Greenslip price hike
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:09
howesy
I have two falcons in the garage that both been the same price for a greenslip since they came out. registered one last month greenslip $302 got the renewal for the other today $328. just another thing on the upward move I suppose cant wait to see what the cruiser and the ute come in at.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:30
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:30
Yo must live in the CRISIS state ...just above Mexico.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:55
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 09:55
Labor in NSW believe the best way to improve
services is to increase the price/Fares and Taxes.
And they wonder why over 1500 people leave the state each week.
Most of ours fall just after the New Year, the Minister for War and Finance believes we'll be right. Fingers Crossed
Reply By: Philip A - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:04
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:04
Come on gents.
Have you looked at the price of rego/CTP in Queensland?
V8s especially.
I just had a look $813.80 including $299 CTP
Regards Philip A
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:16
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:16
Nothing really, its just a few tanks of Fuel!! LOL!!! Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:44
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:44
Never owned a V8, so hasn't worried me :o)
Never had a 6 cyl either for that matter.
Only had 4 cyl, and they go just as quick. :o))
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:30
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 10:30
Howesy,
I did a bit of a search for you,
Compare Green Slips
AAMI $487.00
Allianz $484.00
CIC-Allianz $342.00
GIO $281.56
NRMA $279.09
QBE $344.00
Zurich $476.00
That's for my 91 Cruiser, My age 42 Wife's 39.
60% No claim, No Traffic fines or infringements in the past tens or more. As you can see there is a big difference between them, about $200
I love the Internet for that, Don't have to ring anybody.
It pays to
shop around & there is just about no Loyalty these days with insurance companies.
Follow Up By: howesy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:45
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:45
Thanks for that site.
Looks like I shouldn't complain, Here is a comparison for my landcruiser with my age and history..
NRMA $328.10
GIO $408.88
Zurich $560.00
QBE $561.00
CIC-Allianz $561.00
Allianz $567.00
AAMI $569.00
$240.90 difference between NRMA and the dearest. Still too much and it did go up but I think I should just keep my mouth shut and stay with NRMA
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:55
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:55
No Worries,
Jeez there are big differences,
I went scratching through the Receipts folder and found that we're with GIO. Can't complain about the price we pay either. Looks like the Minister for War and Finance is looking after me.
Gotta be happy with that. :)
Reply By: dionbremner - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:54
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 11:54
You need to
shop around every year. I was with AAMI for a couple of years and then got a price hike this year. Shopped around and got a price from NRMA similar to what AAMI used to be. But A couple of years ago when I went with AAMI, NRMA was hugely more expensive.
Dion
http://www.mycampgear.com
Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:54
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:54
I have always gone with nrma but this yr I am actually taking all my insurances elsewhere.....the greenslip is with someone who i seriously cannt remember their name....its on an email ont he other coputer but compulsary ins is going with ecars......
our patrol was looking at $400 nearly for a greenslip - Ive got it down to $280ish i think....
Reply By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:08
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:08
Unfortunately one of the casualties of the ongoing credit crisis will be insurance premiums for a whole range of insurance products.
Something to bear in mind is who you are insuring with, their credit rating and their ability to deliver when required. Sounds obscure, but so did the credit crisis a couple of years ago.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:19
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:19
And with our Cyclone season just starting here, I'd expect all insurance companies to increase premiums on all their products soon.
I could be wrong, I hope I am.
Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:35
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:35
Excuse my ignorance, but not having such luxuries here in SA as greenslips, I was always of the belief that a greenslip was the paperwork for an inspection each year so that your rego could be renewed if your vehicle was roadworthy?
It seems to me as you are all talking about insurance?
These figures you are stating are a fee above your insurance, or your insurance premium?
No im not moving to cochroach country, we feed our own state govt more than it deserves now, without helping you lot out.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:59
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 17:59
In NSW the thrird party injury insurance is billed separately to the actual vehicle registration.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:04
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:04
Hi Pesty,
Yeah a quiet few years ago the state government changed it, your Compulsory Third Party insurance out to the private mobs. Telling us that it would be cheaper than what they could offer.
Our rego inspection slip in NSW is the Pink Slip.
CPT Slip are green. As you can see there can be big a difference between them, and yes it's on top of your other insurance and rego.
Reply By: toyocrusa - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:07
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:07
Just received my NRMA greenslip renewal to day for 2004 Prado.
It consists of Premium $165.24
GST $ 16.52
MCIS Levies* $ 72.04
Total $253.80
*Medical Care and Injury
Services Levies
The total is fair enough when compared to others but what is a Medical Care and Injury
Services Levy on top of a Compusory Third party injury insurance. I thought that was what the original policy was for. It says the levy is for funding
Ambulance,Hospital,Life time care and other
services for people injured in motor vehicle accidents.The levies are GST exempt. So what is the B*^#dy premium for??? Bob.
Reply By: Kiwis Ross & Cushla- Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 15:23
Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 15:23
I know this is a silly question ,we have a bought a caravan in NSW ,waiting for us to collect and set out in January.Question do you need a greenslip for a caravan.The other question the NSW RTA found hard to answer is what do you do if you are out of state and your rego runs out,where do you get inspected.....at least NZ is a one state country and we dont have these problems,but still leaving even more so if comrade Helen Clarke gets in again.!!
Follow Up By: howesy - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 20:27
Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 20:27
Not sure about the caravan but if you are going to be out of state they will make arrangements for inspection and registration in advance for you. Ring them and tell them your plans.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:12
Monday, Nov 03, 2008 at 22:12
Hi Kiwi
Ross,
Best thing to do with a NSW rego question is avoid their head office and motor registries like the plague.
Ring or walk into one of their heavy vehicle inspection stations, they are in the phone book and on the website.
These are the people charged with keeping the trucks and buses of NSW on or off the road.
They are staffed by people who actually know what they are talking about and really answer questions.
Hope that helps,
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |