The Benefits of Tyre Deflation

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:15
ThreadID: 62805 Views:3705 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
These 2 clips show the advantages of tyre deflation when the going gets soft. These clips are of Trucks but the same applies to 4x4.

Stop Spinning Your Wheels!

TIREBOSS

Reply By: Member - Porl - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:34

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:34
that's some snatch strap ...
AnswerID: 331410

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:41

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:41
Those hoses sticking out could be a problem when 4wding....

AnswerID: 331411

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:19

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:19
I seen a Troopy with a setup in the SD in 2006 , The passenger was operating it whilst mobile .

FollowupID: 599192

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:35

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:35
wow, would be "interesting" to see. Great concept though.

FollowupID: 599194

Follow Up By: Nickywoop - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:07

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:07
I seen down around Mt. Gambier in SA nearly all the B-double log trucks have the system fitted if I remember.

I spoke to a driver of one stopped loaded outside a chicken shop on the highway and he reckons they are equally as good in sand as mud in the bush and said they pull out of places loaded with 60 tonne aired down, where people struggle unlaiden to get in Nissans and Landcruisers.

He said that if he give it the full 600 hp (Western Star) in really hard going loaded, he said she put in so hard, he felt like his front wheels were gunna leave the ground.

I did ask him did they have much trouble snagging the hoses and he said sometimes in the bush they they pickup a bit of slash, but the only time he had damaged a line was when he was talking on the phone going onto a wiegh bridge and wasn't centred and hooked on the bridge chassis. Driver error!!

If I remember correctly he said they cost around $16000 fitted to his truck, that was about 2 years ago, and he would not be without them. A great idea I reckon.

Nick
FollowupID: 599307

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:54

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:54
Airing down was a new concept to me, until I found Explore OZ .
If I was mainly on rough potholed gravel roads I only blew up the tyres to 35lb on the Series 1 Rover and the same with Landcruisers after that, made the ride softer, going to town with a load on would inflate to recommended pressures, never thought of doing it for traction. If I spend another winter in NZ (sooner be in Outback at that time of year) I will try it out in muddy greasy conditions.
In OZ I did find when I dropped tyre pressure to 32lb hot around 28 cold the Toy was much easier to drive on rutted roads more responsive to steering and easier to get out of the wheel marks. Felt safer. Dropped another 10lb in sand no problems. Never too late to learn. Pumped up to 50lb on the black stuff in the interest of fuel and tyre conservation.
AnswerID: 331440

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:27

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:27
Hey Russ we are all learners at some stage, I remember scoffing at airing down when I was in my teens and 20's hmmm I knew too much back then

FollowupID: 599533

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:10

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:10
It's worth looking at where the increase in footprint occurs. Most seem to assume the tyre flattens out to the sides and so they get worried about sidewall punctures. If you actually look at lowered tyres, the increase in footprint is along the length of the tyre with quite minor increase in the width. You lower tyre pressure for the same reason you wear skiis on snow.
AnswerID: 331446

Follow Up By: Steve - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:44
what an excellent analogy (skis)

;)
FollowupID: 599322

Reply By: Peter 2 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:45

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 18:45
One of the best things about my Humvee, the ability to monitor and adjust tyre pressures while driving.
AnswerID: 331490

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 22:08

Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 22:08
Ok thought it was interesting. Have another look at the you tube. Felt sorry for the fella trying to hitch onto his trailer in the ice. The best one so far is the 3/60 the semi dose on the ice. I missed the series truckies on ice. Going back to see more!!!!
AnswerID: 331535

Reply By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 05:59

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 05:59
Doug

Great pick up there mate !.

Seen a 200kw tricked up troopy ute, "with diff locks on", stuck at the bottom of Big red, a couple of years back, and after a dozen or so goes, he finally listened and let his tyres down to 18-20 psi, and turn off diff locks, (note I told him 15 psi.)
you never guess what?
He got up, and over.

He should have watched these short clips first.

Cheers Mate

AnswerID: 331569