REMEMBER THIS??????????? I DO

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 16:25
ThreadID: 62781 Views:4431 Replies:9 FollowUps:22
CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL THE KIDS WHO WERE BORN IN THE

1920's, 30's 40's, 50's, 60's and 70's !!

First, we survived being born to mothers who smoked and/or drank while they carried us and lived in houses made of asbestos.

They took aspirin, ate blue cheese, tuna from a can, and didn't get tested for diabetes or cervical cancer.

Then after that trauma, our baby cribs were covered with bright colored lead-based paints.

We had no childproof lids on medicine bottles, doors or cabinets and when we rode our bikes, we had no helmets or shoes, not to mention, the risks some of us took hitchhiking.

As children, we would ride in cars with no seat belts or air bags.

Riding in the back of a Ute on a warm day was always a special treat.

We drank water from the garden hose and NOT from a bottle.

Take away food was limited to fish and chips, no pizza shops, McDonalds, KFC, Subway or Red Rooster.

Even though all the shops closed at 6.00pm and didn't open on the weekends, somehow we didn't starve to death!

We shared one soft drink with four friends, from one bottle and NO ONE actually died from this.

We could collect old drink bottles and cash them in at the corner store and buy Fruit Tingles and some fire crackers to blow up frogs and lizards with.

We ate cupcakes, white bread and real butter and drank soft drinks with sugar in it, but we weren't overweight because......

WE WERE ALWAYS OUTSIDE PLAYING!!

We would leave home in the morning and play all day, as long as we were back when the streetlights came on.

No one was able to reach us all day. And we were O.K.

We would spend hours building our go-carts out of scraps and then ride down the hill, only to find out we forgot the brakes. We built tree houses and cubby houses and played in creek beds with matchbox cars.

We did not have Playstations, Nintendo's, X-boxes, no video games at all, no 99 channels on cable, no video tape or DVD movies, no surround sound, no mobile phones, no personal computers, no Internet or Internet chat rooms..........WE HAD FRIENDS and we went outside and found them!

We fell out of trees, got cut, broke bones and teeth and there were no Lawsuits from these accidents.

Only girls had pierced ears!

We ate worms and mud pies made from dirt, and the worms did not live in us forever.

You could only buy Easter Eggs and Hot Cross buns at Easter time.......no really!

We were given BB guns and sling shots for our 10th birthdays,

We drank milk laced with Strontium 90 from cows that had eaten grass covered in nuclear fallout from the atomic testing at Maralinga in 1956.

We rode bikes or walked to a friend's house and knocked on the door or rang the bell, or just yelled for them!

Mum didn't have to go to work to help dad make ends meet!

Footy had tryouts and not everyone made the team. Those who didn't had to learn to deal with disappointment. Imagine that!!

Our teachers used to belt us with big sticks and leather straps and bully's always ruled the playground at school.

The idea of a parent bailing us out if we broke the law was unheard of. They actually sided with the law!

Our parents got married before they had children and didn't invent stupid names for their kids like 'Kiora' and 'Blade'.....

This generation has produced some of the best risk-takers, problem solvers and inventors ever!

The past 70 years have been an explosion of innovation and new ideas.

We had freedom, failure, success and responsibility, and we learned

HOW TO

DEAL WITH IT ALL!

And YOU are one of them!

CONGRATULATIONS!

You might want to share this with others who have had the luck to grow up as kids, before the lawyers and the government regulated our lives for our own good.

And while you are at it, forward it to your kids so they will know how brave their parents were.

Kind of makes you want to run through the house with scissors, doesn't it?!

PS -The big type is because your eyes are shot at your age

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:21

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:21
Hey Darrell

We could also leave our Bikes ect in the Front Yard, and they would
still be there the next morning,

In QLD we could go to School with out Shoes if we wanted to,

The worst graffiti you would see, was Chalk on the Foot Path
from kids playing Hopscotch,

You could walk in town in the evening, and do Window Shopping
with out getting Harrased,or Bashed,

All Males respected Women, and they would'nt go into Hotel
Bars, they would let Women & Kids drink Soft Drinks ect in the
out side Beer Gardens.

Daza

AnswerID: 331244

Follow Up By: Member - John D (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:51
...and we didn't lock our front doors or windows,

we would ride our bikes into town, to school & footy training etc.
and if our bikes broke down, we learnt how to fix them ourselves.

As mentioned above, we didn't have video games, playstations etc. we played marbles and created our own entertainment.

Kids today reckon they have got it tough... well I would have to agree with them, because growing up in the early fifties was a lot more fun & far more rewarding...
AHHH, BRING BACK THE GOOD OLD DAYS!!!

