Off road caravan or camper trailer
Submitted: Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:13
stefan & 12 times Dakar winner
Having a bit of a discussion with SWMBO last night about which way we will go on this. Have been looking around and we can get a good size pop top off road van 8-10 yo for around 10-12k.
I know that money would get a newer CT but she likes the idea of the van.
Question is will a small PROPER off road van go the same
places a CT will. And for all the smarty pants out there (think 'Sir Kev and Mark G') Yes the Poojero will be the tug boat!! LOL
Cheers Stefan
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:19
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:19
Stefan
will the paj' be able to tow it...........with the mitsi' being a petrol & all?
just concerned for your safety mate :-))
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:26
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:26
Pull the van no worries, and still snatch the Nav's arse out of the bog as
well :):).........My safety is fine :)
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:30
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:30
stefan
i dont think that Kev would go offroad to get Darkie bogged?
Follow Up By: JASON G - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:33
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:33
GDAY THE PAJ can tow a 22ft van if you wont to but thats it and some parks will not let in at last min,as to a camper / 16ft van you have the same qust i have but its a great truck for your trip i just rebuild my engine just for peace of
mine stick to leaf springs so its easy to fix as everyone has these parts so iam told,the petrol engine is great for power good set of tryers help like coopers s/t or micky thompson plus bullbar maybe front air locker that should do
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:35
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:35
You 2 would have to go a long way to beat Darkie offroad LOL
seeing as the Poojero would be flat out pulling Stefan's pee wee 50 out of a bog and Mark your Navara wouldn't be game to go offroad as your scared it will go bang.
I suppose your OK though Mark as Hairs has an 80 series that would rescue you LOL
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:39
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:39
Jason, the Paj has Coopers....just put tough dog kit in it, has a bar now.....look at the before and after pic in my profile, you are right they go like stink... :)
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:41
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:41
Hairs' 80.........your kidding?
his handbrake works pretty
well you know Kev.
she.........er it, locks up at the sight of ruff tracks!! lol.
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:44
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:44
"You 2 would have to go a long way to beat Darkie offroad "
When that BOAT ANCHOR known as a NA diesel toyota catches up, we will discuss who has the better off-road credentials!! LOL
Ummmm no we wont cause Mark and my good self will be on our 12th beer by then and not making much sence!! LOL
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:48
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:48
Stefan
its a scary day when i agree with you on that 1
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:52
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:52
Mark,
You trying to get brownie points with Jo??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:54
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:54
Kev
too late now, may as
well go for broke!! lol
Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:27
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:27
You got a lot more crawling to get to the top of the hole you dug yourself in!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:20
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:20
meow, meow jo
Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:30
Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:30
ppppttttttthhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
Reply By: JASON G - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:25
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:25
GDAY Stefan i to have a poojero its a great truck i have just sold my camper for a jayco poptop expanda with ensuite its 16ft outback i have two kids , but at the end of the day its personal choice most people who spend good money on these things would not skull drag them .i have been told that you can get campers to
the tip i wouldnt take a van there but you could like me think about a rooftop tent.:)
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:35
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:35
Thanks Jason
With my wife its NO van NO go.........her idea of roughing it is 4 star......
mine is sleeping in the car, dinner, a tin of beans heated up on the motor LOL. So when its just me and daughter its a tent no dramas, just wanted to know if a small van would hold me back. The vans we are looking at are not much bigger than a large CT. Would weigh more than the CT I guess
Cheers Stefan
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:11
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:11
"With my wife its NO van NO go"..........you got your answer LOL
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:39
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:39
Stefan
It depends what you mean by Offroad?
A van is much wider than the tow vehicle while CT and bush trailers normally are the same track width as your vehicle.
If you intend going on isolated narrow bushtracks then a van isn't a good choice. If however you only intend to do known gravel roads then the van should be OK. CT will be easier to tow than a van.
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:46
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:46
my off-road and your off road are two different things I think :)
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:45
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:45
Hi Stefan,
He couldn't help himself. He's had the day off, must be bored. I think he's still getting over the Soccer mum thing, or it could be Jo's Pink Poodle thing that has thrown him.
