Cargo barriers ?
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:21
Member - Footloose
I have had one installed since the day I bought my current 80 series. It has provided peace of mind , as heavy stuff hopefully won't whack me in neck in the event of a sudden deceleration.
It does however restrict the odd kip in the vehicle, and is a pita in terms of getting to anything needed.
On one trip I folded the 2nd row seats flat and put the barrier forward. I couldn't put the drivers
seat back at all. Very uncomfortable.
I've always kinda hoped that it might also do some good in the event of a roll over. But that really is a big ask I guess.
Just had a look at several members pix. None of them appeared to have had one installed when the picture was taken.
I wonder if the omission of a cargo barrier is a conscious decision, or you just didn't bother with one ?
If you did, have you found the same drawbacks ?
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:29
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:29
Hi Footy
I (we) don't have one and it is a "conscious decision" we need to be able to get into the Troopy front and rear when we wont to.
As we sleep in the back.
as for having an ascendant, I was teached (tought) you know what I mean, I hope... to insure not to have one, not insure to have one..
Cheers Richard
PS. if this reply makes no sence, It must mean I fit Willem's profile of peolpe posting late after they have been drinking .. hic.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:37
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:37
No worries Richard, I understood it all perfectly...(now that could be a bit of a worry eh ?)
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:58
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:58
Dear Richard
When is your next Birthday?
I want to send you a dictionary.....LOL(serious)
tought =taught
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:14
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:14
Thanks but I have one "COLLOINS GEM"
the problem is I have to know how to speak, spell and under stand the English language. I think I was born in the wrong country... :-)
"tought =taught" fare dinkcum is that how it's spelt..
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:20
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:20
C'mon Richard...I have seen you write good stuff when you are fired up. Methinks you do some of this deliberately....lol
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:33
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 22:33
No its a lot of hard work for me. I can't see the words.
so when I read or spell I can't see the words in my head, I will get stuck on small word like want, (wont)
If I could speak and spell as good as most people, my life would be a lot simpler than it is now.
but I cope, some time I just can't be stuffed trying to get it right.
if I have to open the little book twice or ask Robyn I give up..
sad but true..
Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:40
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:40
A cargo barrier is great ...
Keeps the dogs at bay. stops loose stuff flying around ......
Until the day its pelting rain and you cant reach over the back
seat to get your raincoat.
That and a bunch of other nuisance reasons caused the mate to get me to remove hers a few weeks ago ... she found that all the things she used to keep in the rear storage area were moving to the backseat because of the need to open tyre carriers and tailgates on every occasion.
Now all I have to do is patch up the rusty holes in the floor and damaged roofliner from a bodgy " professional " instal.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:47
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:47
I had the rear end stuck firmly in a
creek on a slippery slope. Couldn't even get the shovel out. The sides were steep and narrow. Probably the worst scenereo for a cargo barrier.
Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:41
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:41
Hi Footloose,
My vehicle carries my most precious cargo in the 2nd row seats and I reckon a barrier is cheap insurance - hopefully I never have to find out.
I had cargo barriers in my 80 series and GU and while they were a PITA at times, I wouldn't be without them. I ordered one from Toyota with my 200, but due to the mounting system, cancelled it before delivery (it has straps from the barrier top to the rear floor due to curtain airbags thus preventing a draw system install). I am currently looking for a 1/2 height barrier for my 200 thats suits curtain airbags and my draw system.
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:50
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 00:50
Hi Captain, I totally agree about the second row seats.
I was unaware of the mounting requirements in the 200 series...that would be very disappointing for you.
Thank goodness I can't afford one....I feel so much better now :))))))))
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:10
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:10
Unusual to carry the fridge in the second row seats!
Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:37
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 23:37
Capt - Will a full height barrier fir between the seats and the drawers? If so how about making strong attachments for the barrier to the front face of the drawers? Between that and having the rear face of the
seat effectively wedging the barrier in place it would take some force to pass through the barrier.
Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 01:06
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 01:06
Hi Off-track,
Well, you sort of could. The 200 middle row seats slide ~150mm and I have designed the drawers such that they are hard up against the seats when fully back. But when you slide the seats forward (losing footroom) you get to angle the seatback down a bit.
