CRIKEY . $280 fine for walking the dog off the lead .

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:35
ThreadID: 62658 Views:4746 Replies:16 FollowUps:39
It seems the Police Minister was lying when he told us that there are not enough police to fight crime . Or maybe he was telling the truth and the reason is that police are constantly employed in revenue raising exercises .

Our brave , overworked local crime fighters , have just started booking us for walking our dogs without a lead . You can expect a locally based highway patrol car to wheel in , put the flashing lights on and ask to see your licence ! True , it's happening in my suburb . Then he writes you out a $280 fine .

How did we let the world change into this over controlled environment , where we need permissission to sneeze .

Next we will have to have muzzles on dogs . Perhaps even nappies , so that we are not exposed to the sight of them having a crapp . That would also stop their disgusting habit of smelling each others bums - which in my mind should also be a fineable offence .

It aint a dogs life any more .

Willie .

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:51

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:51
Willie
The answer is simple , everyone sat on arses while the do-gooders got thier own way with the Governments

AnswerID: 330523

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:06

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:06
methinx that them sitting on their arses were out enjoying life and not sitting ensconced in a tirade of vitriol against the world cause once in a while they step in dog crap. And the consultative process works as always and noone knows the fines changed until you get lumbered.

Why on earth this "crime" can take precedence over road presence of the wallopers I am at a loss to explain

FollowupID: 598084

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:52

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:52
Got to pay their wages some how!
AnswerID: 330524

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:54

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:54
Of course not all dogs are as well behaved as yours. So like everything in life the majority of responsible dog owners, car drivers, truckies, etc have to p[ay the price for the few irresponsible ones.

Of course there is nothing worse than stepping in a great big "Barkers Egg"
AnswerID: 330525

Reply By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:57

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 10:57
No. 1 Did you actually see this or did someone tell you ?

No. 2 If you saw it, were they booking the person for that offence or for something completely different.

No. 3 If they are doing it (which I doubt) then it would be because someone has complained, or someone got bitten by a dog off the lead.

So, never mind all the truth, just write something to get people whinging
AnswerID: 330526

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:08

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:08
Sounds believable to me. Here's a quote from a news article on Council fines:

Pet owners are the most common target across NSW, with 6339 fines being issued for not having a dog under "effective control"

Council's $12m petty fine spree
Lake Eyre 2011

FollowupID: 598086

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:11
Dunco ,

Two instances I know of in the last two weeks . This is not heresay .

The first , a gent was fined for not having his border collie on a lead .

The second , a little old lady walked out to get her paper accompanied by her fierce ( but shivering ) schnautzer . A highway patrolman who was operating a radar trap outside her house ( 60m from mine ) gave her a serious warning about the law and the possible fine involved for her heineous criminal action ( my words ).

"So, never mind all the truth, just write something to get people whinging" Are you calling me a liar ?

Willie
FollowupID: 598088

Follow Up By: floody- Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:15

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:15
Sounds believable and at times necessary, judging by some of the dropkicks who let their dogs roam around without any form of restraints. If an infringement notice was issued, then it would have been by a council ranger, not police.
FollowupID: 598090

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:30

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:30
It is "normally" Council rangers who enforce Council laws !!!
Cops wouldn't waste their time...I thoroughly believe the Rangers would fine you though

And Willie, you originally said that the cops were dishing out fines and now (above) you said that the cops warned someone...well, sorry mate...I think there is a little fibbing here just to get things going...eh ?

So, because one dog is well behaved, we should let them all run free once again. Good on you mate, that should get a few people in hospital with some dog bites.