Anyway back to you question. I would believe the van would be the way to go for a couple of reasons if it is just the two of you.
1; and this is the most important choice. SWMBO thinks a van is the go,
well then a van is the go.
2; when SWMBO is happy, life is good.
3; a van I would believe to be more practical in your situation. It has everything set up, Just windup the roof, all weather suitable to set up, quick and easy. A bonus if it comes with one of them roll out side awnings that can become an annex.
Not saying your old by any means, but my next neighbour who has just retired has just bought himself a 16 foot van pop up, and he is over the moon about it. He drags it about with a Subaru Forrester. Hook it up, drive, pull over, five minutes if that and it's all is done.
That's my two Bob's worth.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:47
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:47
haven't you got dishes to do?
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:50
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:50
cheers Jon
Yep Happy wife= happy life :) Trust me it is an achivement to get to this stage. On-Patrol will second that!!!!
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:52
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:52
It's Friday,
As if I would have dishes to do tonight.
Follow Up By: JASON G - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:56
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:56
gday hairs would you use trig or 50 mm ball for a 16ft expanda not to shaw which way to go any help would b great m8
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:04
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:04
Hi Jason,
I'm thinking a 50mm ball, unless of course your planning on doing a lot of off road work and need the flexability that a Treg gives.
Jason, that's a pretty serious question for a Friday arvo, Burp. Sorry ;)
I've had a few myself. Good stuff.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:31
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:31
Yes Stefan, I do second that, in fact I'm surprised you have got this far already!!!!!!!!!
Ann is more your urban sort, she will settle for just 5 stars, not 5 billion like us normal folk.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:32
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:32
a chippies tooImage Could Not Be Foundl belt (
well Hairs has this one anyway)
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:30
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:30
if it wasnt for the bottles she'd look good with speedloaders and a gun in the holster on each hip
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:32
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:32
Nudie,
That is Mark modelling that holster LMAO
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:34
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:34
oohhhh no........ not the GUN thread again !!!! :-((
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:55
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:55
HEY EVERYONE is Mark a cross dresser?....if what Sir Kev says is correct
the shirt (blouse) does up the wrong way for mens clothing
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:39
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:39
And what about those "manboobs" just at the top of the
pic.
Those jeans are hipsters with a very short fly.
If that is Mark, I just hope for his sake he does not end up in Jail !!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:22
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:22
as stefan says...........blow it out ya bum
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:11
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:11
And his real name is Ken LMAO
| Russell Coight:
Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:54
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 18:54
Stefan,
i was in that situation a while ago, i ended up buying an on road van for the quick getaways and an off road C/T. i did seriously consider an off road van but as willem said a C/T is far easier to pull out bush. but in saying that on my last trip i met an elderly couple (80s) that had a bushtracker/trackmaster( cant remember which one) and had towed it all over australia and said it went everywhere they wanted to go. in and out of national parks,
cape york and many many other
places. so if you think the poojabah can pull it around,go for whatever takes ya fancy!
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:19
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:19
'go for whatever takes ya fancy!'
more like HER fancy!! :)
Reply By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:02
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:02
Stefan,
I don't believe that a small proper off road van will go the some
places as a camper trailer due to width and length, if for no other reason.
The real point is that which ever way you go you both have have to be happy with the choice. That means your stuffed before you start because when we say "both" we know that it really means "her".
I am in the process of getting my Hall's Camper Trailer on the market to replace it with a small PROPER off road van.
Five years ago when we bought our trailer I convinced her that we could go
places with the camper we would not go with a caravan. Now we found this to be a fact, however we did not go to those sorts of
places too often.
Not long ago we did the
Darling River Run and hit some really bad weather, not to mention the near zero temperatures. When you spend a couple of days stuck in a tent camper due to a combination of road closures and continuous rain I reckon its better to be in a caravan than under canvass.
Now we have had a ball with our tent camper and in many ways I don't regret having bought it but I know that I'm going to drop about twelve grand to sell it and caravans have only increased in price in the interim.
Have a good think about it and if you feel you may have to upgrade in the future give the camper idea a miss and go straight into the caravan.
