What would you have done?

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:16
ThreadID: 62497 Views:4362 Replies:14 FollowUps:54
Dropping some DVD's off at the shop this morning, I noticed that the yard where I got the paj, had the old Patrol back from being detalied, so I thought I would go see what they had on it for price but no sticker on it yet.

Anyway as I was walking away there was a young bloke and I guess his old man looking it over with real interest. I thought about telling them to stay away as it gave me nothing but grief ect....then I thought can I get done for deformation ect??

So I just walked as it is not my car anymore and maybe the dealer fixed everything. So what would you have done???

Cheers Stefan

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:32

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:32
I would've said I know the bloke that used to own it.....................

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 329579

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 19:23

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 19:23
I do know the bloke that owned it and I would not tell anyone who!!!!!!!!!! LOL
FollowupID: 597151

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:16
...................i know the bloke that owned it & you should see what he's stuck with now!!!!lol
FollowupID: 597180

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:34

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:34
G'day Stefan

I probably would have told them all the faults that the car had when you got rid of it..i dont think that would be considered as defaming the car yard.....

I always thought you were reasonably happy with the Patrol when you had it, up until just before you got rid of it anyway???

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 329580

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:44

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:44
battled over heating issues from day 4 after warranty ran out, when it went and didn't over heat it wasn't a bad car but it was just too stressfull wondering if today would be one of the bad days ect. It had to go. But had some really good times in it though :)
FollowupID: 597026

Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:58

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 22:58
Walk away. If the buyer of a 2nd hand car does his homework he'll ring the previous owner anyway then you can then give him the full history. If they don't ring they deserve a lemon. The dealer bought it off you in good faith so should at least give him the chance to sell it.
Cheers Craig...........
AnswerID: 329586

Follow Up By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:20

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:20
The only thing crackles I have noticed a lot of the original owners cross out there names and addresess from the log books so who ever buys it cant find out there details. When I brought the prado the original owner (2 owners) had it seviced at the dealership. My mate worked there and couldnt find any thing out about the vehicle as he had a privacy block on it, but luckily I found one of his business cards wedged in the logbooks. Even though the bloke I bough it off had looked after it and well serviced I still wanted to know about the vehicle. My other mate worked for NRMA inspections so between him and myself plus what the original owner told me I was happy with the vehicle. NRMA dont do inspections anymore. not sure who does these days. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 597032

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:00

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:00
Another company that has bought the right to call themselves NRMA motor repairs does the inspections and also mechanical repairs.
FollowupID: 597051

Reply By: Stephen M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:12

Sunday, Oct 12, 2008 at 23:12
Hi Stefan, I would have told them. My mate traded his pajero in on a prado at a certain Toyota dealership. It had been rolled (only on its side) but not ridden off, it then copped a hail storm again not ridden off. Thn got ploughed up the rear on the M4 Again fixed. It was the later model shape exceed. Was a beautiful car when he got it new leather trim all the gear. I was just walking through the dealership he traded it in at a few months later and it was still there. An old couple were really interested in it. I walked up to them just before the salesman did and told the old couple dont touch it. The old fella then walked over to me at my car and wanted to know why so I filled him in on its history. He thanked me very much as it was probably going to be there last car for towing their van around. I felt good in myself for telling them so the old couple wouldnt end up with a bucket of sh#t due to the amount of panel repairs it had done. Send me an email of where its at. Would be interested to go and have a look and see what price they have on it. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 329588

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:16

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:16
Just tell them and bugger the rules!!!!!
AnswerID: 329597

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:19

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 03:19
Sorry.. Unless of course he looked Aborigininal
then you would be racist.
Or Muslum and youd be racist
or greek
and no one would care????????????????
FollowupID: 597042

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:04

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 08:04
Stefan
There is no clear cut answer, you could tell them and then they tell the dealer trying to get some dollars off, and your the ass, or you dont and your the ass, as stated above, its a case of buyer beware out there, the old saying comes to mind.... secondhand means buying someone elses troubles....unfortunately today, some new cars are thesame trouble as used :( i would tend to hope that the dealer has made repairs and offered a warrenty
AnswerID: 329609

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:14

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:14
What is wrong with looking after your fellow Australian ???

Tell the bloke and tell him what was wrong with it when YOU had it. You will sleep better if you help at least one person out.

Too many bush lawyers in here... :-)

AnswerID: 329614

Reply By: ajd - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:24

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:24
I don't see a problem in telling prospective buyers the cars faults as long as you told the car dealership the same things when you sold it to them.

Can't have it both ways.

AnswerID: 329616

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:56

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 09:56
Stefan

My take on this is that you did the right thing. The vehicle no longer belonged to you and maybe the dealer had repaired what needed repairing.

