Speed Camera Fines Queensland

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 09:50
ThreadID: 62654 Views:10318 Replies:11 FollowUps:7
G'day
Doe's anyone have any recent experience as to how long it takes from getting your photo taken to getting the unwanted fine in the mail?

I think I may have got done 2 weeks ago and seeing that this is the time of year where the 4x4 ; van ; boat ; trailer rego are all due it makes me think every time some mail comes from Queensland Transport that this is it but so far its only been the rego renewals
Garry

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:07

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:07
It can take anwhere up to 8 weeks :)

Not that I know personally

AnswerID: 330509

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:06

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:06
KEV
you would accually need a vehicle that at least DOES the speed limit...........something the LOWLUX wouldnt know about. LOL !!
FollowupID: 598172

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 19:50
Now Ken, the speed limit in coles car park is 10kph, and Kev was spotted roaring through at full noise doing no more than 17kph!!!

LMAO
FollowupID: 598203

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:31

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:31
.........b4 or after he was bogged in the car park?
FollowupID: 598238

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:10

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:10
roughly 4 weeks
AnswerID: 330512

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:12

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:12
It may not have been you it was taking, the Camera system can single out 1 car from a group , you might have seen a flash but it could have been for another car in the same area.

AnswerID: 330514

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:50
To save all the nervousness why not just go in and Fess Up, pay the fine and you wont have to worry any more.
AnswerID: 330522

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:43

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:43
had my photo taken 7 months ago and still waiting
AnswerID: 330531

Reply By: Member - Porl - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:54

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:54
I had my photo taken 6 months ago in brisbane, doing 72 in a 60 zone - one of those places that is adjacent to the freeway, no houses either side of the road, and you come out of a 100 zone off the freeway (so i was being careless but not a w#nker).

Still waiting for the fine, though maybe with wife and two kids being in a toyota echo he may have just deleted it, dunno, don't understand why i wasn't fined, and i was the only car on the way.

AnswerID: 330534

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:47

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:47
I cant believe you havent been critisized for your criminal activities yet???
Does anyone know if DIO is still alive????
Hahahaha

I thought after about 8 weeks you were pretty safe.......But hey, I ve never broken a law so Im only guessing.

A hundred or so bucks for a crapy black and white photo? I would think twice about actually buying it.

AnswerID: 330545

Follow Up By: Member - Happy Gutz (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:34

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:34
Over here in Godszonecountry (Queensland that is) the photos come in glorious colour. Don't ask me how I found out, cost me $150 and I can't even blame 'erindoors. All my own fault.
FollowupID: 598285

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:46
Roadside cameras are not fool proof

Near Port Pirie(SA) on Highway 1 they used to set the camera up at Warnertown where the 110kmh zone suddenly becomes 80kmh on a long bend.

At a certain time of day the sun reflects off your numberplate and when the photo is viewed the numberplate shows blank.

I went through there some years ago while inconversation not checking my speed and realised I must've been doing between 90 and 100. Waited anxiousl;y for about a year but nothing came of it. Then a local luminary told me the story. I haven't seen the radar there since 2003.

AnswerID: 330552

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:31

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:31
I got potted just before xmas last year got the fine in february.
It was a school zone camera at about 10 minutes before it changed back to normal zone, i was a million miles away brain in neutral and driving through a section i use twice a day every day to get to and from work.
Stupid but easy to do......i was clocked at 47km/h. Luckily for me double demerits started 2 days later.....
AnswerID: 330578

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:33

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:33
Don't know about QLD but in NSW the fine comes from a collection company not the RTA
FollowupID: 598162

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:42

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:42
The joy of them down here in Vic is that if it's your first ticket or first in a long time, the speed is less than 15 km under the posted speed, you can send them a nice letter telling them what a silly boy you are and how good your driving record is and they'll give you a warning. Usually good for one every three years or so. A 50cent stamp and a bit of creativity is a lot better than $220 and 3 points....not that I'm speaking from personal experience or anything beacuse I always stick to the limit....lol

Mick

FollowupID: 598163

Follow Up By: Dunedigger - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:36

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:36
This works in NSW. But you need to send in the money along with the notice and your letter. Being in an area you are not familiar with and lost helps with the excuse

Dunedigger
FollowupID: 598194

Reply By: Holden4th - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:39

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:39
Main Roads Queensland sets up their cameras in very predictable and stupid places. The best place to set up a camera is on a one lane road just after a sweeping bend - guaranteed revenue! The next is on a 2 or 3 lane road outside of peak times as the traffic is light.

Any camera set up on multiple lane roads during peak periods is just gambling on the right set of circumstances. If more than one vehicle appears in a mobile speed camera photo then it is impossible to tell which vehicle was speeding. Yet the QLD transport boys regularly send out infringement notices to either both vehicles in the photo or neither vehicle. I suspect that once the photo had been viewed in your case and more than one vehicle appeared they have not bothered.

I got a notice where my vehicle was picked out in the far right lane on the M1 near Beenleigh. In the photo was another car that was in the inside lane and much closer. My rego was hard to make out and his was very clear. I wrote in questioning the photo and somebody replied saying the photo was conclusive.

Using a good contact, I managed to find the owner of the other vehicle, who had paid up on the spot and lost demerit points. We had a chat about the situation, compiled a joint statement and again fronted QLD Transport. I asked how both vehicles could be targetted as speeding (an impossibility using mobile radar) and he asked which vehicle was actually speeding and could they prove it. a mate of mine is a journo and I mentioned his name

To be brief, he got his money and points back and I've heard nothing further.
AnswerID: 330621

Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:48

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:48
If speed cameras ran at a financial loss (say, because each camera was hideously expensive to purchase or some other reason) I wonder... would governments still use them...?

AnswerID: 330672