Re thread 57179...calling ex-smokers

Submitted: Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:24
ThreadID: 62644 Views:3428 Replies:24 FollowUps:33
In May I asked all the ex smokers for advice about quitting I got 50 replies on that one, well its been 8 weeks now without a gasper and feeling great i am 32 and have smoked full time since I was 14...so I had to break a 18 yo habit. I can say I don't crave for them anymore. My wife still smokes and it just doesn't worry me. One word for anybody thinking of quitting "ZYBAN" go see your doctor, worked wonders for me :):)

Breathing easy Stefan

P.S 8 kgs heavier but oh well :)

Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:26
Stefan

good to see ya got will power.........keep it up :-)))))
AnswerID: 330428

Reply By: Member - Axle - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:42

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:42
Hi Stefan, At 32yrs old i was eating them!!..lol, Ended up with a chest infection at one stage, so chucked the fags out the window on the way home one day & that was the end of my smoking days, about 25yrs ago now, um, maybe not that long ago, anyhow don't go back to it mate!, Just hope the 12 times Dakar winner dosen't take on smokin!...LOL.

AnswerID: 330430

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:52

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:52
Well it is a mitsibishi!!! :)
FollowupID: 598000

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:43

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:43
Nathans 33 and smokes like a chimney too....has for along time too.....
He has tried to quit a heap of times but his mind isnt in it with Zyban not working the 4 times he has tried. I use to smoke and when we got together he had just quit but started again cos I did....he know blames me....

what did it for me was falling pregnant 6 yrs ago....havent had one since!

you can lose the weight....cannt lose the effects of a stroke....just ask my mother in law....!

well done mate!! keep it up!
AnswerID: 330432

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:47

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:47
Thanks Kiwi

Two years ago I went on a diet to loose the weight (i was very over weight), so I could give up smoking!! LOL

I droped 25kg and have now put on 8kg so still 17 in front!! :):)

I made a promise to my daughter.......there was no other option but to succed.
FollowupID: 597996

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:19

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:19
>I use to smoke and when we got together he had just quit but
>started again cos I did....he know blames me....

A long time ago a wise lady who was tutoring me in an area of psychology gave me a very simple phrase which explains much of people's negative behaviour; "We do what we want to do".

FollowupID: 598038

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:33

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:33
Very true...thats what i tell him.....!!!

Nath has made a promise to me and the kids too...Im still waiting....it will be like a lot of other promises....he'll forget that he made them and go against it anyway.
FollowupID: 598045

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:45

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:45
Well done . Must be saving a heap of money too . Next time your missus complains about not having money for something , just remind her she is spending $100 a week on fags .

I am off them at the moment too - hope I can last this time .

Willie .
AnswerID: 330433

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:46

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:46
willie

must be why the new wheels grace Stefans shed
FollowupID: 597995

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:49

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:49
If I ask for something and she says no, I just say you had no problem with me spending money on smokes :):) works every time!! LOL
FollowupID: 597997

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:51

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 21:51
I was just ready this time......most I ever lasted before was a day or two, didn't rush in this time, Planned it down to the last detail and bugger me it has worked :)

Keep at it Willie
FollowupID: 597999

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:35

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 08:35
what things did you plan Stefen cos I may need to drop hints to Nathan now that baby number 4 is on the way - I always bring it up with babies - not that he smokes around them...but still....a baby is a good excuse for him!
FollowupID: 598047

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:11
I thought about my smoking and was brutaly honest with myself.
I worked what would set me off and how I would deal with it when it happened.

I worked out a whole new routine, this helped heaps.

As I said before, if he wants to he will. My mother nagged me for years! Just made me want a smoke!! LOL
FollowupID: 598089

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:09
Good on ya Stefan, keep at it mate, at times it will get hard but just be strong, i haven't had one for 6 and a half yrs now, the missus gave up at the same time which made it much easier....dont know about saving any money though, bloody 4wd takes it all up now ...lol...Now its just the weight, wish that was as easy as giving up smoking..well for me anyway

I wonder how many of the posters that said they were giving up around the same time as your other post , still are???

