HID LIGHTS? WHAT ARE THESE?

I've been hearing about these hid lights that make a real white light and are by all reports real good ,does anyone have experience with these ,do you just change the bulb?
also is there a forum out there for owners of hyundai terracans that is useful?

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:31

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:31
Google is your friend......

ebay has lots of these.....

HID stands for "High Intensity Duscharge". This is a totally different method of creating light than the "old" method of quartz halogen.

It is not quite as easy as just replacing the bulb....although there are some "ordinary" globe sellers who make a claim that their product is "HID".

A true HID system utilises an electonic box of gear known as a "ballast" to control the filament action of the new style "globe".

That's about as much as I feel competent to type at the moment.

Hope it gives you a baic idea of the lights.

I have replaced my ordinary headlights with HIDs and have also converted my Lightforce XGTs to HID. The light output is very good.

AnswerID: 332561

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:40

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:40
You can smack me with a wet fish if I'm wrong but as I understand it , at least in Queensland it is illegal to change headlights to HID unless they have focusing and washers on them.
Also unless the car comes from the factory with them.

Interesting thread on 4x4 action forum which I cant find at the mo.
FollowupID: 600412

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:03

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:03
Waschecking them out at the 4X4 show in Melb. on the weekend, and I got put off one type. Although they had the best light of the lot, the actual globe shifted back into the holder, when low beab was called for.
now I am no expert, but I recon that they would schyte themselves in a matter of days, on diry,, outback or just plain bumpy roads.
The particul;ar selling rep denied that would happen, but if you think of the sheer logistics of the switching to hi/low bean, and the sliding required, then its money down the drain.

Have you found a globe that runs 2 separate filaments (or whatever) to eliminate the problem ?

Remember that I am a bit lowsey, when it comes to spending $$$$ and only get problems back.

FollowupID: 600428

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:04

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:04
ps ...
Love the spelling,,,,,, obviously not really awake yet
hehehehehe

FollowupID: 600429

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:57

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 07:57
or, how many thumbs ya got Bucky
FollowupID: 600434

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:24

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:24
G'day Bucky,
Yes those ones of mine have some sort of moving/sliding mechanism in them to change from low to high beam. I've driven my fair share of corrogated and rough roads and they are still working perfectly well. Mind you, I lashed out and fitted a set from a mob called XenonOz and they set me back about $1600- about 3 years ago.

I know they are "technically" illegal...... if a person who is in-the-know went over my rig he could easily find a dozen things that are "technically" illegal....... and I reckon if everybody on this forum (and elsewhere) who does any mods to their rig was fair dinkum, they'd all admit to having various things done to or on their truck that isn't quite legal.

The main thing to me is that my rig gets used 90% for doing trips away from civilisation and I rarely get "flicked" by oncoming cars when I'm on low beam. Well adjusted HID lights are not a problem IMHO. We've had this discussion before.
FollowupID: 600435

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky, the "Mexican"- Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 06:48

Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 06:48
No 1

Sometimes I have thumb-eye co-ordination problems.
And it really depends just what time I wake, and how many hrs sleep I get..

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 600981

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:34

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2008 at 22:34
There is a lot more to it than changing bulbs.

They also cost about $900 for a decent pair and may only be used as driving lights unless the car comes factory equipped with them as headlights
If you google HID and Hyundai Im sure you will get the info you want

You may look on this page for a set of HID's

http://www.sidewinder.com.au/page110.html
AnswerID: 332563

Reply By: Member - John - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 05:29

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 05:29
Hi, brilliant light, just way to bright on low beam for normal use.

AnswerID: 332579

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:16

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:16
Replaced Hi and Low beams with HID globes and have only been flashed once in 8 months !!

As said , keep them adjusted down to try and stop them glaring other people and you should be fine, but as also said, they are technically illegal ( only low beam I believe ) because they need washers and self levellers ??

High beam is very good, but with an approx 5 sec delay until they reach full brightness, they may not suit everyones tastes ??

Are they worth the money ?? I paid $85 a set for mine and think it was well spent, but unless you do some serious night driving, I wouldn't bother..
FollowupID: 600441

Reply By: traveller2 - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:19

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:19
The ones that "tilt' or "retract" the globe to change beams are not much good, as suggested don't take long to stuff up in rough conditions.
The ebay ones from seller id "95soarer" (based in Melbourne) are ok when fitted to a good quality reflector like the 7" Hella H4 inserts and correctly adjusted.
Yes they are technicaly illegal but for the increase in light and less power drain they are worth it.
A set from the above seller for a H4 Hi & Lo conversion including wiring harness are around $130 and a set to do driving lights around $70.
For all those people suggesting that you need washers and dipping have a look at new cars with HIDs factory fitted, they don't have them.
Fitting them to poor quality reflectors will cause glare to oncoming vehicles.
AnswerID: 332586

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:02

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 09:02
I think you'll find that they indeed do have washers fitted, it's just that you don't know what you are looking for. There is a square piece on the bumper assembly normally that stores the washer, which pops up when activated. Older style was to have a largish block similiar to the windscreen washer squirter.

The "dipping" or self-levelling function is done at startup predominantly and takes into account weight distribution on the vehicle. start the lights and they will tilt up and then down to the correct alignment, well before full brightness is achieved.

My other vehicle uses a screen to change from low to high with the difference being a distinct cutoff of light at lowbeam shining upwards.

FollowupID: 600437

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:27

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 08:27
Cant help with the HID, that looks likes it been answered fairly well.

As for terracan forum, try hereclick me, you know you want to....go on...pleaseeee

I have used the rodeo and jackaroo parts myself, quite useful
AnswerID: 332588

Reply By: David N. - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:21

Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 13:21
I would very strongly advise against them.

Firstly, they are illegal. (ie: the add-on ones where a bulb is swapped).
Have a crash at night and your insurance will very likely be null and void! You could also be up for very serious expense with the other car as well.
My local copper down the road says he regularly pulls people over with them- they are easy to spot due to increased glare for oncoming drivers. (Therein lies the problem) He always writes them out a ticket and they are then required to change back to approved bulbs and get the whole thing checked by the Main Roads or have the car ordered off the road.

You are much safer and better buying legal bulbs such as the Philips "plus 80" or similar, which give better light and are 100 legal.
AnswerID: 332622