And I still don't believe you...your story is changing somewhat old mate

FollowupID: 598098

Follow Up By: floody- Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:46
Willie

I am in no way calling you a liar, maybe a whinger. I will just define hearsay. If you were not present when your first neighbour got a ticket for his unrestrained dog and you never heard any of the conversation between the neighbour and the person handing out the infringement notice, then that is hearsay. On the second occasion, your other neighbour received a verbal caution for a similar offence from the HWP man. Do you call that harrassment? I thought that was fair and reasonable. Unless you live in a high crime area, I am sure the police have far better things to do than chase dogs and hasstle your neighbours.
FollowupID: 598104

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:03

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:03
I hope you are right . I will test your theory anyway , as my dog heels well and I do not like putting her on a lead .

Willie
FollowupID: 598110

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:16
As Dunco says- we in general expect council rangers to enforce council laws. Unfortunately this is the theory, but not the reality in many cases. However I don't think it is appropriate for the police to be enforcing these laws either.
I have had several tragic experiences with other peoples dogs attacking, and in one case killing, my pets. It is a horrific situation and the insult to this situation was twofold - one the lack of appropriate action taken by the council rangers, and two - the indignation of the dog owners when confronted with their wrongdoing. I have a very very hard line on this now. As far as I'm concerned - if its your dog- you are responsible for it and even a momentary lapse of control- can lead to a tragedy for someone else. Doc.
FollowupID: 598116

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:58

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:58
Spot on, oz doc.

If it's your dog then it's your responsibility (same as kids).

Speaking from experience, I was riding my motor cycle down a steep hill at Burleigh Hds earlier this year when a pit bull came out of nowhere and tried eating my front tyre. My options were to either drop the bike (expensive), run into a line of angle parked cars (even more $$$), run over the mutt (rather like running over a concrete curb, probably more $$$) or giving it a big dose of the wake-up stick courtesy of my boot. While I was acting on the latter action, I also managed to run over its paw (I think) at which point it limped off and I pulled over around the corner for a long shake and wind-down.

My wife had been following in the car and had seen the whole thing and was also very shaken (Hey, I'm her favourite hubby!). When she finally pulled up next to me (quite a few minutes later due to traffic light changes, etc) she told me that the owner of aforementioned mutt had stood and watched the whole thing as he had been walking the dog without a leash and it had just taken off after me with him shouting at the dog to come back.

I don't write this with any joy as I'm a dog lover (although not currently a dog owner) and it pains me that I had to stick my boot into its ribs, BUT if it's a choice between my getting gravel rash and a repair bill for $3000 against a cheesed-off pooch and owner, well, it's the dog and its owner that's going to lose every time.

There's a time and place for everything and always confining dogs to leashes is destroying part of what makes a dog a great companion - watching them run free is great for the human spirit as well as for the dog's welfare. But it's got to be the right time and place!

OK, rant over. A big pat for all the dogs out there. When we stop travelling Oz, we'll get another one. Life's a bit empty without a 4 footed child or two around the place.

FollowupID: 598133

Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:31

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:31
I don't know. NSW must be completely different from Queensland.

Here the police enforce Criminal Legislation. Never do they enforce Council BY Laws which control such instances.
Kev
FollowupID: 598139

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:55

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:55
Dunco, some years ago I was told that I probably wouldn't be stopped by police at up to 9-10 kph above the limit. I may picked up by a camera below that speed of course. I have to admit I was above the 9-10 kph limit to came into the bigger bracket.

If the fine is big enough for the process obvioulsy they will do it. Just do the cost/benefit analysis to justify it.

With the speed limit, they have to do paper work, with a camera it is automated. If the fine is low, it doesn't return as well. It just goes to show it is revenue raising that they are after you for, nothing like road safety or government riteousness.
FollowupID: 598523

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:21

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:21
John,

You are a poor individual who has been brain washed by media.

And what has this got to do with the original posting ????
Please get a life mate.

FollowupID: 598544

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:32

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:32
Dunco, it is what they do for $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

I am not sure where the media come into it from your post.

My life, eh, is it so uncertain? I don't think you have much clue on that

I won't follow, you could be lost.
FollowupID: 598546

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:53

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:53
Johnny,

Why I say get a life is that you are believing the media because they report on the so called revenue raising. It is a hype mate.