I traded a Suzuki 4x4 in once and it sat in the car yard for a while. It was a good little car and it served us well but I gave it a rather hard time.

Then one day I stoped at a servo and there it was, in a shiny and well kept condition and being driven by a young lady. She said that it was the best little car she had ever owned. I din't have the heart to tell her that it had spent almost 4 hours submerged in a river once.

AnswerID: 329622

Reply By: The Landy - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 12:20

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 12:20
My take is that you are not a party to any potential transaction and it is best left to them to sort it out.

But if you wanted to have the discussion then it would be only fair to include the dealer.

As always - CAVEAT EMPTOR...
AnswerID: 329647

Reply By: Member - Serg (VIC) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 13:01

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 13:01
Who cares? Even if you believe that you been done by yard owner and telling prospected buyer whole story (even adding something) you can rule them out, you still will do little harm to yard. You cannot watch each and every buyer anyway – surely they find buyer anyway. So who really cares? Unless for some reason you feel really deep sympathy to the pair and you really believe that your old car been so neglected.

Tale it easy.
Serg
AnswerID: 329651

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:21

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:21
more than happy with the deal I got, I know what is wrong with that car and I could have possible saved a young bloke some grief. You are right it will be sold but I wont be there then, but I was there the other day.....anyway doesnt matter its all over now :)
FollowupID: 597167

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 19:40

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 19:40
Hi 12 times Dakar winner,
The relationship between your car and the Dakar winning (pampas pussies) Paj is about as close as your car and a VW toerag.

You DO NOT have a Dakar winning car Stefan!!!!!

Get a grip on yourself (pun intended) son, you seem to be trying your hardest to live up the Spanish slang word that Pajero means. LOL
Cheers mate, Colin.
AnswerID: 329721

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:07

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:07
2007 dakar results

1st PAJERO!!!!!!!

best nissan place 22nd
best toyota place 25th

Which side of the fence you wanna sit today TONI!!!!! LOL :)

FollowupID: 597164

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:17

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:17
mmmmmm 1998 model Pajero in my driveway and a Pajero won in 1998.....go figure hey.

here have a look for yourself :-P
FollowupID: 597166

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:24

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:24
That only shows a Mitsubishi won in 98 not a Poojero Stefan LOL

FollowupID: 597169

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:27

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:27
try this one then Kev :):)
FollowupID: 597170

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:29

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 20:29
6 Pajeros 3 patrols and 1 buggy in the top ten.......mmmmmmmm not a blandcruiser anywhere!!!!
FollowupID: 597171

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:18

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:18
yeah but its a Renualt, Citron & Volkswagon race!!!!!! lol
FollowupID: 597181

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:19

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:19
Yes a car with the NAME Pajero won the Dakar, just as a car NAMED Falcon won Bathurst, but there the similarity ends with both, your car and the Dakar winners have the name only in common.

Face it mate with enough money and expertise I could make a LADA win something.

This is not to say that you don't have a good car though (snigger snigger). LOL

And one has to ask the question, What on earth powered the Patrol's, I suspect not the diesel engines thats for sure. 4.2 too slow & 3.0 well lets get real. Very modified 4.8 petrol engines maybe.
FollowupID: 597182

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:21

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:21
Mark........who rattled your cage ;-P
FollowupID: 597184

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:23
MISS(an) JO did

she's sending me VERY crude emails Stefan.
FollowupID: 597185

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:24

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:24
Just as WE cheered on that car called a Falcon......I shall cheer on that 12 TIMES DAKAR WINNER CALLED PAJERO!!!! Pajero may mean some un-savory things in Spanish......but in every other language it spells WINNER :P:P:P:P
FollowupID: 597186

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:26

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:26
forward them mark.....e-mail is in my profile page :)
FollowupID: 597187

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:28

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:28
"Pajero/Montero Evolution T2 was entered in the modified production car class and based on the previous year's winning car".

Is yours a SWB Evo T2 Paj, I think not. LOL

I think we wound him up this time!!!!!!

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 597188

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:29

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:29
Mark,

Didn't the last 3 winners of Bathurst come from Queensland as well??

I told you Stefan was a closet Queensland supporter LMAO

FollowupID: 597190

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:31

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:31
is he coming out of the closet though?

FollowupID: 597192

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:33
"Is yours a SWB Evo T2 Paj, I think not"

Bloody closer than yours :)

There is alot of beer time in the +11:39:43 hours lead the Pajero had over the first Patrol. Ha ha ha ha
FollowupID: 597193

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:38

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:38
I don't know about closet's but he seems to be getting of his bike.

"Bloody closer than yours :)"

????????? I don't think a TONI was entered in the race Son.
FollowupID: 597196

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:40

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:40
I bet he is frantically trying to contact Jo to help save him LOL

He needs some femine support hehehehe

FollowupID: 597197

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:42

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:42
another SOCCER MUM to back him up eh??
FollowupID: 597198

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:44

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:44
Ha ha ha.......three of you can't get me tonight!!!

