Baby on Board

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:30
ThreadID: 62652 Views:4102 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
I expect that you have all seen vehicles with "Baby on Board" signs on them??????? I wonder what incentive these signs would give traffic cops to stop these vehicles to see if the baby is in an approved restraining device or not or wait until an accident has happened??? Never heard of it myself but then again I don't like babies, dirty smelly things

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:45

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:45
I often wonder what motivates people to put that moronic sign on their cars .
AnswerID: 330503

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:45

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:45
Yeh Mate

I've just got a Exploroz Sticker on ours, lol.
FollowupID: 598073

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:56

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:56
Must agree......what is the motivation?????

1. Could it be a subliminal message to other drivers along the lines of "THIS VEHICLE IS BEING DRIVEN BY A HOT CHICK WHO HAS PROVED BEYOND THE SHADOW OF A DOUBT THAT ALL MY "PRIVATE" PARTS ARE IN FULL WORKING ORDER AND THAT I AM NO LONGER A VIRGIN AND HAVE HAD A GYNOCOLOGIST LOOK IN THERE AND RETRIEVE MY LITTLE GIFT TO THE WORLD"

2. or..... could it be a subliminal plea to the driver of a Kenworth/Western Star etc along the lines of: "I AM A MORON AND I AM PROBABLY LOOKING IN THE MIRROR OR OVER MY SHOULDER TO SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING IN THE BACK SEAT, SO IF YOU SEE MY CRUMMYDORE VEERING IN YOUR DIRECTION AND IT APPEARS YOU MAY BE ABOUT TO KILL US ALL, PLEASE TURN YOUR STEERING WHEEL AND RUN YOURSELF OFF THE ROAD SO THAT YOU SAVE MY SORRY AR-SE".....

Yes, they are really inexplicable sign to be putting on your window IMHO....... hahahahaha
FollowupID: 598077

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:12

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:12
i dont have one and prob wont but the motivation is to remind people to drive carefully....thats all...babies are precious little things!
FollowupID: 598205

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 16:17

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 16:17
Agreed....they are precious little mites....but I simply fail to see how bunging a silly yellow sticker on the back window of the family hack is going to have any influence at all. The possible exception is some mongrel who might be tail-gating you in a menacing manner.....but the type of A-Holes who actually do that sort of thing are unlikely to be dissuaded from driving in that manner, just because the driver is displaying a sticker either.

As I said, if it is designed to try to get other drivers (in the event of an impending collision) to take a course of action which they may not have otherwise been likely to consider.....then I think they a total waste of time.

If the driver of the vehicle is THAT worried about the precious cargo they have on board, then maybe they should stay at home.
FollowupID: 598362

Reply By: darrell.QLD - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:47

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:47
but then again I don't like babies, dirty smelly things........
You were one of THEM once! very nasty ray.....
AnswerID: 330504

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:25

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:25
darrell

I agree with Ray, Squarking screaming things, A Cocky would be better, cover the little bugger up at night and get a good nights sleep,

FollowupID: 598066

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:38

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:38
Do you think you were any different when you were that small Doug?
FollowupID: 598070

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:45

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:45
Mudripper
I must have been mate, Mum was always tellin' me I was a little Angel and Dad was always saying I was a good boy.......LOL

FollowupID: 598074

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:55

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:55
I sounds like Doug and Ray have recently been shown thier baby photos...
Not all babies are tared with your brush..

Hahahaha
FollowupID: 598131

Reply By: Breakerman - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:56

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:56
The best send up of these moronic signs I've seen were the words, placed in the same yellow shape, "BABY CARRIES NO CASH".
Breakerman.
AnswerID: 330535

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:35

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:35
>I often wonder what motivates people to put that moronic sign on their cars .

Until a few weeks ago I wondered the same thing but a friend of mine tells me it stems from a incident in Germany when a young couple were involved in a motor accident and (I don't know any details) their baby was left in the wreckage of the car because no one knew it was their. Subsequently they started a campaign to make these stickers commonplace.

I cannot attest to the truth of this story but I would normally believe anything this friend told me.

