an update on the issues

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 00:03
ThreadID: 62444 Views:3164 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
most of you know the issues we had getting to and from Innamincka.....

the same sort of thing happened on the way up to Armidale the other week. We were about 15km onto the Newcastle freeway heading north and all of a sudden I lost the accelerator then the car stalled (at 110kph!) and I managed to get it just inside the white lines on the side of the road.....

anyway, within an hour we had NRMA there telling us we were out of fuel - no bloody chance of that happening - Nath had topped up at work that morning and still had an est. of 110lt left. So off the man goes to get us some fuel cos he didnt believe us, topped us up, bled the blasted thing for 40 minutes and away we went....but the fuel wasn't the issue.....dunno what was...

THEN while Nathan is on his way to Toowoomba with the kids (minus me) the cars engine light comes on and he loses the accelerator. Turns the car off and she starts again....no light....drives fine......

I had rung the car yard we bought it off and gave the bloke a piece of my mind (I can be scarey when Im really pi$7 off).....Nath did the same and he told us to take it to Nissan....they did exactly the same as our mechanic....tested it with some sort of thingy and came up with the senario....its 1 of 3 things that could be causing the probs.....YET NO ONE IS WILLING TO FIX ANY OF THEM!!!!!!

So on the way home it happens again....lose accel but car doesnt stall like with Nath (it only did it with me)....and this time we lost he accel slowly over 20km or so....got to the point where going up a hill was impossible......turned car off....back on again and all is fine......managed to get home and hasn't happened since.....

So here is the senario:

Prob only happens after driving for a couple of hours (yet we managed Armidale - Picton with no issues)
Not he same thing everytime.....sometimes it stalls, sometimes we lose the accel slowly...
almost always have the engine light on (which I know covers a hell of a lot of things)

So my guess is is that something is overheating......???

The mechanic (who is really good) the car yard wants us to deal with says he wont be ale to pin point the prob until the lights on except the light comes on after 2hrs of driving....or sometimes 6hrs....and even when it does we cannt just drive it to him....it wont drive (most of the time with the light on which means turning car off)

so there you go...your updated and more to come.....its going to that mech on 20th nov....he's pretty popular!

Laura

Reply By: Lex M - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 00:39

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 00:39
"its 1 of 3 things that could be causing the probs"

Do you know what the three things are that it could be?
AnswerID: 329304

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:57

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:57
Les, cannt remember off the top of my head but one of them was the throttle sensor of some sort was losing connection....the other 2 I cannt remember but I wish they would fix something!
FollowupID: 596754

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:29

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 02:29
Is it a Diesel ? sounds like it.
I had that with one of my Mercs .. Algae in the tank
get the filter out and have a look ..
good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 329305

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 04:43

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 04:43
Hey Laura

So is the Nissan dealer gunna hook up a laptop to your POOOOtrol, and just leave it there ?

That could be interesting !

Tried getting them to swap the vehicles computer. ?

Gotta love those 4.2's eh ?

Cheers Mate(ess)
AnswerID: 329310

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:51
everytime it happens there is no nissan dealer within a hoot of where we are!! otherwise that woulda been done!! but would be very interesting!
FollowupID: 596749

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 06:12

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 06:12
Laura,

Speaking of issues, what ever happened with the Ribbitter?

AnswerID: 329311

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:51

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:51
no idea actually...kinda forgot about them...
FollowupID: 596750

Reply By: aussiedingo - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 07:16

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 07:16
G'day, sounds like it could be fuel tank breather, go for a long drive with the fuel cap off, just close the flap, seee ya, dingo
AnswerID: 329312

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 08:18

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 08:18
I told you not to buy a Grenade LOL

AnswerID: 329315

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:58

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:58
Dont worry if it goes off whie its in our hands the car yard are replacing it!
FollowupID: 596755

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:01

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:01
Bloody cars....lol

I had a Zephyr once which did the same thing

Would drive for a period of time and it would cough and splutter and stop. Then wait for 5 minutes, start up and away you go. Took car to a mechanic and he drained the fuel tank and changed the filter but the problem was still there. Next time around he drained the tank, removed it, and blew it out with some compressed air. A small bit of sweet paper was seen fluttering around inside the tank. Some naughty kid had thrown it in there. Fuel pump would suck it up and it would block off the fuel supply. Then when the car stopped the paper would sink to the bottom of the tank again. Nearly drove us insane in Melbourne traffic 1970!

As mentioned above, it could be algae in the tank or some crap floating around in the fuel. So I suggest you have the tank removed, get it cleaned properly, blow any dirt out of the fuel lines and replace the fuel filter. That is where I would start. If the probem persists than you can start looking elswhere.

This job you can do yourself saving down time and money.

AnswerID: 329318

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:03

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:03
WILLEM

do you know if the patrols have a knock sensor?
my commodore ute when i had it did the same thing,drive for so long a just stop.
just a thought,cheers.
FollowupID: 596690

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:22
MARK

Knock Knock Knocking on Heavens Doorrrrrrrrr........................

