Diff/gearbox oil change intervals.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:06
ThreadID: 62443 Views:3327 Replies:10 FollowUps:11
So what people doing in this regards? I drained whole set today and figured out that gearbox has the best oil condition, next transfer case and diffs last, though diffs oil been replaced 25k ago while gearbox and transfer case 50k. Funny enough front diff seems to has worse oil condition then rear. Strange indeed considering that I have part-time 4WD.

So what is your opinion on diff and gearbox oil change intervals?

Serg

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:36

Friday, Oct 10, 2008 at 22:36
I do mine every 2 years.
when you say front diff was worst - it doesnt have a bit of water in it does it? pretty common for a bit in there due to extra seals etc around the wheels allowing a bit in
AnswerID: 329299

Reply By: Member - Agroe (WA) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:38

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:38
serg,
the front diff seems to go to green slop.especially if it never get used. i domine every year. oil is cheap. ihave never had a gearbox fail ( touch wood).always change at 20000 km .diffs gearbox & tranfer. agroe
AnswerID: 329306

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:07

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:07
Some people never change the oils.

My GQ gearbox and transfer box are getting old so I change the oil every 2 years(if I remember) and add a bit of good stuff for better lubrication.

Front diff has probably had water ingress at some stage. Can happen if you drive through deeper water with a hot diff

AnswerID: 329319

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:11

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:11
William you havent had the GQ FOR MORE THAN 3 YEARS so dont go preaching. Col
FollowupID: 596776

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:14

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:14
Bought the GQ in August 04

Go back to school dopey Kiwi
FollowupID: 596777

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:57
im the dopey kiwi you had a drink with at Lorella springs ( spelling ) and i remeber you saying you had just purcharsed the GQ and it was your first trip in the vehicle. I had time to sit and chat with your mate, nice guy, Wasnt impressed with how you spoke down to him, as a friend. It was my lady friend who first picked you as the obnoxious person whom had made comments about alchole and tourists up the cape. I would have hated to be a black person from the land you and your racist people tried to control. Twice now you have spoken down to me, and you have shown your arrogance to be a simple minded fool . You need to be a bit more accepting of people whom have an opion which differs to yours. Col
FollowupID: 596788

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 22:15

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 22:15
Yeah I know who you are, hence the comment.

I talk down to people like you. Thats my way of inferring that you are of Richard Cranium material. In fact you are still at the top of my Richard Cranium list.

I doubt you could remember much of that night around the campfire after skolling about a dozen beers all by yourself. And you didn't even offer any around...cheapskate.

There are more racist people on your islands than in most places on earth so don't you come and preach to me.

If you had kept your big mouth shut and not posted sarcastic dribble in this thread no one would have been any the wiser.

You are what you are, Colin....like I said last year, in a thread long ago.

So what's the point to your post?
FollowupID: 596794

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:04

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:04
Well WILLIAM, yes i do remember the night well as my lady and my self offered tea to both yourself and your friend, sorry cant remember his name, you declined but sat around and cooked on the fire that we had going for both cooking and entertainment, and yes i did offer many times an amber fluid but you declined. Its funny that i knew who you where after hearing you speak and then putting 2plus2 together and remembering that you had called me and another person on this site a biggot because you didnt agree with what we said about alchol and tourism and how it should be policed in communitys in the far reaches of our patch of dust. I also remember yourself running to my vehicle in the morning to see how it was set up after speaking to yourself through the previous night, and this is where you mentioned you hyad just purchased the GQ and where trialing the vehicle and checking its ins and out. It was also at breakfast your mate sat with us and had brekky and tried to explain away your ignorant racist attitude. Im sorry i cant keep my mouth shut, but people need to be wiser about ignorant racist people like your self. Col
FollowupID: 596800

Follow Up By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:07

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:07
bleep only a dozen - obviously he was running short - you're too harsh Willem
FollowupID: 596801

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:20

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:20
Kiwicol

You really are a waste of space
FollowupID: 596802

Follow Up By: George (NT) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:19

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:19
AnswerID: 329668 Submitted: Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 13:38
George (NT) replied:
Well Kiwi Col, I am Wilhem's mate who was with him at Lorella Springs and my name is George.
I think you skolled too many beers that evening and NO you did not offer any beer to us.
The conversation was pretty boring so it was an early night.
We did not have breakfast with you but we did WALK over to your vehicle to have a look.
There is no reason for Wilhem to say he was trialling his vehicle as we had previously done two major trips into Central Australia in our vehicles over the last couple of years and they are well tested.
Besides Willy reinvents his vehicle after each trip!!
Willy and I have been best mates for thirty years and have done many adventurous trips together...You say he is a racist - I say he is NOT but he does not suffer fools lightly.
Your self opiniated conversation that evening left me with the opinion that you, yourself are an arrogant person.
George NT
Click Image to Enlarge
George .......
Always Wandering
Member: My Profile
FollowupID: 597115