AnswerID: 330543

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:38

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:38
Always check Snopes before you post :)

Baby on Board

FollowupID: 598122

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:40

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:40
I hadn't heard the German story, but I did hear that they were to indicate the presence of a baby in an accident, so maybe there is some truth to it.

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 598125

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:44

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:44
... and i should wait for you to check Snopes before I post!!!
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 598127

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:51

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:51
We'll both blame my friend - I'll give him hell the next time I see him :)
FollowupID: 598129

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:02

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:02
Well i dunno according to snopes mr Ed was actually a zebra
I have a hard time believing that............
FollowupID: 598135

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:16
Mike there is another side to a similar story where people put themselves at risk with a burning car when there was one of those stickers - and NO BABY :-(
FollowupID: 598144

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:32

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:32
Snopes only says that Mr Ed was a zebra in the main text.
If you look at the fine print, he really was a horse, and Snopes puts things like that in just to show you can't believe everything written without further research.
Just show you can't be too careful with quotes.
FollowupID: 598149

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:08

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:08
hmmm was a few years ago but i thought i read the article thoroughly.
jumped back on there and tried numerous searches talking horse, mr ed, zebra and couldnt find it only something about mr Ed making rascist coments
FollowupID: 598246

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:31

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:31
Davoe
If you go to Snopes...Lost Legends.. Mr Ed..and scroll down to the link "additional information about this subject," you get to a page detailing it
Or use this linkMr Ed Is Not A Zebra
FollowupID: 598304

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:53

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:53
thanks but i still must be missing somehing. when you click on the mr ED link the original article i read does seem to say he was a zebra???
FollowupID: 598326

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:39

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:39
Snopes contradicts itself on the Mr Ed Zebra thing.

I googled a few other things and Wiki reckons Ed was a horse.

I couldn't cop the thing about stripes not showing up on B&W TV. I can clearly remeber watching B&W TV and the Collingwood Jumper looked every bit as revolting on TV as it did in the flesh.

FollowupID: 598338

Follow Up By: brushmarx - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56
Did I screw up the "Mr Ed is Not A Zebra " link ?
It works on mine.
But, in the Snopes Lost Legendes Mr Ed part, the story explains that Mr Ed was a zebra, and the stripes don't show up on black & white TV.
If you go to the lower part of the story, there is a link to "more information about this story, and it explains that many parts of the Lost Legendes are crap.
Sing a Song of Sixpence and Mr Ed are only two of them.
Go read.
FollowupID: 598471

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:17

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:17
Certainly scraping the bottom of the barrel for topics now!

Why not wonder what makes idiots actually pay for stickers advertising something with which they have absolutely no connection, eg:

CAT
R M Williams
ARB
..... etc etc.

As Mike Harding so correctly pointed out, in the event of an accident, suddenly the sign becomes quite relevant.
AnswerID: 330547

Reply By: austastar - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:50
Well our neighbours have a sign in the back of their RAV.

"This is a stupid yellow sign"

Got me foxed!

AnswerID: 330553

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:31

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:31
Hey, I like that...I'm silly enough to put one of those on..
Where da ya gettit ?. :))).....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 598148

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:33

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:33
I can think of a few signs that should be in the back window of some vehicles

"Bogan on board"

"Druggie driver"

"Pass me at your peril"

"Crumple Zone"

"Tourist"

"Road Rager"

"Missus from Hell"

"Right Wing Kook"

"Go back to where I came from !"

"What's wrong with a cornflakes license, anyway ?"

"No license, no insurance, no worries."

but I just want a huge sign that says "Stay Away" ( not necessarily that politely).
AnswerID: 330595

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:50
I thought those drivers were just giving an excuse for their bad driving. After all most of them were not showing any great skills or care in their driving.

AnswerID: 330598

Reply By: Off-track - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:10

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:10
Yep, hate those signs too. To suggest that I drive safer around them always seemed stupid to me. I always drive as safe as I deem appropriate, whether there are babies, blokes or bimbos in the cars around me.
AnswerID: 330635

Follow Up By: Steve - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:27

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 11:27
must admit my attention goes astray a bit when bimbos are around but you can keep the blokes and babies

;))
FollowupID: 598317