Living the dream!!

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 15:55
ThreadID: 62662 Views:4351 Replies:11 FollowUps:24

We have just sold our home (just Nth of Brisbane), and have purchased a 23foot retreat daydream with 3 bunks. We plan on traveling Oz indefinately, we have 2 children 6 & 8 (they are home schooled so time is not an issue if it takes us 5 yrs so be it). We just got fed up with living from week to week and working our butts off!!! We plan to just do the tourist thing for at least 3 mths then hubby or I will look for work, he is a mechanic. We will set off on the 5th November. We are really excited, but also a little nervous - we have never done anything like this before - any tips on traveling with kids? does anyone have experience with the retreat brand of caravans? we have a real good truck - 80 series turbo diesel GXL.

Thanks in advance

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:11

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:11
Good on you guys.We are actually thinking of doing the same thing.If we go it will be head off mid next year.As you guys are doing, we/I will be looking for work while we do the tourist thing then once we have had enough travelling, we will head back to Kununurra for our second attempt at settling there
Good luck with everything.
AnswerID: 330572

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:20

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:20
dear to buy there nick......Site Link
FollowupID: 598159

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:26

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:26
Rent is getting up there to, some pushing $1200/week.Trick is to land a job that includes home.
FollowupID: 598161

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:16
Nick

I am surprised. What has brought this about? I thought that you were well settled back in Tassie with a business etc.

Or is it the lure of the wide open spaces?...:-)

FollowupID: 598206

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:29

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 21:29
Gday Willem, no, have never really got over living up there.To tell the truth, I dream about it every night, I still check the weather everyday, I miss the wildlife, the scenery, the lifestyle, the fishing.....need I go on.
Working for myself is good, I dont think I would have lasted down here this long working under a boss but there is something in my blood that just makes me want to head north.Everytime a magazine or TV show reminds me of the Kimberley, I feel like packing and going.
The wife wants to head back up there, one kid does and one dont(so he is out voted).But there is so much of Australia I want to see that I think we may just sell, tour and work and when we get sick of that we will head back north.
As they say, you only get one shot at life, live it.
FollowupID: 598222

Reply By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:24

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 16:24
Matt & Caz,

Firstly, let me say good on you for having the courage to make such a decision. I wish I had done something like that when I was younger.

My only concern is that depending on the model of your 80 series, you might just be illegal towing the Retreat.

If the vehicle is a Sept 96 or later model then you can legally tow 3500Kg but prior to that the 80 series were only rated at 2500Kg by Toyota.

May be worth looking into as I wouldnt like to see you run into any issues regarding the legallities.

Cruiser
AnswerID: 330575

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:23

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:23
That transition from 2500kg to 3500kg in the 80 series is very interesting.

Toyota did absolutely nothing to make one stronger than the other.

They just changed the figures, that's all.

FollowupID: 598207

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:31

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 20:31
Gone Bush (WA),

I agree totally, but technically a pre Sep 96 80 series Cruiser is only rated at 2500Kg.

Stupid but thats the way it is.

I saw a 94 GXL cruiser towing a Bushtracker the other day and I am positive that the owner is unaware that he would be illegal with that van.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 598209

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:01

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:01
I've corresponded with both Hayman Reece and Toyota about this issues.
Hayman Reece response: "Toyota changed the rating on the 80 cruiser in August 1996 to 3500/350kg.
We have to rate our towbars with the rating they say the vehicle can tow.

I then contacted Toyota to ask what the difference was in the 91 model model and the 96 model. this is their reply.

Toyota's response: 'Unfortunately we do not have the answers as to why it was re-classified, Toyota management decided at the time, however we are not privvy as to why'.
Im sorry for the inconvenience.

Typical

FollowupID: 598229

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:34

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:34
Hairs & Fysh

I know what you mean, been there, done that.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 598232

Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:51

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:51
Werent the brakes and wheels different between the pre95 and post 95. Also I think the suspension was slightly different on the early 80's.
FollowupID: 598234

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:51

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:51
Hi Cruiser,

Thanks for the advice, we have a 1997 40th Anniversary so its all good. We also getting a 550 pound swaybar hitch.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598259

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:53

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:53
Off-track ,

I think you will find that the brakes were changed in late 92 and as a result the wheels changed as well.

Thats why the 93 models onwards couldnt have the good old fashioned sunraysia style wheels fitted.

I had a 93 model and wasnt able to put sunraysias on because of something to do with the rear brake diameter having been changed.

As for the suspension, I am not tot sure.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 598260

Follow Up By: Member - Cruiser (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:57

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:57
Matt & Caz,

No problem, as you say its all good.

Better to be safe than sorry.

Have a great time and keep us all posted on your travels.

Wish it was me, but seeing as I have gone back to work after 3 years of retirement, I guess it will be a few more years yet.

