Hema Navigators

Submitted: Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 13:57
ThreadID: 62841 Views:3566 Replies:10 FollowUps:20
We are new to this forum so forgive us if this has been covered. We have just purchased a Hema Navigator it has topographic maps as well as city - Hema apparently make the maps that the navman ect use and seemed to be the best on the market. However we haven't started our journey as yet (5th November - Can't wait....) we did a test run from our place to my sisters place 10 mins up the road, we are not in a new estate, when we plugged in the address the voice came over with something like "this route has not as yet been confirgured, you maybe given incorrect directions" the actual map takes us in the correct direction but the voice tells a different story......... this thing cost us almost $1,000 did we get ripped off or is there something we don't know?

Thanks in advance
Matt & Caz

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:12

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:12
No brand that I've used has been perfect, mine can't find one particular street, but when you drive there it comes up on the screen. Depends totally on the mapping and info it is loaded with.
AnswerID: 331636

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:17

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:17
No worries, I guess I just figured because Hema actually make the maps it would be OK it did it again for another address we put in

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 599437

Reply By: traveller2 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:19

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:19
You might find that Hema only supplies the topo mapping not the GO TO maps.
AnswerID: 331638

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:31

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:31
I see...... hopefully it will be ok, I guess we wont get lost in the Simpson!!!!! they say to take a paper map with you anyway just in case. We are learning a lot of interesting info at the moment

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 599438

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:32

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:32
Does a GPS have maps of country towns or just major towns?
AnswerID: 331640

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 15:23

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 15:23
They show country towns also - BUT - are only as acurate as the source they get their info from. Our road was renamed 4 yrs ago and no mapping system is updated with the new street name - Including emergency services!!!! Don't know who supplies their info - obviously they aren't advised by Vicroads.
FollowupID: 599823

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:53

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 15:53
Have been looking at buying one.

I think it uses route 66 software for the street to street directions?

Is there an update available for route 66?

The package I use (not route 66) is now 3 years old and yes there are streets missing.
AnswerID: 331644

Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 16:57

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 16:57
Check out the 4.3" GPS's on ebay. You can get one that has the same os as the Hmea one for around $220. Changing menus so you can use OziCE and thus Hema maps is simple. This will end up costing less that half of the Hema Navigator.

FollowupID: 599450

Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:13

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:13
Exactly what I did, works well, I bought it from seller id "vertelli" in Melbourne. My son has since bought one for his work ute from the same seller.
FollowupID: 599458

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:29

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:29

was hanging back since I have the full hema map set already, and oziexplorer CE on my Asus pda/gps.
FollowupID: 599462

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:19

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:19
I have had 3 GPS/Navigators so far & am about to give up on them.
To be quite honest I find them almost useless for anything but the most basic street navigation, with many streets missing, incorrectly named & crazy routes configured.
The one I have at the moment is a Garmin Nuvi 310 & is probably the worst of the 3.
The best mapping for rural areas without a doubt is Navteq, beats Sensis Whereis hands down.
AnswerID: 331662

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:48

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:48
I have more GPS', maps, compasses, sextants :) than you could shake a stick at. Most of them work pretty well, the ePC with GPS mouse and Ozi Explorer is my main navigation tool but the MIO220C which came free when when I upgraded to a NextG phone is pretty impressive - not only can it find its way around Melbourne but it also seems to know most of the (serious) off-road tracks I follow.

Having said the above... forget electronics! _You_ should be able to navigate by the sun or the stars or a magnetised needle - you may not be perfect with it but you should be able to find north.

FollowupID: 599464

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:53

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:53
I hava a Nuvi 310 and so far it is better than Tomtom on my phone and about on a par with Copilot on my laptop.

Quite honestly the usual problem with these type of things is the same problem that is most common with computers.

Its the connection between the chair and the machine.

If you dont configure them correctly they wont do what you want. They will never be right up to date with roads cos roads change quicker than the map updates.

The only two things I dislike about the Nuvi is that you can only put one address in as a waypoint whereas the Tom tom you can put several and therefore go the way you want to rather than the way the machine thinks you should.

The other is that you cant show your speed when under navigation mode, only the ETA whereas Tom tom is completely configurable.
FollowupID: 599467

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:02

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:02
Hi Mike,

Can you use a sextant?

I have always wanted to learn how. Could be really useful if the Americans turn the sats off.

FollowupID: 599469

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:44

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:44
Damn! Caught me out equinox! :)

No, I wouldn't have a clue with sextants... but I'll bet Shaker does...?

FollowupID: 599482

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:09

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:09
Hey Alan,

I too have wanted to be able to use one. I bought a sailing navigation text, which was all I could find that was gunna be anywhere near practical..

Bloody book has been on the shelf for two years, un-opened.

Then I acquired a plastic (!) sextant late last year, courtesy a BBC documentary team I was working with. Bewdy, now I can get to it, I thought...............but no, that too is on the shelf.

I also at that time bought an almanac - very hard to get hold of I can tell you - but now, 10 months later it too is useless as the tables only went to 31.12.2007.

So I haven't made any more progress than you!

Want I would like is a couple of lessons.............

FollowupID: 599523

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 07:15

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 07:15
Equinox and Rick: You B******s! :)

You've got me wanting a sextant now - dunno what for but I really like the concept. They're available on e-bay for less than $100 and I don't think they would be too difficult to learn...?

