The Nissan Curse Part 3

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 18:24
ThreadID: 62549 Views:4644 Replies:12 FollowUps:11
Well I got the results of the engine today and guess what a cracked piston surprise surprise.Spoke to the Nissan dealer who's rep said you should never buy a zd30 a bit late now.Then I rang Nissan and got onto Val who said they could do nothing as they had guide lines and as my car is 8 years old they could not help me even though it only has 141000 on the clock.I have no idea which way to go but I can guarantee one thing it will never be back to Ni$$an.

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:04

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:04
Captain Chaos
Bad luck mate, join the club.

If I can offer any assistance please MM me.
Regards, Colin.
AnswerID: 329896

Follow Up By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:15

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:15
Thanks very much, still in shock and looking at the options. Have just read your story through to give me something to think about.
FollowupID: 597350

Reply By: Member -Captain Chaos (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:33

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:33
what I cannot understand how Ni$$an can stick their head in the sand and expect the public to come back after they try and pretend there is no problem, especially when the dealers will admit the ZD30 is blowing up all around them.
AnswerID: 329904

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:43

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:43
Captain Chaos

your right, but maybe if everyone who's been shafted by Nissan (by word of mouth) lets people on forums like this know,it may get through to those wankers in the Nissan corperate that we arent happy about being SCREWED!!!!!!
FollowupID: 597497

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:34

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 19:34
Captain Chaos
my choice was based on the best result and longevity, I just wanted what I thought was the BEST POSSIBLE outcome, it was by no means the cheapest.
Having said that, the V8 Chev diesel option was about the same money if not dearer, but the 1HD-FTE puts out more KW's and tourque & is a more modern combination (with parts availability anywhere) than the V8.

If yours is a manual it may be cheaper to do?????

Good luck in whatever you do.
Colin.
AnswerID: 329905

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:22

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:22
Tony. What option are available with engine replacement as my car bit the dust in September and VAL from Nissan has ignored my calls. Nissan have finally replied to my letter today with Thanks for your enquiry but we can't help you.
FollowupID: 599114

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:31

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 07:31
Jonesy65

Read the FULL story with all questions answered, including some other options, via the link attached, including pix of the final job.

Project TONI

PS TONI is the car.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 599134

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:57

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:57
Hi Colin

Your engine transplant looks great, congrats.

But with the Nissan 4.2, surely there would be less mods less cost overall.
Did you look further down this track or was it ruled out purely for the auto reasons?

FollowupID: 599160

Reply By: Member - Dogman (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 14, 2008 at 22:11
Captain Chaos,
Very sorry to hear about your engine.
I got my mail yesterday and I could not believe what I received:
"The Australian Automotive Industry" has commissioned "The Nielson Company" to do a "Vehicle Reliability And Servicing Survey" on what I believe is for all vehicle manufacturers.
Mine states that it is for Nissan as I own a 2007 GU Nissan, I'm wondering if all Nissan owners received this survey or only the latest
model Nissan owners.
If they are fair dinkum about this survey then all Nissan owners should have received one.
I have filled it out and will be interested if I receive any feedback from my comments regarding servicing and prices.
I cannot fault the vehicle so far, but the issues with the ZD30 is always in the back of my mind.
Once again sorry to hear about your engine.
AnswerID: 329937

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 00:39

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 00:39
Probably sent to a 'sample' - eg one in each state - or maybe a few more.

FollowupID: 597812

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:08

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:08
Do i see a Toni2 in the making??

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&item=130261834054
AnswerID: 330022

Reply By: steve21 - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:20

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:20
I would beating a real loud drum outside my local Nissan dealer ship till you got some positive action. 141,000klms is nothing.
I would have big signs all over my car right outside warning others whats happened and response your received…

Best luck anyway
Steve.
AnswerID: 330026

Follow Up By: mechpete - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:47

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:47
what about the guy in birdsville with the 100 series that broke the crankshaft , a few weeks ago , 69000ks an toyota weren,t interested if I remembe correctly ,
mechpete
FollowupID: 597542

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:27

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:27
SCT is the only way you will get any satisfaction.

Risk to you is $30 and your time preparing a case. No legal costs can be awarded.

You have my number.

AnswerID: 330027

Reply By: jskogsta - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:57

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:57
If this was elsewhere, I would bet someone would lodge a class action lawsuit against Nissan for this... and win through with it. Insane... I'm crossing my fingers mine will live through without any disasters, but always at the back of the mind yeah.
Portaled 79 series with rego VALHAL. Selcal 1510 VKS. Nissan 4x4 Club of Victoria & Trakmaster Owners Club.

AnswerID: 330031

Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 19:07

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 19:07
Rather than making noises on this and other forums why not get a group of dissatisfied(read bleep off) 3 litre owners together and contact a high profile aggressive law firm (eg; Slater and Gordon) and, based on their advice, have a go at Nissan over the issue.

Of course you will need a fair bit of documentation and mechanical reports to back you all up.

If enough join in a class action I'm sure that the commercial TV current affairs programs would give it publicity. Nissan would not like that and perhaps may be forced into doing something

What have you all got to lose??

I've drive a TD5 Discovery and they have enough problems of their own.

Disco.
FollowupID: 597516

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:57

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 20:57
I too am sorry to hear of your trouble but am amazed at owners grief and surprise when the nearly inevitable happen to them.
Anyway, best of luck with whatever you do about it.
AnswerID: 330067

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:27

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:27
Agreed Ian.
It constantly surprises me that people do no research at all on a very expensive vehicle before buying.

A few minutes on Google would keep them reading for hours and they would at least be informed of possible future problems with the car.

FollowupID: 597560

Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 21:11

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 21:11
The complete engine company in Vic will rebuild it at a very reasonable price. No affiiliation just a very very happy customer who refused to use GEM or HM or BETABILT engines any more.
AnswerID: 330069

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:58

Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:58
A friend had this happen, with similar kms, he went a new Series 4 motor instead of rebuild, cost a fair bit, but he got to put some glass ontop of the old motor.....and may yet throw it through the front window of said dealership one day...
AnswerID: 330095

Reply By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:03

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:03
Why not put the Nissan 4.2 in it??
probably best cheapest option
AnswerID: 330125

Follow Up By: Jonesy65 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:28

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:28
HI. Do you have anymore info on this option? or links i can read. Thanks Jonesy
FollowupID: 599116

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:44

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:44
Gday Jonsey

Sorry mate I don't have any more info, however I would think it would be the cheapest option only for the reason that there would be no mods to cross member, gearbox mounts (assuming its manual) engine mounts etc etc and I dare say things like AC power steering pump would be interchangeable with the corresponding brackets, after all they were manufactured with the 4.2.
A Nissan wrecker would be able to help you with prices and a list of pretty much exactly what you would need to do the swap. Also would have to be manual.
Colin may have looked down this avenue already for Toni???
FollowupID: 599156