I am looking at having a 1/2 height cargo barrier made up that has a sliding middle access door to be able to get to gear in the back. Not sure how it will all go together, but have some ideas on using the 3rd row side
seat bolts to hold it all in place. Biggest issue is getting a definitive answer on how far from the side the barrier needs to be to allow the curtain airbags to still be effective.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:07
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 01:07
Hi Jim,
I've got one in the current troopy.
Seems like a good idea to me as I've got 2 100A Hr AGM batteries in there, 110L Waeco fridge, tools and all sorts of other odds and ends.
I don't plan to have an accident but I do know I can't control the actions of others!
So for me, they are cheap insurance.
But, like you say they can be a pain in the proverbial.
In my 5 seater troopy I can fold the rear bench forward and give me a flat floor more than roomy enough for my 6' 3" to stretch out.
Can't do that at all with the cargo barrier. I don't really even have the forward option you get with the wagon.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 02:36
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 02:36
I have one and I only wish I got one sooner. The fact that I can stack stuff right up to the top of the roof is big thing for me and not even to mention the safety factor. I wish more people can see the safety factor in them
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:55
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:55
I think everybody can see the safety factor in them .... but like ALL vehicle accessories .....
Are they relevant to ALL vehicle owners needs and requirements. ???
Reply By: Richard W (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:04
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:04
Footy,
I've got a 2 position one but have now removed 2nd and 3rd row seats.
It's peace of mind and also great to hang hats and the
first aid kit off.
I do recall the Milford add where the cargo barrier seemed to help support the roof in a rollover of a Pajero.
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:36
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:36
Morning Footy
The Engel is tied down but the dog(not pictured) is loose. Will have to wear the dog if things go pearshaped.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:17
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:17
I am with you Willem.
I have a very similar set up to Willem but I don't carry the dog.
I see it as one of the advantages of towing the trailer I carry very little in the car. The only thing that finds its way on to the top of the shelving system is pillows. The kids regularly access these during a trip, a cargo barrier would make that difficult.
Shovel is strapped on the outside, batteries are under the bonnet & on the trailer, everything else is in the storage system.
I have also attended a number of motor vehicle accidents where the cargo barrier made things worse, mostly by restricting access and egress and making the rescue more difficult. I have also attended a truck accident where a fridge did a couple of laps of the cab. It made quite a mess.
Cargo barriers serve a very particular purpose and do it very
well. If I could not properly secure gear in the back of the wagon any other way I would have one, but it would have to be easy and quick to get in and out because my GU gets used as a 7 seater on a regular basis.
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:24
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 09:24
Duncs, I agree with you about the camper trailer. We've only had one for a few months and for the first time my roof load (now none) complies with manufacturers recommendations.
But regarding barrier, if rescue effort was the
test, V8 supercars wouldn't have a roll cage. You'd rather have a situation of live bodies hard to get to, than dead ones. Also, I think what you've said about the fridge adds to the case for a barrier - not sure what truckies can do about it though.
cheers JD
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:53
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 11:53
Way to go Willem ....
False floors, storage boxes, upgraded tiedown points and heavy duty ratchet straps - works a treat.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:26
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 12:26
JD
In the truck accident the second driver, asleep in the sleeper was protected by the seperating curtain. He had a few bruises but then he was on board a truck that flew 20m. The fridge was totally unsecured. Had it been tied down as Willem suggests it would not have moved. I have seen others that stayed put in similar accidents.
I agree about the race cars but then do you wear a flame resistant suit and crash helmet while driving?
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:25
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:25
Duncs, suit/helmet don't replace need for a roll cage. Suit won't protect you from anything much but fire.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 19:25
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 19:25
All that pipe work in the V8's is the chassis/cage/ safety barrier/crumple sections etc all rolled into 1.
The fibreglass/alloy/kevlar body panels are only attached to that frame so that the punters can tell the red car from the blue one.
Underneath they are almost identical.
Point is that they are definitely not cargo barriers, and no cargo barrier will stand the stresses that those frames do.
Disco.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:45
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 09:45
My point in the previous follow up about the race cars was that we make compromises about road safety based on comfort, practicality and cost.
