Centrelink

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 11:24
ThreadID: 63012 Views:6219 Replies:9 FollowUps:40
Is there anyone out there who has travelled for 12months and claimed centrelink assistance in the form of family payments? Also, is there assistance with home schooling financially? What is the best way to access home schooling for young teenagers (Pre year 10 high school)? Any help is really appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:06

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:06
Why not go into centrelink and ask what you are entitiled to. I am on the verge of retiring and went in and they were very helpfull
Told me all the things I could and couldnt claim no probs.
AnswerID: 332493

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:29

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:29
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 600314

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:14

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:14
So Centrelink can tell you what your entitled, when you retire,
for us that would be Sweet Nothing, been silly enough to work and save, pay
heaps of Tax, never had any Dole, Ausstudy for the kids, I think the
Cook got $4-50 a fortnight child allowance, our adult kids missed out
on the first home owners grant, and now not even entitled to
this latest $1000 child subsidy because they earn to much by working
6 days a week, and being in business if you send your BAS Statement
to the tax office a couple of days late with the Cheque, they want
to Nail your Hide to the Wall,
If you can tell me where we are going wrong, please do.

Daza
FollowupID: 600320

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:21

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:21
Oops and I'm pretty Cranky, because I did'nt win Lotto last night,
lol lol lol.
FollowupID: 600327

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:25

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:25
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 600328

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:34

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:34
Yep DAZA, pretty much like us!!!!!!!!!! we are retired and still they want more tax, I wouldn't have a clue what Centrelink offers because I know it is nothing and never has been anything for us.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 600410

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 06:45

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 06:45
So a Member can request a Re-Evaluation to the Moderation Team,
and Forum Visitors can't, sounds like a reaction you would get from
CENTRE LINK, lol lol.
FollowupID: 600427

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:48

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:48
For those of you judging others:

Just be thankful that you got up this morning in reasonable enough health to travel.

Be thankful that you had the means to work hard to self fund this trip, as we will mostly do.

Show some gratitude for your health and financial situation, and have a bit of understanding for those who don't.

Not all are the bludgers you seem to think they are. Many are just not as gifted as you.

Judgemental behaivour is what starts fights, understanding brings peace.
FollowupID: 600433

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:04

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:04
Newbiesb

I dont have to show any Gratitude for any Health or Wealth,
the only thing I'm Grateful for is the fact that knowing we have
gone through life not thinking that the Average Hard Working Aussie
Tax Payer, had to Contribute to our Needs, whats the old saying
You Get Out of Life What You PUT Into It,
There's People out in the Community, that deserve Assistance from
the Government, who struggle through no fault of there own,
Re: Sickness, Disabilities, Sick Kids ect, and they would give there
Right Arm, just to get things a little bit easier, let alone somebody
wondering if they can get there Entitlements when they go on a
Extended Trip.
FollowupID: 600453

Follow Up By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:22

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:22
Daza,

Anyone can request a re-evaluation of the post. However the re-evaluation option is only showed to the person who posted the moderated item. So you were able to see the request for re-evaluation button because it was your post moderated - you cannot see it on the others because you did not post it.

I hope this makes sense. In a nut shell only the post who's item is moderated has the ability to request the re-evaluation.

DM
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 600697

Reply By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:46

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:46
it would be the same as living at home I assume, apart from the distance school thing....as for family payments, they would be normal yeah?? we get part a & b fortnightly so difference when we head off....but most we'd done was 6 wks...
AnswerID: 332497

Follow Up By: Kiwi & "Grenade" - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:47

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 12:47
*** fortnightly so difference when we head off***
was meant to be...no difference...sorry!!
FollowupID: 600317

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:04

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:04
Newbiesb
I agree with Graham H in what he has said, you can also get all the info from the website , and set up a personal account so you can keep a check on when,why, and how etc,

Centrelink Website

AnswerID: 332499

Reply By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:55

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 13:55
Let me get this right, you want to go on a trip around OZ for 12 months and you want tax payers to fund it for you.

Fairdinkum, Get a job!!!!!

AnswerID: 332503

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 14:33

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 14:33
I think you are being unfair in regards to this question.

The people are not asking to be funded for anything other than what they may be entitled to, not what could they screw Centrelink for.