Cruiser
FollowupID: 598262

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:00

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 12:00
Cruiser,
I believe that after 93 or 94 they lowered the 80 series ride height by about two inches. Can't remember where I read it in Lcool, Ih8mud or if somebody told me in conversation one day.
I guess we'll never really know why they changed it.
FollowupID: 598330

Reply By: westozal - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:00

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:00
Hello Matt and Caz,
One of my friends and his wife have a Retreat van the same length as yours, my wife and I really like it as it seems well finished off etc .
They really love it as well which bodes well for yours. They were mid way around Oz when they traded a Paramount (which had a few issues) on the Retreat in QLD.
Good luck with your trip.
Regards Alan.
Oh one thing that did upset my mate was when I told him his near new Prado was illegal to tow the van as it was overweight for the car.
He traded that to buy a 100 series TD which was rated at the right capacities. You need to be aware of these weight issues as it can void insurances and make you possibly responsible in any accident scenario.
AnswerID: 330582

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:56

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:56
Hi Westozal,

Yeah we really liked the Retreat, what came as extra's on other vans were standard on the retreat they really are a nice van. We were just a little nervous as they are only 4yrs old (the company) however after doing some research discovered that the company director/owners used to co own Galaxy - they apparently split and he started his own co Retreat Caravans.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598261

Reply By: Douglas C - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:17

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 17:17
Hi Matt and Caz,
We met a young couple with three children ( two school age and thus home schooled ) who are travelling Oz on a longterm basis and working their way around ( he's a chippie and also does caravan repairs ) and having a wonderful time . They have a blog site that you could visit for some tips , it is ..... bugbitten.com and they can be found at ..... Shaun and Cheryl Tunstall's Travel Journal on that site .
Do have a wonderful time out there ....'tis a wonderful country.
Charles.
AnswerID: 330585

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:58

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 08:58
Thanks Charles,

Will look them up.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598263

Reply By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:42

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 18:42
With the kids, don't go don't he track of buying all sorts of dvds and games. Get them to look out the window.

I am often puzzled when travelling to see vehicles travelling through unbelievable country with their kids wrestling with games controllers or watching dvds as they travel. No point in going away if that is all they want to do.

But congratulations on a gutsy move. You can't lose and will never regret it. Good luck.

jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 330597

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:16

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:16
Hi Jack,

Your dead right. We've got three under ten and wouldn't dream of them having a DVD or Game dohickey thingy as we travel.

They'll learn more from whats out the window than they could from them electronic gismo's.
FollowupID: 598230

Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:57

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:57
Now Im all for kids seeing as much as possible while touring our great land but I would highly recomend to take lots of in car amusements for the kids.I always try to point as much stuff out to the kids as I can while we travel but kids carnt sit for hours on end and marval at the scenery like we can.
Stop lots and let them have a run around but you will still need in car amusments.
FollowupID: 598235

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:03

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:03
Hi Guy's,

I do know what you mean, our girls don't watch too much in the way of TV at all, they do have a handheld electronic game each however they don't get played to often - they spend a lot of time out the back, we did buy a DVD player for the car (just in case) however I can't see it getting used much. These will also come in handy if we are stuck in the van due to rain - we also have a lot of board games like scrabble ect as these help with spelling ect.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598264

Reply By: Sue & Clint - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:33

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 22:33
Matt and Caz

Good to see there are more people doing this. We have our house on the market, pick our van up on Tuesday and are heading off as soon as the house is sold. Three kids 4yrs, 3yrs and 8 weeks. Same deal, no time limit, just as long as it takes to get around oz. A member by the name of kidsandall are doing the same, have been travelling for 20 months so far and invited people to contact them with any questions about travelling with kids. Read it on a previous thread. Good luck.
AnswerID: 330629

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:07

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:07
Hi Sue & Clint

How exciting!!!! we can't pick up our van till Tues 4th November as the house doesn't settle till the 3rd November!!!! Good luck with your sale, will look up kidsandall.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598266

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:55

Saturday, Oct 18, 2008 at 23:55
Matt & Caz
Good on Ya. We sold our home two weeks ago and are looking around for our next home. A family caravan. Heading to Adelaide in December and coming back through the Great Ocean Road, Vic High Country and The Blue Mountains in our current 17' unit. July is Tip time with out the van while keeping base in QLD. Then Sept stuff (whats left) is going into storage and were off to WA to work. John has MC & DG licences. He has had a gutt full of the city traffic cameras log books and the rest of the crap that goes on this side of Aus. The three Kids love travelling they are use to it. Our middle fella is 7 and can read a map. They have their own. The three of them can tell you who James Cook is. We teach them Australian History. We don't have electronic games in the car. Hell we don't even have a nav yet im it. We have a munches box. If any of us get cranky the rest of us gets a munches simple. I so want to go tomorrow but schooling is one of our priorities. Until we head to WA they will stay at their current school. The last term of next year will be home schooled. We are keeping our options open and like you will listen to anybody that has done the same. I have gotten sick of the oh its expensive over there. Oh its hot over there. Or gee a caravan isn't very big. To hell with negative comments. Were going anyhow . So far there is two bus motor homes and another van travelling over with us. All truck drivers two of them mechanics too.
Sharon
AnswerID: 330636

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:19

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 09:19
Hi Sharon,
Your trip plan sounds exciting!!! we plan to go up North first then inland down to Victoria - the kids want to see snow!!!! hubbys parents are up at Hervey so we will spend some time there first then travel up toward Rockhampton, then in to Longreach. We have just brought a Hema navigator its topographical as well as normal street stuff it had better be good as it cost a small fortune. We too are fed up with the traffic it used to take me 25mins to get into Brisbane, now it takes me 45mins (in a space of 3yrs). My mum totally freaked (even though I am 38yrs old!!!!) when we told here what we were doing - my whole family think we are mad (we think they are mad!!!) - we are going from a large house to a 23 foot van - it will take some adjustment, but the thought of staying here and slogging the high interest rates out scares me!!!! there is so much to see and do out there, we always planned to do this trip however we were going to wait till we were older and the kids had moved on.