What they do to get the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$'s is book people that are ACTUALLY doing something wrong, that may impact on other peoples lives. But when someone gets booked the first thing they do is cry "revenue raising"....never mind the hundred times they got away with it before or about the other people who get away with it...or kill or injure someone due to the stupidity...or in your case ..ignorance

But then again, you know better.

FollowupID: 598552

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:58

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:58
No Dunco, you are the one calling the kettle black.- stupid, ignorant and obviously a know it all. isn't that where you are coming from now? Yes, exactly!
FollowupID: 598554

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 15:21

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 15:21
Hahaha...that's right...no real argument, just be a Bart Simpson.
"I know what you are, but what am I"

Think what you like Johnny boy. If it makes you happy criticising those who try and do the right thing, then go right ahead.

LMAO here

FollowupID: 598557

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:47

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:47
Dunco, I left the word arrogant off the list too.

On arguments, you aren't worth spending the time on.
FollowupID: 598639

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:03

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:03
Member - JohnR (Vic)

I think you will find that, Dunco (NSW). is an ex copper.. LOL

Hahahahahahahaah

Richard Koavc
FollowupID: 598647

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:17

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:17
Ah...Richard is back.Well done old son...still putting your nose in where it is not wanted. Who cares what I used to be...if you are correct. But, then again, you are always correct mate...as we have seen in the past...NOT

And John, why do you keep replying then ?

Sleep well
FollowupID: 598653

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:40

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:40
Sleep well

Ha haa

Cheers Richard.

Ps I was on your side as well....

John just can't help him self
FollowupID: 598661

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:25

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:25
Richard...well don't give the game up too early if your on my side mate :-)

FollowupID: 598708

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:39

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:39
Frank Green (Dec), was the Asst Comm for Tarffic in Victoria up until about 6 years ago.

After his retirement from the role, and resumption of life as a citizen, he openly admitted that speed cameras were placed where they would catch the most people speeding, to raise revenue. "Black Spots" were not a consideration.

Typical type of spot: at the bottom of a hill. And I can tell you from experience. I had the CC set at 80 in an 80 zone. As I coasted down a hill my speed rose to 91 just as I passed the speed camera.

Location: Stud Rd, Rowville. Four lane Hwy with very wide median strip. Time 9am on clear sunny Sunday Morning.

FollowupID: 598711

Reply By: ajd - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:07

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:07
Easy solution.

Put the dog on a lead.

AnswerID: 330528

Follow Up By: Batman69 - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:28

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 11:28
Brilliant solution Einstein, I'll go out on a limb here... you musn't own a dog. If you have then have you ever exersized your dog by throwing a tennis ball or frisbee at your local oval or park?? If so then try doing that with the mutt on a lead.

Once again responsible people are being held accountable for the actions of a small minority of goons that do the wrong thing. It's is an all too common approach to law making nowadays...
FollowupID: 598097

Follow Up By: ajd - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:20

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:20
Yes I own a dog and it gets exercise by running alongside me while I jog. Its just a medium size terrier bitsa and I put a muzzle on it because the council I live in tells me I should.

My dog has twice been attacked while I was running by other dogs not on leads (or muzzled).

So don't you dare call me Einstein because I am a responsible dog owner.

FollowupID: 598190

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:26

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:26
Gday Willie,

"How did we let the world change into this over controlled environment , where we need permissission to sneeze . "

When people stopped thinking for themselves......

As much as I hate rules like this...I wish they would bring it in here...AND police it for ALL dog owners.
I wouldnt walk my dog aroung the block any more, because I would be garunteed of a dog fight, because of dogs off leads.
And worse than that, you might be talking a pack of dogs.....
Weve recently had two people eaten by dogs up here, YES EATEN...KILLED and partley eaten...one was a tourist....
(thats not includeing the lady who was found dead in the morning because of blood loss, the one who had her ear chewed off ond the others who made it to hospital and survived)

Haveing a law like this would be great...trouble is they would fine the poor bugger throwing a ball at the park instead of the idiot with 10 un fed, un registered, mungrels roaming the streets ...because the bloke at the park would pay the fine.