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 330441

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:11

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:11
Oh and yes , every now and then i do feel like having a smoke, but i just say to myself ..Dave if you do have one , you will be starting all over again...works for me
FollowupID: 598007

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:16

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:16
You nailed it Dave

after the first day it was well you came this far why go back. and so on and so on. Mate after this long why would you go back :)
Beer doesn't set me off cause the guys I drink with are all non smokers anyway so that helps. And no more being a loner outside smoking.
FollowupID: 598009

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:09

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:09
Good stuff Stefan,

I gave up about 8 and half years ago. A brain hemorrhage sorta helps ya.
Don't miss it at all. Yeah I'm a little heavier for it, but who gives a rats.
I've got the body of a God Now,
Budda's a God, is he not?
Besides the health benefits of quitting, why would you want to give the government 50% of the price in tax?
I'm 43 next March and I want to see my Kids grow up and see their kids. Only so I can say"Told Ya" Not easy being a parent some times.
It's all good. :))

Nah, good on ya Mate.
AnswerID: 330442

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:14

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:14
hairs

but your in shape..............round is a shape. :-))))))
FollowupID: 598008

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:39

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:39
My fav shirt when I was at my heaviest was 'I beat anorexia'
FollowupID: 598012

Reply By: Member - Roger B (VIC) - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:25

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:25
Well done Stefan. I tried all the methods over the years, then one day in June 2005 when I was 61 1/2 yo., I stopped cold turkey, and haven't looked back. I must have used the things for nearly 50 years though. Timing must have been right.I honestly haven't had a single drag in that time. And won't now. I reckon a smoke would kill me now.All the best to you.
AnswerID: 330443

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:41

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:41
It is the timing is everything......when you want to do it you will.....NOT when someone else says you should hey
FollowupID: 598013

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:56

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 22:56
Good on you Stefan...

I'm up to 2 1/2 years now 29 years a smoker up to 50-60 a day at the end.

don't feel any better for it.. :-))

AnswerID: 330456

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:34

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:34

Some people are wise and some people are otherwise...hahahaha

FollowupID: 598021

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:08

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:08
I think you do feel better for it!!
FollowupID: 598087

Reply By: Top End Explorer Tours - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:34

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:34
Hey Stefan.

It has been 8 years on the 28th of Dec 2000, 20 kgs later but not one second of regret.

I'm still looking for the weight loss programme that fits but worth it.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 330464

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:45

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:45
I will lose the weight again.....the extra money is good :)
FollowupID: 598023

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:37

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:37
Stefan

Coming up for 34 years without a smoke this December. Smoked from age 13 until 31 and then quit cold turkey. Still can't believe those skinny photos of me....... At least 35 kilos heavier from 1974......hahahahaha

AnswerID: 330466

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:46

Friday, Oct 17, 2008 at 23:46
must look through the shed for my old fat clothes tomorrow :)
FollowupID: 598024

Reply By: SteveL - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 01:37

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 01:37
Just had the in-laws visit from Holland,he said that the smokers who work at his company are docked 23 hrs pay per month for smoke breaks.Never know might be coming to a workplace near you.
AnswerID: 330471

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:34

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:34
Stefan,

Can you please explain how Zyban works.

I'm due to have another go. Eventually I have to get rid of the mongrel things.

AnswerID: 330486

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:02

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:02
Jim, My daughter ended up in intensive care after taking Zyban ! It works for some people and can have extreme reactions in others. Do an extensive search on side effects before you even consider using it. There are several organisations that have tried to have it banned.
FollowupID: 598051

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:44

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:44
Have a look at the following web site Jim

http://www.medsafe.govt.nz/Profs/PUarticles/zyban.htm

There are many other discussion areas world wide if you look for them.
FollowupID: 598058

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:54

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:54
Ok Jim as Kiwi Kia said reserch the drug on the internet first and make up your own mind. There are 2 drugs for anti smoking Zyban and Champix (spelling).