We have sold our home and are heading off and I am entitled to call the vanmy home and then its not an asset.
We are also able to claim any park stays against rent allowance.
We also have our own pension fund and my wife is only 61 so will get sweet FA from Centrelink.

Why should people not get what they are entitled to.

We have worked hard all our lives to get where we are so intend to get what is available.

I look at all the deadbeats where I live, who sponge off the taxpayers on a disability allowance and the biggest disability is between their ears.

Also the young women???? who think $5000 for a baby is cool so we better pop this one out and have another real quick.

Then we have to support them for the rest of their lives.

Get real My TV cost more than that and I paid for it not the Govt.
As far as getting a job is concerned I've worked for 52 years. Is that not enough???????????

FollowupID: 600337

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 16:31

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 16:31
Gday Graham

Dont take it so personal mate this was not a follow up to you, Im saying this to the original post which doesnt mention anything about a pension, It does however mention kids which I assume newbiesb hasn't worked for 52 years and has kids still at school, but I will stand corrected???

I too wish to take my kids around Oz in 5 years time....thats 5 years of hard work and saving, Its a heap of money to make the dream a reality.
But Its my belief that I support my family on my own weight and not rely on taxpayers to help me out.

And as for centrelink and entitlements (which clearly Im against), I think its the biggest load of crap the government has introduced and brings our country down.

IMO I believe if you want to take your kids around OZ and NOT WORK for 12 months why should any one else pay for it????

I think save for it or work your way around..... teaches your kids nothing comes for free!!!
FollowupID: 600345

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 16:47

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 16:47
I agree in some cases that Centrelink payments are " bringing the country down" as you say and I wasnt taking it personally.

I was sticking up for the original poster who was asking about Family payments which he is probably entitled to at home anyway.

Also Home schooling is done by people where I live and there are 3 schools within 10k of each other.!!!!.

If you can get what are legal entitlements thats fine.

Its the ones with malingeritis that P me off and in my work I have to deal with them every day.

Just another reason to retire and the sooner the beter.

Was just stating my position as an afterthought rather than an answer to your post
FollowupID: 600347

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:49

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:49
Try not to be so judgementsl. I've workeed my 'a' off for 20yrs now with very little from the govt and plan to work once ridding myself of property. If i can get some parenting assistance while educating my kids in the most beneficial way, i feel i'm entitled to it. This country goes to the dogs by judgemental bastards - not hard working individuals.
FollowupID: 600395

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:26

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:26
Its called freedom of speech Newbiesb and its all about morals not entitlements.
I have two children one that has special needs and I am definately entitled but I refuse to stand in line at centrelink with all the other dole bludgers, but thats my choice and as I stated its a moral thing.

You and I have been brought up different, you feel your are owed money from everyone else cause you worked your "a" off for 20 years.
Me on the other hand feel that if you cant support your kids on your own then don't have em!!!! let a lone take them on a years holiday with the help from taxpayers.

Although I dont entirely agree, I definitely feel that someone thats worked 52 years is probably more entitled to govt funds than someone whos worked 20 years like you and myself.

You say "This country goes to the dogs by judgemental bastards - not hard working individuals" and then you mock me for a belief in supporting my own family without any entitlements just hard work.

Who's the hard worker???

FollowupID: 600449

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:16

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:16
Congratulations on working 52years. Somegow i think my kids will be out of home by then.

This is a time to spend with them ensuring they become great adults - while we set an example of working our way around oz. We are funding this by and large, there is little we can claim, but what the government is willing to pay towards their education, i'll take. After all they will not be attending school, where the school is paid a given amount for their enrolment. Instead i'll use those funds for books etc to educate them.

We are nod dole bludgers - just parents wanting to value their children and this great country while we can.
FollowupID: 600564

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:26

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 11:26
I've only worked for 19 years if you read the post properly but don't feel I'm entitled even though I am.
I think its great what your doing with your kids, everyone should do it...all for it, not so glad I'm gonna help you fund it regardless how much you claim......

"Your entitlements" what a joke.....you say your kids are brights and I'm sure they have 10 fingers and toes, save the entitlements to the parents that really deserve it.

To name a few, down syndrome, cerebral palsy, Autism, handicapped all genuine reasons for full time parental care.... hence the dole, talk of hard work how about rest bite for parents that really need it and never get a break once there children are over 12 years of age and the list goes on and on.
Somebody below said take a sip out of your cup, take a sip out of one of these parents cups then you will know what hard honest work is....