AnswerID: 330539

Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:27

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 12:27
The solution is, and always was, simple: the Australian people need to challenge their governments far more than they do - the people of this country are almost completely acquiescent.

Instead of meekly accepting laws governments pass on a whim (usually as a knee jerk reaction) people need to take to the streets and loudly express their displeasure. Bad legislation (and there is a lot of that in Oz) is not changed by writing on internet forums or sending letters to "The Age" or your MP. Get off your backsides and PROTEST.

Perfect subject for a couple of quotes:

"It is not the function of our Government to keep the citizen from falling into error; it is the function of the citizen to keep the Government from falling into error."

Robert H. Jackson (1892-1954), U.S. Judge

---

"So, where do you draw the line? When is a bad law serious enough to warrant action? A government doesn’t pass a law that’s “utterly abominable” until they’ve removed their citizens ability to fight back. Usually by passing laws to make the citizens “safe”. In Nazi Germany most citizens didn’t object even when some of them were dragged off to concentration camps. By that time they were too afraid to object, and justifiably so, the government had made them “safe” by removing their guns and their ability to fight back against “utterly abominable” laws. It’s always the same, start off small, if no one objects then pass an even more oppressive law, no one complaining? More oppressive again. They kill you with incrementalism. By the time you wake up and realize it, you’ve lost not only your rights to change it, but the ability to as well. The time to object is when it’s still at the small stage."

Chuck Bryant

---

"They kill you with incrementalism."
So well said Chuck.

PS. Dunco - I think you owe Willie an apology.
AnswerID: 330540

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:56

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:56
I don't think so Mike

And we live in the BEST country in the world...what laws don't suit you precious ?

FollowupID: 598136

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:58

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:58
>And we live in the BEST country in the world

Which other countries have you lived in for you to be able to make such a judgement?

>what laws don't suit you precious ?

It’s a long list Dunco but:

Anti-Terrorism Bill 2005
Crimes (Family Violence) Act 1987 (Victoria)
Migration Act 1958 (Dr Haneef – remember?)

are a few. Are you happy with every provision of those bills, for starters?

Australia has a lot of positives but it is not perfect and it is such jingoistic attitudes as yours which put at risk the freedoms upon which this country was founded. Vigilance is the watchword – complacency is the pastime of the apathetic.

Are you suggesting, Dunco, that you are perfectly satisfied with every piece of legislation in this country and that nothing needs changing?

FollowupID: 598153

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:05

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:05
I have visited a lot of places and lived in others...YEP...Australia is the best country EVER.

Simple...don't like it...pack up and go elsewhere.
We might be better off

Personally, I think the laws are fine...although a few mistakes are made by humans now and then.

Good luck with changing them Mike !

FollowupID: 598154

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:23

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:23
>Don't follow me, I could be lost

Good advice Dunco
FollowupID: 598160

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:50
Hahaha.

Good comeback mate....but is that the best you can do ?
FollowupID: 598167

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:59

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:59
I don’t want to “win” Dunco – that’s why I’m not a “Last Word Man”, I simply want to try and make people think about issues and question the status quo.

FollowupID: 598169

Follow Up By: furph - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:36

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:36
Very good comment MH.
Should be read, then re read by the respondants to this post.
But naturally, it will still go over the head of most.
From yet another "on the leash" dog walker.
furph
FollowupID: 598182

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:13

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:13
Mike, I agree with you even if you tend to think far more out of the square than myself.

I cant think of anything, off hand, that one can do that's not governed by a law or regulation. In your home, work place or in the social sphere.

What you say is policed, what you do is policed and eventually what you think will be policed also.

