Submitted: Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:05
Chad D
I have a question about 3 way fridges. I have read on here that they take a while to cool down and are better if you are
camping for a week or so in the one spot. Has anyone had any experience with using them for say a 3 day trip. If i was to go this way i would cool the fridge down for a few days even a week on 240v before i leave. Load only cold and frozen food into it, run it on 12v in the car on the way to the
camp spot and then put in on gas on arrival. I understand that 12v with these fidges is not very successful and they eat batteries pretty fast, thus i would only be running it while driving. Does anyone see why this would not work.
I know the many people prefer 12v fridges but at this point in time i can not justify spending money on a fridge, batteries & solar panels as we mainly go
camping on long weekends and when we have spare time.
Some options on this would the appreciated.
Reply By: Member - Barry (NT) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:23
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:23
ah I posted but it disappeared.
chad
240v very good
gas excellent
12v draws constant 8 amps so only use when driving
its a12 year old chescold
run on 240v for 1 day load frozen goods in bottom cover with paer if required (ie extremely hot) then cold goods
place beer against plate at end of day ie b4 goin to bed and she'll be sweet on gas
cheers baz
Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:25
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:25
uses about 0.5 kg per day on gas flat strap in tropics
Follow Up By: unko - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:44
Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:44
a cupple of months ago I think someone said that a 9kg's gas bottle last about 1 month
Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:44
Sunday, Nov 02, 2008 at 11:44
good luck
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:39
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:39
Hi Chad,
We have a 3 way Chescold that's
well over ten years old. Just had the jet replaced and the thermostat, Just like a bought one now. Anyway we use ours for 7- 10 days straight on gas without a problem. I would imagine you could use for a lot longer. get a two lt milk contain froozen nice and hard and it will help it keep a lower temp.Your right in getting it nice and cold before your leave, run it on 12v while your traveling. If you can wire up a socket in the back with at lest 6 mm cable and fused, it will work better while traveling. As soon as you get to your
camp site run it on gas. We also take a 62 Lt Big Chillie Icebox just for drinks. With 4ltr frozen ice cream containers as block ice. This does us very
well 2 adults, 3 kids under 10. If you can keep it out of direct sun light and heat also helps. And open it as little as possible. I know this is a feat in it's self with kids. :)
sounds like you've got it pretty much sussed.
Hope this was of some help.
Follow Up By: Nomadic Navara - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:51
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 21:51
Chad
When Jon said 6 mm wire he meant wire with 6 square mm of copper in ti - not 6 mm auto cable. For an explanation of the difference see
Site Link
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 06:00
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 06:00
Thanks Peter,
Sorry don't explain it properly.
Reply By: Grunter65 - Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 23:08
Thursday, Oct 30, 2008 at 23:08
Gday Chad,
We've had a Primus Zero 62 litre 3 way for several years now, can't speak highly enough of them. Absolutely the ticket for extended stays, especially freezing. We went away for 11 days in the June holidays, took everything we needed for meals in the freezer, didn't buy another thing except bread and milk the whole trip. But on a lower thermostat setting they're fine as fridge too. As you say, not much chop on the 12V, draws 13A, but fine whilst travelling, at least it maintains the cool without adding to it. I reckon they're better than 12V personally, gas is cheap, solar and batteries are expensive items for someone that doesn't use them much.
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:12
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:12
Yes, agree gas is very cheap, but when running on
Solar power you don't have to leave
camp to go get more gas bottle refills when camped 800+ Klms from the nearest gas filling station for extended stays in the middle of 'nowhere' in the far North of West Aussie, the Solar system will also run an Inverter which can recharge 'everything' too !
Yes, with gas you only have to carry more gas bottles, but how many gas bottles can you carry for a 2 month
beach camp and then the hassle of recharging other items and running TV's, coffee makers etc.
Both systems, large Fridge/Freezers running on
Solar power and also the 3 way fridge running on gas work terrific when used with-in their capability.
Yes, for a few weeks
camping gas is terrific !
Mainey . . .
Reply By: slammin - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 00:28
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 00:28
"ditto" as above but would like to add. 4years old and I guess 80K
On gas we find it can get too cold and freeze things. So if in colder areas we will turn it off at bedtime and spark her up in the morning.
If it's a short lunch 30mins off the battery ain't gonna kill it. Or if I'm having a longer lunch and break I'll go to gas.
I've got the Repco generic jobby and I find the box itself makes an excellent esky. Had 3 weeks in
Kimberley and
Litchfield and finally ran out of gas on the 2nd last day, stuff was still cold the morning after.
We find it still works
well on tracks. BUT if you stop make sure she is level or it won't work as the liquid can't drip down thru the tube and builds up in a bend.
You'll find it a lot harder to transfer your dual batteries and solar to a different vehicle than to wire up a proper 6-8mm loom!.
Slammin.
PS makes for a handy mini fridge at home.
Follow Up By: Maîneÿ (wa) - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:17
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:17
Do you use it at home as the "mini fridge' on gas ?
Mainey . . .
Follow Up By: slammin - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:39
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 10:39
no
Follow Up By: unko - Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:42
Saturday, Nov 01, 2008 at 15:42
Just plug it in to a power point and use it a s a beer fridge
Reply By: Stinz - Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:20
Friday, Oct 31, 2008 at 09:20
We have a three way Chescold... it runs as a beer fridge when we are home so is cold when we start our trips. It goes on the 12V while travelling, but sucks the power very quickly if you leave it plugged in when stopped. Usually OK though as a stop is not for long. Runs on the gas beautifully and the usage is very low. If you are using it as a freezer, the above should get you by. If just as a fridge, it insulates really
well and we often don't bother running it in the car (have done this all day in 30 degree temps and the beer is still OK when you arrive at
camp). I really can't see why you would bother with all the complex alternative power sources such as solar or extra batteries when the gas option is so easy and robust.