Leaving C/T setup at Karajini while trekabouting.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 22:29
ThreadID: 62701 Views:4191 Replies:15 FollowUps:1
Ok

Now my wife is stressing about leaving our camper setup at one of the main camp sites while we go sightseeing during the day.

Is it not recommended or is it all ok.

MAtt

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 22:43

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 22:43
No different than a tent. We set up and left it for the day/s no big deal as the rangers are out and about.

AnswerID: 330820

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:01

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:01
Matt, in addition to what Dunc said, why dont you give the rangers a call, and find out if there have been any problems. cheers
AnswerID: 330826

Reply By: Old Dave - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:51

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:51
Hi Matthew

I agree with Duncan & Jdwynn but we used the Auski Roadhouse

Caravan park twice and drove out to places from there.

Regards Dave
AnswerID: 330828

Reply By: Member - Ray Mc (WA) - Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:51

Sunday, Oct 19, 2008 at 23:51
Gday Matt

We were there three weeks ago for four nights. No worries at all and people were moving in and out every day. We headed out after breakfast and were generally out for 6 - 7 hours each day.

Enjoy the scenery, fantastic water pools and waterfalls.

Hope the flies are not too bad.

Ray Mc
AnswerID: 330829

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 00:07

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 00:07
"Mrs Matt", relax

I never gave security a thought! We set up the camper (wind up van) and put out the portable solar panel, and went to enjoy the fantastic gorges each day. Everyone there is a tourist like you and me.

AnswerID: 330832

Reply By: Member - Stephen (WA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 01:43

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 01:43
I'll echo the responses above.

It'll all be fine. No problemo.

We were there for 5 days last year (during peak times) and never gave any thought to the security of our gear while we were away from it.

Stephen.
VKS737 - Mobile 2735

AnswerID: 330835

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 06:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 06:56
We were at Dales campground a couple of months ago and left our camp set up while we explored. The campground there is very well laid out and you have your own allocated site. As said above everyone is in the same boat (need to trust each other to some degree), and it's pretty standard practice to leave your campsite while you are out and about. You should not have a problem.

That said, those of us who are vehicle based campers occasionally have their campsite "nicked" while we are away. This year we and our travelling companions were camped at Middle Lagoon for a few days. It was very windy and we had found a fairly sheltered site. Went for a day trip up to One Arm Point, but left our table and chairs out close to our friend's camper, and put up our clothesline with some towels on it to try to make our site look occupied. We were not pleased on our return to find our gear moved away and a tent erected on our sheltered site. Especially when there was plenty of space elsewhere, though not so sheltered.

The excuse offered was that "some people spread stuff out to try to claim a bigger space".

Val.

AnswerID: 330842

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:22

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:22
Just remember to secure all foodstuffs and rubbish away so the local wildlife can not have lunch at your expense.
AnswerID: 330857

Reply By: Member - Matthew C - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:14

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:14
All sounds good to me,just want to make sure .

I dont have any problems with any of it but my wife is a little concerned about things like that so i have to ask.

T^hanks

MAtt
AnswerID: 330867

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:44

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:44
Agreed with the above re Dales campground - was there quite a few weeks back - we just put everything away inside the camper, take all 'core valuables' that will fit in the car with us, lock everything that can be locked on the camper and cruise off to enjoy the day, trusting other campers to leave things alone - never had a problem anywhere - as mentioned above, while some campers 'stay in' for the day while you may be out, the majority are off day tripping just like you - the only concern we had was the odd dingo wandering the camp - they are always on the 'sniff' for tucker, just like the crows. Have good 'un.
AnswerID: 330869

Reply By: wendys - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:56
Matt and Mrs matt, we have been leaving our stuff in and around a tent for about 20 years now in all sorts of remote places and national parks. (Yes, even tho' we now have van, still take to the tent every so often.) Usually have stove and associated gear outside, gas lamp, Chescold with food and liquids in, table, chairs etc. Only trouble we have ever had was from the crows at Mt Barnett in the Kimberley, who are adept at turning everything inside out and strewing it widely - very entertaining to watch but not so great when it happens to you!
AnswerID: 330889

Reply By: Markymark - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:11

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:11
We camped at Dales campground last year and had no troubles at all.

The only problem you might have is in leaving rubbish outside your camper at night as the dingoes will take off with it and make a huge mess. You are supposed to take it out yourself and when we were there some lazy sods left their rubbish behind and the dingoes loved it - bet the Rangers didn't!

Mark.
AnswerID: 330932

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:30

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:30
Thought about this after I'd posted my original comments.
You often see people who are in campervans, troopies (Britz), etc leaving their table and or chairs in their camp spot so as to let others know that the spot is taken. Nobody that I've ever witnessed has ever nicked their gear or moved it. It's the esprit de corp of camping. In the main we look after each other and respect each others gear andcamping spot.

AnswerID: 330958

Reply By: neilbis - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:10

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:10
Should be fine. Been to karajini 7 times in the last 3 years and never had any issues.

Appart from the ussual karijini camp sites there are numerous sites along a track that heads west from the main track to weano gorge area. The track is not signed but is fairly well used. there are heaps of different spots you can camp and they offer plenty of space and terrific views overlooking valleys/hills. ( Some of these sites are outside the national park and hence people have camp fires there). The track is very simple to find. Let me know if you want the details

AnswerID: 330975

Follow Up By: Member - Matthew C - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:42

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 01:42
Details would be great.

MAtt

bagtp1@iinetdotcomdotau
FollowupID: 598662

Reply By: neilbis - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:44

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:44
just sent you the email with 3 pdfs
AnswerID: 331340