Remember once there was a line that divided Democracy and Communism but these days they appear to be one and the same.

Your complying with the law and have a happy dog:
Put a leash on the bloody thing then let it go.....hahaha.

Cheers......Lionel.

Australia is the best country, just a pitty about some of the people in it !!!.......LOL.
FollowupID: 598189

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:46
>I cant think of anything, off hand, that one can do that's not
>governed by a law or regulation. In your home, work place or in
>the social sphere.

I’ll cut the description short else it would take a page: on Monday this week my younger son (23) and I wanted to cross a road which only led into a building site – a short road, 100m, with no traffic in sight, as we commenced the crossing a workman shouted “I’ll have you cross over here sir” – I replied that I had been crossing roads on my own for the past 50 years – he was not amused and berated me for my refusal to submit to his requirements. I thought this summed up, pretty well, the situation we have allowed to occur.

>What you say is policed, what you do is policed and eventually what
>you think will be policed also.

Already happened Lionel: a few years back (3?) a man in WA was convicted for something he had written on his PC – nothing else, no actions, no events, no publication, no harm – his son-in-law found a story written by the guy on the man’s PC and the man was convicted of some sort of child pornography crime.

>Your complying with the law and have a happy dog:
>Put a leash on the bloody thing then let it go.....hahaha.

Now _THAT’S_ thinking outside the square! I like it Lionel :)

>Australia is the best country

I agree :) But it won’t stay that way if we all sit on out backsides and say “She’ll be right mate”.

FollowupID: 598196

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:24

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 13:24
Ummmmm Sir Willie

I don't wan to create bad blood here BUT......................

How on earth do Police employed by the State, get to issue fines in respect to a Local Government BY Law?

There must be something else involved here unless the Council Inspectors were driving a car with flashing lights and that they were armed as well?

AnswerID: 330548

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:58

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:58
They are getting stuck into people on jaywalking in Melbourne for the potential $57 fine Bro. They probably won't do the fine thing as it means paperwork though.
FollowupID: 598525

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:50

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 14:50
Willie,

I've got a most unpleasant scar around the area of my left kidney whish is perfect imprint of a Pit Bull's teeth and jaw.

My kidneys are about the same height off the ground as a child's throat.

The mongrel thing hit me with enough force to hurl me to the ground. Whilst I'm not a giant (5'11"' and 87kg), I'm not a weed either. What it could have doine to a small child doesn't bear thinking about.

Seems to me to be better use of government resources than issuing parking fines.

AnswerID: 330554

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:05

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:05
All together now

"If you don't know how to do it
I'll show you how to walk the dog..."
AnswerID: 330557

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:49

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:49
ROFLMAO !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 598151

Reply By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:11
Times have changed.
Dogs off the lead WILL cause damage and death.
"My dog is not one of those."
That IS the dog that does the damage.
Every dog can bite or run out in front of a car.

If a little fluffy dog takes a kid's eye out or causes a fatal crash.... I think that would be a lot worse than a fine. A couple of hundred dollars is only a couple of tanks of fuel.... so not so high.

I can't believe the number of people out with their dogs on a leash being 'towed'. On a couple of occasions I have offered to show the dog how to walk properly and been told it's impossible. About 10 minutes later, the dog is walking to heal and doesn't even know me. So many people don't know how to handle dogs.

Often they are the very people who let them run free.

My bad experiences involve my old dad having a large chunk taken out of his leg by a silky terrier, my two kids and a friend's two kids being baled up by a couple of dobermans, and my Grandma's chooks being killed.... all by a dog being walked... not on the chain.

Don't get me started on cats!

AnswerID: 330559

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:29

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:29
I have come up with the perfect compromise!

I walk my dog off the lead when it is safe to do so and there are no other people around. My dog is well trained and comes to call 100% of the time.

When there are other people around who may object, or I feel it isn't safe for whatever reason, I put her on the lead.

