A Big Rumble

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:51
ThreadID: 62661 Views:4046 Replies:12 FollowUps:17
Every now and then we experience a light earthquake shake here in the mid north of SA. Our stone house has regular wall cracks which are contributed to the earth shakes. Shakes only last for a few seconds. Sometimes they are accompanied by noise which sounds like rolling thunder.

Today at around midday we had a roar. It sounded like rolling thunder and lasted for about 4 seconds. The dog went off its brain and I went outside to look for clouds or even a low flying jet but to no avail. Spoke with neighbours and they thought they felt a slight shake. Have looked at the older wall cracks but they haven't expanded this time.

There is a fault line from Adelaide to the Flinders Ranges and it passes right beneath Peterborough.

Go lookhere for further info

Reply By: tuck 01 - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:10

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:10
Willem
A decent quake might bring some of that Peterborough gold to the surface.
Might save you a trip to Dunolly.
Jeff
AnswerID: 330571

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:48

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:48
Is that you Jeff, in Alice Springs. tuck01.

Jusdt getting to Dunolly is half the fun.

FollowupID: 598251

Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:12

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 15:12
Nope.
Geelong
Jeff
FollowupID: 598347

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:38

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:38
tuck01

What I am trying to ascertain Jeff, is just where do you get the Dunolly info, as I don't think we have met unless I have mentioned it in passing. Or are you related to someone I know?

FollowupID: 598394

Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:24

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:24
Willem
Sorry a bit slow responding.
Aust Goldfields Prospectors forum. In fact you pointed me to it a few weeks ago when I asked a question about detecting tours. Been lurking there since (under same name) and noted a discussion involving you and Jigalong, who we know here by another name.
However, I have enjoyed your input here for a few years now so hope we do meet one day.
Jeff
FollowupID: 598492

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:31

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:31
OK Jeff, no worries. Now I know :-)

FollowupID: 598545

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:16
Are you sure it wasn't the baked beans you had for breakfast Willem...lol.

Something similar happened to us many years back (1985) but further south of you in the Riverland. We had stopped by the highway near Waikerie I think and we're filling the car with petrol from one of our jerries when there was a low rumbling and a boom. Everything shook for a second or two before going quiet again. We were convinced of an earthquake and that was what the ABC radio reckoned as they got in reports of damage to Riverland glasshouses.

It was identified about an hour later as being an F1-11 from the RAAF base near Adelaide that "accidentally" broke the sound barrier while flying over the Riverland. A pretty costly mistake for the tax payer who had to fork out for the damage.

You didn't experience any "afterburner" before or after the rumbling did you W?

Laughing Loudly..... but also hoping your house is OK.

Mick.

AnswerID: 330574

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:48

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:48
You sure it wasn't connected to this

'Fireball' shoots across SA sky
November 27, 2006 - 10:46PM
Source: ABC
There have been reports of at least one large fireball in the sky over south-eastern South Australia.
The Bureau of Meteorology (BOM) says the fireball was most likely a meteor.
It shot across the sky soon after 8:00pm ACDT and was followed by what sounded like a large explosion.
BOM and police say they have received dozens of phone calls from residents in Adelaide and as far away as the Victorian border.
One Riverland resident, Dennis Schiller, was travelling in his car when he saw it.
"We were looking to the south and this massive fireball came out of the sky and it seemed to increase as it come down," he said.
"We were absolutely amazed with what we saw ... and we were there discussing it and it would have been a good two minutes later that we heard a massive explosion."

FollowupID: 598166

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:29

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:29
November 27 2006 ???

Doug, that's one meteorite that's been airborne for a long time.

However, you may be on the right track. A meteorite did land near Alice Springs in the last day or so. Can't find the newslink right now.

Several years ago one came thru the night sky over Perth and did the same thing. Big sonic boom. The closer you are the louder and longer.

FollowupID: 598208

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:30

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:30
My last earthquake was in Broome. Just a baby one compared to the ones we got in Wollongong. But it was big enough to scare a couple of English backpackers who were setting up cameras right in front of mine :))
AnswerID: 330577

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:46
Only ever experienced one and that was in Melbounre in 1983. It was enough to shake the pictures on the wall but very short. By the time you realised that something strange was happening, it was over (actually it sounds like my love life lol!!)

Mick

FollowupID: 598165

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:06

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:06
I automatically count the number of aftershocks and judge their severity...I used to have a minor role in disaster planning etc .
FollowupID: 598171

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:13

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:13
'I used to have a minor role in disaster planning'

Yep I got married too!!! :)
FollowupID: 598176

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:46

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:46
Willem
Could be some hoon in town scootin' around in a WRX playing his DOOF DOOF music.

AnswerID: 330581

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:09

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:09
I saw the title of this post and was expecting some form of fight in town LOL
AnswerID: 330583

Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:42

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:42
Strap yourselves in Ladies and Gentlemen, we are on fire tonight. This is gonna be good. Who said quick wit and humour were dead? I think it may be time to break out the scotch.

AnswerID: 330587

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:07

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:07
I was born in Lithgow and remember heaps of tremors as a kid - the type that would make the glass bottles and jars on the shelf in the kitch to fall off...even shook me off the top bunk bed once! even one on a sunday arvo with friends over for lunch...mum got thrown off her chair almost.....

the next one was in 2003 but in nowra of all places.....apparently it was the after shocks of the one that hit goulburn or somewhere up there......wasnt much but scared the tripe out of me.....this one was a big rumble too....lasted a few seconds...maybe 5.....
AnswerID: 330606

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:26

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:26
Magnitude 3.6 Willem at 12:02pm.

See this link : HERE

It's been a while since I've felt one in Perth.

AnswerID: 330618

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:32

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:32
Thanks Alan

Now all the smartarses can eat their words......hahahahahaha

FollowupID: 598223

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:40

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:40
I thought you said the earth wasn't moving much for you these days. 3.6 isn't a bad one for breakfast
FollowupID: 598240

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:41

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:41
breakfast, um, urrr lunch
FollowupID: 598241

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:51

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:51
Who are you addressing your answer to Bro? If it is to me then you are going down the same path as Madcowz and an ear bashing is on the cards....:-)

FollowupID: 598253

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 00:29

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 00:29
so things are definetely more than they cracked up to be in Peterborough.

p.s there no gold left in dunolly . lol

2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 330638

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:55

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:55
Hey Toonie

Yer back om board again?

Last time we went to Dunolly for Queens Birthday Weekend our group of 8 netted 90 grams. Recently two very amateur prospectors found a gold reef near Ballarat worth hundreds of thousands of $. Never say never.

FollowupID: 598254

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:05

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 01:05
actually doubtfull the cracks are due to the tremors, kalgoorlie is regulary shaken by the superpit blasts and everyone blames that for the cracks......... it aint its the swelling clays. great here in perth all sand - no cracks

meckering (yahoo it it will come up) recently celebrated their big quake. the museum including simulated earthquake is worth a stop between perth and kal
AnswerID: 330639

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:58

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 07:58
Thanks for that Davoe. We will be inthat vicinity some time next year and will have a look at the Meckering museum

FollowupID: 598255

Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:02

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:02
Willem, here is a site that lists a rumble at Peterborough.

Geoscience

Did you have beans for lunch?

'Wouldn't be dead for quids'

AnswerID: 330674

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:08

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:08
didnt take long to work did they
FollowupID: 598294

Reply By: Member No 1- Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:09

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:09
thnakfully it was only small...but must still be be scary...
AnswerID: 330677