FollowupID: 599018

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:52

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:52
And I forgot, Christmass time, the Shops would have there Windows
Decorated, and people would'nt be Offended by it.
FollowupID: 599019

Reply By: toyocrusa - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:37

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:37
And remember taking your kitchen chair down to the local Elecrical store and sitting on the footpath with friends to watch Rin Tin Tin on the tele in the window that the shop owner used to leave on for you. Bring back the old days.
AnswerID: 331250

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 17:51
Cant do that now ,sad really.....................
Stand near any late nite outlet and you will get
BASHED
RAPED
MUGGED
OR SHOT............OR ALL OF ABOVE.!
shame ay..................................................
FollowupID: 599017

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:28

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:28
Bashed, raped,mugged or shot!! What can we expect when governments of the past, state and federal have not made, taking drugs a crime, drunkenness a crime and give a tap on the wrist to criminals for what I call serious crimes.. Then you turn barristers into judges and magistrates who are the very fools who have been defending scummy people for the first half of their career!! How can society be any different that it is now? Michael
FollowupID: 599024

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:35

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:35
GOoooo RINNIE ......

LOLOLOL
FollowupID: 599173

Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:27

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:27
And you Dad thought it was quite OK to drive home from the pub drunk as a skunk.

And the annual road toll was 1034 in Vic in 1970.

And engines in cars needed a rebuild at 130,000 km.

And murderers got away with murder because DNA testing didn't exist.

And some sadistic bastards of school teachers would mercilessly beat children with a weapon.

And Priests were permitted to molest children because no one would dare question their authority.

And kids who got Polio were left with a limp for the rest of their lives.

And we let Parmaceutical companies sell any old drug without any regulation eg Thalidimide.

Need I go on?

Whilst we may be over regulated in a lot of areas, it is not all bad. Not saying it's all good either.

AnswerID: 331258

Follow Up By: darrell.QLD - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:38

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:38
Did all of that happen to you?????? lol...hope not......
FollowupID: 599026

Follow Up By: stefan & 12 times Dakar winner - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:37

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:37
It has to be said

"And engines in cars needed a rebuild at 130,000 km."

Seems Nissan never let go of that one :)
FollowupID: 599038

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:04

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:04
well said Jim....

mothers may have moked and drunk etc but how many babies were born with a deficiency of some type because of it compared to today ??

and yes engines needing a rebuild, poor nissan are still stuck as teenagers hey - dont wanna grow up and take resonsibility!!
FollowupID: 599088

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:41

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:41
Well Done Jim

This kind of self bloating creeps up from time to time. It seems that the attitde of the baby boomers is not dissimilar to the Y gens which both grew up in times of prosperity. Yes I am genererisling.

The fact is the infant mortality rate in the 1920's was around 4 times higher than it is today. Fortunately for the people who peddle this B.S., the voices of those who did not survive past the age of 5 in the 20's 30's 40's etc. are not here tell their tale.

If the age expectancy of previous decades was around today, the membership of this forum would be halved.

It is amusing though that the comparisons are always done between what it was like to be a young person then and now, and how easy kids have it today.Well, lets compare what it was like to be a retiree then and now.

I doubt too many of our parents and grandparents drove around in overpriced 4wd's with fridges, toilets, a/c and solar power for their cupucino machines. They were lucky to have a rusty old bicycle to go down to the shops in. But I guess that's an inconvenient truth that we like keep quite about.

So the moral of the story is, every generation will go thhrough times of relative prosperity and poverty so enjoy what you have and let younger genrations do the same.

FollowupID: 599164

Follow Up By: slammin - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:20

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:20
Nie one jim.

Pride always gets in the way of commonsense.
FollowupID: 599185

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Yalgoo) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:10

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:10
men respected women because wife bashing wasnt talked about it was a domestic issue something to look the other way or turn the Tv up when it went on next door
FollowupID: 599190

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 18:36
All of the above.

+ WE, the generations of the 50's, 60's and 70's, ARE responsible for the current generations, where did WE lose the plot.

JMHO.
Cheers, Colin.
AnswerID: 331260

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:54

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 19:54
G'day Colin.

"where did WE lose the plot"

Too much bl**dy political correctness?? Hopefully there's still enough larrikin spirit left in the country to not let us get to the same stage as the Poms.

FollowupID: 599044

Follow Up By: Mike N Bev - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:56

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:56
Chris & Sue, you have surpassed the Poms and are catching up on the Yanks.
FollowupID: 599062

Follow Up By: Chris & Sue - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:30

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 23:30
Hi Mike n Bev,

Poms: Christmas tree banned from school because it would offend non-Christians, 1 CCTV for every 14 of the population, reductions in civil liberties at every turn, etc.. George Orwell would be feeling vindicated.

No, I don't think we're quite there yet, but our pollies are making sure that we're trying really hard. As for the 'merkins, if we ever get that far, then I'll try and emulate Prince Leonard of Hutt and secede from Oz. :-))

Anyone got a small Pacific Island going cheap?

FollowupID: 599102

Follow Up By: Member - Clive G (NZ) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:46

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 08:46
Chris.
I think you would pick up NZ pretty cheap right about now. LOL.

