What are they going to replace it with?????

Submitted: Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:16
ThreadID: 62703 Views:3543 Replies:12 FollowUps:30
We all know that Kiwi is getting set to Divorce the Grenade in the not to distant future if the problem is not fixed.

What will she get next, keeping in mind that it has to fit 2 adults and 4+ kids.

I had in mind -

80 Series Cruiser,

TD 120 Series Prado,

GXL 100 Series possibly a V8 or 1HZ (4.5 is to thirsty),

GQ 4.2L diesel,

GU 4.2L diesel,

75 Series Troopy,

Delica??,

OKA haha

So what other options does she have, lets try and keep the cost to around $25k at the most.

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:29

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:29
F350 twin cab
AnswerID: 330851

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:39

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:39
Will it cost less than $25K ?? LOL

FollowupID: 598467

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:03

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:03
Gday Willem & Kev
$25k just refers to the fuel bill each year, but how much does the vehicle cost????? LOL.
Cheers Colin.
FollowupID: 598609

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:25

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:25
Now you are just being difficult Colin LOL

FollowupID: 598616

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:47

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:47
Now Sir Kev

You left out what is still argueably the most capable 4wd
you can buy, and certainly is if your looking at used cars for $25k.

Its also (depending on your location) the cheapest to run when on gas).

The 4800 GU Patrol
AnswerID: 330854

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:59

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:59
I suppose it could be added, but I am not sure they will buy a petrol again. They might after the problems they have had with the Grendae LOL

FollowupID: 598474

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:26

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:26
Agree with Robin. My Old Man's got a 4.8 on LPG (old mixer system), it is a gem. Would be even better on injected LPG.

Great tow vehicle.
Immensely capable off road.
Oodles of grunt.
Cheaper to run than a 4.2 diesel with much power and torque.

Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or have limited availability in remote areas.

FollowupID: 598481

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:43

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:43
had lpg before and its not cheaper.....its cheaper running the patrol on diesel....80 series on lpg was costing $70 a week for 420km before we sold it a yr ago....the patrol is costing $70 a week to do over 550km.....I know what I like best!
FollowupID: 598495

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:00

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:00
How much are you paying fpr LPG?

Down here in cicvilisation it's 62 cents a litre.

Assuming Diesel is costing you around$1.60 a litre, your $70 would buy you about 44 litres. You're getting over 550 km out of 44 litres of diesel???? That's 7.9 L/100 km or better.

I've never heard of any Patrol Diesel getting those numbers.

FollowupID: 598502

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:05

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:05
dunno what the lt are - cannt remember that off the top of my head....but I put $70 in a week and get 550km....fuel consumption is brilliant though....I dont even lookat the price either - even when I worked there for 5 yrs I never knew the price unless someone rang and asked...!!

lpg is about 70 + odd cents here....has been for a long time, even went over 80 for a while....
FollowupID: 598504

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:21

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:21
Laura,

This may be the root of your problem.

Most owners of the 3 L report fuel consumption of about 11-13L/100km.

You're getting better than 8. That would suugest to me (with my limited mechanical knowledge) that it running FAR too lean. This in itself will destroy the motor.

I'd mention this fuel economy to your mechanic or Nissan and see if that leads them somewhere to solving the problem.

FollowupID: 598510

Follow Up By: Off-track - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:40

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:40
$1.60???

around $1.48 l for diesel up in Townsville and lower in other parts of the state. LPG high 60c
FollowupID: 598521

Follow Up By: 3.0turbob - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:53

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:53
Off-track,
Those of us living in the "rip-off" state are paying anywhere between $1.57 to $1.69 a litre.
FollowupID: 598522

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:27

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:27
fuel economy isnt that good Jim....we get about 10lt so thats not the issue
FollowupID: 598527

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56
lada niva??

AnswerID: 330855

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:56
2 of them!

FollowupID: 598472

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:59

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 08:59
They might as well buy 3 and use one for spares hahaha

FollowupID: 598475

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:02

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:02
good idea there LOL

Better get David to print up some more of those windscreen stickers. :-)

FollowupID: 598477

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:27

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:27
Hey Kev

If you realy want to rub salt into the wound, how about a
FORD EXPLODER, I use mine as a run around vehicle, so far still ok
nothing major has fallen off yet,
If you can persuade Laura in to buying it, i'll pay you a Spotters Fee,
i'll give her a good deal say $20000, and pay you 10%, I might even
throw in a Country & Western CD, and some Steak Knives,
Oops forget about the Steak Knives, we might have to retrieve
them from your Back, lol.