The world is full of poor little old me's and whingers.
Good luck to all you do gooders and centre link fans that don't have any health problems accept financial.... don't work too hard aye!!

"You get out of life what you put into it"
FollowupID: 600698

Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 14:05

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 14:05
We home school and we have just sold our home - we can claim rental assistance if we are at a park for more than 3 days, to claim $$$ for home schooling you or your partner can only earn a very small amount (sorry can't remember exactly how much). We just use the crystal ball to tell them what we think we will earn in a financial year and we get benefits based on that I think its Family tax benefit - not much anyway!!!

With regards to home schooling try this link http://www.hea.asn.au/ orhttp://www.homeschoolaustralia.com/ orhttp://www.qsa.qld.edu.au/ depending on your situation and where you live some states ask you to register or if you are just doing a 12mth trip you shouldn't need to. With teenagers they can do a daily diary about what they saw ect. We have home schooled for the past 3 mths and are about to set off for 3 - 5 years, we have no intention of sending our kids back to a state school.

Remember that there is also new legislation come in with regards to home schooling and tax - anything you purchase up to a certain amount you can claim in your tax return.

Let me know if I can help further.

Cheers Matt & Caz
AnswerID: 332504

Follow Up By: Member - Tony B (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 17:51

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 17:51
Matt & Caz H. Hi. Im just trying to get my head around this comment. "we can claim rental assistance if we are at a park for more than 3 days"
So does it mean I can stop work sell up pay off the debt, leaving little assets, buy a van, earn little and start touring? It sounds like I might be paying for a lot of people to do that now, so if you can not beat them - Join them :-).
Just having a go at the system, how any one could be entitled to rental assistance because they chose to go touring beats me. I could understand if that is where they live. Us middle income earners seem to pay for a lot of other people.
Dont worry all of you that do claim what you are entitled too, I pay the tax so you can continue doing it and retirement gets further away each year! :-( Cheers I'll pay for you to tourTony.
FollowupID: 600357

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:44

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:44
Thanks for your valuable feedback. What has your experience of home schooling been like? Which of these have you used? Our kids are brights and we may only home school for the balance of the educational year they are in at the time we head off (whenever that may be) and then take a year off school before starting again in mainstream schooling.

FollowupID: 600432

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:07

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:07
Hi Tony,

Our situation for your information is this: we had 2 choices either sell our beloved home that we built or have the bank take it from us. I started working the day after I left school and apart from having 3 years off to have my children have worked ever since. I am now self employed and home school my children as the state school system hasn't worked for us and since pulling the kids out of school they have really come along so this is something I will continue. My husband has worked his butt off all his life as well and as I said in my previous post we declare all our income to centrelink, we get a family payment based on this yearly amount - I have never claimed the dole. We plan to work our way around OZ but feel that if we are entitled to claim rent assistance then we should. I don't agree with people sitting on their butts doing nothing and I did not receive $5k for having a baby.

We had to sell our home due to interest rate rises. We tried so hard to hang onto our home and my car, however my business also suffered because of rate rises and the cost of living.
Everybody has a different situation and perhaps this needs to be considered before being judgemental
FollowupID: 600454

Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:35

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:35
Hi Newiesb,

We love home schooling its not for everyone and some kids love the school system, I had to write my own 12mth curriculum as we are registered with the government and need to provide the kids work to them twice a year so they can see progress, there are a lot of website - just find one that suits your kids and they all learn differently my two are completely different when it comes to learning. When we first started HS it took us a good month to get into it, and work out what was going to work best.