12 Dakar winner PAJERO

Patrol 0 time Dakar winner
Navara 0 time Dakar winner
Landcruiser 0 time Dakar winner

Ya got nothing!!! :):):):)
FollowupID: 597199

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:46

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:46
Land rover 2 times winner, ROTFLMAO
FollowupID: 597201

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:47

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:47
A soft roader comp is not worthy of winning in regards to Toyota or Missan LOL

FollowupID: 597203

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:52

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 21:52
Toyota should have the best chance at winning a soft roader comp

Rav4
kluger
Prado
200 series :):)
FollowupID: 597205

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:25

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:25
CALLING ME A SOCCER MUM!!!!! Go wash that mouth out with soap!
I have dogs not kids, and I ain't no tar only city driver!!!!!!!!
With my zero tolerance levels at the moment Mark you are digging yourself a hole here!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 597385

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:32

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:32
..............cranky ol' fart!
FollowupID: 597495

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:27

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:27
OOOOh; the ice aint to thick in Queens - land, lad.

I would not go skating on it if I were you!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Colin.
FollowupID: 597506

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:36

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:36
It's to late for Mark LOL

I think he entered both feet first and is about to come off second best hahaha

FollowupID: 597509

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:52

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:52
The name of this thread is: "What would you have done?"

Mark, I know "what I'm going to do" and thats sit back and watch the fireworks, you have opened a Pandoras Box mate.

Live with the result, or perish.

Nice knowing you Mark.

FollowupID: 597514

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:26
Looks like she got him at the toll booth Colin hahaha

FollowupID: 597536

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:03

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 00:03
Old? OLD? YOU CALLING ME FLLUCKING OLD?????

I'm 34 this month and don't look a day over 21 I'll have you know!
I love it knowing that I am best mates with an undertaker, cause once i chew you up and spit you out I'll have him put you back together (leaving feet in mouth), cork you, embalm you and I'll use you for Kev target practise! (might even let Stefan have a turn), Then I'll put you in a red paper bag with my black skitzo cat!

FollowupID: 597579

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:25

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:25
.......yep, see, told ya's, cranky!!!!!
FollowupID: 597735

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:56

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:56
Now now kids....play nice :):)
FollowupID: 597741

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:59

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:59
she is being not nice Stefan.

tell her to behave!!
FollowupID: 597742

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:03

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:03
Oh I am sorry, you think I am not being nice? This is nice, You do not want to see me cranky!!!!
FollowupID: 597746

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:07

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:07
That is not what you just told me in that last MM Mark.

Jo also reckons the name Mark is a good one for a Poodle LMAO

FollowupID: 597747

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:13

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:13
on the suds again 2nite JO, you'd make a good double with Hairs LOL
FollowupID: 597748

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:14

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:14
Have you never been warned to not mess with a tattooed bitch!!
FollowupID: 597750

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:19

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:19
seem to remember some one saying something 'bout it years ago?
FollowupID: 597752

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:20

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:20
Jo, be nice to our soccer mum navara driving friend :) His emotions are as fragile as his yoote! :)
FollowupID: 597753

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:29

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:29
oh welcome Stefan

see youv'e lifted your 'bitza? didnt spend too much i hope?
its almost a 4wd now!! lol
FollowupID: 597761

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:31

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:31
I'd be fragile to if I owned a poodle named Poofy!!!!!

(By the way, Paj looking good mate!)
FollowupID: 597763

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:49

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:49
Nah not to much Mark....less than a Gorilla for tough dog foamies all round and tough dog raised coils on the rear......and cranked the torsion bars at the front.

Its ready to play now...Took me 6 hours to change the spark plugs last week, you have to remove the whole inlet manifold ect. no wonder they run platinum plugs you only wanna do that every 100000kms!!!

Thanks Jo, must say I really prefer driving it compared to the old Patrol. Just keep that to ourselves ;)

search for the patrol....no mention of a cracked head???
FollowupID: 597773

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:55

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:55
they did leave the exploroz sticker on the bull bar though :)
FollowupID: 597777

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:01

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:01
no snorkel.............nuff said!!! LOLImage Could Not Be Found
AnswerID: 329757

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:05

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:05
..................nuff said also! :-PImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 597211

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:12

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:12
Yep Nuff said............Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 597214

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:26

Monday, Oct 13, 2008 at 22:26
not just us Stefan...................other people hate em' too :-PImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 597218

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:45

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:45
AnswerID: 329829

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:46

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 12:46
..............gone??
FollowupID: 597296

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:36

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 18:36
Is it a broken down Poojero in a snow storm??

FollowupID: 597510