How good is it??????

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:28
ThreadID: 62692 Views:3516 Replies:14 FollowUps:36
How good is it for teenagers nowdays??

I have an allowance from DVA to get someone to mow my lawn due to my back.

I had organised for a 14 year old to mow it starting last weekend, he didn't show. I found out that he would be here yesterday to do it and still no show.

I went and did fundraising for the local SES group this morning leaving Sam at home to wait for him to turn up. I got home at 1pm and he still hadn't shown. Come 2pm and I did it myself.

I am now not looking forward to tomorrow as my back is already in spasms and the drugs are yet to kick in.

It took my 2 hours to very slowly mow about 450m2 of lawn. All he had to supply was his labour as I was going to supply the lawn mower, fuel and get rid of the clippings. He was getting cash in the hand for his effort................so now I am looking for someone else to mow the bloody lawn cause I am not doing it again.

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:39

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:39
Yeh Kev I know how you feel. i have my lawn mowed by a bloke and his son (the block is 1/2 acre on an incline) for $35. it takes me 2 hours and my back is knackered, visit required to the physio, sometimes 2. i wouldnt get out of my chair for that, it takes the 2 of them about 40 mins to do it and the price has been the same for about 3 years. my old man was telling me today about his boss's sons laying on banana lounges watching him do the lawns and the like.i said i would be kickin their lazy arses out of the lounges and making them do it.Kids today-- i dunno!! cheers and relax Paul
AnswerID: 330756

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:54

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:54
Paul,

I had offered him $30 to do it even taking 2 hours it is $15/hour cash in hand.

FollowupID: 598376

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:55

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:55
"my old man was telling me today about his boss's sons laying on banana lounges watching him do the lawns and the like"

Parents today ???? I dunno.
FollowupID: 598524

Reply By: autosparky - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:47

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:47
maybe he will be there early tommorrow morning as en excuse not to go to school, this morning and yesterday morning after getting out of bed at midday, he had to play video games etc
AnswerID: 330757

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:55

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:55
I know the didn't go to school on Wednesday and Thursday last week LOL

FollowupID: 598377

Follow Up By: autosparky - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:12

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:12
i think there was a new game release last week as my so called computer geek 4th year apprentice also failed to show any interest in work wednsday and thursday same game same no show
FollowupID: 598383

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:17

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:17
That is a good possibility

FollowupID: 598385

Reply By: Member - Nev (TAS) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:50
Hey Kev,
he'll probably drop in tomorrow for his sick pay, at time and a half as it was a weekend!!! lol
Was talking to my fishing mate last week who used to drive buses. They (the drivers) would put their names up to do holiday shifts and then ring in sick AND still be paid at that rate. He is not one for telling porkies (unless he is describing fish he has caught), so I reckon it may be the truth.
Buy a sit on mower. I own one and my grass takes about an hour and a bit (or a 6 pack) to mow. Mind you the lines are getting a tad wonky at the end and some of the gardens get a shave also.
Hope your back is OK.
Rgds
Nev
AnswerID: 330758

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:57

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:57
He will only get severance pay cause he's sacked LOL

A ride on wont work cause of the shape and some of the inclines in the yard :(

I should get a concretor in and concrete the lot and put fake turf down LOL

FollowupID: 598378

Reply By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:59

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 18:59
They're not all bad, let me tell you.

I've got an 18 yo young bloke working for me. My only complaint about him is that he nags me for more work to do.

"Jim, I've only got about another hour to go on this unit and you haven't got the machine cutting another One"

"Jim, I need more alloy cut"

"Jim, we need more stoppers cut soon"

"Jim, I think we'll need more paint soon"

"Jim the locks are running low" (and there are plenty for at least a weeks work).

He's like a hungry dog, even before it has finished what it is eating, it's looking for its next meal.

I've got to tell this kid to stop and have a break or his lunch. Whlst his lunch is heating he's back at work. He scoffs his lunch, has a quick smoke and is back into it.

If, and I say if, I can get him to take an arvo smoke break, he's breaking up rubbish and putting it in the dumper whilst having his fag.

His work is of an exceptionally high standard, he is a perfectionist to the point of being ridiculous.

