Internet explorer and Mozilla firefox

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:44
ThreadID: 62613 Views:3159 Replies:8 FollowUps:8
G'day again everyone

I have a question for all the computer gurus ..lol....I used to only use IE 7 and never had any probs with it...just recently only whilst on EO everything seemed to run very slow, if i clicked on a post it would seem to take forever to load up , and then again when i clicked back to the index it seemed to take forever as well...Like i said only on EO...so i decided i would try Mozilla Firefox, i couldn't believe the difference, everything seems to happen right away , couldn't be happier, Just now with the server error probs i decided i would try IE 7 again, well i dont seem to be getting the server errors , but just still very slow to do anything....Can anyone fill me in here?? is it a prob with my computer, or do others find IE 7 the same???....

Cheers.....Borgy

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:48

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:48
Rest assured, the Server Application Errors are happening at the moment with IE7 :-)

AnswerID: 330235

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:52

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:52
G'day Andrew

Yep just found that out mate....Wonder if anyone has notified David yet??

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 597774

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:56

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:56
I tried, but got a Server Error in response :-)

FollowupID: 597778

Reply By: Notso - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:54

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 21:54
As a long term user of Mozilla Firefox and previous browsers I do think that Firefox is faster. That said, there are a few web sites that do not render the formatting correctly wihen using Firefox. So I still use IE for a few of the sites I visit.

AnswerID: 330236

Follow Up By: Racey - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:01

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:01
I agree Firefox is so much faster than IE
FollowupID: 597942

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 22:16

I have tried them all even IE7 but reverted back to IE6 and it operates fine. We all have the same issues. Broadband comes via some old copper wires through antiquated exchange routes. My load time for IE is 5-7 seconds and EO from Favourites is about the same time.

These days I run CA Antivirus and defrag the computer once a month. My ISP has cranked the SPAM filter up to max and I now seldom get SPAM.

That said ExplorOz also has its running issues.

AnswerID: 330241

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 22:42

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 22:42
G'day Willem

Thanks for that mate, i should have said that i use Vista HP , dont know if that makes any difference, just find it strange that i never used to have any probs with IE 7 up until about 2 weeks ago, i will give IE6 a go and see how that goes, have nothing to lose...lol...Anyways Willem how are Judith and yourself doing??, you dont seem to be slowing down any , always off on a trip somewhere exciting..lol...I must get off my Butt and bring Barb for a drive up your way, she has never been there before, its just finding the time to do it now, as we have decided we are going to put our house on the market just after Christmas, still have so many little things to do around the place, We are going to buy just out of Adelaide somewhere and build a house the way we want it...well sort of the way i want it...lol...you know what they are like ...she wants big , i want small...hahaha....Take it easy Willem and say hello to Judith and Jedda from Barb nd myself...

Cheers......Borgy
FollowupID: 597793

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 23:10

Thursday, Oct 16, 2008 at 23:10
Yeah No worries Dave

We are both well and off to Victoria next week for about three weeks. Shoud be home mid November and then we are staying home for 6 months to save up for our 12 week winter sojourn to WA next year.

You are welcome to come up at any time between December and the end of May.

Regards to Barb and all the other Borgy's

FollowupID: 597805

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 07:56

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 07:56
Borgy
Been using Firefox for years, hardly had any issues. (except for my Irish heritage)

One of the main problems with IE ...Ver anything.., that I have found is automatic updates, and for some reason Mr Gates & his team, seem to never get the updates right.(always glitches, on my system)
Hence my change to Firefox, quick, and takes up bugger all space.

Go Mozilla...... I use Incredemail as my email handler, and it works fine also. Again nowhere near the same problems I used to get with Outlook Express, or it's updates.

At work I have just started using Outlook (full up version), and it impresses me, and as I am not allowed to get into the server, am learning some of it's tricks. So far that email client impresses me. but then again, I just tell the IT boy's if it stuffs up, and then it's their problem.

Cheers Bucky

AnswerID: 330294

Reply By: Steve63 - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 14:09

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 14:09
The OE site is slow at times. IE7 is very slooow. By any benchmark IE6 is faster as is Firefox. IE8 is meant to be very fast but we will see. Vista will not be hurting performance if it is on a newish PC.

AnswerID: 330340

Reply By: Hughd - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:11

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:11
I switched to Firefox after IE got so slow it nearly stopped. I tried all kinds of things with IE first, but eventually I switched to Firefox. No problems since.
AnswerID: 330365

Reply By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:57

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:57
I have also changed to 'Mozilla Firefox'
I think it's running faster, so I'm happy
changed to 'windows live mail' for email and think it's terrific too.

Mainey . . .
AnswerID: 330420

Reply By: Holden4th - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:16

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:16
it also sounds as if you need to clean out your PC of all the unwanted crap it has accumulated.

Download and run the following programs

Ccleanerhttp://www.ccleaner.com/

jv16 powertools (shareware) http://www.macecraft.com/download/jv16powertools2008/ and run it in NORMAL mode

Just the application of these two programs will significantly speed up your internet experience

It's also possible that you might have some serious malware problems

Install Malware Bytes Anti Malwarefrom here

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

....and after all that Firefox is infinitely superior to IE!!!
AnswerID: 330426

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:48

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:48
G'day Holden

I have just finished trying all of the above, still makes no difference, even have installed IE 8 , and that made no difference....Mozilla is working fine and very fast also, so looks like Mozilla Firefox for me it is...

Thanks for the advice anyway mate...

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 598197

Follow Up By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:30

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:30
G'day Borgy
The deal breaker for me is the add ons that you can add to your Firefox:
Firefox Add Ons
I couldn't live without some of them now.

I got a new laptop a few weeks ago, and IE8 was so sloooow right from the word go. Not too fussed about that....really only needed it to download Firefox :-)

Glenn
FollowupID: 598201

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:48

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:48
G'day Glenn

Thanks for the link mate, i have bookmarked it , there sure are heaps of downloads there to suit just about anything you need i reckon....i have only just bought myself a new laptop as well...

Cheers.....Borgy
FollowupID: 598242