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:11
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:11
Thanks Ian.....as you said we/she is set on the van, and as you said if the weather goes to bleep , I would rather be in a van I think.
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:14
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:14
sook
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:17
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:17
Mark......................jam it up ya nose :P
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:27
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:27
that could have come out worse!! :-0
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:35
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:35
Stefan you surprise me!!!!!
"Mark......................jam it up ya nose :P"
You seem to have learnt restraint!!!!
Well done son.
Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:37
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:37
it is hard let me tell you!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:46
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 19:46
now lads lets play nice :-))
Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:10
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:10
Umm, don't wish to be a killjoy!
Can you get a GOOD OFF ROAD 8-10 yr old pop top van for 10-12k?
Not saying you can't, just things seem to cost a LOT more than that for anything good these days.
Cheers Lyndon
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:28
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:28
they're not what one would consider a pop top van ...may be a off road "camper" would be more accurate
at that age check canvas and mozzie nets good
Follow Up By: ddr - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:06
Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:06
Also check how well they repel dust.
Mum & dad had theirs which is almost exactly the same on a recent Cape trip, & they had to every day contend with the dust over everything after traveling & over the bed every night.
Reply By: wendys - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:34
Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:34
Stefan, have a poptop trakmaster, 1997 vintage, 14 foot inside, 6foot 6 inches wide. It has done a lot of dirt kms with us, and been to some
places that are not even marked on some maps. Have been times we have left it behind and taken to tent - but we would have done the same had we been towing a camper trailer, due to 1) going
places we did not want to tow anything 2) going
places we were not allowed to tow anything. The key is to keep it small and manoeverable.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:09
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:09
stefan, I am afraid the true offroad, same width as your car caravans are actually Karavans spelt with a KKKKKk for
Kimberley. They are the ones that are recognised to get to the Bungles as they are built on a CT chassis. Only canvas is on an annex.
There are one or two second hand ones about +/- $60k though
Follow Up By: Member - Mary W NW VIC - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:59
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:59
Funny that when I was at the Bungles recently the K van I saw was on top of a tow truck!!
For that trip we left the old van at Turkey Ck
Reply By: Paul Grabonski. Vic - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:55
Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:55
your wife is right and
spot on
camper trailers are only for brainless masochists who like pain
small caravan you pop the roof and dry and comfortable instantly
everything in place and ready to eat
camper trailers take hours to set up
what do you do when wet windy and
cold in a camper trailer other than be miserable
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:33
Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:33
PAUL
"camper trailers take hours to set up"
dunno what sort you had/have but we put ours up in less than 1/2 hour.
Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:02
Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:02
Stefan,
I think we've tried everything.
Firstly a camper trailer built by a bloke to suits his needs, pretty quick to set up, but the real time was in getting all the gear out of the trailer and putting it bac.
Secondly, Jayco Eagle Outback Camper with a wind out awning. Set up was quick but storage was limited. Always boxes of stuff on the floor. Pain in the arse to to restock for each trip. Unless you wind it up, you have to crawl in on the floor to fill the
fridge.
Thirdly, 16' Jayco Freedom Pop Top with wind out awning. Great if you want to spend all your time inside, but to us
camping is about
cooking and living outside. The time taken to set a table, stove etc is painful. Then it is numerous trips in and out of the van for plates, cutlery food etc. We found the set up and pack up time to be very long. Single beds were narrow and uncomfortable. The "Double Bed" versions have a bed 4'3" x 6', try sleeping on that.
Finally, back to a Camper Trailer with a
slide out
kitchen and
drawer. Fair Dinkhum Q/S bed with latex mattress, heavenly night's sleep. Easily the fastest set up of all that we have tried. Without the awning we are up and ready in 5 minutes, awning adds another 15.
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:46
Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:46
Stefan,
My perference is for the van. I had and disliked a camper trailer for a couple of years. The only ones I like cost lots of dollars for what they do (Ultimate my first choice).
I'd say this would be a good buy. Little more than the dollars your talking, but trusted manufacturer, a fairly rare thing....
Evernew off roader
Matt