX 80 if it's a 6 cylinder.
Any preference for other oils, go to their website I would imagine it would all be there.

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 329292

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:06

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:06
Thanks Dave

Never even thought about looking at one of the oil companys website....Thanks again mate..

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 596653

Reply By: howesy - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:05

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:05
I checked with Mal Wood before I did mine and he says the only thing to use is Transmax-Z.
It already has addatives and is fully synthetic. Alternatively use Auto trans fluid and put in addatives.
I used the transmax-Z in our ute and it drives really well.
AnswerID: 329293

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:09
Borgy,

Pick up brochure in Repco/Autobarn/Burson from your favorite oil manufacture (mine is Mobil for engine and Castrol for transmission, do not ask why) and you could easy find it out. Internet S_U_X.

Serg
AnswerID: 329295