OT. Real estate Market very dismal at the moment!.

Submitted: Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:22
ThreadID: 62642 Views:3780 Replies:10 FollowUps:32
As mentioned a few weeks ago, we put our property on the market , Allowing for agents B....Chit, and all the rest, Things are not good as far as even getting replacement costs at the moment. Agents have to operate their business in a professional manner like every one else, But it hurts when they try it on to see just how desperate you wan't to sell!! . In Our case i replied by removing his sign and letting him know we have decided to increase the price by the amount he wanted to decrease it!!!.

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:30

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:30

It is a buyers market at the moment, although you wouldn't think so up here they are still bloody expensive.

AnswerID: 330414

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:43

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:43
Hi Kev, Bloody expensive!, But are they selling?

FollowupID: 597972

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:45

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:45
No,

Not many new ones being approved either when compared to 3 months ago.
We were approving approx 50+ per month for new houses to be built in June, yet we are lucky to see 20 per month now. It has slowed up big time.

FollowupID: 597973

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:50

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:50
inspectors fees ae breaking every one :-)
FollowupID: 597978

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:54

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:54
Only the re-inspection fees cause the tradies can do it right LOL

FollowupID: 597980

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:07

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:07
Hairs is a chippie..........explains it then.
FollowupID: 597988

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:50

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:50
Plumbers are just as bad

FollowupID: 597998

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:29

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:29
Yep us Plumbers are real Bad, we are the First onsite to lay the
Drains, and the last on site to get Paid, now the Chippies are the
ones who Just throw the House Frames up, and the Plumber comes
along and does the Rough In, eg: installs the water pipes in the Frames, and the Sparky does the same with the wires ect,
Now I have'nt met any real bad Building inspectors yet, but I have
wanted to bury a few Plumbing Inspectors in the open Drainage
Trenches in the past, they allways like to pick on some little thing,
so most of us will leave some thing obvious to pick on, like a missing
Pipe Bracket or a leaking Test Plug ect, so they dont have to
pretend to leave a action notice for no reason at all, but we all
have to earn a living.
FollowupID: 598181

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:44

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:44
Daza,

Up here the roof tilers reckom they are not paid to cut the vents in so they chop them off so they can lay tiles straight over them.

It gets very funny when the plumber comes back and removes a dozen roof tiles just for a 40mm vent, and the tiles end up in the pool.

FollowupID: 598184

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:02

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:02
Hi Kev, sorry mate but I just remembered that I came looking for you, left your phone no at home, when we went up to Yeppoon.
Drove into Calliope and we just went sh"t bloody hell its grown since my uncle had the bake house there in the 60s
Anyway next time, but dont forget to call in to us on your way to St George if you go this way.

Cheers Bruce
FollowupID: 598188

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:56

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:56
KEV

you lot are a weird bunch........chucking tiles in the pool lol
FollowupID: 598226

Reply By: Saharaman (aka Geepeem) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:31

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:31
Good on Ya Axle, hang in there.
The Govt has just increased the first home owners grant to $14,000 for established homes and $21,000 for new homes. This expected to boost the market. Even if your home is out of reach of first home buyers it will still flow through eventually as the people who may upgarde to yours may sell thir current home to a first home buyer etc. With interest rates coming down possible 2 more times (Nov and Dec) I would sit tight as I think the market will get a kick start pretty soon. We also have a house to sell but are going to wait about another month before listing it as I want to give the market time to gain a bit of momemtum.
Hope you get a sale...
Glen
AnswerID: 330415

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:49

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 20:49
Hope your right Glen, The unemployment figues in the next few months might be the next thing to bug the system, maybe??.

FollowupID: 597977

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:02

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:02
Evening Axle

The housing market started to go pearshaped at the beginning of the year. In February we were selling MIL's house on the Gold Coast and the median price for that type of dwelling was around 430K. We decided to go for auction as there were only three or 4 listings week with the Real Estate company we were using. Within a month the listings went to 20 a week as the Sub-Prime debacle in the USofA was just coming to the fore. Two days before auction we had an offer of 395K and decided(very wisely in hindsight) to take it. We needed some of the money for something else and figured that we should be able to recoup what we would have lost in interest on the balance over two years. Now it may be three or four years but nevertheless, we are way out in front.