Zyban is mainly used as an antideppresant, and it works by numbing down the receptors in your brain which reacte to nicotine.

You start taking the tablets but are instructed to still smoke for a week after starting. I found after about 4 days I wasn't getting the same kick from the smokes anymore, it just felt like nothing and I started to question why I was doing it. So on day 5 I ran out of smokes and thought why buy more they are doing nothing for me.

So Zyban takes care of the physical cravings, YOU still have to deal with the 'habit'.....for the first week or so after quitting I was like a lost puppie didn't know what to do with myself. I was as figity as hell :) BUT not grumpy like when I tried cold turkey.

Hope this helps........By the way my 'old school' doctor of 29 years refused to pescribe them for me because HE didn't belive in them. If I had listened to him I would still be an active smoker.

Cheers Jim and all the best with what ever method you choose

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 598060

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:26

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:26
Thanks to you both for taking the time to pass on the information to me.

Time to start researching.

FollowupID: 598095

Follow Up By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:24

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:24
I actually think there is a 3rd drug. It is "you" wanting to quit. If you really want to quit then I am sure you will. I did cold turkey and haven't looked back.
Rgds
Nev
FollowupID: 598120

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:48

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:48
Zyban is by prescription only , 1per day for the 1st 3days then double the dose on day 4 ,all the while continuing to smoke as per usual . Day 5 the 1st fag of the day and u feel like throwing up ,, tastes so bad all fags into bin , works on the receptors in brain , major side effects can include death if have any prexisting heart problems ,disruptive sleep and some skin itchiness , a full course takes 90 days ,, nil cigs since 15 june 2002 from an average of 90 per day PeterJackson 16mg ,started smoking 1970.
FollowupID: 598141

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:39

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 06:39
Stefan,

Well done mate!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I started quitting around 1996, but it was a LONG time before I was able to quit completely. (Started at 8, now 50) I am proud to say I haven't smoked since 1pm, March 15, 2003. Not one! My doctor tells me I have another 2 years or so and my lungs will be repaired, although the possibility of cancer stays forever! Can't tell you how worthwhile it is, just that it's THAT damn good!

Keep up the good work mate...

AnswerID: 330487

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:59

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:59
yep lost 3 Grand parents to lung cancer....not a pretty way to go
FollowupID: 598078

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:24

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:24
Good on yer Stefan! :)

A word of warning; for me there was a danger period after I had gone the first few months which lasted for a few years. The problem was that having now, clearly, given up I had proved I could beat it so it wouldn't hurt to have a small cigar once or twice a year, Christmas perhaps...? :)

Suffice it to say I have not trusted myself to have _one_ single cig for 23 years but I'm still a smoker :)

AnswerID: 330491

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:57

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:57
Thanks Mike

I know me and its all or nothing, one smoke will be a pack a day again

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 598061

Reply By: landed eagle - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:44

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 07:44
Many moons ago my grandfather gave 'em up. Been a heavy smoker all his farmer/road builder life.Roll your owns were his forte. I remember as a kid listening to him nearly coughing up a lung every morning.
When he gave up he went cold turkey. He reckoned half the habit was having something to do with your hands. So instead of rolling a smoke he'd peel an apple with a knife and eat it.
Worked for him. He was also a VERY determined man in everything he did.
AnswerID: 330492

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:01

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:01
he is right, it is very much a hand thing
FollowupID: 598080

Reply By: Steve - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:32

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:32
It obviously affects different people in different ways. After 30-odd years of smoking I had a few goes at it before I could finally say I'd kicked the habit. I think part of the problem for me was being in the pub amongst other smokers. I stopped doing that and just took myself out of that environment. Funny thing is, if for instance my brother comes over (who I only see every few years or so) we have a few beers and eventually I succumb and have a few fags. After he's gone, though, I carry on like I've never smoked before. In fact, I can't wait to clear myself of the ingestion of tobacco.
AnswerID: 330500

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:05

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:05
I could never have the odd one ....that I know about myself :)
FollowupID: 598083

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:37

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:37

Congratulations to every one who has given up or are thinking of
giving up THEM DEMON DURRIES, its hard, no its bloody hard, but its
well worth the effort, in the early days I was just a Social Smoker,
I never smoked full time, so it was easy for me to stop,
People who have stopped or are trying to stop deserve all the
recognition from Friends and Family.