Simple, effective, safe, cheap (haven't been caught yet!) and seems logical to me.

Is it so hard?

AnswerID: 330594

Reply By: Gronk - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:41

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:41
$280 fine ??

It's easy.......put the dog down.....only costs $90

No more ongoing costs, no more bending down to pick up crap,easy to go camping in Nat parks and if you feel lonely, you can always pat the missus !!!!!
AnswerID: 330610

Reply By: puttputt - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:32

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:32
Jim, I agree, when I tried to take my toddler little girl for a walk in the park, some idiots dog charges at her while the idiot owner calls out "he does'nt bite" Pigs ar**.
Or try letting your toddler play in the childs play area, and the first thing she finds in the sand is a dogs turd.
The fine should be $2800 .
AnswerID: 330641

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:10

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:10
I can't believe the bile written in some of these posts. The original post was somebody having a bit of a whinge about being fined for having a dog off a leash and frankly, if true, that typifies the "Police State" otherwise known as NSW..no need for more comment.

But it all comes down to what sort of dog and yes, ALL dogs CAN bite, but so can humans for that matter and my dog, a Schnauzer, couldn't bite as hard as me. Dogs that can cause serious harm shouldn't be allowed to be kept in the first place...and we all know what they are.

Tyhe only reason I have my dog on a lead when walking is so that some idiot human, doesn't run her over and from what I have seen when she has got out when I have left the door open, is some assholes would do that on purpose.

And I have lived in another country, UK for 18 months and you can take your dog to most pubs and restaurants, all parks, beaches etc and this causes no problem. There are instances of serious injury, even death of a toddler but they were all at the home of the dog owner..a Pitbull or similar every time. Sure you step in a doggy-doo every now and then but you do here in the Police State also.

Anyway, I hope the Police really do have better things to do with their time...
AnswerID: 330648

Reply By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:02

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 14:02
CRIKEY - THAT WILLIE IS AN ABSOLUTE D1CKHEAD - no arguement from me .

I rang my local police station and they said yes it was against the law , yes they have been stopping and warning people and NO , THEY HAVE NOT BOOKED ANYONE .

My water tight , trustworthy, impeccable source, who warned me of the police fining people on the spot , emailed me back with the following (after I put it to him) :

" The Lady who lives on the corner of Epping Ave and Chesterfield Rd., informed me that she was sternly warned by a policeman about having her dog off-leash ( a small Schnauzer) he also warned her of the fine payable!! Also a gentleman from Epping Ave., (closer to Eastwood) warned us not to have Whiskey off leash as he also had been sternly warned by a policeman (??Eastwood police I cannot say), his dog is a small foxy!! "

What can I say. Guilty as charged.

I guess it let everybody who is scared of dogs and everybody who has ever trod in a dog's egg , have a chance to vent their spleen . Every cloud has a silver lining.

Apologies to all ,

Willie .
AnswerID: 330722

Follow Up By: 93 Navara - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:50
'sternly warned' What a load of rubbish Willie! If it happened at all, the coppers would be embarrassed to have to do it. Of course they would have advised her of the amount of the possible fine. Why the double exclamation marks?
Its a bylaw issue and should be done by council rangers. Every council has designated areas for dogs off lead. Find them and use them if you want. Your dog may be well trained. Many are not.
What a beat up of a thread!
FollowupID: 598399

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Sydney. - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:58

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:58
"Why the double exclamation marks? "
Who knows , in fact who cares .

"What a beat up of a thread" You just added to the crap, so what are you complaining about .
FollowupID: 598426

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:25

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:25
Bloody $hitstirrer LOL

FollowupID: 598433

Follow Up By: Dunco (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:19

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:19
"I don’t want to “win” Dunco – that’s why I’m not a “Last Word Man”, I simply want to try and make people think about issues and question the status quo.

Mike Harding"

Could've fooled me Mikey old son !
You keep showing up at the end of the page...
FollowupID: 598541