Maybe you should just put it all on hold unless you have made a committment elsewhere and need to sell.

Good Luck

AnswerID: 330458

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:36

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:36
Hi Willem, Not really committed elsewhere, but had a good opotunity to buy exceptionally well in another area, Unless we borrow to do so, which i'm not that keen, i think we'll just do what you mention and sit for a while.

FollowupID: 598022

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:40

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:40
Bro and Axle, they say if you put your house on the market at the right price, you should get inspections and offers within two weeks. If you get no inspections, you are priced ahead of the market.

Our super fund had a house rented out in a market we thought was going to soften. We had the price ahead of the market for sale of the said house. Talking to the agent, I approached him with the thought about the market and that we hadn't had any interest. We advertised at a reasonable drop to meet the market and agreed on an offer within two weeks. There are now more houses for sale in that small town, and the only advertised auction only had the vendor bid.

Axle, you have a decision to make if you want to do the transaction
FollowupID: 598306

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:06

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:06
Spot on John.

The two week rule is as good a rule of thumb as there is.

FollowupID: 598683

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:33

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:33
Going to get a lot worse for housing in this country we are only just scratching the surface of a very rocky road ahead.

Just finished a report by Dr Shane Oliver here is an extract of what he says FYI.

House prices – Falling interest rates and increased first home
buyer grants are great news for home owners and home buyers. However, over the next six months they are likely to be more than offset by the negative impact of rising unemployment. As such, with Australian house prices running about 20% overvalued, we remain of the view that house prices will fall by 10% or so over the year ahead.

Dr Shane Oliver
Head of Investment Strategy and Chief Economist
AMP Capital Investors

AnswerID: 330462

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:49

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:49
Pretty gloomy outlook John, Would like to think his predictions are wrong, but somehow i think not.

FollowupID: 598025

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:59

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:59
Oliver is not always perfect with his insights, I don't think anyone really is.
But he is not to far off with most of his forecasts.

Another Economist who is very good is Craig James from Commsec, he also believes that the housing bubble is deflating in this country (As do most) and will continue to be affected by a rising rate of unemployment.

You know what ever goes up must come down and we have seen these movements in markets before.
Like goes on and we all live with it.

FollowupID: 598026

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 02:04

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 02:04
If you really want to sell you are probabally stuffed

heres my lifes experience
when I moved to kalgoorlie in 97 houses cost way more than in perth for iron fibro shacks. the great gold depression hit and everyone that paid wayyyy to much for a house couldnt accept the fact it had 1/2 ed in value so for a while no houses sold because overnight they were wayyyy overpriced. Eventually people accepted they had to sell for what people would pay.

At this stage i bought a house because they were so cheap.

For a few years it gained no value - maybe dropped some.
when i sold it had put on some and was worth more than it ever was. 2 years later the market had doubled in vlaue

moral of the story
---- You can spit chips at the agent but your house will only ever be worth what someone will pay acording to the market. if you dont like it- rent it out and hope it will increase to what you want .

Ive bought at the bottom of a market where an agent will openly hint at a base price they think will get accepted. And ive bought at the top of a market where an agent wont even show you a house - just tell you to put your best bid in or miss out

do not kid yourself it doesnt work like that
AnswerID: 330476

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:52

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:52
Had a yarn in the pub last night with a financial guru, public servant
from Toytown (Canberra) on this very subject. He wasnt very
cheerful, predicting a slump in housing values of 40%, before any
upturn happens, & not inside 3 years. He said many of his colleagues who own rental properties in Canberra & had 50% or
more equity were selling them now to clear their morgages. The
cry over there is "get out of debt". Not much help to those with a 3 year old morgage & a house that is dropping in value & wont
cover the debt. This bloke reckons we are no where near the worst of it yet.....bloody cheerful......Rudd didnt give me a cent.
no kids......no pension.....not buying a house.......but I think I maybe
among the luckier ones.......stay out of debt & tighten your belt
was the advice given........oldbaz.
AnswerID: 330570

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 18:52

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 18:52
All financial guru's have an opinion. Mostly they are 'advisors "because they aren't rich. Also they always speak in "a bet each way" talk

What's right for one person is bad advice for others.