Daza
AnswerID: 330858

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:29

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 09:29
I'll take the CD and dodge the steak knives, I may need an armoured vest for the deliver of it otherwise LOL

FollowupID: 598483

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:42

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:42
if you are all going to go car searching for me here are my must have thingys:

TD
3rd row seats that can be folded up sdeperatly (the newer pajero's have a single seat as a 2 seater - NOT wanted!)
not heaps of km's
stock standard and not plush version is quite fine!

and no not a troopy or oka or delica......!!

we're lookin at gettin at 100 series or if we can find an 80 series that would be fanbloodytastic cos they are just little rippers!!

and yes....keep cost under $25k.....
AnswerID: 330862

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:46

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:46
Gee I am a good judge of what you want in a vehicle LOL

I knew you wanted to return to the "KING OFF ROAD" manufacturer LOL

FollowupID: 598497

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:07

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:07
your very good Kev, but the emails going on behind the scene could be helping you have that edge on here!!LOL!!
FollowupID: 598506

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:11

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:11
Don't let everyone know "How I know" hahahaha

FollowupID: 598517

Reply By: brushmarx - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:57

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 10:57
How about a cheap Beemer.
Add $18 000 for a 4x4 twin cab conversion conversion, and it should be sweet in the sand.

AnswerID: 330865

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:03

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 11:03
thats what the old 80 looked like after i put it through the garage!!
FollowupID: 598503

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:12

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:12
So you will know what the repair costs will be LMAO

FollowupID: 598518

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:16

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:16
yep $400 on insurance!!
FollowupID: 598704

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:42

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 12:42
goodday all
as long as its not a new discovery (silly lookin bloody things)followed 1 yesterday i dont reckon there was enough clearance to get over a speed hump let alone out bush

laura my advice go the 4.2 patrol tough as nails

AnswerID: 330874

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:02

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:02
Dont be mislead by the ride hight...this is determined by the ECM depending on speed terrain etc!

This is from the landrover Specs website!

Four-corner, electronic air suspension ensures a smooth, constant ride height irrespective of load, number of passengers or weight of luggage. The air springs are computer controlled, giving automatically softer or firmer springing depending on road or track conditions. And because they are cross-linked, they allow extreme axle articulation over rocks or deep ruts.

A further bonus is that the ride height can also be manually selected – offering, for instance, the ability to lower the vehicle by 55mm to make it easier to get in and out of and to load.

Not sure if it reliable but Rover have been making adjustable suspensions since the eighties...cant be too bad!

FollowupID: 598526

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:56

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:56
This here might suit you Laura, dont know if its a 7 seater though

80 Series in Trader
AnswerID: 330888

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:59

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:59
and Jo can drive it back to Nowra for you after showing Adelaide her Bust LOL

FollowupID: 598538

Reply By: Member - John T (NSW) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:33

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:33
Kev / Kiwi

I posted a pic a while back as the replacement for the Nissan. I know it's a "Troopy" but with all that room we could all travel to the gatherings in 1 vehicle LOL

And it's Toyota tough so even Kiwi cannot break it.

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

AnswerID: 330910

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:52

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:52
John,

That is the one I was thinking when I listed a Troopy as a replacement LOL

FollowupID: 598565

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:17

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 10:17
doesnt have enough seats John!! but it drove nicely when I took it for a test drive!!
FollowupID: 598705

Reply By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:07

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:07
Think of the future, yes 4 kids NOW!! what about later???? Just go straight for the Toyota Coaster about 22 seats if memory serves right!! LOL

Stefan
AnswerID: 330943

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:24

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:24
Why not go for 25 seats, Dad of dakar winner.Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 598615

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:27

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:27
I thought I mentioned an OKA ;)

FollowupID: 598617

Reply By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:05

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:05
100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100,100 hahahaha
AnswerID: 330954

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:35

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 21:35
Hey Kev

Just trying to do the Maths, Laura said she can get $25000 for the
Nissan as is, and shes expecting Quads, allready has 3X Kids,
So that works out at, Baby Bonus for Quads= $20000, Existing
Kids get $1000 each from Kevin747, that works out at,
$25000
$20000
$3000
------------
$48000 to spend on future vehicle, with that amount she can easily get a 4X4 Bus and fit out with all the good bits.

Daza
AnswerID: 330961

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:37

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 09:37
Daza,

I like your thinking LOL

Maybe she will end up with a monster 4x4 to cart around the Brady bunch LOL

FollowupID: 598692

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 17:38

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 17:38
like this Kev?Image Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 598821