Accordingly we pay him well above award, because he's worth it, but this is not his motivation.

AnswerID: 330760

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:04

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:04
All I can say Jim is don't lose him.

He may be a great hand to have as a workshop manager in the near future so you can get to a few more Gatherings ;)

I hope you make the Pyrenees as I want to discuss a few ideas for storage systems for Darkie.

FollowupID: 598382

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:20

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:20
I'd check his driver's licence...he's probably 35! LOL

FollowupID: 598386

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:56

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:56
Kev, my good man,

I'll be at the Pyrenees, barring any problems.

FollowupID: 598425

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:18

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:18
Sounds like he is looking ahead as a manager should Jim, you can go gofer ;-))
FollowupID: 598480

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:58

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:58
Ah, if only it were possible John.

The reason he is so good is that he is a liitle "slow". It took a lot of time and patience to train him, but was well worth it. Because he is a little backward, he never gets bored with the work.

He's also done a Pre-Apprenticeship training programme and has very good skills. When I give him a unique project to work on, it's like I've given him a Christmas Present. He takes his time with those, but the end product is of outstanding quality.

But, alas, a Manager he will never be. I do get him to supervise the casuals because I know he will only let them do things one way: the right way.

FollowupID: 598487

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:22

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:22
Buy a goat. :-)

AnswerID: 330768

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:43

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:43
Don't start another goat thread LOL

I did suggest a couple of lambs that way when they have mowed the lawn I could eat them hahaha

FollowupID: 598396

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:51

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:51
Becoming a Primary Producer now in your spare time? :-)

FollowupID: 598400

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:56

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:56
If I get it I could buy a 200 series and give it the chop as well LOL

FollowupID: 598401

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:06

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:06
Kev, you should get a 60 series and chop it, actually, I have one in the garage ripe for the chopping, wanna buy it? you could pick it up when you are down......

MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 598408

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:09

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:09
mmmmmmmmmmmm thats tempting, I should get an 80 series as well and then I'll have a complete set LOL

FollowupID: 598411

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:42

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:42
Hi Kev,
Sitting here shaking my head, Lazy little so & so.
I reckon kids get it way to easy these days.
From the first week in high school, 78 I think it was, I held down two jobs.
Got out of bed at 3.30am to go and roll over 100 papers, deliever them, back home by 6.45am, Breaky, shower, get dress for school and catch the bus to Lismore at 7.30am.
Get home at 4.00pm, eat half a dozen weet-bix, change and then ride out to the race track and clean stables till about 5.30pm.
Saturday it was my job to mow the lawn, I did not get paid to do it, it was just my job.
I really believe kids get it far to easy these days.
Anyway mate, I was getting to the idea of,
In Grafton we have a Jail, and they have weekend detention, In summer they come around each fortnight. Quiet a few people in Lawrence get their lawns done through this service. They done rake up or catcher mow. The oldies give them a nice cold cordial or water when their done, 99% of them are quiet sorta guys and are well mannered. They travel from Wollongbar near Lismore to Woolgoolga in the south.
I don't know where abouts you are Kev, but maybe it something you could look into, if they do that kinda thing in Queensland.
Just a thought Mate.
AnswerID: 330773

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:01

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:01
Hairs,

My FIL works at the Juvie jail in Grafton and lives in Woolgoolga. The community service people are even worse, they prefer to do time in the big house rather than do community service :(

FollowupID: 598405

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:15

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:15
Fair enough Kev,
As I said it was just a thought.
My Neighbour has them come and mow is lawn because he's getting a bit long in the tooth and his wife is crippled with arthritis.
I did notice last time they were here one of them was a bit mouthy, twenty minutes later the paddy wagon pulled up, Cuffed him and throw him in, didn't hear peep out the rest of them. Usally you hear them joking and having a laugh.
I poured the Kerb and gutter at the Juvenile jail in south Grafton many years ago. I believe the little mongrels have trashed it a couple of times now.
Hmmm
FollowupID: 598415

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:17

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:17
Not just trashed but escaped a couple of christmases ago LOL

FollowupID: 598416

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:29

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:29
When we were doing the kerb, having smoko one day I forget what how much it cost to build per inmate, I think it was close to $350K each inmate, I could be wrong.
Does Nick Stevens the Builder still do maintenance there?
Havn't se him for a few years now. He couldn't believe the mess after they trashed once.
FollowupID: 598418

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:36

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:36
Not sure, I could find out if you want.