My business has really suffered since all the interest rate rises (I work from home as a massage therapist) people are flat out putting food on the table let alone affording a massage so we thought lets just do it!!! As you say to hell with the negative comments if its something you really want to do.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598274

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:05

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 10:05
Hey Caz,
In reply to the follow up you wrote just above.. Dang girl go for it!!!!!
We too are renovating the house to sell it and given half the chance would do the travelling that we want to do but with hubby sick and on transplant list we have to stay based somewhere within hospital range. So we will sell and just rent somewhere.. I know it isn't the same as having your own home, and I will miss it (not the traffic and idiots that treat my street as a drag strip though!) I will miss it, but we are financially better off to be renting.
Our mortgage is now $420 a week! then add rates, maintenance etc, I have had enough, I could move out towards Esk, hop into Lowood or similar, and rent two houses for that and not be paying anything extra! I love having my own home for the stability side of it, but with Marks income protection finished, we really don't have any choice but to go back to renting.. If he could work it would be all good to keep the house, but weighing it up, it seems to be in our better interests to go back to renting, (but not in suburbia!, getting out into the sticks area and maybe no more than an hour or so travel to the hospital.
email me..
AnswerID: 330676

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:23

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:23
Hi Jo,

I know what you mean, if we ever settle down again it will be on a big piece of rural land - I too am fed up with hoons!!!! Sorry to hear your hubby is not well, best of luck with everything

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598687

Reply By: joff1 - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:04
Whatch out you Grey Nomads!!! Seems to be the era of the "bugger this, we're off" brigade..

We are waiting for the money for our joint so we can leave mid January on a year long adventure. Ours will be in our Allterrain camper behind an LC105.

Our kids are 13 and 10.. I wanted to wait till they were old enough to experience it with us. I reckon they will get the best education available out there.

Good luck with it all you fellow BTWO Brigaders :)

Joff, Sonja, Jessica and Connor

AnswerID: 330763

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:27

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:27
Hi Guys,

Yes since I have done the research there does seem to be a lot of people fed up with "owning your own home" working so much you are never at your home to enjoy it!!!!! I do believe that there are a LOT of families doing this trip which is great for the kids social life. Might meet you all in our travels.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 598689

Reply By: hooter - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 14:42

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 14:42
Good on you, we are doing the same with our 3 kids, setting off at the end of January. We are looking at buying a Retreat Daydream Family Van with 3 bunks. Will tow it with my F250 and not sure if we should take it off the black stuff and go for some dirt roads, don't wont to miss out on some good sights. We to will home school the kids 4, 7 & 8 years. We have been thinking of this for some time and like you can't wait to go.
Good luck, we may bump in to each other on the way round.
Will probably head north first, taking our time so we are not in Cairns before march.
AnswerID: 333605

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 07:17

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 07:17
Hi Brian,
We picked up our Retreat daydream 3 bunker yesterday and so far love it!!!! - we spoke to the dealer re: off road and he said national parks should be ok - we plan on buying a tent so if we want to do off road we can, we will just leave the van at a park.
We are headed up north on Saturday, we are currently just north of Brisbane at Caboolture on my sisters front lawn as Matt has to pull the rear diff out of the cruiser for a bit of tlc before we head off.

Our house settled last Monday and it is such a good feeling!!!

Hopefully we will catch up on the road it will be good for the kids, we have 2 girls one almost 7 and the other 8.5.
Cheers Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 601504

Reply By: bundyluva - Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:32

Tuesday, Nov 04, 2008 at 16:32
Hi Matt & Caz,
So many coincidences!! We are in our 7th week of our adventure around Australia, we are currently in Rochedale and we also have 8 & 6 yr old children. Lastly Luke is a mechanic also.
Which way do you plan on heading? We may be heading in same direction..... Good on you for doing it. We have found that the children have settled into the whole process extremely well. Would be great if we met up somewhere.
Good luck with it all......
Simone and Luke
AnswerID: 333618

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 07:22

Wednesday, Nov 05, 2008 at 07:22
Hi Simone and Luke,
Great to hear from you, we picked up our van yesterday and are currently on my sister's lawn at Caboolture as Matt has to take the rear diff out of the cruiser for some TLC, we are headed up north on Saturday. Would love to catch up it would also be great for the kids. Are you guy's traveling around indefinately? are you working as you go? if so how have you found it getting work?
Cheers Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 601505