Matt & Caz
FollowupID: 600457

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:56

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:56
Matt & Caz
We sold our two year old home that we built due to Interest rates, fuel prices and a debt that was generated with owning our truck. It nearly broke us. We spent our money on paying debts to the Gov and bank. We can only afford a caravan to live in so decided to head where the money is and turn someone else's key. We are going to deal with living in a van with our three children and work to recoup our lost money. We are however going to see the sights. Our middle child is disabled the medication required isn't gov assisted. We have never been on the dole. So to those who think its living off the gov is wrong. Some people are pushed to their current situations and receiving family befits helps a lot. We didn't ask to be in this situation and have decided to not dwell and get on with it the best way we can.
Sharon
FollowupID: 600623

Reply By: Dunaruna - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:01

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:01
Newbiesb,

The reporting process can be done via the centrelink website, it does not matter where in Aus you are, all you need is access to the WWW (we often use internet cafes). You will need to have a sit down interview with centrelink to establish your particular circumstances though.
AnswerID: 332546

Reply By: PradOz - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:29

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:29
I got to agree about being peed off by the bludgers who falsely claim via centrelink, workers comp etc. And I am suffering personally because of this stupid system that seems to be designed for those that can get away with it rather than those who actually have a case and need it.

I havent been able to work since being retrenched for having an accident at work (somewhere i worked in excess of 10 years and would have stayed till retirement) then told go and fix your back problems and come back when you are right and we will give you your job back. They are not just prepared to pay via compo or increased premiums. Just great!

So no income now for 4 months and according to Centrelink I cannot caim any disability pension or sickness benefits. Why? Because my GP would have to tick the box that says my current condition will not improve for at least 2 years. And him and I are both hopeful it will. Why? Well because it has just cost me $10000 of my money for spinal surgery. Thats money I cannot claim thru HCF and they have coughed up over $42000 also so far.

The system is crap. When you got a legitimate problem that should be covered by workers comp, then get flogged off and told "if you dont like the decision take us to court" - and it aint that easy. And for those of you that have income protection insurance, well dont start me on that either. I have it and they are procrastinating on that decision too. Just what a family of 5 needs is no financial support that you should be able to claim but because you do not want to BS your way thru it you suffer. I should have just found the dodgiest GP and gt him to tick the boxes so at least I could get paid.

And solicitors and lawyers - well in NSW they get paid by Workcover win or lose so they dont care either. You just get the good old fashioned no frills service there. I thought I was doing the right thing getting the countries largest union's solicitor but no luck there. They are too busy to even answer your letters.

SORRY FOR HIJACKING THIS THREAD - I GOT IT OFF MY CHEST AND NOW JUST HOPE TO GET THRU TO XMAS. At least my surgery was successful, but the rehab is expensive and slow.

Maybe I am looking at this wrong. Maybe I should sell up and take the family around the country - at least i would have some form of income then.

AnswerID: 332550

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:50

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:50
Yep, you can blame that idiot Bob Carr for that, one thing you cant afford to do in NSW is need Workers Comp or be hurt in a car accident, there is very limited cover. Michael
FollowupID: 600396

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:55

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 21:55
I feel incredibly sorry for you. I have witnessed closely how the workers comp system screws truly injured workers and the stigma they live with in their recovery - particularly when people can't see their injury. A broken leg gets more sympathy than a disc injury.

For those of us who have worked bloody hard and simply want to work their way around the country, educating their kids, some of us would like to at last take advantage of what is on offer. I am not a bludger and have paid lots of taxes, paying others who haven't worked as hard. Now it is my time to spend quality time with my kids.

Get off you high horse to those who prematurelly judge!
FollowupID: 600397

Follow Up By: PradOz - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:08

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:08
Sorry if you think I have prejudged you because I did not mean for it to come over that way. I am just so frustrated by the so called system not being any help to me or my family. When you suffer financially as we are and have 5 mouths to support and all because of workers comp system being stuffed by those who illegally bled the system dry and cannot find a way to speed up the BS that goes on while you wait for them to process your income protection claim you can get frustrated. And when your back has been pullled apart, two discs now removed, what more proof do they need. Maybe I should have invited them into the theatre with the surgeon.

If you are entitled to assistance and you get it good luck to you. But to those out there bleeding the Centrelink system dry, I just hope they dont stuff that up for those that need it like the bludgers on workers comp did previously, especially here in NSW.

Have fun on your travels...

FollowupID: 600402

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:17

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:17
Newbiesb

I agree with what you say. Nowhere did you say you wanted something for nothing and neither did I.

I went to Centrelink for an interview for retiring and simply told them what I was going to do when I retired. I told them what assetts we have and how much money we have and where it was.

I didnt ask for anything special or ways of wangling more.

When I said we were going travelling the officer volunteered the following.