FollowupID: 598420

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:50
I'll ask Mark G to keep an eye out for him at Brooms head at Christmas. I know he use to spend time down there.
Cheers anyway Kev.
Come to think about, The bloke that Mark has organized for the Northern NSW getogether, Brad, to take us up throogh the hills, Use to or still does work for him.
Ill ask Mark.
FollowupID: 598422

Reply By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:47

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:47
My young bloke is working 16 hour days , 7 days a week in Norway (winter), welding at heights, in the dark and hail storms. (oil and gas project). He's 26, and has a list of tickets as long as your arm.
7 years in the mines in WA.
I've seen his references.
Strangers have told me what a great young bloke he is. What a hard worker etc etc.
I'm very proud of him.

But the "little" bugger won't lift a hand when he's at home. Never has.
Guess who does the mowing and yard work on our property? And just like the film, it's no country for old men (especially this one).When he was a kid I even tried to pay him to do it. No interest at all.

So he informs he that he's finally worked out what job he wants to do in life...huh ? I thought he found that out years ago but apparently not.
Now he wants to be an ROV pilot tech ! One of those funny little submersibles that work under the ocean. I'd never heard of them so it was a quick learning curve.

By the way does anyone here actually know anything about that job ?

Children can be so frustrating!
AnswerID: 330778

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:00

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:00
Yes, a guy the partner of a girl my wife worked with, really cool bloke I'd luv to drink with - but he's never around, because although his home is in Brisbane he is away like 3 months at a time driving mini submarines to ferry underwater repair divers to the underneath of oil rigs. He makes a quantum fortune - don't show it though. And he is in demand pretty much around the world so he says he spends too much time above ground, below seawater, and not enough time on the ground.

I do know that he had some engineering background and got into it by luck and was taught on the job and got recognised for being good at it, so sort of being in the right place at the right time (bit like how i got my job), I can get more details if you want.

He's happy with it but after i think after about 10 years now he's sort of keen to do something else. I mean, can you blame him, it sounds ultra specialised and repetitive.
FollowupID: 598403

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:08

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:08
Porl, thanks for that, most interesting. Do you know if he did a special course ? Or did he just fall into it ?
Son is talking doing a course in Asia from a mob called "Subnet".
Would also love to find out any other downsides to that job.
FollowupID: 598409

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:58

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:58
Hi Footy

My oldest lad, has a Construction Divers Ticket, took a few years to get, at different stages, he was lucky enough to get it through the
Government, he is an Offshore Engineer, he as been involved with
Deep Sea Tidal Equipment and Tsunami Warning Systems ect,
they look after him, he has to get a Divers Medical every three
months, a few years back, he did a Dive which involved going into
a Sewerage Pump Station deep well, it was about Forty Metres Deep
and full of Sewerage, they did a Hard Hat Dive, with Air Lines ect,
another time he went up a 960mm Pipe Line some distance to
repair a Damaged Butterfly Valve, he does'nt do that stuff any more
at 38 he reckons he is getting to old.
FollowupID: 598427

Follow Up By: Member - evren1 (WA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:21

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:21
Footy,

I work on rigs as a subsea engineer, in charge of the BOP(Blow Out Preventer) that sits on the ocean floor.We use the ROV(remote operated vehicle) to do daily visual inspections and remote work using mechanical arms whilst the BOP is in service.
As far as I'm aware all the boys either have an electronic technician or hydraulic engineering background.
If your interested let me know and I'll get some info off the boys, may help point your young fella in the right direction!
the company on board the rig I'm on at present is Subsea 7.
Pretty sure another mob is called SonSub, they are a subsidury of Saipem.
Despite the cost of living, have you noticed how popular it remains!

FollowupID: 598450

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:50
What about Sam?

You change the nappies and cook some tea and Sam can do the mowing. No?