Another view is Now is the time to get into (responsible) debt. What better time to invest than when everyone is running to the exits?

Housing prices are going down and people getting more desperate to sell, interest rates headed to 5.5% and rents high and immigration ( future demand) high. 200,000 home shortage in 3 years.

Overall you can have exactly the same investment as last year for 20 - 30% less. How come it was a great investment then but a piece of crap now?

So long as you have income security to service any debt have, a long term outlook and act responsibly the lights are green Green GREEN.

Best advice is do the opposite to the headlines of the Newspapers. You can't go too far wrong with that.

FollowupID: 598582

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 22:58

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 22:58
You havent taken the quite likely higher unemployment into consideration for starters.
FollowupID: 598645

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:20

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:20
I'm with you Boobook...timing is everything, but the 'buy in gloom, sell in boom' comes to mind as a good adage.

FollowupID: 598685

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:39

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:39
Well hopefully we have beaten the odds.

We got a contract on our house on Black Friday for $30,000 less the the asking price ( mid to high 7,s).
Just waiting for good inspections.

We are quite happy as it has been on the market for a while so now its into the van and off we go.
AnswerID: 330603

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:16
After 25 years of buying and selling numerous houses (residential, we're not investors), they only fail to sell for one reason: they're overpriced.

The Vendor may have a fanciful idea of what their dwelling is worth, but the market will dictate its real value.

If you sell in an inflated market, you pay a similalrly inflated price for the next house and vice-versa.

No idea where you live Axle, and how the property market is there.

Good Luck, but putting the price up on something that hasn't sold won't usually induce interest.

AnswerID: 330607

Follow Up By: Member - Madfisher - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:19

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:19
Good analogy Jim, same thing applies to the used 4by market at the moment. Dealers are cheaper then a lot of private sellers, as they stay in touch with the market.
FollowupID: 598219

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:35

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:35
a more succinct way of putting it than i did
FollowupID: 598352

Reply By: Flywest - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:46

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:46
I did a rezone and subdivision - and it tok 7 years to do.

No way to know that far ahead what the market will be.

You just take your chances!

Having got out before the bust - then seen the stooppid oincreases to double the market inside 12 months we elected to stay out of the market.

Wouldn't consider getting back in till prices halve back to near reasonable.

The world markets (people like me who can choose to jump or not) have spoken - no confidence in banks real estate or the share market - hence the collpase.

I'll buy real estate again - at the bottom of the market, when it suits me and I'm getting value at the right interest rate.

People who didn';t sell at the top of the market - and think they can wait till prioces come back up to what they COULD have got but didn't 12 months ago, are kidding themselves.

Theres been a few twists and turns...

1920's to 1930's great depression
1987 stockmarket crash
2008 Crash.

For a lot of people, these events are once in a lifetime events..my mothers generation for eg - in the 30's she was born hence too young to buy in at the bottomof the market - her father however (now dead) bought a new 2 Bdrm Double brick and tile on half acre for 50 pounds (5 weeks wages or the equivalent today of say 5 grand).

Back to mum - in the late 80's she'd paid off her mortgage and the crash / return was too quick to take advantage of, this time in the 2008 she's in her late 70's and too old to take any advantage.

So,

If your thinking to wait for the NEXT boom time - it MIGHT come once in your lifetime of your lucky at a period when you have the ability to take advantage of it!

Thats a long time to wait to regain the equity thats been lost in the last 12 months.

Investorsin the market know these things - they (like me) will wait it out and pick off those who are in too deep, upside down in their loans etc.

First house I bought back in 87 the guy had a 1st and 2nd mortgage and 2 caveats over the property.

It was a nice double brick 4 x 2 only a few years old and got it for $50K.

I think a LOT of people got carried away with the rediculous equity they suddenly found themselves wth in their homes due to poor economic management and they are going to face some tough times if they budgetted to borrow against that equity.

Debt Free and liquid is the way to take advantage of the times ahead.