If we don't then why don't we all have fully engineered roll cages and wear helmets and fire resistant suits?
The thing that protected the second driver in the truck accident was a vinyl backed piece of cloth, not a heavy rigid metal frame.
Our vehicles are not engineered like race cars and do not offer the driver protection that a race car does. One accident I particularly remember the driver was not actually trapped but was confined in the car for a considerable time because the cargo barrier prevented them from getting out of the back of the wagon. It also prevented the Ambo's getting to the patient, who was stuck in the car for over an hour while we drove 100km to do a 2 min rescue.
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:38
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:38
Footy,
I reckon if I didn't have kids I wouldn't have put a barrier in. The number of things which are too long for the cargo area is a PITA.
My vote is for a 'quick release' system like on bicycle wheels so when you need to cart things you can just remove the barrier with the flick of a few levers.
Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:42
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:42
Forgot to mention that I do like the point brought up further up about being able to pack to the roof, otherwise the kids would be holding alot of stuff on their laps when we go
camping ;-)
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:38
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:38
Despite their problems, I find our barrier essential for long distance packing. What I would really like is one with two sets of mounting points so it could be moved between behind front seats and behind rear seats. I designed a set up like this for a previous 4 runner we had and used the
seat belt shoulder
anchorage points at the front to also hold brackets that would anchor the barrier. Sort of worked but was a bit fiddly. Reckon a professional could make a similar system that moved quickly and easily.
Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:43
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 07:43
Footy
Seat belt anchors and
seat anchorages are designed (under ADR’s) for just 20g. 60g in a conventional car is developed around 60 km/h from hitting an immovable object (e.g. large tree) – depends on car, circumstances etc. Remember a 4wd has less energy-absorbing features than other cars so an immovable object could produce greater g’s – just consider a 4wd chassis rail connecting with a concrete pole, ouch.
Now cargo barriers under the Aust Std need to cater for a 60kg object load. But they are known in an event, to be capable of withstanding much greater load (e.g. series of smaller objects) – I'm talking about reputable barrier brands here.
So consider a possible scenario. An aux. battery (30kg) in the back at 20g – 600kg hitting the back of your
seat – full Engel weighs more too and often poorly anchored. But your
seat anchors are designed to hold forward
seat weight load of only 20g. Back
seat anchors would rip out of floor and crush you between
seat and
seat belt. Above that you’re rammed into dash etc etc.
I could go on and on. Scenario’s are frightening. Mate, just keep the barrier. If you don’t I’ll sell my 9323 and buy a Satphone LOL……….. seriously though you’d have something to say about that. So just remember the decision you’re contemplating in removing the barrier is much more serious…………!!
cheers JD
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:00
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:00
Yes indeed ... terribly frightening scenarios.
I'm intrigued though as to who of us ... would have a unrestrained fridge battery - or fridge sitting in the rear of our vehicle.
Commonsense would dictate having it anchored by some means.
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:22
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:22
I used a battery as an example as someone else mentioned that above and a few people do put aux. batteries in the back. Not common for sure. But consider full recovery bag perhaps - could be 15-20kg worth (up to 400kg at 20g). Before trailer I used to keep extra 25l (25kg, 500kg at 20g)
water container above my draws - with barrier though. Not hard to think of items over 10kg in the back of 4b's.
Also many people just strap fridge handles (to what??) and seem to think the pathetic tec screws holding the handle to fridges are enough to hold it down under 20g plus. There are lots of reasons why the 'worst' doesn't always happen, but when luck's not on your side, look out.
As above, 20g is a practical (and not extraordinary) load. If you base your decisions on that you will view the question of load restraint in a different way.
Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:46
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:46
Agreed jdwynn
Load restraint has always been an imortant issue ...
well before the availabilty of overpriced cargo barriers.
FollowupID: 597459 Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:23
OzTroopy posted:
Way to go Willem .... False floors, storage boxes, upgraded tiedown points and heavy duty ratchet straps - works a treat.
The availability of cargo barriers is certainly a benefit for those looking for better passenger protection etc .... doesnt mean they are the " bees knees " for every one and all vehicle purposes though. They are a ... as needed not .. are needed item.