AnswerID: 330779

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:59

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 19:59
I tried that today, she couldn't start it, then couldn't get the catcher off or back on LOL

She entertained the kids from then on haha

FollowupID: 598402

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:14

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:14
A friend's missus wouldn't let him near the grass, that was her domain. She loved doing it, mowing and slashing !
I don't think he did the cooking or inside, either ! (no kids)
I meant to ask her if she had a sister LOL
FollowupID: 598413

Reply By: Ray - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:43

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 20:43
Last week my grandson (17) promised to get rid of some weeds out of my front lawn. Guess what happened and no second guesses allowed. No he spent all day playing games in his bedroom. He even takes food in there and never cleans up his mess.
I have suggested to my daughter, his mother, to lock his bedroom door after he gets up in the morning, with all his "toys"locked on the inside and him on the outside but she has not responded yet.
AnswerID: 330792

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:03

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:03
Hey Kev

Get an Old Pensioner to do it, just call up to your local Bowls Club
and leave a message on the Notice Board.

Daza
AnswerID: 330797

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:48

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:48
Daza,

I have tried an aged pensioner they lasted 2 mowings and gave it up as "to hard"

You just cant win sometimes

FollowupID: 598458

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:26

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:26
Gday Kev,
I have the solution to your problem.
My son charges $1.
Because of his age Ill have to come with him...But if you pay his air ticket ( and mine + return) give him a dollar and keep me in grog while he does it we will be there...

See its easy!

AnswerID: 330805

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:50

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:50
That could become an expensive trip every couple of weeks LOL

FollowupID: 598459

Reply By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:50

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 21:50
Kev!!, Don't whinge now, You know you have left the great state where 50 Bucks solves everybodys problems!!!!.....LOL.

AnswerID: 330810

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 02:27

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 02:27
mmm lawns,,,,,,
i persevered for ages with a knackered mower. Finally i bit the bullet. despite the missus pleas to by a new one i got a 2nd handy from some old guy who just gets stuffed mowers working.
for $250 I got a rover with a 4.5 HP comercial motor off of some kind of street blower ........................................................................ grass is no longer a problem
AnswerID: 330838

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:53

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 07:53
I think I have it solved..................... one of Sam's friends is a single mum (no she's not a yummy mummy ;) she needs a lawn mower to do her lawns. So I have told her that she can use my lawn mower for free if she mows my lawn when it needs.

Lets hope this arrangement works LOL

AnswerID: 330845

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:53

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:53
Kev, sounds like a win win situation to me. Sorry for the thread hijack earlier.
Mowing and slashing our place is pretty much a full time job during summer, and my GP tells me I'm allergic to the stuff !
At times the place is so untidy that vizzies need a GPS and a bush knife to find the house :))
FollowupID: 598486

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:17

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:17
Footy,

No need to apologise as I hijack enough threads myself ;)

Her son is scared of men (domestic violence father) so I am trying to get the little bloke used to males again. It is hard work as he goes off at a drop of a hat.

FollowupID: 598490

Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:30

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:30
Good luck. I just hope his mum realizes how much hard work that is for you.
In a previous life I tried to help hundreds of kids in the same boat.
But since every male is now less than desirable, society has made a rod for it's own back I'm afraid.
Who'd be a male teacher, copper, ambo or nurse etc these days ?
FollowupID: 598493

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:41

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:41
I have been trying for about 6 weeks now. He now comes to within arms reach but still skittish. He usually uses on of my kids as a barrier between me and himself.
It is going to take time but I'll get there in the end, when I first started he would scream the house down at the first site of me and hide behind his mum.

FollowupID: 598494

Follow Up By: Matt & Caz - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:41

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:41

I have a 14yr old son and I love him dearly, however I think the only reason he breathes on his own is because he will die if he doesn't!!!!!!!!! I am flat out getting him to put his dirty clothes in the wash!! At his age (at the risk of sounding like my mum) I vacuumed, washing the floors, ect ect He has his DS game permantely glued to his hands!!!
FollowupID: 598694

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:47

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:47
I refuse to buy my kids computer games etc. They can go outside and play in the fresh air.
I survived not having them so they can as well.

FollowupID: 598695