I could use GPS time to get a really exact time... hang on Harding... if you've got GPS available why do you need... never mind :)

Mike Harding (off to e-bay)
FollowupID: 599574

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:13

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 09:13
Mike, don't do anything rash, I may have one!
Give me a call, I lost your number when my Sim card crashed.
FollowupID: 599587

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 12:05

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 12:05
Let us know how you go Mike :)

I'm surprised there is not more talk about sextants on this site, considering the amount of talk about GPS's, and sextants essentially do the same job.

And I don't think you will need a device for timing. Don't you just use an almanac? (like Ricks obsolete one). When a certain star is at a certain angle at dawn it must be a certain time etc. etc.

FollowupID: 599613

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 12:21

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 12:21
>Let us know how you go Mike :)

Will do, I'll trying and talk Shaker into giving me "The Idiots Guide to Sextants" lecture :)

>And I don't think you will need a device for timing

A sextant and the celestial bodies will only give you latitude; in order to obtain longitude you need accurate time - it was a major navigational problem before about 1740 because no reliable method of accurate timekeeping was available to ships. The British Crown offered a prize to anyone who could invent one and John Harrison succeeded although the British Government tried to swindle him out of the cash.

John Harrison

FollowupID: 599615

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 14:21

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 14:21
The ship's chronometer was probably one of the most carefully items on the ship, other than the rum supplies.
It was usually mounted on gimbals in a timber case, without it they were in trouble as where possible, shootings had to done precisely at noon, GMT.
FollowupID: 599640

Reply By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:34

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:34
I have never used one, but from everything I hear about them, from the troubles those on the forum have and especially when people come to the toll (which is 99% "I'm lost, my GPS is giving me the wrong directions") I'm not to keen to buy one, unless there is someone who can say "yep, for sure, this is the best one to go for".
I know eventually I will have to buy one, but even trying to find out through the forum or past posts which is the better one to get doesn't really help as it is all such different opinions. It makes it more confusing.
AnswerID: 331665

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:27

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:27
LOL, i had to use the "i'm a lost vehicle" phrase at your booths yesterday...even though i knew exactly where i was. :-)

Why don't they have turnaround areas near toll booths?

FollowupID: 599475

Follow Up By: Miss(an)Jo - Toad Keeper (Bris - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:52

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 19:52
Andrew, I answered your question.. but then went on a rant to get out he frustration from what all the worlds dumbest drivers do.. I'll start a new thread.
FollowupID: 599486

Reply By: Member - Dick (Int) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:45

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 18:45
Hi Matt & Caz

I have a Hema Navigator which runs Route 66 for its general mapping and in my opinion it is not very good. It frequently comes up with area's which it does not understand. It cannot be compared with the Garmin City Navigator.

When you select the Hema Maps you will find it works well and supplies accurate navigation in the desert area's which is the only place I have used it. It is as accurate as a Hema paper map on which it is based.

I do however always carry paper maps and maintain an awareness of where I am on those maps. Whenever I stop, I record the position on paper so if I have to go back to manual navigation I have a recent fix.

Dick

AnswerID: 331668

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:06

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 20:06
I too have a Hema Navigator. Cost heaps, but I'm not smart enough - and couldn't be bothered buying the hardware separately then setting up the maps as some others have done.

I mainly got it because of the Australia wide mapping with Ozi Explorer and the Hema maps. That part seems to be good, but have not been to remote areas with it yet.

Route 66 is OK, but not great. Many areas are not fully mapped. Even in some long established areas, we get the ' you are entering an area that is not fully mapped any you may receive incorrect directions' message.

On the plus side, even country towns are covered. We went to Maclean, NSW last week and it found the place we wanted pretty easily following the verbal instructions.

On the down side (apart from the issue raised above), we have had a couple of directions to turn on a road when we were on an overpass and the like.

Overall, I think it is a good product. Just don't expect to always get to where you want to go without a map or other directions. A common issue, regardless of the brand and price of your unit.

Norm C
AnswerID: 331679

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 02:23

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 02:23
Norm, that looks like a nice little set up you have now.

a bit bigger than the Lux and CT.. :-)

FollowupID: 599752

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:12

Sunday, Oct 26, 2008 at 07:12
Thanks Richard. Yes, the extra room and comfort is taking a bit of getting used to.
We plan to rent the house out and 'hit the road' full time for a few years from January - hence the upgrade.

Norm C
FollowupID: 599757

Reply By: time waster - Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:03

Friday, Oct 24, 2008 at 21:03
Hi mate we have just returned from a 10k trip and two months away and before we went looked at the hema gps at $990 as it had everything I wanted.

So I went to the store and had a muck around with it and found the screen very small and trying to use the ozi functions you had to use the stylus pen which on the move would be a pain.

Ended up buying a 7" GPS with route66 and rear camera input off ebay for #280 del then got a compaq laptop after cash back for $420 the BU353 GPS mouse for $95 and a friend of mine gave me his ozi and hema raster and a collection of 10th,50th maps of vic sa and wa and it was fantastic we found you need the larger screen to see the detail around you especially using the high detail maps.

AnswerID: 331695

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 10:14

Saturday, Oct 25, 2008 at 10:14
Thanks everyone for all your help, it is appreciated, yes we paid $990 for our Hema, I guess we will see how we go with it, but always carry a paper map and learn to use a sextant LOL!!!

Matt and Caz who are currently in panic mode as the container arrives Monday and we are no where near ready. The house settles on the 3/11 and we are off on the 4/11. YAY
AnswerID: 331758