What siize are my Sunraysiers?
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 12:54
Pickles
G'day looking to source some more sunraysier rims to suit camper trailer, my ute currently has 6 stud, rims and house 31x9.5x15 tyres, would this make my rims 15x7's, is there any badging on the rims tht i haven't found that will tell me the size.
i am setting up camper to have same tyres as ute,
cheers pickles
Reply By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:17
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:17
pickles
the rim size should be stamped on the inside of your wheel.you might have to look hard as sometimes paint covers the numbers,cheers.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:24
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:24
You dont have to take a tyre off. By the inside he means the side away from the road. The numbers are usually something like
6JJ ???? Dot ?????
6JJ being the rim type the other numbers being width and offset
They are stamped into the inner face of the rim and are usually hard to see. A torch on an angle in a darker room quite often shows them up better
Here is a calculator which will give you all the measurements that you want
http://www.rims-n-tires.com/rt_specs.jsp
Follow Up By: Member - Mark G (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:29
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 20:29
cheers Graham H, sorry i forgot to tell him that,thanx mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:21
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 21:21
The make and model of the ute would probably be a big help as
well and make it easier to give an answer as the rims would possibly be the same offset as original or if not would be a bit wider
Reply By: Pickles - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:23
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:23
cheers will whip one of the tyres off and have a look
Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:52
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:52
an easier way to find out( if the
wheels on the car are standard) is have a look in the owners manual or give a tyre outlet a call,the
wheels are mots likely 7" as you can put 10.5 on a 7" rim
good luck Vic
Reply By: Member - Vic S (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:52
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 13:52
an easier way to find out( if the
wheels on the car are standard) is have a look in the owners manual or give a tyre outlet a call,the
wheels are most likely 7" as you can put 10.5 on a 7" rim
good luck Vic
Reply By: Topcat (WA) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:22
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 15:22
If they are genuine Sunraysier rims the size is stamped on the outside right beside where the valve stem hole is. Cheers
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:18
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:18
Pickles
I took
mine to the local tyre place and he put the callipers across the rim.
Regards Bob
Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:19
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 16:19
Also, ensure the offset is correct !!
Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:56
Thursday, Oct 23, 2008 at 19:56
This is crfitical. I just went through the same issue.
First check the offset of your vehicle then ask the trailer manufacturer if this is acceptable. The place I bought the trailer from said they would only certify it if i brought them a wheel with tyres on and they would say
yea or nay for that combination.
Reply By: Member - Vince M (NSW) - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:40
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 09:40
Pickles don,t know where you live or if your got your rims I,m at Huskisson NSW & if you want a pair there yours (Free) have many laying about as all my gear is now been changed to 16"
regards Vince
Follow Up By: Pickles - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:37
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:37
Thanks for the offer Vince
would jump on the opportunity but i live down in southern NSW on the border of Vic, i think a courier would end up costing more that what they are worth to buy down here.
Cheers pickles
Reply By: Pickles - Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:35
Monday, Oct 27, 2008 at 10:35
Thanks All
Didn't get a chance to get a look on the weekend but will try this week.
thanks Pickles