AnswerID: 330921

Reply By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:55

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:55
In all honesty I believe that the scrapping or reduction of negative gearing for property investors needs to occur to bring the cost of housing down to a reasonable level for a greater percentage of people.

Now there's a thought that will polarise opinions. Those that believe that investing in property should provide the same incentives as investing in shares, and those that believe that property investors shouldnt be given an unfair tax advantage to compete with potential owner/occupiers.
AnswerID: 330973

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 00:09

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 00:09
actually its been done. it failed dismally - renters had no where to live people dont usuall rent becaue they cant aford to buy
FollowupID: 598658

Follow Up By: Off-track - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 00:13

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 00:13
It was tried, but it did not fail...as a policy. Pure politics at work, again.

Site Link
FollowupID: 598659

Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:37

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:37
For the life of me I can't understand why anyone would want to invest in something that gives a negative return; it goes against all investment principals, regardless of some tax break you might get.....

It is precisely that type of invesment decision that goes pear shaped in this type of environment as the asset can't repay itself from income it generates.
FollowupID: 598693

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:51

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 06:51
Landy

It is possible to have a residential property that is negatively geared but with positive cash flow. Ie on paper it makes an income loss, but in reality the rent income exceeds the cash outlays such as interest, utilities repairs etc.

The key is buy a property build in the last 40 years ( preferably in the last 5 years) and you can depreciate the building. Undertanding that is the key to wealth, blindly buying a poor return negatively geared property for the tax dedustions is the key to disaster, especially in these times when it goes pear shaped as you say.

Off-track, Negative gearing is a result of tax deduction of costs and in that respect is treated no differently to any other assett class such as shares, a business, or even interest in your bank account. Removing it on housing distorts the market and is why it failed previously.

IMHO negative gearing is usually widely mis-understood and that is why people get into trouble, ony buy one property and sprukers make money.
FollowupID: 598915

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:55

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 11:55
Depreciating the property reduces the cost base for Capitol Gains Tax purposes.
Which means it will come back to bite you down the track when (If) the property is sold.

FollowupID: 598960

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:11

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 13:11
It didnt fail at all. It was removed for political reasons.

Negative gearing makes it a more attractive to invest in property (than if it was not available) which therefore adds more buyers to the market. More buyers adds to the market prices being driven upwards.

That is the conundrum - removal of NG increases affordability - retaining NG decreases affordability. One path hurts investors, the other hurts people who just want their own home and not pay an investor to live in his.
FollowupID: 598971

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:19

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:19
Off-track
youve failed to identify another sector it hurts - renters
less rentals will always mean higher rental prices or and or lack of choice for renters
FollowupID: 598975

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:38

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 14:38
and i did read the article but it failed the common sense test. for starters it was based on a policy that wne tonly 2 years or less. no where near the time to judge any flow on effect.
you assume that if people didnt invest in housing then it would be cheap enough for all the renters to buy their own places. This is hardly likely as people rent for many reasons and alot that would like to buy still would never afford a loan for a house at any price.
I Dont know the figures but i think you most of the proper houses that people do want to buy to live in (as apposed to rental properties, flats, lockn leave places on small blocks etc)
are indeed owner occupied
FollowupID: 598976

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:12

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:12
Member - John (Vic) posted:
Depreciating the property reduces the cost base for Capitol Gains Tax purposes.
Which means it will come back to bite you down the track when (If) the property is sold.

John that is true unless you don't sell and / or sell say one property per year and have a low income when you sell. Eg in a trust you could distribute capital gains to a low income earner and income if any to another.
FollowupID: 598981

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:13

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:13
Sorry John forgot to mention other option. I am sure plenty of people will have capital losses to carry forward from the next few years :-(

FollowupID: 598983

Follow Up By: Off-track - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:31

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 15:31
Davoe,

There will still be investors and there will still be renters. Removal of tax incentives will reduce the number of people wanting to invest which will push the purchase cost of housing down. This will increase the number of people that want to buy but currently cannot.

What effect it has on the cost of rent is debateable but I dont think anyone here can accurately determine what it would be. But it does work for other countries.

FollowupID: 598985