Adelaide!! anyone have a spare room for a week for the Bust?!!!!!!!!!

Submitted: Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:39
ThreadID: 62712 Views:4209 Replies:11 FollowUps:21
Wow! I am excited, Tom Kruse has had a profound affect on me and I check my emails this morning and I have been personally invited and required to return an RSVP to go to the unveiling of the Bust! I sent an email to Ian Doyle just asking him if he knew how Tom and Valma were keeping, he emails me back and also attaches an official invite! That's cool!!!!
So I would love to drive down but it looks like the money I am waiting on may not be in my hands in time, (fuel alone will be near 1200 return) so it looks like flying down and hiring a car is the next best option.
Sooooooooooooo...... is there anyone down there who would pitch a tent, (or go luxo for me and open up the camper trailer!) for me to bunk in for a few days-a week??
And you'd be able to come to the Bust with me!

Tom Kruse MBE 1999 Tom Kruse 1953

20th October 2008

Dear Joanne

The purpose of this note is to officially invite you to attend the unveiling of the Tom Kruse bust at Waterloo, about 1.5 hours north of Adelaide. The hamlet is tiny and can be found by driving north of Saddleworth and then 10 kilometres east of Manoora on the Tarlee to Burra road in South Australia.

Tom Kruse MBE, Valma Kruse, Roger Kruse and Brenton Kruse have agreed to unveil the last of four E.G. (Tom) Kruse MBE busts on Sunday November 16th at 2.00 pm. The ceremony will held be in the grounds of the Kruse family home where Tom was born 94 years ago.

The function will conclude at 3.00pm. Following the unveiling of the bust, you are cordially invited to enjoy a gold coin donation afternoon tea in the nearby Waterloo Community Hall.

If you intend to be at the Waterloo unveiling, please complete the attached RSVP and return it ASAP - and to be delivered by no later than Friday November 7th.

We look forward to seeing you on Sunday November 16th at Waterloo.

Best regards

Neil Weidenbach Ian Doyle
Appeal Co-Coordinator Appeal Co-Coordinator

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:46

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:46
Geezzz woman...you know how to get a blokes attention!
I thought for a minute you were offering your "bust" in exchange for a room!

AnswerID: 330885

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:51

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:51
HAHAHA!! noooooooooooo!!!!!!!!
get your mind out of the gutter!
FollowupID: 598534

Follow Up By: Member - Paul W (VIC) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:42

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:42
You wern"t the only one Hairy!! hahahaha
FollowupID: 598621

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 17:07

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 17:07
theres that rack thing again lol
FollowupID: 598807

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:47

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:47
Is that the same Ian Doyle who is married to Ruth??

AnswerID: 330886

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:49

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:49
no
FollowupID: 598532

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:50

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:50
No it isn't the same man but Ruth said he does get asked that!
FollowupID: 598533

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:02

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:02
Ian Doyle is the husband of the SA news reader Jane Doyle, and was heavily involved in the mailrun reinactment in 99.
We see Tom from time to time, and have known him since that event.
He is an easy going, kind man, with a magical memory.
My father in law visits him regularly, and attends most of the events that are on from time to time.
If you have trouble finding accom, will see what i can organize, what vintage are you ? this will help in matching you to a suitable accom?

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 598539

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:41

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 16:41
Miss Jo or Madam Lash as she is know locally is only a youngster and will need to stay with someone who can keep a firm hand in controlling her. She needs the occasional spanking from time to time to bring her back to this planet.. If she turns up with her studded dog collar on, maybe the best course of action is to turn the hose on her and let her sleep in the kennel.
FollowupID: 598563

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:57

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:57
OMG Pesty!!!!!!
FollowupID: 598605

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:52

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:52
Hi Jo

Wish we could help, sorry we live in QLD, but I allways reckon there's
nothing like looking at a decent Bust.