I for one would hate to see them become a legislated requirement because a minority decides they are a nescessity ... like pedestrian friendly / kangaroo ineffective bullbars ...
800mm tentpoles in a new shortened container, or cutting 150mm off the end of my esky would make my
camping trips hell unless rebates on trailer purchases came with the cargo barrier.
LOLOL
Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:16
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 17:16
OzTroopy, no argument from me on the regulation side. We've wanted / needed to use our 4b as a 7 seater at times. cheers
Reply By: P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:20
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:20
First accessory that went into our family car, Jeep Cherokee.
and it was in the Pootrol as soon as the drawers went in (same day) and that was within a month of buying the car.
In my old troopy (5 seater) I made one that could be swung out of the way should I want to sleep in the back, It was hinged to a very over-engineered bar at the top, and just swung forward and clipped up to the roof. Worked for me.
I think that they are an almost essential item for anyone who doesn't use the third row.
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:24
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:24
Hi Footy,
My lovely bride, whom you have met, once rolled our truck onto it's roof. The cargo barrier was largely responsible for holding the roof at a safe distance above (below?) her head. So she suffered no injuries, apart from a little whiplash. But IMO, the cargo barrier saved her life!
Worth it??
You betcha!
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:27
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:27
Footy
I have a different take on those barriers and I believe in some senarios they can make cars like 80's and patrols less safe.
Its weight behind the back wheels and up high that contributes to rollovers, our most deadly accident risk.
Cargo barriers promote both of these aspects and hence reduce primary saftey.
Its equally bad to have loose objects flying around in cars and to
have a car with a strucually weak roof.
When I had a GQ I thought it needed more roof strength but not with the GU.
We soft pack and things go into bags which are essentially all held in place and this means we don't have things above
the line of the 2nd row of seats anyway.
I.E. We can always see out the back of the car, and when we think it necessary we use nets from ocky strap material to locate things.
So for us its a conscious decision to aviod cargo barriers based primarily on the above considerations for our current car.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:49
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 08:49
Been travelling for over 25 years in a 4wd without one. Put one in 2 years ago. Concerned about the amount of stuff behind the back
seat when travelling.
Do take it out after a trip. Takes about 15 mins to put it in, or take it out.
Real pain around
home when you want to put in a step ladder of a length of timber. Takes longer to put the roof racks on than to take out the cargo barrier.
Thinking about a half height barrier behind the front seats as
well now. Kids have stopped travelling with us, and the back
seat is now starting to get it's share of stuff like cameras and water bottles.
How does every one else keep cameras and water bottles in the front?
Don't know if I would want to be hit by a litre of water in a roll over. At least the axe and the engel are
well tied down and behind the rear barrier.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:25
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 16:25
I've been driving for 40 years and never needed a seatbelt.
Would it be logical to decide therefore, that there's no point in putting a seatbelt on now ???
Reply By: troopyman - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:04
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 10:04
A cargo barrier is a must if carrying anything behind you . Also dont have anything on the dash etc . The hilift jack , toolbox , sand anchor , rear tyre step , esky and other bits all up would weigh over 100kgs easily so its a must for me . These days milford cargo barriers are made for easy removal . Four round knobs unscrew to take out the barrier when i need and i can still carry 9 people without it .
Reply By: OzTroopy - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:09
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 13:09
Hey Willem
Not that I have a need for a barrier ... I have noticed there is a system that would solve the problems of access.
Primarily fitted in vehicles with roll bars ... its the nylon webbing system.
A shaped 30mm shs mini rollbar frame, in a wagon would be inobtrusive and allow the webbing to be easily ftted and removed. The same mounting points a main name brand steel barrier could be used for the frame.
I wouldnt buy a bling brand one as the prices are ridiculous but a good upholsterer should be able to do the making at a reasonable rate.
Just a thought ........
OzTroopy
Reply By: brushmarx - Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 14:22
Wednesday, Oct 15, 2008 at 14:22
You'd have to assume this has been investigated by manufacturers, but why the hell don't they just install hinged access panels in the design?
With solid catches, they'd have to be just as strong as the small bolts holding the barriers into the vehicle cabin, and couldn't be all that much dearer.