Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:06
Kev - Member - Wynnum
A mate of ours is thinking of joining us in a trip to Fraser Island in January.
He has a Mazda Tribune, which is all wheel drive and has no modifications. He has a camper trailer which the vehicle is
well able to tow on the black stuff.
I don't think that he would succeed on the island but I was wondering if anyone has taken one of these or another all wheel drive vehicle on to the sand and how it handled the soft stuff.
Thanks Kev
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:12
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:12
Kev
Haven't been there for years but I can't see a problem on the main beach side (south). Inland maybe a little harder, as it wont have the ground clearance (maybe). and the north tip will be out of the question.
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:16
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:16
Richard,
He only has to get up to Dundabura but I think that even Inskip and below
Hook Point would be too much for it.
I also think that ground clearance would kill him
Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:24
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:24
To avoid the worst 50m of Inskip you can go through the
campsite at Inskip before where the road ends and enter
the beach through that way. Those beach entries not half as chewed up as the end of the road to the barge and back.
As long as he times low tide I see no problem getting off the barge and up to Dunduberra and back.
I was there on the weekend and saws a couple soft roaders on an inland track and they seemed to be doing okay, though a camper trailer would be pushing it and I reckon he'd get seriously bogged in lots of
places, that said, up
the beach and back should be fine, particularly if he's got a mate to give him a snatch out if and when needed.
Reply By: Voxson - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:45
Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 23:45
Tribune / Tribute?
If it is a Tribute,, be aware they only handle about 300mm of
water,,, the air intake is very low..
Reply By: chisel - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:08
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:08
Personallly I'd say it will struggle. Depends a bit on any difficult bits (maybe poyungan/yidney bypasses and dundubara entrance if you're going into the campground). Theoretically if you have a more capable vehicle in the group you could switch the camper trailer to that one for the tough bits.
Reply By: joff1 - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:24
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:24
If it's a light camper and he lets the tyres down I reckon it would bleep it in. My oldies have one of them and it does a great job on sand.
I can't think of anywhere on the eastern beach south of
Indian Head where he would struggle. In fact the hardest thing he would have to do would be to get out to the barge over the soft stuff on the mainland, and that's only if he goes right up the dirt road from
Rainbow. If he comes out unto
the beach further south it would be easier still.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:25
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 10:25
Hi Kev,
All the advice the others have given is great and accurate, no need for me to repeat it here.
I do have a question, has the guy ever had it on
the beach or even on sand?
I'd throw a couple of hundred kilo's of ballast in the back of it, a couple of passengers too. Hook up the camper and see how it goes on a beach near home first.
Make sure you've got someone along who can tow it out if it the plan doesn't work out.
One thing I will add is tyre pressure, it'll be critical. The number of knobs I see attempting to drive the southern end and the dunes on
Stockton Beach with road pressure in the tyres is astounding.
They're chewing the tracks to pieces, the vehicle is working its backside off and all because they are too lazy to drop some pressure.
Actually I'll have a small scale rant whilst I'm on this subject. I've a theory on why so many modern cars are still catching fire about the place.
I reckon people are working the arse off them on sand or when towing and they boil the auto transmission.
It then vomits out fluid on to red hot exhausts and the rest as they say is history.
Hope that helps,
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:25
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:25
No he has never been on
the beach but there are 5 other experienced Fraser visitors with Patrols, Cruisers and Rodeos.
There won't be any problem pulling him out of tight spots but I don't want to be towing him allthe way.
Thanks for the advice
Kev
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:43
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 16:43
Hi Kev,
Looking at all the responses you've received I think the two most important bits will be tyre pressures and make sure you have something solid on the Tribute to attach a snatch strap.
Hate to hear after the event about you or one of your mates getting sconed by a flying piece of Mazda's scrap metal!
Enjoy the trip,
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:13
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 11:13
If it's the V6, it has 152 kW.
Keep away from the deep stuff, drop tyre pressures, keep the revs up and it should tow a camper easily.
I dragged a trailer behind a 3L Petrol Patrol (100 kW) years ago quite easily. Just had to keep the revs up so that I was in the "sweet spot".
Reply By: troopyman - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:14
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 12:14
Too many variables to give an answer other than saying that they need proper recovery points front and rear and a shovel and someone with a snatch strap .
Reply By: stevesub - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:15
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 14:15
We had to push our Rangie hard to get to the barge at
Inskip point a month ago and
the beach was littered with stuck 4WD's - not the soft off roaders, but the real 4WD's. The sand was so soft.
We were not towing and did not dare stop on the soft sand which is what the stuck 4wd's had done.
We were only sightseeing and did not go on the barge so cannot comment on Fraser.
Stevesub
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:21
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 15:21
G'day Kev,
As already mentioned the
Inskip Point section can be tough as can
Hook Point. Tyre pressure is the key and having another vehicle to pull him along like yourself means that you need good recovery points on the vehicle and a decent strap between you. Not sure if
Hook Point is open to traffic these days as there was talk of closing this to vehicles and forcing them up the inland road.
I'd give it a go just use common sense.
Reply By: Brian, Mackay Qld - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:02
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 17:02
G'day mate,
Was at fraser island 3 weeks ago. Saw a couple stock standard subaru foresters on
the beach. They seemed to be handling it ok. I probably would kkeep it on
the beach and stay away from inland tracks as they have lots of ruts.
Cheers, Brian.
Reply By: rumpig - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:36
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:36
it all pretty much been said already, but as a regular visitor to fraser i'll just say the short run out to the barge at inskip (worse on return due to no run up off of the barge) will be the hardest part along with the entry area past the gates at dundaburra (it was only a short section but soft when i was there abit over a month ago). low tyre pressures should see him right, but like already said, make sure he has a decent recovery point for the snatch strap to attach to. lowtide will see you easily drive around
hook point (yes it's still open) and up
the beach in 2wd, i do it towing a caravan in 2wd once we hit the hard sand, so can't see why your mate wouldn't be able to.