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:39

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:39
I go gearbox every year, the others every two yrs.And the first thing I do when I buy a new vehicle is change out all oils
I run breathers on all diffs, g/box and transfer and the front diff (full time 4wd) always seems to dirty up the oil quickest.Parents 80 series the same.
AnswerID: 329321

Reply By: Member - Redfive - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:38

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:38
Gentleman

I change mine every 2 years depending on if im doing a big trip then it gets changed before i go i do the brake fuild every 12 months a wise man once told me "Oils Cheap" and he right cheapest thing youll do to your 4wd

Glenn
AnswerID: 329330

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:33

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 16:33
My GU manual says every 100,000 for diffs, gearbox and transfer case.
AnswerID: 329360

Reply By: cowpat - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:55

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 21:55
I do my gearbox and tranny case at 40,000 km with Castrol Syntrax, diffs at 20,000 km with EPX 80/90. I have an LC 105 (part time 4wd).

Gearbox and transfer case oils run clean. Rear diff oil runs clear since I replaced the pinion bearings, used to be mucky before that. Front diff oil is clean but a little moly grease from the knuckle housings gets into it and the first bit to drain is black (can see the grease in it when its in the bucket, doesn't quite mix in).

Manual says to change at something like 100,000 km intervals. Funny the original gearbox probably didn't last that long.
AnswerID: 329402

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:31

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:31
Gday Serg,

I replace the lot every 40k, or sooner of the conditions dictate.
Both Diffs get LS90
Transfer gets any 75/90
Gearbox gets Castrol VMX-M 75/85 for the good changes when cold.

You may find that Toyota were too cheap to put a magnet into the gearbox drainplug. They put a magnet in the others. On the last 3 Toyotas I've owned, I've bought a magnetic rear diff drain plug and slipped it into the gearbox because it does collect some metal.
AnswerID: 329610

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:16
Hi everyone!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Indeed there is disagreement between manuals (most recommend change it in 100k interval) and what people doing.

For those who interested I do have proper underbonet diff, gearbox and transfer case breathers and periodically I stir oil in front diff if it gets not use for a while. I tend to agree with cowpat that front diff get dirtier from knuckle grease – as least I do not have any better explanation. I doing mine gearbox and transfer case in 50k intervals and diff in 25k intervals. As been noted quite a few times oil is cheap.

Serg
AnswerID: 329615

Reply By: George (NT) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:08

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 15:08
Well Kiwi Col, I am Wilhem's mate who was with him at Lorella Springs and my name is George.
I think you skolled too many beers that evening and NO you did not offer any beer to us.
The conversation was pretty boring so it was an early night.
We did not have breakfast with you but we did WALK over to your vehicle to have a look.
There is no reason for Wilhem to say he was trialling his vehicle as we had previously done two major trips into Central Australia in our vehicles over the last couple of years and they are well tested.
Besides Willy reinvents his vehicle after each trip!!
Willy and I have been best mates for thirty years and have done many adventurous trips together...You say he is a racist - I say he is NOT but he does not suffer fools lightly.
Your self opiniated conversation that evening left me with the opinion that you, yourself are an arrogant person.
George NT
AnswerID: 329668

Follow Up By: George (NT) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:13

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 17:13
Sorry this was meant to go under Willem's reply
FollowupID: 597111

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 20:02

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 20:02
Hello George, good to hear from you, and thank you for your honesty. I do remember you sitting with my partner and my self trying to speak highly of william after he had spoken down to you and belittled you like some meaningless twat. Both of us felt sorry for you with the way you where spoken to and treated the whole time we saw you both at the park. As well as offering our fire, cold drinks, and hot water, some of which were declined, you where welcome to enjoy our company through the night. Yes i did enjoy a few drinks as i usally do when camping. The reason i have a bee in my bonnet with william is that when people have a different point of veiw or opionion he starts with name calling and becomes abusive, which was well shown in the small time at the station, he has also shown this contempt for different veiws here on this site. You may call my speaking out arrogant, which some times is right, but treating your best mate the way you were treated is totally unbeleivable. Regards Col
FollowupID: 597361

Follow Up By: George (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:15

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:15
Kiwicol,
In the thirty years I have known Willem I have had no problems with him regards being treated badly. We have had our blues but have always gotten on well together. We may talk loud to one another but being two old deaf farts that's our humour!
Willem will always help friends and acquaintences in need and is well know for it.
You stir him, he will bite you back!
I suggest you keep your opinions to yourself and stop stirring.
George NT
FollowupID: 597557