If we dont own a house my van is our house and therefore is not an asset. If we stay in caravan parks we are entitled to apply for rent assistance the same as if we rent wherever we live and have to pay rent.

I understand where Pradoz is coming from as my brother in law had his right arm ripped off when another employee turned a conveyor belt on whilst he was clearing a jam.

That was 4 years ago and he hasnt had all that much money yet. He has had many operations and counselling sessions and will never be right and probably have to have the arm removed (it was shortened 60mm and reattached).

Dont think everyone is ripping the system off cos they ask what others have done. There are centrelink payments that are available for lots of situations and if you are entitled to them why not have them.

As I said in an earlier post I deal with benfit bludgers every day and it P's me off big time when I have been working for 52 years and these deadbeats are on a pension virtually straight out of school.

Because we have saved and done reasonably well we will get stuff all as a pension.

Im not moaning but stating an opinion and feel that the original post was a reasonable enquiry.
FollowupID: 600405

Follow Up By: ross - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:28

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:28
How did you get retrencehed for injuring yourself at work?
I thought there were laws in place to stop that.
FollowupID: 600450

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:48

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:48
So did I Ross, so did I.

But here in good old NSW, an employer cannot sack you within the first 6 months of getting an injury. After that they can do whatever they like.

In my case, my employer were always happy with my performance, but did not want the increased insurance premiums, so together with their insurer 'forced' me back to work on full hour with intimidation (such as "if you do not come back on full hours we will deny your claim and 'employer' does not have to employ you so you will lose your job". This actually happened to me in front of my GP who decided that my job security needed to come first so he agreed to return me to work but increased my morphine to alow me to do so. Not a bad scenario hey. Take morphine so you can go to work. Take none and no job.

Within 2 weeks of me returning to full hours they denied my claim by getting an insurance company doctor, who just happens to be only a general surgeon, write a report that said there was either: no injury ever received, if there was it must have happened before my employment (8 years earlier - yes right), and it was now fully recovered. He said everything except that it had occurred and was still a problem. This was despite a Neurosurgeon recommending surgery. So a general surgeon's opinion was more important to the insurer than that of a neurosurgeon. Throw into the mix that I was on suitable duties at the time, and they retrenched me from the suitable duties position not my normal one.

So you see, here in good old NSW, the worker comes last. God help anyone out there that thinks that workers compensation is in place to protect you, because it isn't. If you do not believe me I can refer you to another forum where people everyday are going thru what I am and have been thru. As they say life isnt fair- it sux when your hurt. And as I said earlier, no payment of any king to me for 4 months because of our lovely 'system'. I just wish i could get pregnant, grab the baby bonus, sell the house i built myself, pack up the family and live in the van and claim rent assistance, utilities assistance etc etc like the bludgers do - but unfortunately I do not want any of that. I just would like it to be fair and just.
FollowupID: 600489

Follow Up By: The Landy - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:12

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:12
PradOz

I won't wade into the broader debate, but the situation you are in is an eye opener for me and I'm sure for many others.

Thanks for highlighting...
FollowupID: 600498

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:36

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:36
Hi Landy

Thank you for your thoughts.

Its times like this you wish you had contacts with powerful people that had some influence. It would sure help rather than be treated as a person of minority.

I truely hope people reading this look seriously into their own situations and discover how protected they are. Do not rely on insurance policies, or solicitors and lawyers for help.

No one ever goes off to work thinking they will be coming home "damaged". Whenever I see those NSW Workcover adverts on TV showing the Dad coming home late and the son waiting outside his home for him, and the ad saying the most important reason for going to work is not work at all - well - I agree. Except the reason for having workers comp and income protection is obviously not the reasons us average folk here in NSW think it is for.

Be very careful if you rely on income protection insurance as your protection should anything go wrong. I would strongly suggest anyone with one of these policies test it by asking for the claim forms and fine print and see just how long it will actually be before they pay you anything, if they do. Do not rely on what is written. Ask them to tell you when you will be paid. They cannot answer that question with me. They said they would ring me back (again!) yesterday, yet still I and my family wait for their call and the approval and subsequent payment. Maybe I should stick it on my wishlist in a letter to Santa. cheers....
FollowupID: 600540

Follow Up By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:41

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:41
And just as a follow up...

I am sitting here putting together two job applications as I am getting to the financially desparate state.

