Dog Cage width

Submitted: Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 11:59
ThreadID: 62626 Views:1981 Replies:7 FollowUps:19
I am trying to design a slide on canopy for Darkie and incorporate the dimensions to allow dog cage to be fitted on the back as well.

My question is what width cage would be required for a dog to be comfortable. I was thinking 500mm, which would allow for a 1000mm slide on canopy as the tray is 1500mm long. The dog will most likely be medium sized.

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 12:22

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 12:22
Kev

I have just measured Jeddah (with difficulty if I might add as she didn't ike the builder's tape measure one bit). From nose to tip of tail she is 700mm. So I think that getting a dog of medium size like her you could make the cage 600mm wide to be on the safe side to that it has space to turn around comfortably.

AnswerID: 330323

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 12:41

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 12:41
That would take the canopy down to 900mm and with a 40l Engel in it there will be about 300mm for a drawer give or take an inch or 3 LOL

Is she going to the Pyrenees?? I might use her as a trial if she is

FollowupID: 597873

Reply By: sweetwill - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:03

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:03
hi kev
been reading this site now for about 12 months and hear i am imagining darkie sitting up in the passengers seat proud as punch on all of your adventures lo and behold you are going to stick him on the tray, mate bad form bill
AnswerID: 330363

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:05

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:05
It is a bit hard to reduce Darkie down to just a passenger seat when it is the whole bloody car ;)

FollowupID: 597899

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:10

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 17:10
Sweetwill

I'll just whisper this, SIR KEV NICKED NAMED HIS TRUCK DARKIE.
FollowupID: 597902

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:40

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:40
Don't worry Sweetwill, both of these blokes are Queenslanders and that is why normal logic does not interfere with their thought process. LOL & cheers.
Kev just make sure that you don't allow any cane toads in the cage when Darkie is travelling out of his/her adopted state!
FollowupID: 597928

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:46

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:46
Just for you Barry I'll throw a few with rocks tied to them on your roof when I next call through hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 597932

Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:17

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:17
Kev,
How about making a template made up out of cardboard to see if dog is happy, that may allow you to get all your dimensions right.

AnswerID: 330380

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:29

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:29
I would but I have to have a dog first LOL

We are about to adopt a pup so it makes it a bit hard to gauge if it will be suitable if I build it to the 500mm width.

The next best place to work it out was via here LOL

FollowupID: 597920

Follow Up By: Rock Ape - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:46
Kev maybe you could try the vets Stabler & Howlet on Peak Downs Highway, they are all knowing when it comes to dogs
FollowupID: 598036

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:15

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:15
Well it would seem logical to me... measure Mark, and make your cage up off those dimensions..!!!!!!!!!!
Or go and get him to measure Poofy.
AnswerID: 330409

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:27

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:27
I don't want his Poofter Poodle thank you very much.

A Staffy cross or something will do

FollowupID: 597964

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 04:14

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 04:14
What sort of dog?
AnswerID: 330483

Follow Up By: Tony - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:34

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:34
I think he wants a "Poofter Poodle" thank you very much.
FollowupID: 598042

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:00

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:00
Hairy,

Probably a staffy cross with either a border collie or cattle dog.

FollowupID: 598044

Follow Up By: Tony - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:08

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:08
Having had Staffy's since 1974, you wont find a more faithfull compainion.
FollowupID: 598053

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:11
Faithful and protective of the kids as well as being kid friendly.

FollowupID: 598054

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:48

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:48
here here to the staffy's!!!
my bitch is a staffy cross border collie. "Jess"
and my boy.. well he's my Bully Boy! "Army"

FollowupID: 598075

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:24

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:24
Gday Kev,
If your talking a cage across the width of a tay, I reckon 500mm would be plenty. All they need is to be able to turn around.

FollowupID: 598094

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:54

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:54
Hairy,

My thoughts exactly.

FollowupID: 598107

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:11
FollowupID: 598114

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:15

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:15
I reckon they would still like to eat some of those Alice locals though

FollowupID: 598115

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:39

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:39
Hahahaha...
They would only do it once.....they wouldnt get the taste out of their mouths.

The locals dogs have taken to eating tourist up here now... Read Willies post above.

FollowupID: 598123

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:36

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:36
jeez kev why cant you have a dog house in the backyard like the rest of us or is this so sam still has access to the credit cards while you apologise for whatever
lmao
AnswerID: 330501

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:42

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:42
Steve,

I'll have you know that the dog kennel in the back yard is quite comfortable and roomy (it is about 1.5m2 and about 1.2m high) LOL

Just want something for the dog to travel in while travelling without have to chain them on the back of Darkie.

FollowupID: 598057

Reply By: sweetwill - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:34
hi all
darkie is the truck, darkie is the truck, got it now, might have to read the forum before happy hour cheers bill.
AnswerID: 330936