Daza
AnswerID: 330887

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:58

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 13:58
Maybe Borgy will come to the rescue since you offered your Bust as repayment LOL ducking for cover now ;)

AnswerID: 330890

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:12

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:12
Geez Kev

I did'nt know you could walk on Thin Ice, up at Calliope, thought it
was a bit Warm for that, lol.
FollowupID: 598540

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:21

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:21
Daza,

It's all good, I am enjoying the cool breeze the thin ice is producing hahaha

FollowupID: 598542

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:40

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 14:40
Jo, we are a tad far out(250km) of the Little Smoke(Adelaide) but there are a number of nice Forumites who often post here who I am sure will hop onboard to help you out. I will see if they offer before I name them ....lol

AnswerID: 330897

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 02:25

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 02:25
Willem
Wonder what Member No 1 is doing ..

FollowupID: 598664

Reply By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:15

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:15
G'day Jo

Have just sent you a MM....

Cheers.....Borgy
AnswerID: 330919

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:41

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 17:41
I knew you come through for her Borgy LOL

FollowupID: 598572

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 18:02

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 18:02
Busts will do it every time Kev...LOL...

Cheers....Borgy
FollowupID: 598577

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:14

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 19:14
Oh Dear!!!! Now see again.. My term of Bust is totally innocent because that is why I would be attending Adelaide and you lot take it out of context like my rack!!! Bloody Men!!!

I have no idea of any suburbs, roads, anything in Adelaide, never been there.. heck, never even been on a plane before! All I know is I would catch a flight to Adelaide and have to be in Waterloo for the Bust on the sunday. And since I am there I want to go to the Birdwood museum.
AnswerID: 330933

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:01

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:01
We can help if needed.Have 4br home with only 2 of us here.
AnswerID: 330942

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:12

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:12
Thanks Brew! whoever is gonna charge me the least amount for board is the best pick!!!!!!
haha!!!!!!
FollowupID: 598614

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:13

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 23:13
You were on my list of possible accom places brew, thanks for putting your hand up.

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 598651

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 08:03

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 08:03
Maybe you could organise an EO get together Pesty whilst the "toad Keeper" is in town, perhaps dinner or a BBQ?

Nette
FollowupID: 598678

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:58

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 11:58
Nice to know someone is thinking of maybe throwing the cane toad a few scraps!!!
That is a good idea Annette.. I'd like that very much if we were able to have some sort of get together.

Nice to see you are taking care in housing for me Pesty!
2 thumbs up mate!
FollowupID: 598728

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:31

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:31
Annette,
Anyone who keeps cane toads, and boils barby dolls, would have to be suspect, will have to check with Dasher Des to work out if it will be safe to eat with this queerlander!!! Hahahaha

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 598735

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:25

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 15:25
You're safe to eat with me. Throw a few scraps my way, keeps me occupied!
FollowupID: 598779

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:15

Monday, Oct 20, 2008 at 20:15
I'll have to go and buy something new to wear..
Ahhh is a good excuse..
I need some new King Gee shirts!!!, and my steel caps have seen better days!!
AnswerID: 330945

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:23

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 12:23
The below photo was just email to me by Ian Doyle.
This photo was taken 4 years ago, when Tom was 90, at his birth home in Waterloo.
The house is not in the family anymore but apparently the current owner/restorer of the property is very aware of Tom's Story.
That must feel pretty amazing to Tom, That at 94 years of age, he can still go back to the house he was born and grew up in, That must bring back some amazing memories for him! I am in just in awe of the man!
AnswerID: 331021

Reply By: Member - Hagar (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:55

Tuesday, Oct 21, 2008 at 22:55
Now, have you got a place to stay, or are you still looking?
AnswerID: 331134

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 08:01

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 08:01
Hey thanks mate but I am all good now. Confirmed it all last night.
Meant to put up a new thread that it is all sorted before heading off to work last night.
FollowupID: 598917

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:02

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 09:02
Gee your going to be a busy traveller in the next few weeks aren't you Jo.

Planning on visiting me up here then tripping down to Adelaide.

FollowupID: 598926