But I wonder if by doing that I am actually doing myself any long term favours as I am supposed to be in rehab stage - not work. I am supposed to be letting my back recover, let the fusion take place etc etc.

I am just one of the many who do not appear on the governments unemployment figures. They would not even know of my situation or others like me. We just slip thru the cracks and are left to fend for ourselves.
FollowupID: 600544

Follow Up By: ross - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:54

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 08:54
I hope things improve for you in some way Pradoz.
I had a similar thing happen to me after I fell off a dodgy scaffold.
I was in a union that had the balls to hire a top lawyer,demand a conferance with the employer,and get my claim pushed through.
FollowupID: 600676

Follow Up By: PradOz - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:38

Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:38
Thank you for your thoughts Ross

I thought (like you) that being a member of the union (CFMEU) they would help me. I was shocked to discover how weak kneed they are. They gave me every reason why it would be too hard for them to follow this up, mostly blaming John Howard.

I also thought their Lawyers would be of benefit too. How wrong that appears to be. They simply seem to be either too busy to worry about little old me or inept. I have asked them to take this to the workers comp commission, written them letters but they seem to be too busy to respond. I suppose I could ring, but I feel it will only give them an excuse of saying we spoke to you on such and such date from my call but will simply only give "lip service". I want them to act and treat my case as anyone else would expect. They know my financial situation. I have asked them for urgent assistance but no response.

I am considering my actions but I am not sure if approaching the media is worthwhile in the long term, especially when a case goes on for years and then becomes a lengthy thing to fully grasp. All I know is that if I do not receive some for of income support in the next month I am then at the desperate stage. Dont know what i will do then. thanks for your thoughts and sorry to others reading all this as i feel i have hijacked this original topic and appologise for doing so. Stress from the surgery, rehab etc is tough - but everything is tougher, near impossible to deal with when you cannot be treated with justice. Thanks for letting me get it off my chest. Thanks to everyone for your thoughts. Regards........
FollowupID: 600691

Reply By: mannrivermudrwestler - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:54

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:54
worms worms cans of worms all and sundry the poor guy is taking his kids around OZ and giving them a real education [life] and all you crusty old buggers are flagging him down , maybe you should have drank from his bottle of life and realised that their is more to life than berating people who want to live it, his going around in 12 months ,not 12 life times, get a grip and let him educate his children ,we would all be better off if we spent 12 months with our kids.
A mate of mine worked since he was 16 till 38 , took a year off to travel around OZ with his kids ,come home and 8 months later dropped dead , now tell me ,did he do the wrong thing, I reckon you all weren't smart enough or brave enough to take the plunge ,good luck and have a safe and happy trip!!
AnswerID: 332705

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:23

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:23
Here, here - life is too short! Thank you for wise insight.

If my kids were dead beats they'd bitch too! Instead we are doing whats best for us as a family - without being dole bludgers. All this from a simple inquiry re centrelink Family benefits & home schooling.

I truly believe the green monster of jealousy is alive and well.

Mind you it's always amusing to see such heated debate!
FollowupID: 600567

Follow Up By: mannrivermudrwestler - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:50

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 18:50
thank you for your support, I wonder if people ever really think before the decide to type in and give their opinions, may I suggest to the ones who use this forum as a personal soap box, to think before they leap,as you do look a little silly when we read your knee jerk responses, it doesn't matter if he travels around oz claiming a and b payments , his spending the money in the economy and creating jobs in environments that require tourism and money flowing in, I think he is doing everyone a favour, in 12 moths time he'll be back at work and paying taxes and still getting benefits for his kids anyway!!
he may also find a spot somewhere he likes and stay there ,get a job and provide a work force in places where they are screaming for labour,we need people like him ,who get their b*lls out of their wifes handbag and go out into the world [OZ] and create a well rounded economy, I bet all you old craggy old dogs have been complianing about the economy and how its effected your travel plans etc, your not helping anyone sitting at home in the burbs bellyaching
FollowupID: 600578

Reply By: PradOz - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 20:18

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 20:18
Maybe some info on

THREAD 62780 -Home School Advice

that maybe of use to you if you havent seen it. cheers...
AnswerID: 332736

Follow Up By: Newbiesb - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:24

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:24
Thank you PradoOz.
FollowupID: 600613