Daza
AnswerID: 330502

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:41

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:41
well said Daza
FollowupID: 598056

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:08

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:08
I know there is a new drug out called Chemtrax (or sounds like), The hospital prescribed it for the father in law as he has emphasemia (sp) real real bad. Apparently you are still smoking while you take the tablets, after a couple of weeks it starts to make you physical sick and throw up and you just can't stand them any more. I know a few people who have tried it.
AnswerID: 330510

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:04

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:04
yep....I looked at that one too, but decided on Zyban for me. I hate feeling sick :)
FollowupID: 598082

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:17

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:17
Well done Stefan,

A friend of mine quit after many years and his biggest change was that he said he could actually taste! Food had taste now, everything tasted so much better. Mind you he was a heavy smoke with cigars thrown in for good measure. :-)

are you finding that the case?

AnswerID: 330517

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:03

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:03
Tastes too bloody good.....hence the weight gain :)
FollowupID: 598081

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:50
Onya Stefan.
Stick with it. I gave up cold turkey and it was one of the best decisions I ever made. 16 years now and not one fag. One good thing though is that your pajero will smell better without the fag smoke in it.
Keep at it

Rgds
Nev
AnswerID: 330521

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:06

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:06
I hopped in the wifes car.....YUCK what a stink!!!! Opps starting to sound like an ex-smoker!! LOL
FollowupID: 598085

Reply By: bruce - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:00

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:00
Its real easy to kick the habit....just do what I did about 20yrs ago...get nabbed for .05 , lose license . ride fold up bike to work , fall of it for going to fast down hill , break scaffoid bone in wrist ...blood clot goes from there to lungs , spend ten days in intensive care in hospital ,come out of there and light up fag...aaaggghhh tastes bl....dy horrible , drop it on lawn and put foot on it...never had one since and never have missed them...easy...cheers
AnswerID: 330616

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:22

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:22
Too easy!! Bloody hell, thats one way of doing it!!!
FollowupID: 598221

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:43

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:43
My second wife was a smoker and always said "I've smoked for 37 years and it hasn't hurt me"

Well the 38th did She had a breathing attack whilst driving and got dragged out of the car by the ambos just in time.

Never had another smoke but it was already too late.

She developed emphysema really severely. Used to take her an hour to peel the spuds for tea.

Couldnt walk from room to room without sitting down for a rest.

Couldnt go out of the house except in a wheel chair

Finally went into hospital for lung reduction surgery.

Result Lungs collapsed.

Spent 5 weeks in intensive care on a ventilator.

Result got a blood infection from tubes in chest.

Couldnt breathe without ventilator and after several complete blood transfusions infection was unfixable.

End result we had to turn off medication and let her go.

Not a pleasant experience to have to do.

So those of you who still smoke take notice It may already be too late.
AnswerID: 330622

Reply By: Holden4th - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:57

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:57
If you've managed to give up for a while but still think you are a smoker then can I suggest that you visit a hypnotherapist.

Many people use hypnotherapy to actually give up but most don't think to use it as a back up. The system instils in your mnd that you are a non-smoker as opposed to an ex-smoker. You become very opioniated about smoking and smokers (driving your family and friends crazy) but also driving that thought into your mind - "I am a non-smoker and smoking is a disgusting habit".
AnswerID: 330625

Reply By: Member - Dogman (WA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:55

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:55
OK, off to the doctor next Friday to try Zyban.
Thanks Stefan.
AnswerID: 330633