When I read Darrells post I thought he was writing about NZ. All true, but would I go back to the “good old days” no chance. Jim is spot on.

CliveG NZ. Born 1940’s
FollowupID: 599152

Reply By: Member - Glenn G (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:36

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 20:36
We lost the plot when somebody complained about a bloke flying an Australian flag at his house just south of Brisbane ! Last week.

We lost the plot when somebody complained about a shop selling ham sandwiches !

We lost the plot when somebody complained about Christian theme to Christmas at the shops !

We lost the plot when somebody complained about Santa saying Ho Ho Ho ,and they find it offensive !

We should say, if you do not like "LEAVE" !!!!!!!!!!!!!! Oh and don't come back !
AnswerID: 331293

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:50

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 00:50
Oh Boy
FollowupID: 599120

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:10

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:10
Glenn,

I think you will find that the issue "south of brisbane" was with the flag pole and not with the flag. .. and I would think your other "issues" are also a media beat up.

But if you insist that this country is crap, perhaps you should follow your own advice.
FollowupID: 599169

Follow Up By: slammin - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:18

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:18
Robak, Robak, Robak.

That is priceless mate!

Absolutely RAOTFLMAO!!!!!!!!

Glenn G leave the telly alone - you'll get hairs on the palms of your hands.
FollowupID: 599184

Follow Up By: Tippa - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:35

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:35
Slammin, were you really absolutely rolling on the floor laughing your ass off? Wish i was that amused. I just got a chuckle.

Robak, those other "issues" made it to the media because they happened. Sure the media ran with them and gave them more publicity than they deserved, but, as with most countries, there are some immigrants as a minority who simply dont want to associate, adapt or contribute. They are commonly more racist than those who they attack for racism.
As for Glenn, he is probably a true blue aussie who loves his country and good on him for that.
Personally i have friends from all backgrounds- who love our country too.
Anyway i'm not getting into a racial debate, but it does irritate me when people cant express an opinion and relay events publicized by the media without others having a cheap shot with distorted facts... where did Glenn "insist that this country is crap"?
FollowupID: 599288

Follow Up By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 14:59

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 14:59
Tippa

First of all it's nice to receive a well constructed answer.

Now, I don't watch TV or listen to talkback radio so I may be a little isolated from the hype that feeds this hysteria. A lot of these "issues" don't happen to us personally. We just 'hear" about them through the media. These are at best, isolated incidents and at worst total B.S.

I've never heard of the ham issue. I've never been in a shopping centre prior christmass where christmass is not rammed down your throat in an effort to make you buy more. have you?

Ironically, the reason for x-mass theme in shops is the polar opposite to what Jesus Christ taught, so it's hardy a "tradition" we should treasure.

I dare say that the people who oppose these christmass things are not musliims or jews or hindus, but rather our own true blue left wing atheists. As for Santa's Ho Ho Ho-ing, (if true) it happened in a different country, but I realise some dyslexic people may confuse AUS with USA.

I don't know Glenn so I am not going to comment on his attitude personally.

It seems some people that say they LOVE this country have a confused understanding of what LOVE is.

A wife-basher always LOVES his wife when she does what she is told.

Every group has a few idiots that thrive on mututal hatred because it gives them an excuse to be violent (and a hero). So if you really LOVE this country don't promote the media rubbish that is designed to sell papers.

R.
FollowupID: 599434

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:05

Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008 at 22:05
And what did Fat Cat do to deserve the flick. Watching Greese the other night and the little ones asked why are they watching a movie in their car.
Sharon
AnswerID: 331330

Reply By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:56

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:56
Yesteryears life was better - simpler, straight forward, rewarding.

Todays medical is great,

Yesteryears cars, whilst needing regular maintenance - could be maintained by the user,

Political correctness ... promoting a lack of commonsense ... the undoing of any nation,

Todays health problems make up for all the past ones now dealt with - smallpox may be a thing of the past ... so lets all get fat and have heart attacks .... pffft

Multiculturalism ... the results speak for themselves. ( multiculturalism is not people moving to a country and becoming a part of that country ... it is the country selling selling itself out to foreign ideals and attitudes.

School discipline/punishment - should have been monitored ... not banned.

Big Brother .... made into TV shows to soften peoples attitude to it.

Strewth .... this could become a narky thread ..... LOLOLOL
AnswerID: 331408

Reply By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:50

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:50
Do you know why they are called the "Y" Generation?
.Image Could Not Be Found

Lighten up guys...life is too short to keep looking over your shoulder, you miss all the good stuff out in front!!

AnswerID: 331412

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:55

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:55
If your picture is anything to go by ......

I don't want to see " all the good stuff out in front "

pmsl .......
FollowupID: 599188

Follow Up By: Member - Matt (Perth-WA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:15

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:15
HAHAHAHAHAHHAHAHHAHAHA
FollowupID: 599191

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 23:17

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 23:17
We were talking about this today at work during lunch. How times have changed :(

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 331550