One of the best outback roads you'll travel!
Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 19:56
Member - Mick O (VIC)
Alright that's a big statement but I reckon the
Hunt Oil Road is one of the best remote tracks you'll travel. That's prompted me to get off my clack and finish the track and trip report in Blog form. Again, all the highlighted words are links that go direct to Exploroz 'Place' pages that I have created or updated as best I can. Extra detail and photo's are found in the blog pages for June this year. The links to these four pages are at the bottom of the blog page. Prior to leaving this year, I traced the route on Google Earth so I will update the blog in the near future with a file containing the .KMZ place and track files for Google Earth.
Having done both the David Carnegie & the Hunt within the last 12 months, I give it to the Hunt, simply because it's longer and there is a greater variety or landscapes and interesting features &
places to stop and explore. (The DCR is still a great trip and
Empress Spring is not to be missed). If there's anything missing or wanted, feel free to offer comment on the bottom of the blog page and I'll get to it.
Here's the
link to the blog page.
Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 20:40
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 20:40
You're pretty right on the mark there Mick.
My
Hunt Oil Road camp this year (just south of Mt. Worsnop) was the first
camp since
Perth where it really felt like I was in the outback. There's nothing like waking up in the outback. The
views along the track as you say are changing and numerous.
It was also
the spot where I thought I had better put some protection on the radiator as those seeds were starting to appear more frequently.
Did you notice that track heading to the east some
miles before the GB? I don't think it is the one you mention, is good condition, may be after where you turned off. Wonder where it goes?
Well done on the
blogs mate, I'm sure I'm not the only one who is having a bit of a read.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 20:57
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 20:57
Thanks for the read, sounds like a good trip, will do it one day I hope. Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: Member - Footloose - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:09
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:09
Alan, you're right as usual :)))
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:22
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:22
G'day Alan,
I noticed the outlines of quite a few graded lines along the track. There were a couple of clearer ones between the Tjirrkarli turnoff and
the caves. I know that if you turned east at the ON1 line (where we turned left) it hits the gunbarrel after 70 kilometres. It was beaut country alright. I will have to spend some more time in the Sutherlands having a look around one year.
Mick.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:42
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 21:42
Thanks Mick for a great read and for sharing. Its been about 5 years since I did that track, its seems to have become more overgrown.
Its a great piece of country I agree.
Keep up the good work.
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:11
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:11
Nice Read Mick, as with all the rest.
It is on my trip wish list for next year along with SB, GJ, G and T and maybe the DC..
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:16
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:16
Don't think it mate, just get out and do them.
Mick
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:48
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:48
Mick
I have a little problem now that I have to manage "Avascular necrosis
I've just been diagnosed with Avascular necrosis (bone is dieing due to the lack of blood) of the right femoral head (that the Right hip) to any other sufferers sorry I now know how you feel... :-(("
So I should say that I will be doing the tracks listed above as long as I cand walk. LOL
We will plan then see how things are, it worked on the Caravan trip, could still change a wheel and repair a tube and tyre.
I will have to start teaching Robyn to do some of the harder jobs.. LOL
Don't tell her that.
Reply By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:18
Tuesday, Oct 28, 2008 at 22:18
Further,
I've managed to get the Google Earth file attached to the bottom of the blog. Just open it from the blog page and it automatically open Google Earth and overlay the tracks &
places on the image. That's providing you have the program down loaded to your computer of course.
Cheers, Mick
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:50
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:50
Mick
Do you save your moving map .plt files?
would be nice to see where your travels lead you.
Reply By: Member - Paul B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:08
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:08
Great stuff Mick - gotta say tho' they're all a long way from Vic! Good to see you out n about in the good country.
Paul B Kalgoorlie
Reply By: Nic I (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:51
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:51
Gidday Mick,
I really enjoy reading your trip diaries (sorry, can't come at 'blog' - a nastily ugly new 'word' if ever I saw one !), thanks for all the effort and detail you put into them.
Having pored over every word and photograph of all of your trips, I reckon they should be the model of what a great trip diary should be.
My only problem is that your accounts make me want very badly to go and explore those
places, but the combined lacks of time, money, experience, and suitable travel companions are in my way - one day for sure !!
Cheers and thanks again, excellent reading,
Nic
Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 12:29
Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 12:29
Thanks Nic, glad you're enjoying them. I'm certainly glad of the opportunity to post and share them. It's motivated me to tidy the journals up and complete a few entries from past years.
Had a quick squiz at your profile page. You've certainly got the beast to go travelling in. I'll probably go down a similar path with a ute and trayback in the future but I'll have to wear this Patrol out first. See you've got the ATOC spring tower strengthening. Aaron does great work.
The good thing with so much of the outback is that the trips are readily acheivable with a bit of planning and fore thought. Obviously the off-track stuff requires a whole new level of planning but trips like the Hunt and David Carnegie could easily be undertaken. It's planning, having the basics and asking advice.
Yes I know what you mean about time and $$$. The two hardest commodities to come by. I have to save pretty strictly to get out there each year (both holidays and bucks).
Regards Mick