Yerrr...dunno mate. I am but a bush mechanic. My old dinosaur doesn't have fancy stuff in the engine apart from a plethora of relays.

FollowupID: 596691

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:22

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:22
Laura,

As per Willem and others, I'd suspect something in the fuel tank. BIL had an early model Patrol years ago. He had similar problems where vehicle would run OK for hours then start playing up, stalling etc. He'd stop for a while then it would run OK. Ended up being a label or similar floating around in the fuel tank.

AnswerID: 329320

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:14

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 15:14
My mate had similar problems like that with his hot rod, after much stuffing around he pulled the tank out, found clear plastic? hanging out of the fuel outlet. when the tank was made the protective film was left on the ally but on the inside and over a period of time it come away and got sucked up the outlet!!
FollowupID: 596719

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:53

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:53
havent taken it out but will tell nath.

I had a similar prob come to think of it when I bought my little sooz yrs ago, would all of a sudden lose accelerator. ended up being a heap of plastic stuck in the lines.....
FollowupID: 596751

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:44

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 09:44
Hi Laura ,

Intermittent problems are a bummer . I had a similar problem when I had dirt and water in one of my fuel tanks .

However , I was just looking at your profile and I think I know what the problem is - your car only has three wheels !

Willie .
AnswerID: 329323

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 10:09

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 10:09
LOL well spotted Bro. It's actually a goggomobile with a Patrol body :)))

FollowupID: 596697

Reply By: awill4x4 - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:01

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:01
Laura get on to the Patrol Forum There is lots of good technical info regarding problems with ZD30 engined Patrols.
Going by your description of what's happening you may have a problem with your Maf sensor which could then be causing an overboost situation which then sends your ECU into "limp home" mode.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 329327

Reply By: 96 GXL 80 series - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:33

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:33
Ring up the Army,
they know how to fix a "Grenade"
AnswerID: 329329

Reply By: Chaz - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:43

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 11:43
Laura,

Your car is going into "SAFE" mode which is the ECU going into alarm. It's most likely either water in the fuel filter or a blocked filter, but could be a failing MAF or just over boosting. These are all typical symptoms for a car that needs some maintanence, replace fuel filter, air filter and if it's done over 100K, replace the MAF.
AnswerID: 329332

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:56

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 18:56
replaced the filter's (both fuel and air....and I spose oil too while we were at it) plenty of times so thats not it (plus its had 2 services in the space of 3 months on top of the filter changes.)

the MAF hasn't been brought up in conversations with nissan or the other 2 mechanics but will run it pass them....

FollowupID: 596752

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:10

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:10
What is a MAF sensor?
And there are many references to patrols....... Did u get rid of the piece of poo Nav?
15mins nth from the start of the Newcastle freeway? Shame u didn't have my number, I live 2 minutes from the start of the freeway, I would have come and given u a hand if I was at home.
Go Fords
FollowupID: 596812

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:31

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:31
Mass Air Flow Sensor.....

Navs are good as long as its not your one!! yeah had to get rid of it cos we cannt fit 4 kids in the back.....4th bub is due early feb....

FollowupID: 596813

Reply By: Chaz - Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:48

Saturday, Oct 11, 2008 at 23:48
Ok, that sounds good.
Do you have any oil leaking at the front of the intercooler? If so, then there is a good chance that you have blowby oil in the turbo – intercooler piping, which is what fowls our MAF sensors.
Oil in the intercooler piping is normal and is one of the primary reasons for MAF failures and ultimately engine failure, but it can be prevented. MAF sensors are easy to test with a voltmeter. You should have at least 2volts at idle. As they get dirty, the voltage drops.

Also, if your engine light has come on, the ECU should have stored a fault code, so you don’t have to go in to Nissan or your mechanic with the light on. They just need to be able to retrieve the fault code to diagnose the problem. It’s done by shorting terminal 1 & 8 on the diagnostic connector and counting the flashes on the engine light. If you need more details, let me know.

AnswerID: 329414

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:06

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 00:06
Havent noticed any oil and our mechanic has given it a good going over (doesnt mean he could miss it though I guess).

Ill look at getting that stuff retreived too by the sound of it....Im just glad that we arent paying for a cent of this!!! ( I rammed it into Craigs head when I rang him that Warrenty refuse to cover it then he would be cos its happened since having the car within a week....)

Ill let ya know how we go!
FollowupID: 596810

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 07:57

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 07:57
Laura

There is an inline filter at the rear tank.
Has that been changed, since you has that "stale fuel" incident on your Innaminka trip ?.
Could be blocked !.

I don't know if there are any other inline filters, perhaps dome of the other forum users can answer that.

Maybe the main fuel pickup is clogged, if the is one.

Just some thoughts

AnswerID: 329437