shudder in front end
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 10:27
Member - BUNDY BOY (WA)
Morning everyone.........help needed ive developed the worst shudder .in my front end..(only under light /med braking)...this is through the steering wheel only...side to side....like your hard braking on corrugated road.....nearly reefs your wrists out......apply more brake it goes away....things that have been done to try and rectify the problem........20 thou ago new rotors.and pads.(have just been spun up .3 out no hot spots.pads are like new)..
brake callipers slides all working great.new castor 2deg correction bushes ..ball joints and everything else...2 months old.....16thou ago
put new 15x8 rims and 33in bfg ats.on...have done a lap around the block...and all was fine....have had
wheels re balanced 3 times thinking it was there but no......back in town now and the problem started...normal driving .all is fine maybe a little floatyer than normal...apply light brakes 9/10 stops and at speed and problem starts ..slow driving eg:under 30km no problem anything over say::::50km .its bad
am at wits end with this...only thing im thinking is .maybe ....pads/shocks(4 years old but still ok ..i think.)..rims n tyres.....(but these have done 16 thou with no problem)
any thoughts .....Bundy
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:05
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:05
can you put your old rims/tyres back on to see if the problem dissappears....................
Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:23
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:23
May sound silly but I take it you have checked the wheelnuts?
Also check the caliper retaining bolts, wheel bearings for play and so on.
For it to go away when more brake force is applied seems like a bearing or caliper retaining bolt to me.
Rob
Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:36
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:36
Rob i know what u mean yer all has been done ...bearings were repacked last week .and all good ..was doing this before repacking ....its got me stumped am now going to replace pads then change rims n tyres just to see......updates to come
Bundy
Reply By: Pat (vic) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:45
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:45
Hi Bundy.
It sounds like the brakes are heating up my FIL had the same problem with his ford, went to the local mechanic machined his rotors and put new pads on and the problem came back after about six months got to the stage he couldn't drive it any more.
I put new rotors on and pads did the wheel bearings cleaned the calliper slides the pistons were free flushed the brake fluid and all has been good now for over 12 months.
That may be the same problem as what you are having it may be worth replacing pads and rotors with new ones also check your steering damper.
cheers Pat
Follow Up By: Pat (vic) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:55
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 11:55
Forgot to add that the rotors and pads that were on the car were cheep the ones, i replaced the with good quality ones.
good luck.
Pat
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:06
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:06
Quote: "20 thou ago new rotors.and pads.(have just been spun up .3 out no hot spots."
Not quite sure what you are trying to say here, but I read it as you have checked the run-out of your rotors, and they run-out .3 (mm?).
If that's correct, I reckon that's your problem right there....warped rotors.
.3mm is quite a lot of run-out....you would certainly feel that through the steering wheel.
Glenn
Follow Up By: donks1 - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:34
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:34
Hi Glenn
I hope he means 3thou
Donks1
Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:23
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:23
hi Glenn yer the guys said 3 is near straight ....up to 11 was exeptable .........new rotors and pads 20 thousand kms ago......still look like new last week when guys checked it all
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:17
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:17
Check Tie Rod Ends.
Reply By: brett patrol - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:38
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:38
Hi, i have had the same thing in my GU when running 35's and found that the front panhard rod bushes were flogged out. I now replace them every 12 months and have not had a problem since. Also make sure the
wheels are balanced regularly and you should be right.
cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:46
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:46
Had the same problem on the GQ.
Running bigger rubber seems to make the problem worse.
Keep the bushes in good nick and all was good on the GQ. The good thing about this is that the bushes aren't all that expensive.
Reply By: Member - Royce- Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:39
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 12:39
Steering damper okay?
Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:25
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:25
Royce yer damper is new tuff dog ajustable
Reply By: Sea-Dog - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:53
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 13:53
Sounds like the rotors to me but failing that I would say check the bushes... bigger tyres means that the problems that might have gone unnoticed with standard road tyres show their ugly head and are difficult to track down...
I had a falcon do the same thing and it turned out to be contaminants on the rotor... wheel would nearly be reefed out of my hands... you could always try cleaning the rotors up with brake cleaner, making sure your inner axle seals aren't putting any oil in there and seeing if it makes a difference..
And just because you paid a lot for the pads and rotors 20k ago doesn't mean they are not the prob as mud will quickly put end to pads and rotors if left to grind away.
Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 14:07
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 14:07
G'day Bundy
I just got off the phone to my son Shane, he works for Pedders
Suspension as a front end technician, he has just been through the same problem with his GQ, he told me to tell you it is most likely the swivel bearings, as a tempory fix if you look on top of the swivels you will see a plate with 4 bolts, you can remove the plate carefully making sure you allow no dirt to enter, you should find 2 shims in there , you can try removing the thinnest shim and see how that goes, if no good you will need to replace the bearings , which apparently is quite a big job, but still doable by yourself if you are handy with a spanner...hope this helps ...if you need any more help let me know and i'll drop you an MM with my phone number ...
Cheers......Borgy
Follow Up By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:29
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:29
Borgy thanks for that yer swivel hub's replaced .....3 months ago as
well .......waiting to hear back from mechanics now ....but may take u up on the call anyway ...
Cheers Bundy
Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:51
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 15:51
MM sent mate
Cheers....Borgy
Reply By: Andrew - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 17:14
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 17:14
Once you have confirmed your
wheels don't have excessive runout, try to borrow another set of similar size
wheels and tyres that you know don't vibrate and try them. If the problem goes away then your tyres might have what is a called a force variation problem. What this means is that the tyre doesn't flex at the same rate around the whole carcass. Its like there is a hard spot in the tyre. Under light braking and slow speeds you usually don't notice it as the tyre just rolls along but when you apply heavy braking or higher speed you force the tyre to flex more and it develops the symtons that feel like an out of balance wheel, hence the shaking. If that is the problem (and you have checked all your bushes, bearings etc) then the only cure is different tyres. Having said that the same symtons can occur if the tyre is not seated properly on the rim. You can usually balance the
wheels and they appear ok but as soon as you force the tyre to deflect then the problem shows up.
The force variation thing was a real problem on VB commodores and they kept special best quality tyres for the ones they coudn't fix.
While loose bearings, bushes etc don't cause the problem they allow it to become worse which is why all that stuff needs to be checked as
well. Same with steering dampers.
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 18:42
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 18:42
Have a read on my site here.
Disc Thickness Variation
Machine the rotors and have them set up correctly will fix the problem. It they are not fitted correctly it will re-occur again in as little as 10 000 km.
Scott
Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:02
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:02
ok to all whom advised a big thank up ............all was taken on board .for the next unsolved shudder ......
Well changed brake pads........were bendex 4x4s ......now farrero4x4 problem solved......the old pads were and still are nearly new and look great....but don't know why but alls good now
Bundy..with thanks
Reply By: Dunaruna - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:10
Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 20:10
Other things to check that are known causes of the dreaded GQ shudder:
Steering box chassis mount crack (a beefed up 'bolt on' mount was offered in a recall). Radial arm bushes, especially if they are poly. Visually, they can look o/k but they can have too much freeplay.